Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Anyone who cannot do without a cup of refreshing coffee in the morning cannot do without the Black & Decker SpaceMaker 12-cup Coffeemaker too. This coffee maker can be easily attached to the bottom of your kitchen cabinet, thus saves a lot of space on your countertop. You can effortlessly make up to 12 cups of tempting coffee at a time with the electric coffeemaker. The illuminated water level indicator tells you when exactly the removable water reservoir requires refilling. You can even enjoy the first sip of coffee with the help of the Brew-pause function, which pauses the process to give you a quick cup of coffee. A major highlight is that the handle stays cool forever. The Save-A-Plug feature allows you to connect 2 SpaceMaker appliances in one outlet, thus saves a plug for other uses. Besides being extremely functional, this white coffee maker is sure to add style to any kitchen decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.848 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation72%33 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Disappointing this time

10/24/2009
By ,
Northwest PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously had a Black and Decker Space Maker coffeemaker and was very happy with it. When it finally had to be replaced, I wanted another just like it so I ordered this coffeemaker. When I received it, I was very disappointed to see that my favorite features in my previous B&D Space Maker had been changed. To begin with, it is larger and takes up more space under my cabinet than the old unit did. The carafe is bulky and awkward and only fits in the unit with the handle sticking straight out in front, which is an awkward position when pulling it out or replacing it. But the most disappointing change in features is the removable water reservoir, a feature I loved in the older model because I was able to fill only the reservoir and click in place to use. The new model makes this very difficult because you are now expected to fill the carafe and then pour that water into the reservoir. This is difficult because of the placement of the unit under the cabinet. The water tends to pour all over my counter top instead into the water reservoir. Overall, I am very disappointed with this new Black and Decker Space Maker coffeemaker and don't understand why they had to change something that worked so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+162points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Great product, lousy installation

09/07/2009
By ,
Alabaster, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previous reviews were mixed on this Space Maker coffee pot, but I went and bought it anyhow. The product is neat, compact and makes great coffee. It is a great replacement for our earlier -- many year old-- Space Maker. But: NO, it will not fit in the same holes as the earlier ones. NO, the template supplied is terrible... it does not measure the same as the mounting area of the pot. NO, the spacers supplied to bridge the gap in a recessed bottom cabinet require you to have six hands or otherwise tape the parts together into a column and then, tape the column to the bottom of the cabinet.. then slip the top of the pot up onto them. The earlier versions had spacers with retaining nibs in their ID which held them together with the screw and in place while you positioned the pot. If you get one of these, throw out the template, get some tape and a tape measure and go from there. Once installed, the pot is great. Mine (bought a second one for a customer who also loves it) has a large hole for pouring water into the tank, the pot pours nicely with no spilling and I have no trouble with the pot staying on the hot plate; the clock and controls work fine as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Disappointed

02/03/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am now on my third generation of black and decker spacemaker, and I am really impressed with the newest design. This model is superior by far to the others with its sleek, low profile appearance.
Despite its great appearance and exceptional performance, I have found a major flaw in the SDC 740. The clock runs too fast. Rather than changing time every sixty seconds, the unit changes time at about 56 seconds. (I exchanged my first unit and the second one did same thing) So, within one day, the unit will read ten minutes too fast which continues to compound and advance. For some, this may be no big deal, but for me, I rely on my programmable mode which is completely useless as a result.
A company named Applica handles customer service claims for Black and Decker, and will not return my calls, and responds with emails telling me to unplug it for 15 min and plug it back in-the biggest blow off response out there.
As many who seek out a spacemaker know, your options are limited as to manufacturers of under cabinet mount products such as the SDC 740, but if you use the clock and program mode, you may want to think twice before buying this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Exactly what I wanted!

09/06/2009
By ,
Vernon, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a trailer up in Sussex County where I spend most of my summer. Because of its limited kitchen space, the old coffeemaker was useless. The cabinetry was too low to open the top and just made things more difficult. When I came upon this, I was skeptical because it was only $60! I figured I'd order it and try it out. This was exactly what I was looking for. Now, I have more counter space because the coffeemaker is hooked under the cabinet. Not only does it look sharp but it works great. It's exceeded my expectations and for the price, you really can't beat it. I would definetely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

sorry I wasted my money

07/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me just start by saying I have had B&D spacemaker appliances in my kitchen since they first came out. It was time to get new ones(I lost the lid to the coffee pot -model so old stores don't carry replacements anymore,and the toaster oven was looking a little raged.)
Installation was ok. But pulling out the grounds basket makes me feel like I'm going to pull the whole thing down. If you have limited hand strength forget it, there isn't any real grab groove in the handle.
The hole to fill the water reservoir is set so far back you have to hold the reservoir with one hand and us a narrow pitcher to fill. Or carry back and forth from sink, it's too shallow.
Unless you reset the clock every night, you can forget about using the timer. The clock gains about a half hour every 24.
Between this coffee maker and the totally worthless newer model spacemaker toaster, I'm threw, I've used black and Decker kitchen appliances for thirty years, and I am throwing these away, I'll buy another brand from now on. Black & Decker are overpriced with inferior quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Space saver

12/16/2009
By ,
Tampa, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffe pot is a great space saver if you do not have enough counter space. It is the first one I have had and I love it. Will never buy another kind.
It is easy to use and to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Great coffeemaker

