Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Dorel Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bring style and a functional sleeping space into your home with the contemporary Twin-Over Futon Loft Bed. The top twin-sized bed together with the lower full-sized futon bed makes this kids' futon bed a great choice for siblings, sleep-overs, and story time. To ensure complete safety for your child, this twin-over-futon bunk bed comes with full-length guardrails and a sturdy integrated ladder. The black metal finish of this futon bed will perfectly blend with any light background and enhance your room dcor. Coordinate this futon bunk bed with other accessories, such as rugs and curtain panels to give a luxurious look to your bedroom. In addition, the space-saving design of this black bunk bed will help you make the most of your limited floor space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.006 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
136
4 stars
106
3 stars
33
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation85%268 out of 314reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
91 Questions | 361 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
136
4 stars
106
3 stars
33
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Ok

12/18/2012
By ,
Whittier
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this for almost a year, great space saver, I did buy mattress toppers because these mattresses are horrible, they are not comfy at all, and after about two weeks we were able to feel the steel underneath, so in order for a good sleep we just bought mattress toppers which were about 3" thick.
The bed is really noisy whenever anyone moves also.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bought for my six year old son.

03/27/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried when reading some of the other reviews. The bed came quick, four days after ordering. The box was pretty beat up. I was afraid there would be a lot of missing pieces. Thank goodness there was no missing pieces. Other reviews said the bed was shaky, this one is not. I am fully comfortable to get on the top bunk. It's heavy and does not shake or feel unstable. It took us about 4 hours to put together, would have been less. I accidentally put a bolt in the wrong place, stripped it trying to get it out.. so took a good hour working on getting the screw out (luckily I was still able to use it in bed). This is when my fiancé took over reading instructions. Very good quality bed and I can tell this will be used for my son for a very long time!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Amazing deal!!!

02/12/2010
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, we purchased this bed because it was at a great price and it seemed to be a very sturdy bed. We did the site to store deal and it was a breeze. We placed the order on 2/1/10. The first piece (Futon mattress)arrived on 2/8/10 and the other 2 (twin mattress and bed)on 2/11/10 and 2/12/10. So, it was a lot faster than they tell you. Putting it together is a breeze as well, as long as you follow the instructions. I would highly recommend taking the screws and laying them out somewhere and labeling them as they are in the box they come in. We got them mixed up and had to guess which ones we were supposed to use. But that was our fault. Its pretty simple to put together however but it will take you between 1 1/2 to 2 hrs. The frame is very sturdy. I am amazed, considering the price for this bed. So far so good. We'll see how it holds up. Oh yeah, and the box weighs 150lbs. So, take someone with you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

I love this Bed

02/15/2012
By ,
jackson, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my little girl. She loves it. I put it together myself and it took me more than two hours lol. I see a lot of reviews that say it only took 2 hours, well I lost track of time. It might have been because my little girl wanted to help I don't know. Either way the bed is great it is a lot bigger than I thought it would be. I really didn't want it to be so big but hey it's still great. It holds me as well and I am 198, 5'8. I had to test it before she used it. I only had it for 2 days now, but we love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Des Plaines, il
futon mattress
Posted 03/01/2014
what futon mattress did u get and is it decent enough to sleep on?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

A Great Bed!

03/03/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is very sturdy and a wonderful addition to my kids room! The downside......The instructions said approx time for setting up the bed was 2 hours. HAHAHA Try 6 hours...Although I did have my 15 year old helping me, The instructions were confusing, 1. they had the wrong letter stickers on some of the parts so you had to "figure out where they go" 2. I had to DRILL a hole because on one of the bottom parts they had MISDRILLED one of the holes to where it didnt match up with the other side. 3. I didn't have one of the allen wrench size to fit my drill so alot of it was done by hand. But, all and all after we got through the trials of putting it up it is a GREAT Bed and Couch. I suggest if you get this bed to get the 6" mattresses with it. They are very comfortable and you can not feel 1 bar come through. Between my Son and I we are about 350 lbs and we were both sitting on the couch comfortably and never felt unsafe! It is a GREAT BUY!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ga
awful
Posted 04/09/2013
We have had this bed a little over a year..It is broken.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Great Bed for Teenager's Room

03/06/2014
By ,
Fairview, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted my son to have a place for his friends to sit and hang out without sitting on his bed and this is great. We just setup and it looks great! He enjoy's sleeping in it....so good so far. Will check back in future to let you know how it's holding up.
An additional note-I do have to say that this set had the best instructions I have used so far! I like that it has extra diagrams confirming how the piece should be if attaching correctly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Assembled With Minimal Swearing ;)

07/12/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a single mom and not very "handy" but I decided to give the bed assembly a try. The directions say it would take 2 hours and they recommend having 2 people put it together. I didn't find any volunteers to assist me and it took me a little over 4 hours to assemble. Along the way I did run into a few problems. There were several bolts that were loose inside the box. 4 were missing but I was able to replace them on my own for less than a dollar at the hardware store. The instructions say to call them if you're missing anything and they'll ship parts for free but I put it together on a Saturday and the manufacturer wouldn't be available until Monday. And even more importantly, my daughter was REALLY anxious for me to finish it! Also- the first large metal part I had to insert something into was dented. I used a hammer to smack it back into place (probably not the technical term for what I did but I did mention that I'm not "handy"...). Other than those few problems that I was able to trouble shoot on my own the process was fairly painless. Now that it's together it looks great and seems to be very sturdy and good quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors
02/23/2012
By ,
Nashville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child loves this . She's 8 and she loves the idea of having her own couch in her room to play wii. I now spend a little more time with her and watch movies in her room. I only brought the Frame. I brought the Mattress another place. Love it..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bunk Bed

