Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Dorel Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bring style and a functional sleeping space into your home with the contemporary Twin-Over Futon Loft Bed. The top twin-sized bed together with the lower full-sized futon bed makes this kids' futon bed a great choice for siblings, sleep-overs, and story time. To ensure complete safety for your child, this twin-over-futon bunk bed comes with full-length guardrails and a sturdy integrated ladder. The black metal finish of this futon bed will perfectly blend with any light background and enhance your room dcor. Coordinate this futon bunk bed with other accessories, such as rugs and curtain panels to give a luxurious look to your bedroom. In addition, the space-saving design of this black bunk bed will help you make the most of your limited floor space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.003 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
116
3 stars
37
2 stars
24
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation85%298 out of 350reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions | 389 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
116
3 stars
37
2 stars
24
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Very dissatisfied

12/01/2012
By ,
linden tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very dissatisfied, I ordered this to have more bed space due to company during the holidays, Also to have a couch in the play room for the kids to game during the day. We have still not been able to use it due to missing parts. I called Wal-Mart to find out I had to deal with the manufacturer, when I called them they informed me that the order would not be processed until after the thanksgiving break so needless to say it’s not put together just taking up much needed space. I could not only not be reimbursed for the bed nor for the expedited shipping I paid for to have this in time for the holidays.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bought for my six year old son.

03/27/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried when reading some of the other reviews. The bed came quick, four days after ordering. The box was pretty beat up. I was afraid there would be a lot of missing pieces. Thank goodness there was no missing pieces. Other reviews said the bed was shaky, this one is not. I am fully comfortable to get on the top bunk. It's heavy and does not shake or feel unstable. It took us about 4 hours to put together, would have been less. I accidentally put a bolt in the wrong place, stripped it trying to get it out.. so took a good hour working on getting the screw out (luckily I was still able to use it in bed). This is when my fiancé took over reading instructions. Very good quality bed and I can tell this will be used for my son for a very long time!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Amazing deal!!!

02/12/2010
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, we purchased this bed because it was at a great price and it seemed to be a very sturdy bed. We did the site to store deal and it was a breeze. We placed the order on 2/1/10. The first piece (Futon mattress)arrived on 2/8/10 and the other 2 (twin mattress and bed)on 2/11/10 and 2/12/10. So, it was a lot faster than they tell you. Putting it together is a breeze as well, as long as you follow the instructions. I would highly recommend taking the screws and laying them out somewhere and labeling them as they are in the box they come in. We got them mixed up and had to guess which ones we were supposed to use. But that was our fault. Its pretty simple to put together however but it will take you between 1 1/2 to 2 hrs. The frame is very sturdy. I am amazed, considering the price for this bed. So far so good. We'll see how it holds up. Oh yeah, and the box weighs 150lbs. So, take someone with you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

I love this Bed

02/15/2012
By ,
jackson, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my little girl. She loves it. I put it together myself and it took me more than two hours lol. I see a lot of reviews that say it only took 2 hours, well I lost track of time. It might have been because my little girl wanted to help I don't know. Either way the bed is great it is a lot bigger than I thought it would be. I really didn't want it to be so big but hey it's still great. It holds me as well and I am 198, 5'8. I had to test it before she used it. I only had it for 2 days now, but we love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Des Plaines, il
futon mattress
Posted 03/01/2014
what futon mattress did u get and is it decent enough to sleep on?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

A Great Bed!

03/03/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is very sturdy and a wonderful addition to my kids room! The downside......The instructions said approx time for setting up the bed was 2 hours. HAHAHA Try 6 hours...Although I did have my 15 year old helping me, The instructions were confusing, 1. they had the wrong letter stickers on some of the parts so you had to "figure out where they go" 2. I had to DRILL a hole because on one of the bottom parts they had MISDRILLED one of the holes to where it didnt match up with the other side. 3. I didn't have one of the allen wrench size to fit my drill so alot of it was done by hand. But, all and all after we got through the trials of putting it up it is a GREAT Bed and Couch. I suggest if you get this bed to get the 6" mattresses with it. They are very comfortable and you can not feel 1 bar come through. Between my Son and I we are about 350 lbs and we were both sitting on the couch comfortably and never felt unsafe! It is a GREAT BUY!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ga
awful
Posted 04/09/2013
We have had this bed a little over a year..It is broken.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Awesome Loft Bed

