Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Motorola Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Speed, compatibility, and reliability make the Surfboard Docsis 3.0 Motorola 100Mbps Cable Modem a perfect way to avoid the rental fees usually associated with having cable TV. Plus, when tied to your home network, the Motorola 100Mbps Cable Modem delivers lightning fast downloads and uploads, making streaming movies, uploading large photos, and multiple window browsing that much easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%86 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

this is a great modem!

11/20/2010
By ,
spencer, wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent choice, performance, easiest of hook ups.
our cable co. is switching to docsis 3.0 & our modem was dying fast. read the reviews on this product and ordered one.
as i posted, easy hook-up. in my case, i called the cable co. after i installation and they did whatever they do to recognize a new modem. the cable tech noted the modem was a docsis 3.0 and said that was a great choice as suddenlink is going 3.0 for speed. you may have to call your cable co. & notify them of the new modem to make sure you're linked up properly.
**ps** when i first hooked up the modem, i had 4 green lights. after the cable co. call, i had 3 green lights and now a blue 'recieve' light. i called motorola & the tec rep said the blue light indicates docsis 3.0 signal is recognized by the cable co. so if you see a blue recieve light, she's 100%.
we've had this over a month now & not one dropped signal or complaint....we had plenty of dropped signals & slow speed before this purchase. all is right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Excellent Performance, Extremely Satisfied!

10/26/2010
By ,
Parkland, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews on numerous websites and discussing this modem with a tech at Comcast I ordered this product. I hooked it up easily and called Comcast to initialize the modem. I could not be happier! This is one of the most advanced modem to maximize your internet performance that is available. After months of frustration being knocked off the internet, I can honestly say this is worth every penny. When you install the product you might want to test the speed of your internet, by logging onto www.speedtest.net you will see the mps are phenominal! I also purchased a new router NETGEAR WNDR3700. Teamed with this modem, you will be most pleased if you have multiple computers, especially wireless.
These are my best electronic purchases of the season. And, by-the-way, I have not been knocked off the internet since I installed this modem 3 weeks ago, and this was a daily occurance. Go buy this today, you will be glad you did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Exactly what I needed

09/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I needed. My cable company, Comcast, upgraded there internet service to accept DOCSIS 3.0. Motorola is currently the only company to offer this.
I hooked it up and what a difference in speed. Also Wal-Mart.com was the cheapest around. I highly recommend this modem if your looking for speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 4 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Not for everyone

01/28/2011
By ,
Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cable modem, it connects very quickly. I spent a lot of money on a high speed gaming router with gigabit ports (10/100/1000) and had everything running on wireless "N" but my old cable modem only supported 10/100 speed which i felt was bottle necking my speed. Since i have installed the cable modem i have checked the speed on several bandwidth testing sights and have noticed EXTREMELY fast speeds with very low latency, usually about 20ms which is very good. I have had no problems with having to reset the modem at all, over all it works well. The only thing i would say is it is overkill if you don't have over 15meg internet speeds, and demand the fastest connection speeds possible. All you have to do to set it up is plug everything in then call your ISP, tell them you have a modem you need to set up give them the MAC address and Serial number (both are on the box and the modem) and you will have a trouble free internet connection with a modem that is not only backwards compatible but future compatible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 3.0 works

12/22/2010
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 3.0 works our of the box.
Hooked up the modem (directions are worthless & software a joke).
Called ISP, gave them new HFC MAC ID. ISP pinged modem, reset the modem, updated their records, and modem worked flawlessly.
Modem will not work if your ISP has a different MAC ID assigned to you. You will need to call your ISP. Not modem's fault.
Walmart on-line competition slightly less expensive due to state sales tax, but Walmart offers no charge return to store & free shipping. Our local Walmart is always no hassle to deal with so worth the extra dollar or two.
DOCSIS 3.0 worth the extra money for speed & longer usable life.
Motorola appears not to have any limits on their customer support. Much of their competition now limits free customer support to 90 days from purchase.
Motorola customer support has toll free number.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Fast and easy

11/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cableone here is upgrading the system. As of December 1st. my old surfboard would no longer be supported. I had that one since Cableone got cable modem service here many years ago. I was happy with my old modem but this one is faster with no upgrade in service. Easy to hook up. I called in the ID number and was running in minutes. It is a great modem for the money and I figure I am set for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

IS IT COMCAST, THE CABLE MODEM OR THE COMPUTER?

