Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Danby Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

The Danby Diplomat Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator offers 1.7 cu. ft. of refrigeration in a convenient, compact space. This versatile compact refrigerator makes a terrific addition to student dorm rooms, small office environments, studio apartments and more. It's perfect for storing everything from bottle beverages to fresh produce and bagged lunches. The Danby refrigerator will fit flush against the wall, and takes up very little space — even in crowded environments.
Average Customer Rating:
3.46 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation70%26 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Not a refrigerator

09/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is misrepresented on the website. It is not a refrigerator. It is a thermal electric cooler. Nowhere in the description of the product does it say this. It does not keep things as cold as a refrigerator - could have purchased the same kind of product from Wal Mart for $30 less than this one! Product description was "semi conductor, automatic defrost, all refrigerator". NOT A REFRIGERATOR!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cibolo, Texas
So true!
Posted 08/04/2013
I agree with your review. Doesn't get cold at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Died after a year and a half

02/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in May 2010. Completely quit cooling in Jan 2012. Outside of 1 yr warranty - so now I get to pay more money to responsibly dispose this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

It works great for me!

08/05/2010
By ,
LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why this little fridge has gotten so many negative comments. I ordered it for my office to be placed under my desk.
Had it for about a week. It is quiet, keeps my sodas, water and snacks quite cold. I have made sure the clearance around it is at least 2 inches as the manual states. I don't open the door constantly and so far it works great.
It is the perfect size and looks beautiful. You would never know it was there. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

nice fridge

09/28/2009
By ,
Cheyenne, Wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievably quiet running. Stylish exterior. Shipped many days sooner than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bottomoftheocean, USA
A trusty yet misunderstood machine
Posted 05/17/2012
Its thermo-electric, which means this thing runs based on temperature differential. In a 72 degree F room it'll keep food and drink cold enough. But milk, not so much. It'll hold a good 50 degrees F or so if run in an air conditioned room, (about the same as a good ice chest.) Great for an office: today's lunch and a few drinks. Even a dorm if you aren't trying to keep a jug of milk. Left overs and drinks, even cheese and yogurt, ok. Beer, perfect. Small quantities stored for a week or less, no problem. For anything that needn't be kept really cold but needs to be below room temp, this is it. Equivalent 1.7 cu ft fridges that have a compressor system don't have as much use-able space (because of the compressor that takes up the bottom back corner and the freezer pocket, which is only big enough for a mini ice tray and a blue ice packet.) The equivalent in compressor fridges would be the next step up in size and those cost a bit more.
If you want something for a garage, go with a compressor fridge. Garages can get too hot for thermo-electrics (kept mine in garage that got up to 90 degrees F consistently, lasted a whole summer before the power supply burned up from too much load.) indoor use shouldn't be a problem.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Good value mini-fridge

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this black Danby mini-frdge for my daughter at college. It was a replacement for a cheaper brand that died because it couldn't handle being transported back and forth over the summer. Her only complaint is that she wished it had a little freezer for a few ice cubes, but those models were a little more expensive ($20 more) and the feature was just not worth it. So far it is working fine. It is not overly powerful, but it makes things cold like it is supposed to do. When she picked it up, the box was pretty banged up, so I expected that it might have gotten damaged (as these things are not too sturdy), but it works, so the cooling coils must still be intact and the freon did not escape. I did not rate the durability of the unit because it has only been 1 month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Thermo-Electric Refrigerators
Posted 12/18/2013
There is no "freon" in a thermo-electric refrigerator. An electrical current is applied across the junction of two dissimilar metals, heat is removed from one of the metals and transferred to the other. This is the basis of thermoelectric refrigeration. Thermoelectric modules are constructed from a series of tiny metal cubes of dissimilar exotic metals which are physically bonded together and connected electrically. When electrical current passes through the cube junctions, heat is transferred from one metal to the other. Solid-state thermoelectric modules are capable of transferring large quantities of heat when connected to a heat absorbing device on one side and a heat dissipating device on the other. The internal aluminium cold plate fins absorb heat from the contents, (food and beverages), and the thermoelectric modules transfer it to heat dissipating fins under the control panel. Here, a small fan helps to disperse the heat into the air. The system is totally environmentally friendly and contains no hazardous gases, nor pipes nor coils and no compressor. The only moving part is the small 12-volt fan
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Lesson Learned.

