Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Take Two Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Take Two Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players will experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world's last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.616 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%71 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

very good

12/19/2012
By ,
chandler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent game
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

BEST GAME EVER!!!

07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like GTA 4 or any free roaming game this is a perfect game for you. Bought this game a couple of days ago and hocked. Great all around fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Online experience could be better

05/19/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Singleplayer: This game is awesome in its entirety on the singleplayer area. GTA fans may be let down a bit due to seemingly repetitive nature of the game and little variety but the setting being in the Old Americas alone makes up for it. Never seen a Western game quite like it. And true to Rockstar style, players may find themselves confused what to do at first. Heck!, hunting wild anilmals and picking flowers alone eats a lot of time.
Multiplayer: This area is this game's Achilles. In short, this area is full of bugs and glitches. Character disappearing, steeds nowhere to be found, enemies and wild animals sucking your life out of nowhere (are they invisible really?), and worse, players getting stuck while doing crucial missions. Rockstar, you gotta do better than that. Expecting a quick fix on this.
As a whole, the graphics and the environment are some of the most awesome around, mechanics doesn't hurt players who are into CoD and other shooting games, and sound and music are just superb. One thumb up Rockstar/TakeTwo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Must Have!!!!

06/07/2010
By ,
SAC, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the title states, this is a must have game. I have posted many reviews about this game on a ot of sites. That is something that I don't normally do. However, this game is so great that it deserves to been spread across the masses. It is a Game of the Year title, and might be one of the most fun games I have played in a long time. The game is very forgiving, suited for the first time player or the seasoned expert. There is not a single ounce of frustration built into the challenges. There are a few bugs at this time(first month) that might hinder some of the game, but most of that has been found in the muliti player portion. It does not effect the story/single player game as much. Fromwhat I have read the makers are working on the bugs for an update soon. This game has pushed me to write as much as I can on many web sites praising it, so that should be almost enough for you to wonder for yourself, if the game will have the same effect for you as well. A must play game, even if you have never wanted to be or have even seen a western. There is so much to do in this game, you could even just ride around on a horse for 100 hours and look at all the scenery and that would be enough to make the game worth the price. The Devs went further than that by turning this game into a fully submersive experience you have to play to relize. Have fun and look at other sites that review the game and the feelings are almost mutual. Which is a big step for the on-line community.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Clint Eastwood would just took a back seat!

06/23/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HANDS DOWN THE BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED AND I'M NOT EVEN INTERESTED IN WESTERN MOVIES! The first time I played it, I thought I might have made a mistake. It took me a couple times to get used to it. Once I figured out what I was doing, I realized how amazing this game really is. I was on the fence about this game before I played it when a friend was telling me to buy it. Eventually I bought it and it was worth every penny.
This game may even have started to make me interested in western movies. There are SO MANY different games within the game for this title, not to mention all the main missions and little random side missions. I am almost finished with the game and there are still many cool surprises that I keep coming accross. The graphics and scenery are amazing.
I've played many great games before and this one pretty much tops them all because there are so many different things to do and it's so involved.
I haven't even touched the online multiplayer yet... just for the single player it's worth it!
However, I would not recommend this game for a child under 15 as there are a few scenes that would not be appropriate because of the mature content. It would depend on what your comfortable with your kid seeing though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Red Dead Success!!

06/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game, hands down, if you enjoy the genre of open-world/sandbox games a la Grand Theft Auto, etc.
This game has a wonderful feel to it and, after logging around 50 hours into the game, I have merely scratched the surface and am finding new things to do/experience.
Regardless if you enjoy the whole "western" theme, this game is fun. I am not a 'huge' western person, yet the game is much fun, from horse riding to picking off/hunting myriad animals, to missions, side-missions (which are both man and quite involved at times for being merely 'side missions'), exploration.
If you're on the fence with this one, don't be and just buy it. I didn't even get into Multi-player yet, and that is just icing on the cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

The Good, The Great, and the Beautiful

05/31/2010
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is 10/10 material. If you could purchase just one game for the PS3 system, RDR would probably be it.
Everything about this game is beautiful, from the landscape to the incredible missions, to the actual gun fighting.
BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

NICE

05/22/2010
By ,
WASHINGTON
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really do not play online so I can't tell you about that. The controls are very similar to GTA and if you do wrong you will be chased and wanted. The graphics are awesome and you can shoot any animal in the game ( like cougars and snakes and deer even the birds) you get to sell for money. There is a fame meter and a honor meter. The more bad the less honor more good higher honor and so on. There are side challanges ( like quick draw and bounty hunting and helping random people) and of course main missions. I didn't play the first Red dead and I am not sure if the storyline continues but I understand what is happening. The only thing I really don't like is you can not save the game if you use the cheats even if you turn them off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

An Awesome buy!

