Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Honeywell Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Honeywell Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

When you're ready to go camping, tailgating or just need a portable power supply, the Honeywell HW1000i provides portable, quiet and clean power for all your recreational needs. Provides a powerful 1000 watts of power and weighs only 30 lbs., this unit uses unleaded gas and will run 6 hours on a full tank, providing 120V outlet power. The HW1000i is an inverter generator so it provides very clean power to run high performance electronics like plasma TV's and computer equipment. For safe, clean, portable power you can take anywhere, the Honeywell HW1000i is just the right size for you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation77%17 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Seems to run fine

01/14/2010
By ,
Clintwood, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi,
I got around to trying this generator today and am well pleased. If you follow the directions for starting it (found in the manual) it starts right up. Second pull as a matter of fact. My wife and I decided that we needed only a small wattage generator to power some lights (energy efficient) , two laptops (my wife was lost without her Facebook during our last 5 day power outage...:)), wireless router, TV, our DirectTV receiver, and this little generator seems to fill that requirement. One of it's big advantages is its 5-6 hour run-time on a single tank of gas ( seven-tenths of a gallon). Plus it's very light, and, from what I observed, quiet. Granted I haven't used it that much but so far I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Review 2 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Good value

03/22/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little genearator meets all expectations. I produce outdoor events and use a number of generators and needless to say the Hondas are the standard of the industry. I was hoping that this unit for almost 1/2 the price of the Honda would be close to the quality and quiet of Honda, and so far it measures up well. Other than the fuel line being loosse on the carb and leaking badly upon first filling the unit has been fine. It starts very easily, so far as easily as my Honda 1 KW, and is not quite as quiet as it, but still not bad at all. I'd say that for the price it is excellent value, WalMart shipped very quickly and painlessly. I will try one of the Honeywell 2 KWs next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 3 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Great value and performance

07/18/2010
By ,
Akron, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this generator to use while tailgating in Columbus. I did significant research on different models, wattage, etc for my needs. I felt confident that the "bang for your buck" factor and reliability were there on this model.
I ordered it on a Wed. night around 9pm and had it at my house by saturday at 11am. That fast shippng and all for $.99. That was great.
After reading the manual and following the instructions it started up on the 5th pull and ran great. Once the Economy Mode was turned on it throttled down and got much quieter. I have heard Honda generators and, while this is not quite that quiet, it is close. And at 1/2 the price it is a great value.
After letting the unit sit over night I followed the instructions and it started on the first pull.
This is definately a great deal over the comparable Honda and will come in very handy at the games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 4 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

generator fail

09/15/2010
By ,
riverton, ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this product I followed instructions to the letter and after about 100 pulls it still wouldn't start. I took it to the nearest honeywell service dealer the next day. The technician couldn't even get a spark from the spark plug wire. I asked his honest opinion and he said "buy a honda, you won't regret it" so I did. I bought the honda eu1000i, it's very quiet, very light weight, and starts on the first pull every time. I use it for tailgating and I'm glad I spent the extra money. I thought I would save some money buying the honeywell, but I just ended up wasting time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 5 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

So far so good

06/13/2010
By ,
Philly Burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first generator and I bought it as part of my bucket list of things to do. So I did it. I don't really have a desperate need for it right now but it did start on the first pull and I plugged in some lights which worked well. Next I plugged in my DJ 500 watt amp and cranked up the music and it ran effortlessly. I suppose I'm waiting for the next power outage to really put it to use. Noise level is reasonable (the music easily drowned it out). I also like that it is fairly lightweight such that my wife and daughters can move it. It also looks very professional and is about a third of the cost of the more popular brands. I may get a bigger/heavier/ more wattage generator for home use. It's apparent you can get a lot more power for the money if you go with a big and ugly unit. However, the Honeywell seems ideal as a cute portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

So far so good

06/03/2010
By ,
Burine, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little nervous when making this purchase. I read a lot of negative comments about how difficult this unit was to start and how they were received damaged. Then I though this unit is priced much lower than the other brand I hear so much about and this is also a good name brand - so why not give it a try. The generator was in prefect condition once removed from the box. So far so good. Then I followed the directions, added fuel and oil. Looked for the primer bulb but this unit did not have one. Next, I remembered all the comments from people having to pull the starter cord hundreds of times before it would start - if it started. I don't have the instructions in front of me right now, but I think the instructions stated that you would have to give it a few pulls. To my surprise it started on the first pull. The noise level was acceptable. I want to compare the sound to my brother-in-laws more expensive generator but have not had that opportunity yet. That's all I can say for now. I have not had a load applied to Honeywell yet. A camping trip is scheduled for the July 4th weekend where we will have no power. The true test is just around the corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Honeywell generator

