Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Mainstays Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Illuminate a special room in your home with the Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp. Bring elegance and ambiance to any living space with this item. This alabaster floor lamp features a beautiful glass shade and four sturdy shelves in its base. You can light up a room for reading or for a get-together while displaying favorite memories with photo frames, collectables and other decorative touches. This durable, interior, glass shade floor lamp is crafted from solid material with a classic charcoal finish to match any room. This item is durable. It also makes a wonderful housewarming gift.
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(258 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
67
3 stars
19
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation86%221 out of 258reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 112 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
67
3 stars
19
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

worked well

11/11/2009
By ,
north attleboro, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lamp was was easy to set up. Took a little time to get it completely straight. Looks exactly as pictured. Probably not a great purchase for someone with young children or rowdy pets, because it's not extremely sturdy. I uploaded a picture of it in a room I decorated but, the picture does not show the lowest shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Surprisingly Bright and Sturdy

12/24/2011
By ,
Pullman, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just recently moved into a new apartment and discovered the living room is extremely dark. (Probably because there are no overhead lights!) We decided that a lamp was very much needed and proceeded to go shopping. We chose this particular lamp because it has shelves that we could put our internet router on to tidy up the area and also keep it away from the floor board heaters.
My husband set it up in less than 10 minutes, taking all the packaging apart seemed to take the most time. The instructions were very vague, but then so are Lego instructions =) We used a CFL bulb and boy howdy is it bright. I like the way it looks and it does exactly what I want it to do; keep my things from catching fire and making the room brighter.
The only concern I have is with the switch to turn the light on and off, it seems stiff and I worry it will break off or just plain get stuck and stop turning. (we have it plugged into an outlet that we can control from a wall switch so I don't have to worry that much)
$29.97 is an okay price for it, but I wouldn't pay more unless it was made out of a thicker metal and was welded together. (the legs screw in) I would have liked to see the price closer to $25 but otherwise it was a good purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Parts were missing

05/25/2013
By ,
Cashmere, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered two lamps because they weren't available at our WalMart store. I picked them up when they came in and had trouble with the first one I tried to put together. There are four sections on each of four legs and one of the connectors was missing. It's a piece of threaded plastic that the power cord goes through. I haven't figured out yet if I'm going to be able to put it together. It's a problem either way. I have the lamp completely assembled except for the very last leg. The instructions say that if I want to take it back it needs to be in the original packaging, and that's a problem. I guess I'll take it back and order another one. Other than that problem the lamps are what we expected and they look good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp
02/02/2012
By ,
Killeen,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just loved this product. I get many compliments on it. Five stars all around for this lovely lamp. If you like nice things and wouldn't wanna pay a huge price for it, this would be the one. Its sturdy and the color matches what I have in my living room nicely.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Good floor lamp for price - modern design, height

08/27/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this metal floor lamp for a spare bedroom. It's height let's the light reflect off the ceiling and not directly in your eyes.
It is a 3-way switch that I like and takes the newer energy efficient bulbs.
The shelves as warned should not have more than 1 lb each so it is decorative with a candle and
ceramic items on them.
It was overly packed with its box inside a shipping carton. Every item was in a plastic sleeve plus taped to additional cardboard. One instruction sheet with numbered steps is included as well as a picture on its box. Do pay attention to the order and put the shelves thru the poles top down paying attention to the slit on the one side where the cord is included.
The threads on the poles did hold 95-98% tight. I retightened them a couple of times.
I have it sitting in a corner and so far my terrier is staying away. It is on a bare wooden floor.
I also would not trust it in a house with small kids or larger, active dogs or cats.
The ability to have a floor lamp shipped to me with Home Free is another advantage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntsville,AL
Thanks for lightbulb info.
Posted 08/04/2013
I got a lamp from Walmart Years ago and it was <$10 but it used a special halogen bulb that was about $15 to replace :(.
Thanks silverandspice for posting bulb size information so I would know Before I purchased.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Looks good, but broke fast

07/22/2009
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this lamp in March 2009 at my local Wal-Mart. I purchased this lamp because it matches all of my living room decor. The shelves are nice and the color is great, but my lamp did not meet my expectations.
It took my boyfriend and I almost an hour to assemble it because the instruction are very vauge and obviously aren't printing within the US.
Within a few weeks of owning the lamp, the notch that is used to turn the lamp on and off broke. It clicks when you turn it, but the light doesn't turn on. I decided not to return it because it was an innexpensive lamp in the first place, but I now have to plug and unplug the lamp every time I need it.
My sister has the same lamp, and she said that her notch works just fine, although she barely uses the lamp for light, only for a decorative piece in her living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Worth the time it takes to set up.

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I bought two of these and wish I had bought more..It takes a little bit of time to set these up,,and at first they are a bit wobbly.They are beautiful though,,,classy,,and practical. I put these in the corners of my livingoom and I put books on them to staedy them..Keep children away from them because the way children are these lamps are liable to fall over easy..As I said though I put some of my books on the shelf parts of the lamps and it solved the wobbly problem..Would I recommend to a friend..Yes I would...They are an excellent investment,,,and if you treat them well they will last a long t ime,,and as anything goes now days they are well worth the decent price...Hope this review helps others :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Works great and looks great

05/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great and looks great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

great buy!