03/04/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had every under cabinet coffeemaker there is and I love them. This one is no different. Works great, makes excellent coffee and would highly recommend. As for others saying the time changes, I called B&D and they say they found that to be because people plug it in a receptacle with other appliances. Also people complain about filling the water reservoir and getting water everywhere, just like the old models ,TAKE THE RESERVOIR OUT AND CARRY IT TO THE SINK! It slides right out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Rated one star for durability

11/17/2010
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am on my third Spacemaker and except for the fact that the water spills over the counter on the last model I have been happy with the Spacemaker. I would not recommend this product not because of the above, but because I broke the carafe and it is impossible to replace it. The only replacement carafe I was able to find is too tall for the Spacemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White
11/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had an older model but stopped working. This newer model is situated much better than the older model. Gives even more space on the counter top. Wish they weren't so hard to find, only found at Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

well, it brews coffee

10/29/2011
By ,
Westerville, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This being my second Spacemaker coffee maker, I'm rather disappointed. Yes, the device brews coffee. And, it even has a little Night-Light feature which is rather nice. I even appreciate the outlet on the back of the unit to replace the one used by the coffeemaker itself.
However, my disappointment stems from what I consider poor design. Given that a coffeemaker has to have a tank for water, well, in "flattening" the design of this model, the removable tank also is flat, making it not only difficult to fill to the level you want, but also it sloshes all around (without spilling, mind you) before getting it inserted into its bay.
Also, the filter basket not only has a spring-loaded catch in the back to hold the basket in place (in case you're brewing while cruising down a winding country road?), but the handle you grasp to pull it out is tapered such that you can't get a good grip. To cap all that, our reusable filter always snags on the inside (most probably won't have this particular issue).
And lastly, the receptacle for the pot itself is challenging to get the pot situated squarely in its recess. One of these days we'll get it wrong and it will just fall out and kill itself.
So, unless you HAVE to get one right now, I would recommend waiting until B&D has redesigned the successor to this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

filling water resorvoir

02/26/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the product except for filling with water. It is a poor design and hard to fill without spilling some water. I tried filling it from the faucet, using a funnel, and using a picture with little success. It still didn't work very well. The best way I found to fill it with water is to pull the resovoir out, not removing it the whole way, and using the spray attachment to the faucet to fill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

B&D Spacemaker Coffeemaker

03/11/2011
By ,
Space Coast , Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seems that the spring loaded cofee brew release valve may be too tight.
If the pot isn't placed directly in a certain position the valve will stay closed and the brewed coffee fills the basket and then overflows out from the top - all over the counter.
Not pleasent to wake up to a mess in the morning.
Had to remove the release valve from the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White
04/25/2013
By ,
Guyton, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an "old style" under the cabinet B & D coffee maker that I loved. It finally wore out after 15 years of service and I replaced it with the new design. First thing I learned is the old style removable water dispenser had been replaced by one with a hole in the top you have to pour water into. Have to keep a dish towel handy to keep from getting the counter soaked cause it nearly impossible to pour water into the dispenser without spilling some. The next thing I discovered is that the coffeemaker leaks onto the counter as it is making the coffee.
It makes good coffee, but it certainly is an aggrevation and a step backwards in technology. Why mess with something that is working so well.I am now looking for another brand of coffee maker that will provide the service the old one gave.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Good looking coffemaker

03/19/2011
By ,
Harrisonville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been wanting an under the counter coffee maker that keeps the coffee hot. This one heats the coffee after it brews and looks great. Doesn't take up as much space as the other ones we have had. It brews quickly and the pitcher pours without spilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Great Product and saves space

10/19/2011
By ,
Vidalia, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an older model of this coffeemaker, and loved it. This new one saves even more room with its new design. It is stylish and works great. I would highly recommend purchasing this coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Mtg

05/03/2010
By ,
Littleton, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box says fits in place of old spacesaver. Not true! I had to redrill for the 4th time. This is my 4th spacemaker coffemaker and NONE of them have the same mtg hole pattern!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Different From Past, But Nice

11/11/2010
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third Spacemaker Coffee System from Black and Decker. I buy them because of the limited counter space I have. This particular model is a bit different than the previous two in design, but it is still functional.
It's functional, convenient, and fast.
It's similar to other models and includes a nice little night light.
The downside is that I don't think the warmer keeps the coffee quite as warm as past models. Also, the clock is not backlight, so you can't see it in the dark. The water container takes a little to get used to from the past but it's ok i guess.
Overall, I would buy the product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White
11/15/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had the old style spacemaker before and still have units. The old ones could stand alone on the counter or be mounted, but tthese have to be mounted which is a disappointment. I love the detachable resivior in the old unit better for it was deeper and didn't spill when it was being loaded. This unit has not giving me much problems other than mounting . The clock is doing fine for now as in the older unit when I had to replace it I went throught 3 or 4 units till I found a good working clock. I like these makers but I have to say I like the design of the older ones better...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

NFG

07/30/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Non Functional Gear...Totally dead after firt use
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Coffeemaker, White

Coffee maker problems

12/10/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my new Black and Decker Spacemaker coffee maker at the local Walmart store in record time -- only 4 days from internet order. It was easy to install, looked great hanging under the kitchen cabinet, and made good coffee. It worked fine for 4 days and then, inexplicably, it stopped working - no electricity, no clock, no coffee! I called B&D and they agreed to immediately send a replacement product. I'm waiting for the product to arrive and see if this replacement will be the coffee maker of my dreams!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next