Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

The Sanyo HPS-SG2 Indoor Barbeque Grill is an efficient electric grill that helps you prepare delicious recipes in a healthier manner. It is a non-stick grill with a removable drip pan, which catches the excess fat from the food as it trickles down the appliance. It is also a dishwasher-safe drip pan, making matters easy when its time to clean up the mess. The double-coated grill with a non-stick surface also makes cleaning easy. This indoor barbeque grill has an adjustable temperature control system up to 425 F. This feature provides you with wider grilling options, so you can experiment with your grilled fare. Smoke-free cooking is possible without compromising on the taste of the food. You can sear steaks just like how its done in a traditional barbeque.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%117 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

GREAT GRILL

04/26/2010
By ,
Okeechobee, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this item after looking at it for a month or so. Based on reviews by other buyers I decided to get one. I am a single person and live in an apartment. So the smokeless electric griddle is just what I needed. I have used it twice so far and was quite pleased with it. Is it smokeless? Yes. No alarms went off. Easy to clean. Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Review 2 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

grilling is fun

08/25/2010
By ,
ocala,florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used my grill just about every day from the day I picked it up.We have cooked pork, chicken,hamburgers, steaks, and one of our favorites, sliced potatoes with onions and butter wrapped up in tinfoil.This grill cleans easly and its light to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 3 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Great Grill

03/08/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sanyo Grill is the best grill that I have ever purchased. DO NOT EVER.. AND I MEAN EVER... get a George Foreman Grill. They are messy and break very easily. Although this Sanyo Grill looks cheap out of the box, it is very sturdy to last and is easy to clean. Just 1 tip, don't put too much water in the drip pan, just fill it enough to cover the bottom, and it is perfect. This grill is awesome for travel or at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Review 4 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

very nice for winter

12/21/2009
By ,
N Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grill is perfect in size for the two of us, ease of use, ease of cleaning. I just wish it would get hotter so it wouldn't take as long but it is still a keeper. I also like site-to-store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Review 5 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

fantistic

09/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have enjoyed this product, I love the way it grills. I have used it almost e/other day since I got it. I highly recommend it. Only thing I wish is that the grill part would be immsersable. But I'm dealing with the clean up not to hard. Wish I had bought it sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 6 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Great indoor alternative

05/25/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill solely based on reviews. I do have the option to grill outdoors but by the time you get home from work and get yourself and your family situated, who feels like firing up the grill outdoors. Now nothing beats charcoal taste but man, this really helps fill the void. WAY better than a forman because it has the open grates and it sears the nicely. I'm in love! Stopping by the market tonite to get fixins for hamburgers :) Its hot out and i can stay nice and cool while enjoying tasty bbq food. I plan on using this grill very often and have made room for it on my counter.
Pros: Functional
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Great indoor grill

11/12/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE LOVE this grill. I've read all the reviews for this grill before I purchased it and it's all true. I've done steaks, chicken and fish so far. We've also done peppers and onions which came out great. This grill has a permanent spot on my kitchen counter. I use it at least 4 times a week. It's so great cause I don't have to use my oven so much and it's so healthy too. It does smoke up a bit in the house but I leave my window open and it's gone in a few minutes. All my meat comes out juicy and I love the grill marks on the food, looks like it came from the outdoor grill. I also love the fact that I don't have to wait on my husband to heat up the outside grill like I use to but can do this all on my own and I think it comes out better. Easy clean up I use a bristle brush and it's clean. You won't be disappointed with this grill. I plan on buying one for my brother for Christmas, I know he'll love it since he lives in an apartment and can't use an outdoor grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Wow

05/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best indoor grill ever. This is the next best thing to an outdoor grill!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 9 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Good little grill

05/24/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall it's just what it says. a small indoor grill. it works well and i am very satisfied with it. closest thing to an outdoor charcoal grill you'll find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 10 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Nice....... !!!

10/04/2011
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recently received my grill and have started using it. my first choice was ribeye steaks, they were on the fatty side, and about 1/2 inch thick. there was a bit of smoke; however not near as much as there would have been if i had cooked them in my oven! the grill marks and favor were great, somewhat similar to outdoor grilling. as i like med rare steaks i did over cook them some; that will improve with using my grill! lol ;-) the meat did not stick; i lightly wiped cooking oil on it with a paper towel since i do not use spray oils and the grill use easy to clean. also i was pleased to see how much fat was in the drain pan and not still in my steak. i am looking forward to using my grill more and more, and trying many recipes to include veggies and fruit as well. i do not really know how durable it will be yet; however i purchased ext warranty as i plan to use this lil' baby often!!! 'depending' on what is being cooked i would say this grill is a good size for 2-4 people. i am pleased with this purchase and i do recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

