Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cosco Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Cosco Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

The Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder provides the function of multiple ones in a single neatly conceptualized product. It can be used as a step ladder, a stairway ladder, an extension ladder, scaffolding and a wall ladder. This aluminum step ladder requires no assembly and provides sturdy, support and balance. Flared legs anchor the ladder firmly, along with slip-resistant feet and positive hinges for superior security. This Cosco 17' ladder can also be used as a scaffold with two heights. For accessibility to difficult-to-reach places, use it as an extension ladder. Designed for an extra heavy-duty industrial work-load of 300 lbs, the ladder meets ANSI 1A guidelines. It s easy to see why it s called the world's greatest ladder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
43
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%209 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 155 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
43
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

I wish I had purchased the 21 foot version

11/10/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Walmart only sells the 13 and 17 foot versions of this ladder but the manufacturerer also offers a 21 foot version. I bought the 17 footer not knowing the taller option existed. The 21 foot ladder would have been heavier and more expensive but I think more useful to me in the long run. You can see from the photo that even at full extension the ladder does not reach high enough for some my needs. I'm also a little irked that Walmart lowered the price $20 days after mine was delivered.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Real quality

06/07/2014
By ,
Kansas City, Kamsas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rungs are comfortable which really helps with the footing. Just the right height to getting to gutters for a typical one story house. It is a little heavy, but is because ladder is well made. A few people complained about oil or some type of black coming off on them, no idea what they could have been referring to, the ladder is silver and didn't see oil. Then there was a few that said you needed 2 people to adjust it, (No You Don't). I am a female in my late 50's with a very bad back and severe loss of upper body strength due to a auto accident and I adjust the ladder by myself with no help whatsoever. Have since thrown the box away but I believe it states the ladder weighs 35 lbs. so it it heavy, but sturdy which makes me fell very comfortable climbing to the roof. I do have a 2 other very good ladders, but neither which made me feel secure and unafraid climbing up to the gutters. You will need the 17' for the typical one story house, 13' would be to short. But if your home is 2 story then you would need to go to a longer extension ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

A lot of Ladder for the money

10/14/2014
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have nothing but praise for this Cosco 17' Ladder I have only owned it for a couple of weeks but have put it through it's paces as a straight ladder, step ladder even adjust's easily for on stairs use, This little gem is my new go too favorite and she is strong, sturdy and super easy to adjust, If you are a home owner in need of a ladder that can do all and take up very little space when not in use look no further you have found what you want this ladder closes down to 4' for storage up to 17' as a straight ladder and 8' as a step ladder or as small as 4' for a step ladder and you can shorten one side to go on stairs and still sit level.... What a buy !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

not up to standards of competitors ladders

02/24/2013
By ,
Central NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This ladder might be OK if it weren't for 3 things mentioned in other reviews, but really annoying to me:
1) the "mill finish" that Cosco cites leads to black all over your hands, there was some with other ladders but not like this.
2) the latching mechanism is similar to Vulcan, but the hinge and latch do not engage positively nor as securely as on the Werner or Little Giant
3) the construction is a bit less tight than the Werner or Little Giant comparable to the Vulcan
So although the design seems OK, the implementation was not as good as competitive ladders available for about the same price (see HFT Vulcan for instance). The mill finish that leaves more residue on my hands than any other ladder I've ever owned was the killer for me, back to the store!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Excellent ladder at impressive price.

12/26/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ladder is build very solidly, reconfigures with easy and I see very little difference between this ladder and the Little Giant. Many people were asking on line if Little Giant working platform and accessories shelf are compatible with this ladder. I purchased both and can say that they do not fit perfectly due to some difference between hang points on two ladders caused probably by difference between rungs shape. Despite fact that the compatibility is not perfect, I use both of them successfully and do not feel unsafe when on the altitude. Namely, the attachments are not perfectly level, leaning slightly toward the ladder, which I found even more secure, as this tilt makes me rather hugging the ladder than lose balance and fall back.
The bottom line - I am very happy with my new ladder serving me very well in my home improvement project, after purchase of beautiful but suffering disrepair, home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Good vs competitor's

09/25/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money vs competitors. Come to find out mfg's don't actually tell the 'working' extension, only the total length of the parts, so it falls short of the height I needed. I'll keep it for its different configurations. Not especially happy with width of rungs: like all other modern ladders :( they just plain hurt because you have to stand in the arch of your foot and mechanically/physically that is asking for problems; would rather have add'l weight and comfortable rungs intended for humans. Light-weight for the size & construction, but awkward and sometimes dangerous in the 'extended' configuration for one woman to carry, extend, lift and then put down since it is not a 'pull cord' type extension. AND, wish they had accessories like a stand-off. I'll have to see if another mfg's stand-off will fit. Levelers would be great too for any of its configurations when working outside on ground instead of hard surfaces.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

One word Awesome!

