Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cosco Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Cosco Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

The Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder provides the function of multiple ones in a single neatly conceptualized product. It can be used as a step ladder, a stairway ladder, an extension ladder, scaffolding and a wall ladder. This aluminum step ladder requires no assembly and provides sturdy, support and balance. Flared legs anchor the ladder firmly, along with slip-resistant feet and positive hinges for superior security. This Cosco 17' ladder can also be used as a scaffold with two heights. For accessibility to difficult-to-reach places, use it as an extension ladder. Designed for an extra heavy-duty industrial work-load of 300 lbs, the ladder meets ANSI 1A guidelines. It s easy to see why it s called the world's greatest ladder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
44
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%216 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
44
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

This ladder is great.

11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this ladder to use at our home. We recently used it while painting our exterior windows, gutters and trim. It reached much higher than I had imagined it would, yet it folds up so compactly! It is also lightweight enough that I (an average strength woman) could handle it myself. Great alternative to owning several ladders at half the price of one from the local hardware store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great Ladder!

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the ladder in a two story stairwell,it worked great,and I felt safe at the same time!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder
07/06/2012
By ,
South Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thisd ladder will do the job. It isn't as well built as my larger Little Giant but it was about $100 less than the equivalent sized Little Giant. I bought a smaller ladder because it is lighter than my larger ladder but still reaches most of the things I need to regularly touch. I am a home owner not a contractor and believe this ladder will last as long as I need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Can't beat if for the price

03/10/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd one of these I've purchased. I bought one 3 years ago and got tired of dragging it out of state. So I just left it at our family cabin and got another one. It is so convenient and versatile. I like the ease of lifting and the stability. Similar ladders sell for $3-400. Why spend that much when you can have this one for a third of the price? You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Light strong and functional

06/19/2013
By ,
Butte, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ladder was a lot lighter than I was expecting. It also had the additional feature I was not expecting of becoming two individual step ladders to create a platform for a mini scaffold. The price cannot be beat. One thing I was wondering about before I purchased was the A-Frame maximum height. This appears to be about 7' 10" at the peak. So as an A-frame this is equivalent to about an 8' ladder.
I also purchased via site to store and it worked very well. I was pleased with the service and the ease of purchasing it online and picking it up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great ladder for home owner

12/13/2014
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ladder is wonderful. It's easy to open and it's very sturdy, even when it's almost all the way extended. I needed it to do the roof of my new shed. I was able to extend it when I worked on it. I'm a 60 yr old lady who still works around my house. I had no problems getting it to extend on my own. I recommended it to one of my co-workers. I've had it over a year and I've had no problems with it at all. It's just as good as the more expensive brand.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Awesome Ladder

12/10/2011
By ,
St. Louis, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You would not be disappoint with this purchase, atleast I wasn't it has worked out very great for my in home projects was able to get to areas I never believed possible. It is somewhat heavy but light enough for me to carry...need I say I'm a women. It is simple to use and easy set up for the many angle it has use for. I'm very pleased with this ladder. And it will hold weight over the 300lbs. with strudiness too. Hope you enjoy as I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Calls for strong hands!

03/22/2014
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No doubt the ladder will "wear in" with time and become easier for me to use alone. It's best-if you have hand & wrist pain-you also have a buddy to turn the knobs. I can't do it. I'm 4'10", over 50, and this ladder is a bit much for me. That said, I have a neighbor who helps out around my home. He used it to clean the gutters on my house and said the rungs are painful to stand on for long periods. I still think it's a great value. I wish I had this back in '89 when I bought the house and I was that much younger! I like that it is very stable and well made (outside of the rung design & hard to turn knobs). Every homeowner needs this
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder
09/24/2013
By ,
Scotia NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I volunteer with Habitat for Humanity and have used this ladder many times. Liked it so much I had to get one of my own. Versatile, durable and easily adjusted. Shopped around, on the Internet< and Walmart easily had the best price. Site-to-store pickup made it easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Masterfully done!

03/21/2010
By ,
Springfield, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This ladder can be the only one you own for the great majority of homeowners. There are two reasons it's not perfect. First, it's a bit heavy. It's not heavy for a 17 foot ladder, but it is not always 17 foot long. Think of a hide-a-bed couch for an analogy. Secondly, the spring loaded latches that lock the ladder when engaged do not have a definitive release position. They don't have a place to go while they're out in the "allow ladder to adjust" position. They're just sort of wherever, making one wonder if they're doing it right. But the bottom line is that I doubt I ever need to buy another ladder again, which proves the value of this convenient tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great ladder!

