Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunpentown Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

Enjoy iced tea, margaritas, frozen drinks and more with the Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker. Perfect for parties and festive occasions, this powerful ice maker provides the convenience of having ice at your fingertips — in three different sizes. It works quickly to produce up to 35 lbs of ice in 24 hours, and stores up to 2.5 lbs of ice at a time. It's the perfect appliance for your kitchen, boat, or rec room, and can even go outdoors on any patio with power outlets. You can also take this ice maker camping in your RV — it's ideal for keeping your coolers stocked. The sleek silver design will match well with any home decor. The ice maker's water reservoir holds up to 1.2 gallons of water.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation50%5 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

Never out of Ice again!

12/25/2009
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently moved into a small but wonderful apartment. The refridgerator with freezer is sufficient but quite small. Buying that 10 lb bag of ice at the supermarket as usual is no longer viable. It takes up too much space in the freezer.
I use a lot of ice in a huge mug for water and such and it must be filtered as is my water. Well, I must say that this particular Ice Maker continues to be a pleasant surprise.
It's sturdy and attractive and makes ice continually. It doesn't have to be connected to anything other than one electric socket. I pour in a gallon of fresh filtered water and within minutes ice is formed.
It's quite ingenious. As the the stored ice very slowly melts in the basket the water goes right back into the system to be made into ice again.
It makes a basket full of ice then stops until the ice is taken and the basket needs to be topped off keeping the basket full to the brim with ice.
The freezing compressor only runs for a few minutes to freeze the ice than turns itself off until needed. It's so quiet that we don't even know that it's there at all.
I followed the instructions on set up and ran vinegar and lemon juice through to clean any machine taste out, and it truly is as advertised.
Go ahead and feel good about this purchase. Few things we buy in this world will serve us as long or as well as this Sunpentown Ice Maker. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 2 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

Bulky but useful

03/19/2011
By ,
East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read many reviews on stand alone ice makers before I purchased this one. I don't know what I was really expecting but this was more than that. The unit is very large and heavy. Not easily set out for use and then put away when done. The ice that the unit makes is excellent. I prefer the largest of the three cube sizes. It does makes some noise but that's easy to get used to. This unit would get my 100% vote if the ice storage bin were refrigerated, but it's not. I feel like half of my ice melts inside of the unit before I can ever get the ice into my freezer. I can't imagine using this outside for a bbq like the product description suggests because the unit is very susceptible to to high temperatures. Though this review seems mostly negative, this unit certainly does what the description says it would and I would probably recommend to a friend.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 3 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker
12/13/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked 3 days and stopped cooling. Returned to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 4 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

A Very Useful Product

03/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Ice Maker works just like the advertisement promised! It works great & looks really nice too! I like that I can choose what size Ice Cubes that I want!
The only problem that I have with this Ice Maker is that it is awfully loud while it is making & dispensing the Ice Cubes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

Not for daily use

03/21/2013
By ,
Constantine, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After looking at several different machines, we chose this one. The appearance is very stylish and fit right in with the decor which I loved. However, if you need to use this on a daily basis, I would not recommend it. It worked well for the first year, but then quit working, starting to make a whining noise and wouldn't fill with water. SO glad we bought the extended warranty. The company will be issuing a refund for the product because it is not repairable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

I had such great hope

11/12/2011
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited when I ordered this. I thought for the extra money I would get a lot more performance....not so. It never really worked right. It always turned off, and then it was hard to know when it was back on. Then it just stopped working. I have tred to call service -but they have the best hours...who gets to go home at 4:30....?? i will try to have it fixed...i will never buy another one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker : REVIEW

01/15/2012
By ,
LANSING , MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I PURCHASED ONE OF THESE FOR THE HOME , IT PUT OUT TONS OF ICE BUT AFTER IT WAS UNPLUGGED FOR OVER 2 MONTHS AND THEN TURNED BACK ON THE UNIT STARTED TO LEAK WATER FROM THE NOZZLE AREA BEHIND THE STEEL CASE.
SO I SITS IN MY BASEMENT TILL I CAN GET IT FIXED..
OVER ALL OK FOR SHORT TIME USEAGE. NOT FOR USE 24-7 .
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker
07/31/2012
By ,
Morningview KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes ice fast
Wish there were a light that stayed on to tell you that the machine was on.
You do have to keep the tray empty this machine does not store the ice for you
We thought the price was alittle high, but I have stainless appliances and it matches real well
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 9 for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker

remains to be seen

05/11/2011
By ,
mobile, al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my ice maker and follow the instructions.
It would run but not make ice. Very disappointed!!!!!!!! Will be returning for a replacement that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5