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdiest most versatile ladder I have ever used. Upgrade to this and you wont be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Good value. Versatile ladder.

12/22/2011
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use fold-up ladders every day in my work and I've used every brand there is. The Costco is NOT "the world's greatest ladder", but it may be the world's best value ladder. It feels slightly lighter and it is much cheaper than the Little Giant and Werner brands. Those are good things. However, it does have some plastic hinge releases that will break if abused. For this reason I would not recommend it for heavy construction usage or if you are the type that drops or throws things around. For most careful homeowners I would not hesitate to recommend buying it. It should last many years if it is stored indoors and not abused. It is plenty sturdy and is a versatile ladder that can be used as an adjustable step ladder or extension ladder. It can be adjusted for use on stairs since the number of rungs on one side can be shorter than the other. It folds up so small that it can fit in a trunk of most cars (especially the cars with fold down rear seats). If I recall correctly this "17 foot" ladder really only extends to 15 feet but all ladder manufacturers mislead on lengths so I'm not counting that as a negative. Another consideration: Buying online at Walmart is currently $20 cheaper than buying in the store. I don't know why they do that but to me it is worth the effort to order online and do a in-store pick up to save shipping costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Best Ladder Ever !

10/06/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this ladder for my husband to do chores around new home, after apartment dwelling for 20 yrs we only had an assortment of smaller A frame ladders. I have never seen him so happy-- he loves it ! My husband is 5' 11" & about 200 lbs-- says this baby is as solid as a rock ! Easy to configure to all the different settings, folds up to take almost no space & covers all ladder needs for doing work on a one family ranch where outside terrain is very uneven.
Out went all the different sized old ladders !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

great ladder and takes up very little space

04/29/2010
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a one story house and this ladder does everything I need it to..I use it inside for things like painting and changing light bulbs and batteries in smoke detectors and to get into the attic..and outside it is the perfect height for cleaning the gutters and getting on the roof if needed..It is a little heavy..but to me that just means its well made..Its easy to set up and adjust and its every ladder I could ever need and takes up very little space..I can actually store it in a small closet in the house and not even know its there...and the price was great..you cant hardly buy a good quality step ladder with a 300lb. capacity for this price.let alone a 17' extension ladder..no need for multiple ladders for different jobs ..this one does it all....cudos
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder
09/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything was great. It was a little heavier than I expected, but is well built, compact, and functional. I hope it lasts a long time, but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

GREAT PRODUCT

11/30/2010
By ,
MIO MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'M 66 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T LIKE CLIMBING LADDERS BUT THIS LADDER GIVES ME ALL THE CONFIDENCE I NEED. IT IS STURDY AND SIMPLE TO HAUL AROUND AND EASY TO CONFIGURE INTO IT'S DIFFERENT POSITIONS. FANTASTIC PRODUCT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LADDER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Best deal on a best ladder

04/27/2010
By ,
Northeast Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this same ladder at another dealer at TWICE the price and almost bought it, but decided to wait and look at other ladders before commiting. When I saw this ladder on Walmart's web site I checked it out and was blown away by the price difference! I bought the ladder from Wal-Mart and it has been the best ladder I have owned. It does everything I need it to do, it is light but will hold a good deal of weight. I am handicapped, in a wheelchair, able only to use my arms and right leg to some extent, and I am able to use the ladder for projects I would NEVER attempt with other step or extension ladders. This is one fine ladder. It is easy to use and transport on my electric scooter, so I am in hog heaven when I have to change an outside flood lamp on the house!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

I LOVE this ladder!

08/26/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the ladder called the Little Giant Ladder a long time ago, but I didn't get it in the divorce, so when I needed my OWN ladder, this is what I bought. It's SO like the Little Giant, and half the price, which for me now was important. Easy to use, sturdy, and I couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder
10/11/2009
By ,
Buffalo, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to store. Multiple combination's for more uses. Priced very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

A great ladder

09/24/2009
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great ladder. Quality construction, multi-adjustable and sturdy.
The price was the cheapest I could find online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

best ladder

09/13/2014
By ,
escanaba mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought it, for my son in law. mine is 5 year old, great ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Ok ladder, shakey when fully extended.

06/12/2012
By ,
Kingston, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The ladder itself is easy to use and expand to the various positions. When fully extended it is rather flimsy. It held, but it can be scary going up and down as it bows.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder

Great for all types of work.

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price and fast delivery to my home,has many uses.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cosco 17' World's Greatest Ladder
07/06/2012
By ,
South Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thisd ladder will do the job. It isn't as well built as my larger Little Giant but it was about $100 less than the equivalent sized Little Giant. I bought a smaller ladder because it is lighter than my larger ladder but still reaches most of the things I need to regularly touch. I am a home owner not a contractor and believe this ladder will last as long as I need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next