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed because I am moving to a room and I wanted to maximize its apace but I still wanted to accommodate guests comfortably every now and then. This bed was spot on! While I was assembling its parts it seemed to be not so strong and sturdy but it turns out that when every single part of the bed it in its respective place it becomes very sturdy. It took time to assembling it due to its numerous parts but it was very easy to do due to the stickers they put with letters on each part. So when you see in the assembling manual "connect A to B with the screw 8" you know exactly where and what they are. Highly recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Love this bed!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bed for my 6 year old daughter, and she absolutely LOVES it! It is sturdy enough for me to be able to climb to the top bunk to tuck her in, and me not worrying about it collapsing. She loves how it changes from a bed to a couch, and she can have sleepovers now. The only thing we didn't like about it was that the ladder rungs hurt our feet. I couldn't climb it at all without shoes on. I had read a review before I bought the bed that suggested to cut one of those swimming noodles up and tape the pieces to the rungs of the ladder. That worked like a charm! We use the top bunk for all of her stuffed animals. It looks great, and her room looks a lot neater. It does take a few hours to put together, but the instructions were easy to follow, and once it is done, you've got yourself a wonderful bed/couch/stuffed animal display!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Assembled With Minimal Swearing ;)

07/12/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a single mom and not very "handy" but I decided to give the bed assembly a try. The directions say it would take 2 hours and they recommend having 2 people put it together. I didn't find any volunteers to assist me and it took me a little over 4 hours to assemble. Along the way I did run into a few problems. There were several bolts that were loose inside the box. 4 were missing but I was able to replace them on my own for less than a dollar at the hardware store. The instructions say to call them if you're missing anything and they'll ship parts for free but I put it together on a Saturday and the manufacturer wouldn't be available until Monday. And even more importantly, my daughter was REALLY anxious for me to finish it! Also- the first large metal part I had to insert something into was dented. I used a hammer to smack it back into place (probably not the technical term for what I did but I did mention that I'm not "handy"...). Other than those few problems that I was able to trouble shoot on my own the process was fairly painless. Now that it's together it looks great and seems to be very sturdy and good quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Great Bed for Teenager's Room

03/06/2014
By ,
Fairview, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted my son to have a place for his friends to sit and hang out without sitting on his bed and this is great. We just setup and it looks great! He enjoy's sleeping in it....so good so far. Will check back in future to let you know how it's holding up.
An additional note-I do have to say that this set had the best instructions I have used so far! I like that it has extra diagrams confirming how the piece should be if attaching correctly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/13/2014
how thick is this mattress and is it holding up comfy still? my boy is a bigger 12 yr old and im thinkn about getting him one of these
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors
02/23/2012
By ,
Nashville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child loves this . She's 8 and she loves the idea of having her own couch in her room to play wii. I now spend a little more time with her and watch movies in her room. I only brought the Frame. I brought the Mattress another place. Love it..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

piece of junk

08/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took forever to get together. Thing shakes like heck. This thing is loud as heck when you get on it/move around on it/sit down on it/lay on it. Moving the slightest bit on this thing makes it squeak like crazy. The little grey space savers are continuously falling off underneath because they break. I had to call and get more shipped to the apartment because they kept falling out. Randomly makes loud noises underneath you when you move on this thing as if something just broke off below you. The noises it makes wakes me up during the middle of the night. Hate this thing. Everything is tight and how it should be, and its still a piece of trash. I wish I could return it but that would be so difficult. What a waste of money, trust me. I want to punch this futon bunk bed in the face every time I look at it. As I lay on it while typing this review....it is squeaking. Incredible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Bunk Bed

