Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Step2 Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Encourage children to be active while having fun during play time with this Step2 Swing Set. The Play Up gym set features a tree-house shape, trendy design, and fun colors. The gym swing set includes two attached swings, climbing steps, steering wheel and a slide for many options of activity and exploration. With the Step2 Swing Set, you can bring the playground to your own backyard and have the most popular house on the block. Shipping Note: This Step2 play set is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this outdoor swing set is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the backyard swing set to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
41
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%121 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
41
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

The kid loves it; assembly harder than depicted

09/11/2011
By ,
Greensboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I finished assembling the Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set today. I ordered it via Site-to-Store on Walmart.com (which is really a fantastic service -- highly recommend). The box is HUGE, like more than 6 feet long. You'll need a pick-up truck, but not one of those quad-cab models with a stubby bed. Fortunately, the box slides easily.
The pieces and pretty easy to figure out, but the parts are bagged in weird assortments. For example, Bolt A isn't necessarily packed with its washers, which are in Bag 3. Just open everything, count the parts, and sort them before you start. Also, a power screwdriver and ratchet will speed assembly.
What the instructions don't tell you is that you also need a ladder. Unless you're 7 feet tall, you need to be able to look down on the top of the swing rail to drop in the last piece -- a bolt that secures the rail to the slide platform structure.
Our only complaint is that the short wall on the slide platform was slightly warped. Whether from heat or just the weight of the other components in storage, the warping resulted in a few of the bolts not aligning properly. We spent too much time trying to pry and wedge the hardware into the correct position. We finally opted for the strategic application of a Zippo grill lighter to warm up the plastic enough to pinch it with pliers and make the required connection between the bolt and the barrel nut. (This option is not mentioned in the instructions, but it works. Bonus: we now know the structure won't immediately catch fire when exposed to open flame!)
Once assembled, we agreed that the results were well worth the cost and labor. We've still got all our fingers, no major failings of hardware or components, and our little girl loves it. Although, to be honest, we're a little concerned that she first tried to run up the slide instead of sliding down it. Now to buy some of that rubber mulch to put down -- just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Make sure you have a friend when picking it up!

05/27/2012
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had done quite a bit of research on the right playset for my toddler son and found that this one would best meet his needs and our smaller space. When I started doing price comparisons I found a few places that were slightly cheaper than Walmart, but when I went to order the shipping (even other site to stores) was close to $200! Not Walmart, with Free Site to Store they won my business. Thankfully my husband had a friend with a big pick up truck to help him get it, because while the box isn't that heave it's VERY large (see picture below) and definitely needed two strong guys to get it. We (I should say my husband and brother) didn't have any problems putting it together, though we did have some extra pieces. I would definitely suggest using the anchors if you have a larger child who might swing more "actively". My 6 year old niece tested that part out and it was good and steady. All and all, we were very happy with this purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Perfect play set

09/29/2009
By ,
Niceville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a 3 yr old and a 20 month old... I was worried the slide might not be big enough to be fun. Not a chance... it's perfect and it's a safe enough size so that I don't feel like I need to be watching their every move on it. I can sit on the porch and they can play... they love it! The swing clips make it very easy to attach a toddle swing in place of one of the regular swings.
I put this play set together in about 2 1/2 hours (with the help of my toddlers, where they are more of a hindrance than a help). I had a couple problems with the last steps and attaching the roof, but it worked out. It was a pain, but some shoving and pulling made it happen. The instructions also did not mention the last bolt that attaches at the very top (stair side) of the roof... but with one bolt left and the matching one on the top of the other side...I figured that's where it went.
All in all... the kids love it, and we love it... and aesthetically it's great in the backyard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

My two year old loves this!

06/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice swing set for the price. I did a lot of shopping before I settled on this set, and I was not disappointed. It pretty much took me all day to put it together and I was happy that my mom was around to offer a second set of hands when needed, but I think I might have even been able to do it all by myself. My 21-month old absolutely loves it (I purchased an infant swing separately and swapped it out for one of the swings provided in the set). The swing set seems solid and looks great in my backyard.
I used Wal-Mart's ship-to-store function and saved a lot of money on shipping; plus, it only took about four days or so to arrive at my store. One thing: if you do this, make sure you have a friend with a truck. The box was not terribly heavy (two people can lift it just fine), but it was too big even for my Ford Escape!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Great for my one year old!

