Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

The First Years The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Promoting healthy development with its kick and glide action, the Kickin' Coaster is ideal for newborns and infants. With its soothing vibrations, playful songs and lights, the Kickin' Coaster provides fun, strengthening, educational playtime for baby!
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation82%18 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

A Pricey risk

11/27/2009
By ,
Yok, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We call this toy our baby leg press machine!
Any toy / seat / swing, etc when it comes down to it, is always going to be hit or miss with your child. It can have all the features in the world and sometimes your little one just won't like it. With this product, my 10 week old daughter seems okay with it. She likes to kick when lying in her crib so we liked the idea of this bouncy seat. When she's in this she can kick and move her self, but hasn't really learned (or hasn't developed the strength yet) to really launch the sled backwards and activate the lights and sound.
It was easy to put together, I really like the music (both the fast beat session and the soothing tunes). I also like the 2 settings for the vibration. The cushion is very soft and the colors are true to what you see on the computer. The toys attached at the foot pad are quite lame, I don't like the way they look (which you can see here) but I excpected more movement out of them when the footpad is kicked - but their mounting spring is way too tight (they don't move at all)
For those who say this isn't for a shorter baby, I disagree. Just scoot your baby closer to the footpad - you can adjust the straps and make them longer. Or, you can put a book on the footpad for your baby to kick. for reference, my daughter was 9 weeks old in this picture, 10+ pounds and 22" long.
All in all, the product is good, but it is pricey. Definitely go for the site to store shipping or wait for 97 cent shipping. You're taking a somewhat expensive risk if your child will like it but like I said, you do that with any toy you buy your kids - sometimes they just want to play with the box it came in :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 2 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Great toy

12/31/2009
By ,
Bay Shore, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this at my baby shower and was going to return it. I'm glad I didn't. My child is four months now and she has loved it ftom the beginning. I dance infront of it and she pushes off and cracks herself up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 3 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Okay

08/13/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
before I bought this I read reviews on it the only thing bad I saw was that some kids werent tall enough for it, & this is the problem I ran itno, my daughter is 12 weeks old, and about 22" she can reach where to put her feet & can push it but she barely moves & she gets bored. I would keep it because I know she will grow, but for the price and the fact that she can sit up with support now & will be able to sit up even better as time goes on, I am going to be returning it. It is worth a try though!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 4 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

My 3 months old doesn't like it

01/03/2010
By ,
Duvall, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daugher doesn't want anything to do with it. She's only been content in it twice for a minute or two. She likes hammocked chairs vs hard bottomed. The back is hammocked but baby's bottom sits on hard plastic with no padding under the cloth.
The few times she kicked her feet she didn't make the kick plate vibrate enough to set it off. The sensor doesn't seem very sensitive. I think to really enjoy this product you would need a baby who really likes to kick with thier legs. My daughter is more of a social baby, I think my son would have loved this though.
I think it might have had more appeal to my daughter if it had a toy bar but it doesn't. I'm hoping that maybe she still needs to grow into it, and that there will be a point in her development that she'll enjoy it and we'll get some use out of it. She's three months now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

not so good

11/05/2009
By ,
Hockley, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this was going to be a great product but for starters my son had trouble reaching the foot pad, he is almost 25"s and 6 months. There really wasnt much to do other than look at the flashing lights at the bottom, no dangling toys, etc... He also seemed squeezed in at the top of the bouncer, there didnt seem to be enough shoulder room. We plan to return it. Its a good idea but needs some tweaking to make it more entertaining and fit a larger range of children.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 6 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

BEST Baby toy ever!!