03/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bunk bed is a great price compared to others in my area. The installation was rather easy. No parts missing... Had help from my two older teenage sons, which you might need, extra hands..The bed overall is what my younger kids needed. Looks great.. It does wabble a little bit and you do need to move it away from the wall in order to prevent your wall from getting damaged when you lower or raise the bed. There are two hooks used in keep the bottom mattress on the bed and it also serves as handles to raise the bed to a sofa, The hinges are poorly created and they do fall off. I did try to bent them to see if they would stay in place. My kiddos tell me thay still fall so you have to keep an eye on them and not loose them. They do serve its purpose to keep the mattress in place. I decided to pay a little extra and get the mattress with the coils. Do it! its worth the money. I am overall happy with the bed which is a great space saver. If you need a bunk bed and do not want to spend over 400.00, this is it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Great bunk with great weight capacity

09/17/2013
By ,
Tarrant Co., TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After extensive research and reviewing customer reviews, this bunk over futon turned out to be a very satisfied purchase. The beds were delivered on time, are strong, sturdy, no parts were missing, and the directions with pictures were clear. My 16 year old grandson put this entire bunk together by himself in less than 3 hours and slept on it the very same night. The bed was ordered as a bundle with mattresses and they are appropriate and comfortable. I sat on the futon to check it out and it also folds up and lifts out easily. There is a built in ladder access at each end of the bunk, so you can arrange it anywhere in a tiny room. The entire metal frame, including the ladders are solid, rounded, very smooth with no rough edges, plenty of height in-between upper and lower bunk and no bunkie board required at all. Upper bunk holds up to 250 lbs. and the bottom futon that folds out into double bed holds up to 600 lbs. and their is plenty of room for his friends and overnight stays as well. Out of all the beds I researched over a 2 month period of time, this is the most sturdy and the low cost exceeding my expectations. Thank you Walmart and free shipping too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Good for the price

04/28/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good futon bunk for the value. Works great in our kids room. My only main issue was that I didn't calculate the fact that the bunk bed would need to be placed away from the wall to pull the futon out in the bed position. I had wrongly assumed the bed would pull out into the room and stick out a bit, rather than center on the frame with overhang on the front and back. We have a very tiny room so this means less floor space in the middle than I had predicted. All the photos of the bunk bed show it up against the wall so it is important to point this out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Son loves it!

07/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 10 yo son, and he loves it. The futon folds out/in smoothly. I placed a full size sheet over futon for company and it fits perfectly. The ladder is bad for adult feet but kids don't seem to mind. My 2 yo learned how to climb up/down the same day so be careful with younger kids. The frame is also sturdy. It took 4 hrs & 2 adults to assemble. I do recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

My Grandsons' love it!!

08/26/2014
By ,
Cincinnati Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit for my grandsons' room. They are 5 and 6 1/2 yrs old. They love the look and it's an adventure for them as they have not had bunk beds til now. The estimated assembly time of 2 hours is a joke. We had to use different tools than what came with it. My husband did it over a 3 day period and he is pretty handy. I wish I could have found one made in the USA but I would recommend it as a decent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

This is came without instructions.

08/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Luckily the instruction manual can be downloaded from Walmart.com because they were not in the box. However I don't blame Walmart, I blame the manufacturer. Overall, the bunk bed was a great bargain and my kids love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Disappointed

07/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Didnt come with futon
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

Very Tall

03/25/2012
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bunk bed was received in perfect condition. My Grandson set it up for my 12 year old Granddaughter and it took him about 3 hours. It's a very good looking bunk bed, very sturdy but, I didn't realize it was going to be so tall! It's by far the tallest bunk bed I've ever seen. My Granddaughter has bumped her head on the ceiling several times so when the Futon was finally delivered she switched to sleeping on that. I chose the futon that walmart sells with innersprings and it's very comfortable. If I had it to do again, I would have measured!! Measure floor to ceiling and compare with the height of the bunk bed. You need at least 10' high ceilings or your child will have to snake into the bunk to prevent hitting their head on the ceiling. She's very happy with the bed and that's all that matters and like I said, it's beautiful to look at and very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Twin-Over-Futon Bunk Bed, Multiple Colors

No hardware or instructions enclosed

08/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Item came in on time, no instructions in box, no hardware in box. Called company to have hardware sent to me, was told 6 weeks. Called Walmart, they were very cooperative, had replacement bed sent to me (4 days) unfortunately Fed Ex put on wrong truck. Needless to say the birthday surprise was ruined. To date still do not have a bunkbed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 304 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next