03/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bunk bed is a great price compared to others in my area. The installation was rather easy. No parts missing... Had help from my two older teenage sons, which you might need, extra hands..The bed overall is what my younger kids needed. Looks great.. It does wabble a little bit and you do need to move it away from the wall in order to prevent your wall from getting damaged when you lower or raise the bed. There are two hooks used in keep the bottom mattress on the bed and it also serves as handles to raise the bed to a sofa, The hinges are poorly created and they do fall off. I did try to bent them to see if they would stay in place. My kiddos tell me thay still fall so you have to keep an eye on them and not loose them. They do serve its purpose to keep the mattress in place. I decided to pay a little extra and get the mattress with the coils. Do it! its worth the money. I am overall happy with the bed which is a great space saver. If you need a bunk bed and do not want to spend over 400.00, this is it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Great bunk with great weight capacity

09/17/2013
By ,
Tarrant Co., TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After extensive research and reviewing customer reviews, this bunk over futon turned out to be a very satisfied purchase. The beds were delivered on time, are strong, sturdy, no parts were missing, and the directions with pictures were clear. My 16 year old grandson put this entire bunk together by himself in less than 3 hours and slept on it the very same night. The bed was ordered as a bundle with mattresses and they are appropriate and comfortable. I sat on the futon to check it out and it also folds up and lifts out easily. There is a built in ladder access at each end of the bunk, so you can arrange it anywhere in a tiny room. The entire metal frame, including the ladders are solid, rounded, very smooth with no rough edges, plenty of height in-between upper and lower bunk and no bunkie board required at all. Upper bunk holds up to 250 lbs. and the bottom futon that folds out into double bed holds up to 600 lbs. and their is plenty of room for his friends and overnight stays as well. Out of all the beds I researched over a 2 month period of time, this is the most sturdy and the low cost exceeding my expectations. Thank you Walmart and free shipping too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Good for the price

04/28/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good futon bunk for the value. Works great in our kids room. My only main issue was that I didn't calculate the fact that the bunk bed would need to be placed away from the wall to pull the futon out in the bed position. I had wrongly assumed the bed would pull out into the room and stick out a bit, rather than center on the frame with overhang on the front and back. We have a very tiny room so this means less floor space in the middle than I had predicted. All the photos of the bunk bed show it up against the wall so it is important to point this out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Great product for the price!!!

02/12/2014
By ,
Louisville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect this good of quality for the price! Took some time to put together and it was a little awkward but it wasn't hard to put together! It arrived earlier then promised and it was heavy but it was worth the weight. The mattress's were better quality then i expected. I was pleased with the over all value and ease of the bundle package. I would tell my friends and family to buy this if they were in need of a nice bedroom set!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Awesome bed for cramped spaces

03/06/2014
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I have a small room and no where to put my friends/cousins when they come over. My old bunk bed was falling apart and decided this would be a good bed at a great value. The bed is sturdy, has enough height I don't hit my head when I'm using the futon as a couch, and even if it's a little bigger than I expected, it's a good size for my room.
The only complaint I've had with it is it took me almost 6 hours to put together because the mechanisms were in the wrong boxes and I had to backtrack and it's hard to do it in a small space. Overall though, a great bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Excellent product, easy instructions

03/31/2014
By ,
Middletown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my teenage daughter. Assembly was about 2 1/2 hrs with her assistance. One piece was incorrect, needed replacement. Contacted manufacturer website for replacement and they promptly shipped it. Haven't received it yet, so I'm hoping it's correct this time.
Fit my standard bed mattress on the top bunk, no problem.
Purchased an 8" futon mattress for bottom which fit well. Only problem is closing up the futon to a seat from the flat bed. With no mattress on it that process is easy for my 13yo, but with this 8" mattress it is a 2-person job and still hard.
Overall a sturdy product, and appears to be well-built. Instructions were easy, parts were clearly marked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

good product

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall im satisfied with this product. the only thing I don't like about it is the grey plastic pieces broke too easily and there weren't any extra in case we ran out. which led to concerns with the metal bars slipping out of place causing mattress malfunctions. none yet its just a concern for those with active kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

surprisingly comfortable

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical due to the low price, but these mattresses are great. They are extremely soft, and great to sleep on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

missing pieces

03/18/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not a bad bed but the directions are horrible and all the pieces werent there.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Lots of parts

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed is sturdy and looks very nice. Besides having a lot of parts the issues were the instructions. They were very confusing but if you pay close attention to the pictures that will help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

my preteen daughter loves it

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box was damaged upon arrivaland it took almost 6 hrs to put together instructions were poor reading but at the end finished product is great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Good kid's room bed.

04/16/2014
By ,
trenton, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Futon is great for playing video games and doubles as large bed for sleepovers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 268 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next