01/14/2011
By ,
Fresno, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this SB6120 after much research, but decided to install PRIOR to purchasing the new fast multicore Intel 99x Extreme Edition processor computer to TEST whether my previously SLOWER internet REALLY was my computer as Comcast was saying. Have been paying for 12MB download speed from Comcast, but not getting even 4 MB down and less than 1Mb/s up. SO . . . .
Installed this new Modem SB6120 on this old Pentium4 computer (minimum processor required by Motorola). Easy install. About 15-20 mins on phone w/ Comcast. Modem does take a few minutes to "warm up" so to speak, but big deal if speed is faster. WAS IT? YOU BET. Without changing anything else other than replacing the rented Comcast modem to this DOC SIS 3 modem, my internet speed down MORE THAN DOUBLED and my upload speed quadtrupled. Of course, that's from a slow speed to start before installing this modem. And this is on 9 year old computer equipment. Ran speed tests on 3 different sites, 3 different times each. So . . . it's NOT just the computer that has been the problem all along -- as Comcast kept saying. IT IS the cable modem that made the difference in my new speeds here.
Can't say that the increase in speed is JUST due to this particular Motorola product per say, rather it's probably the upgrade to the DOC SIS 3 protocol that is on this modem. A few other DOC SIS 3 modems are also available, but none with as good of reviews as this one.
Now CAN'T WAIT TO get my new computer to see if it increases more. Might even pay Comcast for the 20Mb/s speed after that since this modem can easily handle that. ONE'S INTERNET SPEED will be limited by multiple factors and one of the most important factors is the speed you're paying for from Comcast (or other provider). STILL I'm paying for the 12Mb/s download speed from Comcast, and this am, this new SB6120 registered in (on 3 sites) as 19Mb/s down and using bonded channels and on my "old" pentium 4 processor computer. I'm pleased.
CONS
1. No place to register on Motorola -- KEEP your Receipt for 2 yr warranty as some people report the unit dies after 6 months. Also buy ONLY from an "authorized" reseller of Motorola (like Walmart) OTHERWISE Motorola will NOT warranty the product at all. See literature you get with product.
2. Don't like the Motorola website -- not very user friendly, but does have good documentation online for the user manual. Manual also on the disk sent with product.
3. One user on another review site complained about the brighness of the LINK light. Thought she must be the picky type, BUT now that I've installed the unit, she has a point. Wouldn't recommend this on your desktop right next to your monitor. Link light does blink constantly (showing data being moved) and it is very bright. Would be annoying at eye level. Fortunately mine is up on a desk shell ~ 3' above my line of sight.
4. THIS POWER CORD could be longer. Could NOT place my modem on the upper R of my desk with cord to left side of desk on floor. Had to put up on Left -- tight fit -- too short!
Otherwise -- great unit so far. We'll see if it holds up based on others complaints.
AS USUAL -- THE BEST PRICE WAS HERE AT WALMART AND WITH FREE SHIP TO HOME. WALMART ROCKS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Excellent

06/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good, no complaints. Insane fast. Looks good in my home set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Great product!

06/16/2010
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this modem to save on monthly cost to rent modem (Comcast). Works great and will save me $$$$!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Motorola 3.0 Modem review

01/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works fine. I was having a bunch of disconnect problems with my old Motorola modem, (3-5 a day). I've owned this new modem about a month now and have had only two disconnects in that whole time. That could probably be attributed to my internet services provider and not to the modem itself.
Installation was a breeze, no need to install any software, it is "plug and play". Only needed to call Cox cable and give them the modem's serial# and MAC#.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Sorry, Comcast!