09/15/2009
By ,
Birch Bay, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up the generator at the "in Store" and it arrived quickly, no shipping charges and it is exactly what I expected. Great product and relatively quiet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 8 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator
08/13/2010
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the reviews before buying this generator and was no sure about it. Generator was received on time and in good shape. Meet all of our expecations. took it to colorado, started on the first pull, (just follow the instructions). It keeps our 5 wheels battery charged so we can dry camp. Like the other reivews is a little louder than I had hoped, but nobody complained and we are happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 9 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Need to do some repairs

08/04/2010
By ,
Aurora,oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved this product a little over a week ago. I fueled it and started it. The product started right up. I put it away and now I am camping and when I started the product up it would not send out an electrical current. I shut it down and waited a few minutes and started it back up. It worked fine then, trouble is it only ran about 15 minutes and shut down after several attempts and shutting down each time. I started check fuel flow and found that the fuel filter was leaking like a seive from the top I am 40 miles from the nearest town and now have to drive all the way there and hope that they have a replacement filter I can buy and install and cross my fingers this will be the only thing wrong. I am hoping so because this unit is light weight and just what we need for our camping needs
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Not very helpful product.

10/13/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Generator was working good when it start. But I order it and every time I was trying to use it, it is very hard to get the generator to start. I have to pulled like 5 to 6 time to get it start. If it getting older I think I won't be able to get it start at all. oh well maybe it is my luck. If any of you guy out there want to buy it go ahead and get it and then let me know how it is working for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-9points
Review 11 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Honeywell 1000 watt inverter generator

07/21/2010
By ,
Sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this generator after doing a lot of research. Shipping was fast with next day delivery a bargain for $14. I followed the instructions for start up including putting oil in the unit, it started on the 4th pull and ran great. I shut it down for a few minutes and started it again and it started on the second pull. I will be using this to run my 40 amp converter in my travel trailer and for light 110 volt use. This is a fantastic generator for the money. This generator is quiet, I have read reviews that the Honda is quieter I don't believe anyone would notice the difference in a few db's and the price difference is HUGE. Great job Honeywell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

A VERY quiet generator because it never started.

09/08/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my "quiet" generator and went camping. When I got to the campsite I filled the oil, filled it with gas, set the choke and pulled. And pulled, and pulled and pulled and pulled etc. Very quiet generator since it never started. Problem with all this is you have to drain the gas and oil out before you have to ship it back. Buyer beware. It looks like a great generator and I am going to replace it instead of a refund and give it one more shot. I will write another review when I receive the replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Great for light power needs.

06/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to use in an older RV. It ran the lights and forced air furnace without problem. However, when we tried to run an electric skillet, it overloaded the machine.
It runs great and starts easily. The decibel level is only slightly greater than my dad's Honda 2000i.
I was very impressed with the product, but am going to upgrade to the 2000 watt model so that I there is a little bit more versatility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Too Loud

08/20/2010
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good generator and easy to use and it started up right away. The only problem is it is TOO LOUD. I bought it because it was advertised as being quiet but when I ran it at the camp site I had to turn it off after about 20 minutes because I was afraid of disturbing the other campers. I need something to run my CPAP machine at night while tent camping. This was not a good choice for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 15 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Meet the exppectations

10/30/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this generator on Feb 2010. The main use for this generator is for camping, so far is working great. I needed a small generator to charge my boat batteries, small portable TV and the lights in my truck camper. So far it runs every thing and power to spare. With the ECO feature it almost as quit as Honda at half of the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 16 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

junk

01/14/2011
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought around augustof 2010. week later carb sucking up oil. sent out for repair. still sucking up oil. sent out they installed a new carb. still sucking oil sent out recieved a new one. lasted a month and quit. in ther shop again as of 1/14/ 11. Broken longer than i could use in a 6 month period.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Right Size for a Great Price

06/21/2010
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For what we needed it for, it works great and is quiter than expected. Our other choice was a Honda of the same size, but at almost 3 times the cost. I would suggect this generator for anyone who uses it occationally.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Works Just Right

06/22/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a "just so" powerful BUT quiet generator to use at the Farmers market and this is working out wonderfully. The power is there and it doesnt disturb anyone!! Easy to use to, not to heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator

Very satisfied

01/09/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave to my husband as a Christmas gift. He likes it. So quiet. Runs everything he wanted it for, as he has a big one for everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 20 for Honeywell 1,000 Watt 49cc Portable Gas Powered Inverter Generator
05/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
every thing I expected from this product only thing I wish it had is two 110 outlets
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-12points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next