Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Sunpentown Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Keep perishables fresh and cold with the Sunpentown UF-311S 2.8 cu. ft. Freezer. This upright freezer with four pullout baskets provides ample space to organize plenty of food items. Just a push of a defrost button is all that is required to manually start a defrost cycle. The adjustable thermostat control helps keep the temperature under control. The reversible door is the height of convenience, whereas the recessed handle makes for a sleek design. With a space-saving flush back design, this freezer is ideal for kitchens with tight spaces. Not just for your home, this compact freezer makes a great choice for offices too. This freezer from Sunpentown is Energy Star certified, so cuts down on our electricity bill too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%35 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Was great while it worked

06/04/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We've had this for just over 5 months now. My wife and I liked the size and the baskets for convenience. It was quiet and worked as advertised for 5 months and then stopped. It cools but will not freeze and we lost all of what we had been buying on sales for summer BBQ's. According to Walmart we must deal with the manufacturer. All well and good but the manufacturers only option is to ship it to them. They have no local repair or service centers that can be utilized. By the time we find packing material, hauling to shipping centers and shipping itself it costs more than the unit is worth. Seems a incredibly poor customer support model. If i have to I'll take the hit and buy a different model but it sure will not be a Sunpentown unit or from Walmart. This experience has left a bad taste in my mouth for both Sunpentown, and Walmart. They might as well have said all sales final and not bothered with any guarantee, it's not worth anything anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

just got it.

04/06/2012
By ,
the doll room.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the freezer is fairly light, I was able to pick it up and move it without too much effort. When I plugged it in I thought it might not be working, but when I put my hand against the side I could feel the compressor working, it is silent. The Key lock was a disappointment, it is a tiny metal HEX/Allen wrench on a small plastic key, though it does lock the unit, it can be easily opened. After just a few minutes of getting power it was getting cool inside, and overnight it was at freezing. The Cooling coils are part of the shelfing/storage basket system, so very large items might not fit. The bins measure about 13" square, and 5' in height. The lower basket sits in front of the compressor and is only about 6' deep, and 13" across, and 9" in height. overall it is a nice small unit, good for a little extra space for a few people or less. You will not be cramming the thanksgiving turkey in to this freezer, but a lot of small frozen pizzas, and some ice cream will fit fine. I did not give a durability rating, as I am not yet sure if it will be, though I haven't yet had time to find out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Great Small Freezer

03/20/2011
By ,
Swampscott, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart had the best price for this small freezer and so I tried their Ship-to-Store (free shipping) service. It went smoothly and the delivery was within 3 days of estimate. The freezer is small, but cools extremely well. It has been keeping a constant minus 20 degrees for a week now. I am glad I purchased an Energy Star certified product, a sign that this appliance has better than average engineering. Plus, it qualifies for a $50 energy star rebate with National Grid for Massachusetts residential electric customers. The construction seems to be solid. The interior baskets are a bit flimsy. The brushed stainless steel door, which is reversible, looks sleek.
This small freezer is perfect for apartment or condo dwellers, or if you just need to save some space.
Overall, extremely pleased with this purchase and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Sunpentown 3.0 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, SS
Posted 09/11/2011
Are you sure about that temp? Even the manufacturer's website says max of -11 degrees!
I find it hard to believe that your's goes to -20 ! Ive been shopping for an upright freezer for under my home bar, but there are too different reviews with diff temps. Not too sure about this product?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Compact, effecent.

11/01/2010
By ,
Central Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replaced old large upright freezer. Compact but with baskets capacity very effecent. Ship to store pick up quick and very cost saving. Excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Works Great!

03/11/2012
By ,
Monrovia,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We plugged the unit into the wall and it works fine. It freezes quickly and I really like the baskets shelves. This freezer freezes so well, you are going to want to keep it at the 3 setting. Anything over that is a waste of energy. We are very happy with our purchase the unit fits well in the kitchen and the stainless steel finish is quite attractive.
The one warning I would give is BE SURE THE DOOR IS CLOSED! I quickly shut the door after grabbing something from the freezer and the door didn't completely shut and I didn't discover it until the next afternoon. Fortunately, I didn't lose any food, but the door doesn't make any sound when it closes, so you need to be sure it did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Exceeded expectations

02/19/2010
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little freezer. It holds more food than I expected; it looks so little in the photos. It maintains a temperature of -10 degrees to 0 degrees. One feature I would like to see added is an interior light.
I highly recommend this freezer if you only have a small space. It fits perfectly in our motor home (we are full time RVers).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Deep Freeze

