Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Head for the open road or winding trails on this all-terrain Schwinn 26" men's bike. With a trail-tuned steel frame and Aluminum crown suspension fork, the Sidewinder mountain bike offers durability and shock-absorbing comfort. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn 26" men's bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%93 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

it works

11/18/2010
By ,
Exeter, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For a price around 125 dollars this is not bad. I am no professional and do not wear tights and a funny helmet when I ride, but the wheels go round, the gears shift and the brakes work. It seems solid enough that I doin't think it will break anytime soon. Good bargain for the price, unless you want status, then go spend a thousand bucks on something that will do the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 22 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Decent Bike

04/14/2011
By ,
Kenosha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike itself is quite decent. Granted I have not owned it long, but so far the only problem is the seat is ROCK HARD.
It HURTS to ride this bike. I'm currently looking for another seat to put on this bike. The main problem may be that I'm 6'6" so my bone structure is larger then some people, so the 2 bones that point down when you sit, are being pryed apart by this seat.
My wife has the purple version of this bike, and she does not have the same issue I have.
I have yet to experience any other issues as some have had with the gears, but the sprocket on the pedals is very had to get in to the middle gear, without it clicking over and over and over. It probably just needs to be adjusted...but I will handle that after I get a new seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 23 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

great bike

08/17/2009
By ,
Jackson, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a schwin bike, and this one has not let me down. Rides great, shifts easy, very dependable. Even the seat is not a great problem. Have ridden it all over on trails and the road, very happy with it. I do recommend that you wear gloves because of the textured grips(but all bikes have that kind of grips now).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 24 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Okay Bike

03/20/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm going to give Schwinn the benefit of the doubt and just assume that whoever put this thing together was having a very bad day whether it was done so at Schwinn or Walmart. My wife got it for me for Christmas to do some off-road mountain biking at some trails near us. It came with the gears and the brake assumbly all messed up, so that had to be fixed. Then probably 8-10 miles into the bike's life, the smallest rear sprocket broke completely off of it and I had to have the whole gear set replaced. $28 there, so no biggie although that is something I'd never heard of breaking on a bike before. And today, approximately 50 miles on the bike, the left pedal stripped the threading completely out of the crank (the part the pedal screws into). New cranks are going to run about $50. And at some point, I have managed to warp the rear wheel a little so it rubs the rear brakes in one spot. It's a fine bike for a timid rider who won't be jumping any ramps or doing any rough trail riding, but for anyone who is wanting to do some serious or even moderately-serious off-road riding I would definately invest a little more money into a bike that can take more of a beating. Like I said, either whoever put it together was having a bad day or this bike's parts just aren't cut out for the abuse.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 25 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike
06/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the bike rides well and easy to put togther its good for on or off road the bike was worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 26 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Very good bike

11/15/2010
By ,
Tampa, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first bike I received from the store would not shift into the front first gear. I found out it had the wrong derailleur. I returned it and was immediately given a new replacement. This one worked as it should. I have ridden it several times on old brick roads in my neighborhood. It feels very solid and has a firm ride. The tires seem well suited for the old brick. The components are well made for the price of this bike. I am very happy with the quality and performance of my new bike and hope to get many years of service from it. I’m 5’8” tall and around 190lbs. This bike is a good fit. You can buy it with confidence.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

What a Nice Bike!!

08/25/2009
By ,
Anytown USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is just fantastic!! The frame design is nice and clean. It also comes with nice componets. It is very nicely put together and also very easy to work on!! The price is really unbelievable for a bike this nice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 28 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

The Mountain Bike Sidewinder

03/07/2011
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1. Bought this bike from the store, already assembled.
2. There are two different bikes like this, if you compare the color of the fork, which I am not sure if it makes a difference, because the bikes appear to be the same and they say, "mountain." on the internet, it doesn't say "mountain," but in the store it does.
3. I am about 240 lbs and it is holding me well. I hit a few 5' - 6' curbs and it rode like a sturdy mountain bike. And keep in mind I jumped the front and let the back hit. I also rode over a few bumps, as there are some tacky roads around here.
4. I raced a kid from the neighborhood and was putting my weight on the sprockets and it pulled very well. I rode fast and switched gears all day, and it did not let me down. keep in mind I am 240, and I put pressure on this for about 5 hours straight.
5. The bike has a Shimano Tourney Derailleur which moves the chain on the rear wheel, and I am not sure about any other shimano parts. Shimano is top rated. Also, you may have to adjust your front derailleur as mine rubs against the chain depending on its position, which I can change so it won't.
6. This is a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Expected some quality, got junk