08/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is definately worth the money. If your a gamer who like the open world environment then this is a game for you. The story of John Marstons quest to get his family back is pretty outstanding. I give this game and buy two huge thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Great Western Game.

01/09/2011
By ,
carbondale co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Red Dead Redemption Is a awesome western, action, adventure, free roaming, and Shooting game Red Dead Redemption offers quite abit of stuff from free roaming which means you go explore the huge single player map. You can go play my favorite mini game five finger fillet, or you could go play some blackjack, poker, liars dice, and horse shoes. The Single Player mode is Really long a bunch of stuff to do overall my single player completion is at like 80% and i have player for over 35 hours, but I have not par taked in all the excellent side missions, and there are a lot lot lot of side missions i have probbaly done like 40 side missions but i could still do alot more of them, And the game has a pretty good story i'm not going to spoil it for you thou. The last thing I wanted to point out is the hunting, the hunting is really fun because you can hunt birds, wolves, deer, and many other animals also you can sell thier pelts, furs, and hearts for a lot of cash. Overall I think Red Dead Redemption is a great game exploding with stuff to do and i would highly reccomend it!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Good overall gameplay!

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only played a few times so far, but a really enjoyable game with plenty of interactive situations to discover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

exceeds expectations

07/25/2010
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a GTA fan, but was skeptical when Rockstar tried to incorporate a western into their genre of video game titles. I have to say that I was extremely impressed with the graphics, gameplay, and endless free roam capabilities. The missions are a blast to complete with true to life weaponry dated to the era of the early 1900's. The online multiplay has advanced a growing following of gamers for the social club network that Rockstar has developed. Two thumbs up. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

a rootin tootin western

06/08/2010
By ,
k.c. mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great western game to play!! it is has a very good story line to follow also has all the guns and stuff of the old west. you can also ride yer horse anywhere you want to in the vast old west map!!! its all good, feels like a real western and yer the star!!!!worth every penny i paid for it!!! hats off to rockstar games and of course walmart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

amazing product

07/02/2010
By ,
Whitehall, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im not one for shoot em up kinds of games i am more of a madden or ncaa kind of guy but a freind of mine talked me in to byuing this game and i am so glad he did this game is amazing grate picture grate missons just an all around grate game i would and will be recomending to all my ps3 freinds
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

AMAZING!

06/10/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has so much in it, it's amazing that it's just one game. It is involved and you have the opportunity to complete so many different things. Just get it already and you'll love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Amazing game

06/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is truly amazing. If you are a fan of GTA then this game is a must buy. It is just like GTA but old western style.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Another happy teenager

01/18/2014
By ,
Brady, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My teenage step-son son says it's great. He wants me to play too. But at age 75, I'll just take his word for how much fun it is. For some reason, he can't get enough of gruesome zombies and ceaseless violence. If your kids love creepy dead things, buy this game for them and you won't regret it. It will keep them occupied for hours -- and that's a good thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Awesome graphics

05/29/2010
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my husband and he LOVES it! The graphics are awesome and there is always some new task that the main character has to do in this western themed game. we got it for a great price and since we pre-ordered online we also got a $20 walmart e-card to spend however we wanted. so the game only ended up costing us about 39.00!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Great Game for Adults only.

06/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great game, but like most Rockstar games it should only be for adults.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Red Dead Redemption (PS3)

Don't believe the hype!!!

08/07/2010
By ,
ATLANTA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story bored me to the point I had to force myself to finish it. You must travel far across the map for each mission and it does get boring really fast. Hunting is the best part of the game. As you play Red Dead it will seem like a clone of GTA and Red Dead just doesnt stand out. Multiplayer is a joke and is horrible to play!! Please wait for a price drop to buy Red Dead and don't believe the hype! It's not worth 60 bucks!!! Overall the game is boring and it will be collecting dust on my shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next