06/29/2011
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the 17 ft after reading the recommendations of the 13 and 17ft ladders here. I have a 13 ft ceiling but needed to change recessed bulbs in the center of the room, without leaning the ladder on the wall. It takes a few minutes of reading the instructions to figure how to lock/unlock the ladder, but movement is pretty easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great Ladder to have around the House

11/03/2013
By ,
lowellville,oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchasing from Walmart was a breeze....Better that buying at the store and getting it home....Very satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

TERRIFIC

06/11/2011
By ,
Crestwood KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is hard for me to get out and I get everything through the mail. WalMart always sends me what I want and I am never disappointed. Another great transaction as the ladder is wonderful!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Strong enough for a 300lb man, great for 220lb man

01/19/2014
By ,
Phoenixville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was leary when I read reviews about plastic knobs at the hinge, but in actuality, the hinge itself is metal and no need to worry about it being weak. The knobs are heavy plastic, a little too slick for this 72 yr old man to grip well, so I will coat them with rubber for an easier twist to reposition the hinge. Spray the hinge and lock pins with a little silicon to make changing positions a snap.
Extended position of the ladder is well above the roof of a 12' 6" tall 5th wheel RV which is exactly what I need for a comfortable climb up with a bucket full of tools and repair dope, when the built-in RV ladder is against a fence. It is much easier to climb this ladder then the straight up built-in RV ladder anyway. It also gives me the feeling of stability because of the wider legs at the bottom. In the A frame position, the ladder is tall enough to wash the highest window on your rig unless you have a rig that won't clear highway bridges. Yet it folds short enough to easliy fit in any of my basement compartments so it is less likely to be stolen.
Havn't tried the scaffold position yet, but I suspect it is going to make waxing my rig much easier since I won't have to climb up and down so often to move the ladder. Almost looking forward to this tedious job just to try it.
Price was good. Shipping was right on time and free. Can't beat that.
This writeup may sound like a commercial, but I am a snow bird that has tried bringing my home step ladders of various lenghts in the past which were pains to carry and I am a real user of this ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great Product

09/10/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopping for ladders was a trying experience. I'm not a small fellow @ over 6' tall and topping the scales at near 250lbs. The reviews I read for standard ladders were brutal unless you wanted to sell your first born child to get a decent one. I saw this and thought I'd give it a go. I've used it so far as a full extension and as a standard ladder (as in the picture, but with the legs extended).
I felt secure and stable and it allowed me to get the job done!
I would buy again and recommend it for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Cosco 17' world's greatest ladder

10/26/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one of these ladders. My other one is still in excellent shape and I leave it outside every winter to get up to my roof and clear ice jam areas. I am 54 and a pretty good sized woman and I feel very stable on this ladder. I wanted a second one for the other side of the house to clear the roof off my screen porch.
I leave it in place for the winter so the the snow packs around it and acts as an anchor support but it is stable even without that. No rust at all after three winters outside and last years winter was horrible! I highly recommend this ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

SOLID LADDER EXCELLENT VALUE.

02/11/2012
By ,
Warwick N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I OPENED INTO MOST CONFIGURATIONS AND FOUND IT VERY STURDY AND EASY ENOUGH TO USE IN ALL ITS POSITIONS. THE (A) FRAME POSITION GETS YOU INTO POSITION FOR MID ROOM CEILING HEIGHTS, THE ONE SIDE STRAIGHT GETS YOU UP AGAINST WALLS WITHOUT THE LADDER TOUCHING THE WALL AND THE EXTENSION CONFIGURATION IS EXCELLENT FOR CLEANING EXTERIOR GUTTERS OR POWER WASHING SIDING. IT IS A SUBSTANTIAL LADDER, IT HAS SOME HEFT TO IT. PERFECT HOME OWNER LADDER. EXCELLENT VALUE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Saves money - multiple purposes in one ladder

09/04/2013
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Single mother - on a budget - learning to do my own home projects. This ladder is worth the money. My 11-year old son set it up for me and showed we have already used it folded to reach an area above my outdoor windows and unfolded to reach an area on my cathedral ceilings - then hung it on the garage wall for storage. Perfect for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Climb on

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and easy to operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

great ladder

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ladder does everything the little giant will do but at about a third the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 191 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next