07/22/2010
By ,
Rockford, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been through two of these bikes now - my first one, the rear gear cluster completely came apart on me after only 25 miles on the bike after 84 days. My second one just broke today after 18 days, this time it's front gear cluster completely broke it's lowest gear. I'm not happy - I've never abused any of my equipment - When returning the first bike, I opted to buy the extended warranty because I was very concerned about the build quality of these bikes. Looks like I'll be visiting my local store in the morning, hopefully to return my second piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 30 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Really decent Bike

10/03/2011
By ,
Phoenix Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Sidewinder on May 2 2011. It is an exceptional bike it seems very strong .
I did replace the stock seat with a bell gel seat and the original inner tubes with the slime version available also at Walmart I purchased a schwinn cyclometer and scwhinn lights the bulb shorted on the second ride home and switched to bell LED light and no more problems.
The bike has almost 1200 miles on it I have had no more flats since I replaced those tubes the rear tire is nearly bald and I will replace it with the kevlar tires at Wal mart.
I have had to clean the gears and chain weekly and have not had difficulty with that. The one item I do not like is the kick stand it does not support this bike after the third week of use. it has a rubber tip that wears from something and then won't support the bike unless something to raise the tip about a half inch can be found.
Perform routine maintenance and check fasteners for proper tightness ( which you should do with any mechanical thing) and you won't go wrong.
I have ridden back and forth to work and the canal paths and other trails in the phoenix area I really enjoy this bike and will hope to for many years.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 31 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

A great purchase

08/08/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike for me the "dad" so we could ride together as a family. I'm used to all different styles of bikes and this works just fine for my needs. We ride around the subdivisions and just wherever it's safe and fun. I'm glad we bought our bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 32 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Great Bike!!

05/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is awesome. Inexpensive. Im 6'5" and it fits well. The only problem is the seat is very uncomfortable. I bought a Schwinn gel seat for under $20 and that does the trick. But otherwise great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Very Disappointed

10/05/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this bike since May 2010. Recently the freewheel had started to wobble causing the chain to slip. I took the bike to a bicycle shop for repair and when they checked out the freewheel was told that it was the wrong one for this bike. This bike has 7 gears and the freewheel on the bike was for only 6! Had them put on the correct one and had to them pay them for the part and labor. I will never buy another bike from Walmart because I'll never know if it has the correct parts on it or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 34 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Great Bike

11/11/2009
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought the bike November 10. Rode for about 10 miles today. this is my usual exercise routine. Good ride. Seat not very comfortable. I may exchange it with the seat from my old bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Great Bike!

05/17/2011
By ,
Jupiter, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought me this bike yesterday and I love it. It's really sharp and the ride is smooth. The gears shift very easily and it's an overall solid bike for road or off road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Piece of Junk

07/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bike lasted only three weeks under normal usage. The rear cassette broke. The rear tire would not spin when peddled.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 37 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike
03/01/2010
By ,
Port Gibson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is well worth the money. I needed a bike to build my endurance up and I must say I am not disappointed. I've had the bike for nearly a week and I've already ridden it over 50 miles. The funny thing is my brother purchased a bike on the same day, and on his first time out his gears stripped out. Needless to say he is going to purchase a SCHWINN
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Overall Satisfied

07/23/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am very satisfied with my product. I initially ordered it online because my closest store didn't have the bike in stock. However, when I received the product, it had an assembly defect. I ended up taking it back to the store and getting another pre-assembled bike of the same model. I have no complaints with the bike that I received. I read all the reviews on this bike prior to purchase, and I would have to agree that some minor tweaks to the brakes and gears may be necessary. Also, I can see why people have recommended an upgrade on the seat. I would definitely recommend this product to someone. Wal-Mart proved to me that if there is an inital problem with the product, they will be more than glad to correct the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 39 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

Good bik, but not very sturdy bike.

06/22/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought the bike new and used it twice. Bike is not very rugged as I damaged the gear shift next to the rear tire pretty easily in a light fall. So the following are my issues:
1. Gears are always touchy and never seemed to be tuned right.
2. the grip shifts easily move when doing rough riding
3. The hand grips are looser and alwayzz pop out
4. The bike does not hold up to abuse very well (cheep components??)
I think overall, it is a pretty good value if it is meant to be a light use/road bike and I would recommend it for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 26" Men's Schwinn Sidewinder Mountain Bike

5 Years Old and Still Going Strong

07/11/2010
By ,
omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i'm 57 and wanted to get some exercise. bought my Sidewinder about 6 years ago after riding my kids' beat up old-style 10 speeds. wow, what a treat! love the shifters built into the grip and the smooth braking and great ride. i ride 16-18 miles on a flat paved local trail and also a 20 mile cinder hilly trail. it does just great. it'll go better than i can ride it. i did add an aftermarket gooseneck to make the handle bars higher (like the comfort and hybrids), thats nice. also changed to a bigger softer seat. a few other accessories like removable lights, water bottle holder, and under the seat carrying pouch. it's had lots miles and i'm still having a ball! BUY ONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 101 total reviews