09/12/2009
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freezer @ 45min. -16o. Steaks froze solid in 1/2 hr..
Low power consumption. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

more than expected

02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS THE BEST UPRIGHT CHEST FREEZER MADE. IT IS SO QUIET THAT I THOUGHT IT WAS NOT WORKING, SO I HAD TO STICK MY HEAD INTO THE UNIT TO HEAR A VERY QUIET NOISE. IT FROZE THE ICE AND THE FOOD WITHIN A FEW HOURS. IT FITS INTO MY KITCHEN AND NOW I HAVE MORE TOP SPACE FOR ITEMS. WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. NOT TOO HEAVY. GOOD JOB ON THIS ONE!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

goodlooking freezer

07/27/2009
By ,
phoenixville pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
if you dont like the appearance of the white chestfreezers (like me),this is a good alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Sunpentown cheap but

09/23/2009
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received the Sunpentown 3.0 cubic foot freezer on Sept. 9th, I plugged it in and loaded a few bottles of water and ice trays to make sure all was working. On the 18th we did some heavy shopping and filled the unit with food after it had been in our other freezer for a day. All was well until on the 20th I went to get something out and found the internal temp at room temp. Everything was wasted... $200 worth of food down the drain. Now to their benefit Sunpentown is shipping out a new freezer. I won't put it down completely until the new one arrives and I have a chance to give it a good trial. But honestly you can do better for the money with a Good quality name chest freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Good compact freezer at a fair price

07/04/2012
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am currently quite pleased with the freezer and time will tell how durable it turns out to be. I find the pull-out baskets work out perfectly for us (we use it to handle overflow from our side-by-side refrigerator which has limited freezer space).
Only have three minor disappointments; barely adequate manual, defrosting procedure and front leveling feet.
My 10 yr old Danby compact refrigerator came with an informative manual with full parts list and I was expecting something similar.
The Danby had a semi-automatic defrost system which had a button you push to initiate the cycle . . . this freezer requires you move the contents to another freezer or cooler and unplug the power until the built up ice melts . . . again, I had expected something similar to the Danby.
The leveling "feet" is really a leveling "foot" . . . only one foot is adjustable. In my case I had to remove the fixed front foot and place washers between it and the bottom of the unit in order to raise it enough for the adjustable foot to have sufficient range. This might not be a problem in all situations.
You should also be aware that the temperature adjustment is in the back of the unit . . . should not be a problem once you get it adjusted to your desired temperature.
In spite of these issues, the unit is quiet, keeps a good sub-zero temperature and does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

nice

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice unit -very quiet -I can not hear it run -coiles under each rack make for even freezing.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless
01/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This freezer is perfect for what we needed. The only thing I don't like about it is the pullout baskets. They come in handy for smaller items but are not removable. Larger items do not fit. Otherwise love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Baskets ARE removable
Posted 07/12/2012
The baskets are removable. When in their outermost position, lift up at an angle and they easily come out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless
03/05/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little confused? The product is advertised as a 3.0 cu. ft. but the shipping box is marked as 2.6 cu ft.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless
09/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cold. Very Cold
Quiet. Leave the door open too much and it builds up quite a bit of frost but other than that, great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Freezer

12/01/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This freezer looks really nice and the drawers are spacious. However, since day one there has been lots of frost build up. Every time you open the door frost falls out and your hands get very icy when you take items out. We called the manufacturer and they told us to make the freezer colder...we did, but have the same problem. We will be calling again asking for an exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

Love the Stainless Steel front and black sides

03/08/2013
By ,
Whetstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only problem I have had is I knocked the door out of alignment when unwrapping it. (lots of packing) So tried to reset it (easy) but didn't get it high enough and it drags a little on the bottom. Other than that love it, Has slide out baskets on the shelves that are roomy, can change door to right or left open, comes with a key. You need to set it to low temp like 1 or 1 1/2 to get the temp up a little...it is way below 0 if you leave it at 3 which it comes set at. Very good looking and moves easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

nice freezer

05/12/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the freezer I purchased. I live in a one bedroom apartment and it was just the right size for the space. The stainless and black finish also matches the other appliances. It was the right price and the right size! I would definitely recommend this freezer to anyone looking for a small addition to their current refrigerator freezer space.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless
09/10/2009
By ,
scranton pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the freezer arrived at the store earlier thanexpected was just what wife had wanted and is very happy with the looks and operation. we used this freezer as a back up to our kitchen freezer which was to small for our needs this is perfect for us i would reccomend this product to anyone looking for addition al freezer space or for an rv or whatever
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, Stainless

fits perfect in my RV coach

07/27/2009
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this unit for my RV and it fits great without taking up space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next