wonderful indoor grill

05/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just used this to cook steaks on, they turned out great, put the grill on my cutting board, sat on my stove and cooked away. Great for apartment living if you don't want to use the community bbq. Raining no problem, you don't have to leave the house. Clean up is fantastic, it all comes apart for easy cleaning, unlike george foreman's.
A++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 12 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill
07/21/2011
By ,
Philadelphia Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really a great tool to have,for your kitchen. I'm so glad that I purchased it
I did do a lot of research on it and it really lives up to what the other people are
saying about it. It cooks your food just right and it don't take long. And it really
takes no time at all for the grill to cool down. Some say they would not surmerge
it in the dish water, but if you're anything like me you want your cooking tools
really clean. Yes it is easy to clean, but you don't get all the cruddy stuff off of
it. So what I do is cook enough for a few days and let it completly dry and I'm
good to go. But it's your choice. It's going to be used a lot in my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 13 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Next best thing to outdoor-grilling....

07/07/2011
By ,
Broomfield, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since I live in an apartment without a patio, I was missing the taste of grilled food. This is pretty close in the "taste" department. I am pleased with the easy clean-up and non-stick surfaces. The splatter is very minimal, which is one thing I was concerned about. It is really light-weight and flat for easy storage. I would recommend this for others looking to "replace" the outdoor-grilling experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Great Diet Aid

04/17/2011
By ,
Hammond, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this indoor grill-it's large and the food tastes like it came off an outside grill. The only feature I'm not wild about is that the grill unit cannot be submerge into water because of where the electric cord plugs into the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Excellent Grill

04/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the product. It does take a bit longer than an outside gas grill, but produces the grilled flavor. The in-expensive price makes this a nice addition to any kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 16 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

I have a closet of usless machines

08/28/2011
By ,
Vancouver WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a closet full of usless machines that do not perform as advertised. However, this is one machine that will not see that closet. It works just as advertised and is now my favorite machine. I am using it almost nightly and it cooks well and there is NO smoke. From my past experience, this machine should be double the price. GREAT MACHINE FOR GREAT VALUE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Elated -- Use it every night almost

03/31/2011
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an indoor grill I'm using to replace the old outdoor bar-b-q. So far, we've healthy-cooked ham-burgers, steaks, chicken, shrimp/pineapple skewers.
The only negative I can see is the heat dial is not readable even in good lighting. For my old eyes, even glasses AND a magnifier didn't help much. Otherwise LOVE it! LOVE it! LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Great Grill

05/15/2011
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with the performance of the Sanyo 850-Watt grill. It took a little longer than I expected to get to the set temperature, but it did an amazing job grilling. With water in the drip pan, there was absolutely no smoke and clean up was easy. I will be using this little gem over and over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 19 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

Fantastic!

07/21/2011
By ,
Elkhorn City, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I search long and hard and read reviews on several other grills and this one by far, out weighed all others on price, ease of cleaning, ease of use, and not to mention - 5 star reviews. So far I have grilled hamburgers and steaks and I have to say, I couldn't be more pleased! Oh yes, I also put some onions and peppers with some butter in foil, sealed it up and let them sauté on the grill when the steak was cooking and they turned out perfectly. Its just a little slower than a gas grill but that's to be expected. I personally think things are better when cooked slower any way. To hold in more heat, I just placed a piece of aluminum foil over the meat or what ever you are cooking and it works just as well as a lid. Plus less to clean up...just throw it away. It is super easy to clean up, maybe 5 mins...no joke. I first spray it off under hot water, then take a dish brush w/detergent and scrub it...top and bottom, then I just go over it real quick w/dish cloth and bam! Your done, ha ha. The drip pan is a sinch to clean up in a few seconds. If anything were to ever happen to this grill, I would have no problem buying another one just like it...I love it that much : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Sanyo 850-Watt Large Indoor Barbecue Grill

DID WHAT WAS EXPECTED

03/30/2011
By ,
ATLANTA, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LIVE IN AN APARTMENT AND THIS PRODUCT WORKED GREAT! COOKS MY GRILLED CHICKEN, STEAKS, AND RIBS JUST LIKE IT WOULD AN OUTDOOR GRILL WITHOUT ALL THE SMOKE AND CHARCOAL MESS. I USED LIQUID SMOKE TO GET THAT FLAVOR AND CLEAN UP IS VERY EASY. A PRODUCT I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next