11/20/2010
By ,
Chicagoland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of paying Comcast's $60 per year rental fee and decided to buy my own modem. I just followed the 4-step instructions that are printed on the box and never even used the installation CD. This modem works as well or better than the Comcast rental unit and will pay for itself in 15 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Easy to install, and FAST!

11/17/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple installation- 10 minutes tops. Speed increase from my old SB4100 is double to triple or more at times with my Comcast cable internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

just works

01/25/2011
By ,
Hanover, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to install.
easily started up after power outage
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

good investment

12/19/2010
By ,
Spanaway Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying wireless internet with less than stellar results I returned to my previous cable internet provider. But instead of leasing their modem I checked out compatible modems I could purchase since it would be cheaper in the long run. I selected this model based on my experiences with Motorola products and that it was one of the newer model that would work with the cable system. It took all of five minutes to get it up and running and synced with the ISP. The only problem I encountered was with my wireless router, and after resetting to factory setting every thing worked smoothly. I have been very happy with the equipment performance and the Walmart price was several dollars lower than Best Buy making it an easy choice to purchase at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Great Modem Upgrade

12/27/2010
By ,
Hillsville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgrade the old modem I had and went with the Motorola SB 6120 and have not regretted it at all. Well worth the money you will spend for it as you own it and will no longer have to rent one from you ISP/Cable Co. I use Comcast and from what I was told they accept and approve this modem in most all places and locations. Once hooked up you can tell what speed your connected at by looking at the link light on modem. If it flashes yellow you are connected at 100 Mbs, if blue you are connected or boned by 1000 Mbs. I would very much recommend this modem for anyone using Cable internet and wanting to upgrade for the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Motorola SURFboard 6120 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

02/16/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The speed of the modem is a given. Most impressive to me was the ease of installation. I was prepared for a complicated and time-consuming process. However, installation consisted of disconnecting my old modem from my internet setup, connecting the internet cable to the new modem and setting up through comcast online. I am now over 20 MBps incoming and 4.18 MBps outgoing within a 120 mile speed check. Going to the west coast also is very fast with 17 MBps incoming and 3.14 MBps outgoing. Very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

WOW what an improvement

11/28/2010
By ,
Tucson, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can hardly believe the improvement in speed and reliability since switching from the Comcast rental Motorola SB5101 modem to this Motorola SB6120. I was so fed up with the slow speeds and dropouts..I was close to changing over to QWest (the only two options available in my area). I also changed my old Belkin Pre-n router over to a new Netgear WNDR3700 at the same time and upgraded to a wifi ready Blu Ray player and it all hooked up and was running in an hour. "User friendly" seems to have finally come to pass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Best modem of all time hands down

11/02/2010
By ,
Bloomington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since purchasing this product, my cable internet has been worth the money. I used to have to reset my old modem multiple times a day. Not any more, I aslo used to have a problem running my laptop and doing online gaming or connecting my phone to my wifi. It would draw down my band width, and cause problems. Not any more, this modem keeps up with my high demand for constant internet, I can game, and file share, and have my phone connected withtout any trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Motorola is the best in cable modem

01/10/2011
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a old Motorola cable modem (about 8 years old), which never stops working or have a problem. I reviewed the comments about this new one and felt it is the time to replace the old one to increase the speed.
The new one is like the old one, easy to setup and use but not markedly increase the speed. Probably this is due to the limitation I purchased from high speed internet company rather than the modem. So far I am very happy about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Motorola Surfboard Cable Modem Docsis 3.0 100Mbps

Higher Speeds Even Using DOCSIS 2.0 Service

11/17/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised. I have Cox Communications DOCSIS 2.0 speed internet service, and this DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem has definitely increased the speed when compared to my old DOCSIS 2.0 modem.
I can't wait to see the speeds when I do increase my internet service to full DOCSIS 3.0. I already have the modem, thanks to this purchase. All I need now is to upgrade the service itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next