07/21/2011
By ,
Dunn, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We added the toddler swing (not included) and my daughter LOVES it! I sit in the other swing next to her but I don't really swing. She loves the wheel too but it is tough to turn, even after I removed the yellow center and screws. I, of course, have to stand right with her when she is in the playhouse because there is no protection from her falling out by the steps or slide. She will learn it as she grows. She adores being in it though. I love having it steps from the backdoor for her to enjoy!
My Dad and I started putting it together at 8:30 am and we were done by about 12:30 or 1 pm.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

play up gym swing set

04/27/2011
By ,
Fayetteville NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing set for my 16 month old daughter. First the reason I bought this swing set is the combination of colors that make up this swing set, because I knew it would make my young daughter's eyes just shine. The second reason I bought this swing set is because it has been highly recommended by other customers with young children, and it is a very durable product, in combination with the adjustable sand and water table. So far since I have purchased these two items in combination with one another, my daughter has had hours of fun with the sand and water table as well as the swing set, climbing on it, going down the slide, playing withthe attached wheel and of course sitting in her infact swing seat, and enjoying the fun of the swing. I would highly recommend this swing set to other families, with young children. It will provide hours of fun for them, and it also provides a sense of being at the local park, without having to leave your back yard. Last of all I bought this swing set because of the price, it was competitive and included the adjustable sand and water table with the swing set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Good for small children

11/17/2009
By ,
Manning, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this swing set for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She loves the swings and slide. I was disappointed at how short the slide actually was. I'm due again in May and think the slide will work better for the next child. I did find the set to be sturdy and my husband and a buddy did not have any problems putting it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Queens NY
want to buy one for my 2 year old, who a size of 5
Posted 04/22/2013
wanted to find out how many inches is the slide?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Great for young children

12/28/2009
By ,
Navarre, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this swingset for our two granddaughters. The 22 month old is already climbing the step ladder, playing on the platform, and sliding down by herself. It is a great size, was fairly easy to assemble (3.5 hours), and sturdy. We are looking forward to them enjoying this swingset for the next several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Perfect for a toddler

03/10/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at several other swing sets (including large, expensive play sets like Rainbow and Tree Frogs), my husband I decided on a smaller "temporary" set for our 19 mos. old. I didn't feel comfortable getting her anything that she could not get on and off of by herself, and this looked like a good option for her to learn and play on. We could not be more pleased. It is the perfect size for a little one's first swing set, yet very sturdy and well-made. My husband put it together in only an hour or two, and our little girl was so excited to see it. She was swinging right away and had mastered the stairs and slide within a day or two. I know she'll probably outgrow it in two or three years, but for the price, it is an awesome product. And I have no doubt that a younger cousin will get even more play time out of it when my daughter is done. But for now, all we hear is "outside, outside... swing!... and Weeeeee!" That's good enough for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Excellent Quality

09/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This swing set is of excellent quality. My husband and his friend picked up the swing set at WalMart using a truck due to the large box description in others on-line recommendations in their reviews. We found these reviews helpful regarding set up as well. The only reason I gave it a 4 star rating for 'ease of set up' is because our instructions came in a foreign language vs. english. However, my husband had the swing set set up within 4 hours all by himself with no assistance. This included the time it took to decide placement in our yard. LOL! We purchased this swing set for my In Home Child Care business and visiting grandchildren. The kiddos love it! I have children using it that are ages 2 - 5. We purchased the Step2 Teeter Totter to go with. They are the same color and look attractive in the yard. I really am pleased that the swing set comes with anchors to secure the base of the set in the earth. This is a great safety feature so the set doesn't sway as children swing. And it was also nice that we didn't have to run to the local hardware store to purchase anchors. The swing set and teeter totter are a hit with the kids!!! Highly recommend these for little ones!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Nobody's handyman does it on his own.

05/30/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on this item that almost stopped me from getting it, from not receiving all the pieces, to difficult to put together, etc. I am so glad I went ahead and got it anyway.
If you take the time to actually read the directions, you will see that it is pretty easy to assemble. Holes are not there for certain screws intentionally so that it holds better. As with most of this kind of stuff these days, the directions are pretty much all pictures, few words. That did cause some slight confusion in a couple places, but nothing to mark it down for.
As my title indicated, I am NOBODY's handyman, but I put it together by myself at a slow pace in about 4-5 hours which includes stopping for supper and running to my parents' to borrow a ratchet. If I put my head down and just went at it, probably would have taken between 3 to 4.
We bought a baby swing since our child is only two, and so far he loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

kids love it

07/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My sons put this together quickly and with no problems. The grandkids could hardly wait to try it out. The oldest is ten and the youngest, two. My last swing set was wooden and as it aged it splintered. This is why I choose the molded set.
We have several other pieces, a table, small climbing tower with slide, and a sand box made of the same material. All have worn well and are still in use.
I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Great swing set!!