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sleek , useful , good to look at. The glass top has visual appeal. Great buy for a low price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Very good floor lamp for the price

01/18/2013
By ,
Haverhill, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything is metal except the shade of course. Easy to put together. You start at the top by connecting the leg sections. One set has the power cord going through it. I found if you tighten each one partially then do the final tightening after all four were connected the assembly went better. When I got to the bottom I twisted the one with the power cord about six times in reverse of the tightening direction so the cord wouldn't be twisted inside after tightening. Then simply take off the shade holder , put the glass shade on and put the holder on and you're done.
To me it's solid but top heavy. So someone could easily tip it over. Don't put it in a high traffic area. However it does have a wider base than many similar lamps so I'm sure others are worse. By the way it doesn't come with the 3-way bulb.
Overall a very good lamp for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Beautiful and Versatile!

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just fell in love with this lamp. Perfect for anywhere and it has 3 way lighting. Love the shelves, you can dress it up or down. Many things and styles you can do with this lamp. I will be buying more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Stylish and Functional

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lamp came quick and was easy to set up. It looks great and stylish but is also useful to add decor to living room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

very good product

05/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its really cool..its not just a floor lamp here i can decor and i liked it. It can nicely fill up any corner which is also nicely decorate
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Tried to set my house on fire

04/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So im not normally one to write reviews, but I felt like I had to for this. I bought this lamp to put in my living room next to a couch to add some extra light. Being a college student I liked the price and the look of it. Went home, put it together and was actually pleasantly surprised it only took me like 15 minutes to put together. Normally things froms walmart take hours to put together. Put a light bulb and plugged it into the wall. As soon as the metel prong hit the outlet, it sparked and burned the metal. As well as trip the circuit for my living room. I immediately took it apart and returned it to walmart. Had to have been a short in the wiring. Will not be buying another one of these lamps and probably not another Mainstays lamp either.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Lower quality than it used to be

02/07/2014
By ,
Delaware
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one of these lamps years ago, and loved it. I still have it, and I wanted another one for the opposite side of the room. I was very disappointed to learn that the product is not the same as it used to be. It is smaller, and not as high of quality. The edges and corners of the platforms on each level are different from the old version, and don't look as sleek and well made as before. Also, the proportions (the spacing between shelves and below the bottom shelf) are different from the older version. However, the picture on the website doesn't seem to have been updated when the product changed -- It shows the old proportions.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Poor design

09/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While the parts are made of solid material, including the glass top, the design is flawed. When putting it together, I realized that the shelves would not fit. The legs were not distanced far enough apart. The top shelf would only fit in the middle shelves spot, the middle would only fit in the bottom spot, so we lost the largest shelf. Being so narrow it makes the lamp very unstable. Because the legs are spot welded to the lamp holder base at the top, it you try to bend the legs outward to spread them apart, the spot welds will break. As we could not get the item back in the box to return (about 15 different pieces of cardboard folded in weird ways and taped together that you have to cut to get the pieces out), we left it as is and put it in a corner where we know it wont get knocked over.
1 thing they did do right was pre-running the cord though one of the legs you put together, so you didnt have to do it yourself or leave it hanging on the outside of the light.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

I love this product. I have two and want two more

01/05/2014
By ,
Tristate, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one and loved the amount of light it gave. So I bought a second. I went to by a third and the store was out, so I bought something similar. It was ten dollars more, has no shelves and gives off less light. I want two more Etageres for myself and want to by one for a friend. An other friend has 7 pets who could break glass so I can only recommend it to her. I have not had the ones I have all that long and for under $30, I do not expect it to last forever, but so far for several months I am in love. Despite buying the other product, I still want two more, because the light the give is wonderful. I wish the shelves were not so tapered, but they hold more than I thought they would. The other product uses the same three way bulb and an additional 40 watt and gives off less light for a higher cost all around. I love my Etargeres and hope Walmart will continue to sell these forever and ever ( Well at least as long as I am alive.) I am not mechanical. I am a female and assembled it myself. It was easy, once I understood how it was to e done. I cannot express how much I love this inexpensive product. Is it a priceless antique, no. Dos it bright up the room and make seeing and reading easy, yes!. Love, love love these lamps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Very classy and great price

08/29/2009
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this in the home of my friends and was surprised when she said she got it at Wal-Mart. This produces a lot of light and looks very classy. I like it because it is a decorative as well as a functional piece. The assembly was very easy, it is a very simple piece to put together. The glass bowl is actually beautifully frosted/cloudy with small etchings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp
03/25/2012
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually gives off a lot of light. Wish it wasn't a three way (didn't pay attention to that when I ordered it) but that's ok. I only use the lowest setting that's how bright it is. I need to shop for a mini three way led because the full size you can see sticking out the top from across the room. Hubby uses the shelves for tv remotes and playstation controllers. Shelves are ok, just what I call a metal plate. I like it, it's ok looks wise for the price. My kids have broken 2 other floor lamps so I didn't want to spend a huge amount of money. It's already lasted longer than the other ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Etagere Floor Lamp

Good space saver furnishing in a small bedroom.

05/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two etegere lamps were great substitutes for bedside tables and lamps in a small space. I dropped 13" drum shades over the top of the glass shades to give the lamps a more contemporary style (similar lamp was $299 at a lighting store). I saved $250 per light fixture using the WalMart floor lamps and drum shades for the same expensive look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next