03/23/2012
By ,
Phila., PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not happy at all. I rarely buy brands that I'm not familiar with or that aren't popular...Was better off buying a cooler... The fridge doesn't get cold enough. I guess that's what I get for opting to buy one without a freezer...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

give it some air

09/15/2009
By ,
middle america
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this product for my classroom and after I put it in place I immediately pushed it to close to the wall. It really struggled to get my drinks cold. But to be fair they were very forceful about making sure there is room around the frig. nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

poor cooling temperature

07/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's has very poor cooling system.
I put 1 gallon of milk and it last long only 10 days.
I've waisted my money on this item.
Temperature is not cool enough to keep the food.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Didn't work when recieved

06/13/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product for office use and when it arrived I immediately plugged it in. three days later it was not cold at all. We waited one more day making sure it was at it's coldest temp and it was still not cold. Also, after purchasing someone informed me that this brand isn't that great to begin with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Good buy!

03/05/2012
By ,
Tekonsha, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evidently the product description has changed. It now plainly states that it is a thermoelectric cooler. Incidentally, refrigeration does not automatically mean it has a compressor. I haven't bought the fridge yet but based on the reviews it fits exactly what I need. That is, a small cooler to keep pop, lunches etc cool that will fit under my desk in my cubicle. I won't need to worry so much about others "borrowing" a bottle of my pop intending to replace it later. I like the quiet operation since it is an office environment. I'm sure it has a fan but I'm also sure from the reviews that it is quiet.
I will be purchasing the fridge next weekend#payday#.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator
09/08/2010
By ,
Florence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very light weight, easy for a "girl" to carry, perfect size, keeps everything cold, great price $59, great delivery cost $.97, delivered to my house in only 2 days! I teach school, and it fit nicely under a desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Great product

07/30/2010
By ,
Boonton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for use in my yoga studio. It is extremely quiet and keeps a large number of water bottles cool. I would not hesitate in recommending this product. Great value for money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Danby Diplomat Disappointment

10/04/2010
By ,
Brighton, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the design of this product, and the fact that it has a great EnergyStar rating. BUT, my enchantment for the Diplomat ends there. I bought this mini-fridge because of it's size for the space I have to store it, but it has not kept my cold drinks very cold at all, despite the fact that I have it set on the coldest setting. I have written to Danby's corporate offices, with NO RESPONSE! I will be returning it to Walmart, where I purchased it this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Not a Refrigerator

01/15/2012
By ,
Traverse City, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not happy because it was not a refrigerator. I did not even keep pop cold. Not worth the money... Ours ended up in the scrap yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator
09/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good fridge for the price. No regrets in purchasing this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Works well for beverages.

02/20/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for our needs, this works well for beverages. In high heat conditions it's probably not as good as a compressor refrigerator, however it's light weight and portability (ok to lay down for travel) outweigh the temperature issues. Our warmest days so far have been in the mid 80’s, it stayed in the low 40’s, the rest of the time it has been in the 30’s. Not losing space to a freezer section gives us more beverage storage. Only drawback - it only came with one shelf so we had to make a second one. Would have preferred the design to be for 2 shelves equally spaced which would have allowed soda and beer cans upright on each shelf and in the bottom. As is, we lay down beverages on one shelf.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Worst Refigerator ever!

08/04/2013
By ,
Cibolo, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received this refrigerator as a wedding gift and the buyer didn't get the warranty unfortunately so we're stuck with an useless appliance because to repair it cost as much as the appliance and it hasn't done anything since we got it. It doesn't cool and it just went out just out the blue. I wouldn't recommend this thing to anyone and I can't believe Wal-Mart is selling it because I usually trust their products. very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Good for the Price

10/20/2010
By ,
st. louis, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to house liquid medication that needs to remain cool. You could easily fit a 12 pack of soda and some wine or other alcohol in this and use it as a mini bar. It has a pretty good amount of space for the money and looks elegant in black. My only real complaint is it's cooling capability. Even with the temperature setting on the coldest, in the summer it was struggling to keep things at what seemed like 50 degrees. So if you plan on cooling a lot of stuff, you may want to spend a little more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

Wouldn't Buy Again

05/30/2013
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this refrigerator as a gift about 4 years ago. It's quiet compact and served it's purpose but it never really kept things cold. Cool yes, but not cold. I was sad when I discovered it died yesterday. I gave it a Fair rating because of the temperature issue. I will not be purchasing this refrigerator to replace the one that died. I will look for one that will keep my items COLD.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby Diplomat 1.7 cu. Ft. Thermo-Electric Compact Refrigerator

QUIET!

09/28/2011
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a grear refridgerator for an office. It is very quiet, with no compressor kicking on or off. It does not have a "freezer" area, but I do not need this in my office. The benefit to this is that there is nothing that is freezing into a block of ice or needing to be defrosted. Beverages and other items are kept cold.
This is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next