05/17/2010
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this swing set for our 9 month old daughter. She absolutely loves to go out and swing on her baby swing (which had to be purchased separately). This set was fairly easy to put together it just took some time because of all of the parts. It seems to be well made and very sturdy. It is a really cute little set. A friend's 3 year old son loved playing in the playhouse and sliding down the slide. Overall we are very happy with the purchase and would purchase this set again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Everything I expected and more

06/15/2014
By ,
fort wayne, in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were going to wait until our twins were older more like 5-6 years range to purchase a swing set but I came across this one that seemed to fit their age range more right now. They are 16 months and they love it. All the reviews I read everyone seemed really happy with it and I'm glad we purchased it. It suits their age perfect and they have room to grow into it. The instructions are what I expected, kind of vague but manageable once you get the hang of putting it together. It took us about 4 hours to put it together with two people helping. I also like how the swings itself are interchangeable to baby swings and you can change it to the bigger swings that the swing actually came with the child gets older. The swing set structure is metal that the swings hang on and the over structure is heavier plastic that is definitely durable and stakes to the ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Great playset

05/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 20 month old and she loves it. We are very organized people and it took about 4 hours to set this up inside our garage before carrying it out to the yard. We had a couple of issues attaching the slide as the holes wouldn't line up quite right...but after some digging in the holes to help "stretch" them, we got it (definitely needed 2 people). The slide doorway/opening is a little too wide for a small child to do alone, if they slipped or got too close to the slide they could go forward without intending too...just be aware of using this for smaller kids. We are considering looking for some additional handles to attach to the sides of that opening. However, I could not imagine using this for the intended 3-6 year old...slide too small for a 5+ age. We used Site to Store...just be aware the box was VERY large (8 ft long and 4 feet wide). We love this purchase and it looks very nice in our yard!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Decent product that will grow with my grandchild

04/22/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it but as I read the product reviews before I bought it, I can confirm that there was missing hardware in which I had to go and buy if I wanted it to be assembled properly. I thought the bundle package was a decent value(sand/water table with the swing set) . A week after I bought it, Toys r us had the swing set alone on sale for $100.00 less .
Once assembled, it is fairly easy to move around in the yard for mowing the lawn, which is another reason why I didn't buy the cheaper metal swing set.
Great swing and slide set for one year olds up to 6 or 7 years old,
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set
09/05/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product was missing importamt pieces of hardware and almost ruined our grandsons birthday party. There were so many parts missing and places that needed to be redrilled making if almost impossible to complete. My husband had to run to the hardware store at least three times when parts were missing or just not the correct size. My husband worked on nuclear submarines and this proved to be far more difficult. I read the same review when I purchased this and thought it must have been just one error. I believe that it is probably the norm. I feel like we should be reimbursed somehow for this $400 purchase that was missing approximately $20 worth of hardware and what should have only taken one person several hours, took 3 people two days to complete and make right. I will not purchase anything from this brand again, if nothing is done and I will certainly tell others what happened.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Nice swing set, expect to spend time setting it up

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Directions are so simple they are confusing. Take time to understand that the pictures of all the screws and bolts of different sizes are actually what the directions are referring to as bolt set #,in the "simple" images for assembly. After that it is easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Good starter swing set for younger children

04/30/2013
By ,
Hickory, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was happy with this purchase overall. I found this item on several other sites and after comparison shopping, I ordered from Walmart because they didn't charge an outrageous shipping price. I found the item at a lower base price but after adding a $100 shipping fee it was no longer a "good deal". I am happy with this item and my only complaint would be with the directions that come with it. I have had the same problem with other Step 2 products. The pictures for some steps are a little confusing and you have to look ahead and "read between the lines". Assembly can probably be done by one but is MUCH easier with a little help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set

Nice, but wouldn't work good for older kids

07/14/2014
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Swing Set to use for my daycare. I was looking for something with a climber and slide and a few swings. The bottom part of the swing is nice (rubber), but top part of the swings are made of rope...I can see the ropes casing splinters in a few years from being weathered. I will be using this swing set for my younger kids under 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next