01/02/2010
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loooove the Kickin Coaster!! My son is 3 months old and he absolutely ADORES playing in this! He laughs and kicks and gets a great workout too. His little legs are sooo strong since using this. He's always been a kicker so we figured this would be perfect for him. I love that there are two volume settings, two song type settings and two vibration speeds. It was super easy to put together and super easy to operate. I have to put him in the seat slid down alittle on his bum because his legs are alittle short but it doesn't matter because I can still buckle him in safely. He can jump in it and push the seat all the way up now. It's the best toy ever!!! HIGHLY recommended! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Pretty Good

10/26/2009
By ,
Marysville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because it seemed like something my son would like cus he is constantly kicking (he is four months old). when he was first put in the coaster he really didnt do anything, nd he didnt seem to like it. eventucally he warmed up to it (after a few days) nd he enjoys it, but he will only be happy in it for about 15-20min. the one thing is that i dont have D batteries so the vibrating part isnt working(he likes vibrating things).
overall, i do really like it, he likes the setting where the music only goes off when he kicks it, but dont be discouraged if your baby doesnt like it at first.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Great for active (big/long) baby

02/02/2010
By ,
Springfield, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited to try this product. My 4 month old is VERY active/kicky. I had read reviews on other sites that said their babies were to short for this and couldn't reach the foot board to push off. My daughter is very big/long/heavy for her age, so I didn't even think we would have the same problem. This doesn't advertise a minimum or maximum length, only a weight limit of 25 lbs. (She is 26.5 inches long and weighs 22 lbs.) We set it up and put her in it, and she could hardly reach the bottom either! So she can hardly even push off with her toes. We scooted her down to the very edge of the seat, which makes the harness/straps have to stretch to the limit just to buckle around her. This allows her to be able to reach so she can push off, which she absolutely LOVES to do. The only other complaint would be, this is supposed to play music and light up as a reward when they push off. It is not sensitive enough or something, because now that she can finally reach and is all excited about kicking off the platform, the thing hardly ever goes off. Even when my husband or I manually raise and lower the seat it usually doesn't react. I think this was a great idea for a product, and I won't be returning it due to the fact that my child loves to kick in it. I just think it could use a few modifications before I gave it 5 stars. I would recommend it to other parents of babies that love to kick, but if your baby is short or small, I probably wouldn't waste your money, cause they won't be able to reach to make it work...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Great Baby Leg Press :)

11/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We sought this product after noticing our baby loved to kick off our legs and slide up the changing table. The product was easy to set up and our baby absolutely loves it. Although like all toys he only enjoys them for a couple minutes at a time and like all babies wants Mom and Dad there with him while he plays. This toy is great fun for us too! He looks so cute playing and we gain smiles and giggles from our little one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Baby loves it!

01/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my baby when he was 10 weeks old. It was the perfect time. He started kicking himself up on it the first time. He smiles at the lights and music.
The only thing I wish it had was a mobile or something above him to look at. Other than that it is great. He seems very comfortable in it, and loves to kick and straighten his legs.
It was easy to assemble, and seems very sturdy and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

3 month-old loved it

12/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our 3 month-old grandson and he loves it. He hasn't quite caught on to what makes the lights go on but he loves pushing himself back and sliding forward. It's really good exercise. The gym was assembled in about a minute although it took another few minutes to locate a small cross-tip screwdriver to open the battery cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

its a great concept

09/23/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
but the plastic is cheap,low quality...and it doesnt play the music everytime baby kicks even if you set it that way,which makes it hard for my 3 month old...he will not learn cause and effect with this like i had hoped
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

LOVE IT!!!

11/10/2009
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat is really fun. Our son just loves it. At 2 months, he prefers just to sit in it without all the music, lights & vibrations, but he'll probably grow into all of that... We would get this again, definitely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Not for our girl

02/07/2010
By ,
West Springfield, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is consumer rated really well, but our little girl wasnt thrilled with it. Maybe she was too young, but she never seemed particularly comfortable in the seat and we returned it after about 10 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Baby loves it

01/12/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves her kickin coaster. She is almost too short for it, but she can still use it, and she will be able to for a while. I love that her legs get exercise when she is laying down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Something different

09/09/2009
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my two month old loves to kick her feet and can already slide herself up on it. I love the fact my daughter has something besides laying on her back or tummy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Excellent!!!!!

02/17/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two month old grandbaby loves this thing. She pushes and keeps occupied for long periods of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Love It!!!

02/12/2010
By ,
Hillside< NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 month old loves this toy....He kicks all the time and I knew he would love this.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym

Ok

01/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3 Month old is a bit intimidated and the music/light variety isnt great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Ratings-Only Reviews for The First Years - Kickin' Coaster Gym
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5