Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Sunpentown Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

The Sunpentown 2.8 Cu Ft Upright Freezer will prove to be a handy choice for home or office. It is compact with a flush back design and fits easily into any small space. It offers 2.8 cu.ft storage capacity. It comes with four pull-out baskets which make it easy to organize and get to the stored items. The baskets can be fully packed without having to worry about the contents falling down. Certified by Energy star, this compact refrigerator consumes low energy and is eco-friendly. It runs quietly too. It comes with an adjustable thermostat and a lock and key. With a lock and key included, this upright freezer is certainly useful.
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%33 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

freezer Love it a lot

01/04/2010
By ,
Dearborn Mich
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this freezer 3.cu ft to everyone who needs a small freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White
12/09/2011
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this freezer in the 5th wheel, it fit perfectly the *garage* and gives us more space in the little freezer inside. I love the baskets instead of shelves, no worry on how to fit food without it falling out.
The advertizing on this product was easy to read and gave all the specs for each item. i did choose this one because of the baskets, i wish more freezers did that.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White
10/15/2013
By ,
Benwood, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is much larger than you would think and suggest shipping to home and not store. I would have never fit it in the car had I shipped it to the store. I purchased an this upright so I wouldn't have to bend way over to reach items in the bottom of a chest unit and I buy my frozen foods on a monthly basis so needed freezer space. The baskets are easy to slide out to fill and replace when full. They also make it great to sort frozen items. The "shelves" are the actual freezer coils which I thought was really excellent. It runs very quiet. The price was by far the lowest of any store carrying this unit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

a good little freezer

04/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can actually store quite a bit in this little freezer because the inside drawers are designed to minimize unused space and there are no shelves on the inside of the door. It's almost as good as a chest style in that sense, but has the convenience of an upright and lets you organize better because of the drawers.
The unit *does* have a temperature control knob on the back, not inside the freezer itself.
It is a bit pricey, and for that I docked a star for Value. There are much cheaper models, but I liked that the storage space is maximized like a chest style freezer.
The manufacturers could have very easily made it so you could switch the door hinge to the other side. I tried this when I received it because all the screw holes appeared to be in place for an easy switch. But one of the screw holes on the other side was too small for the existing screw, so I just left it the way it is rather than drill it out. Not a huge deal, but I did dock a star for this.
It's runs quietly and cools down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Very Nice

01/03/2010
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice product and really functions well. It is comnpact looking with a large capacity. I have placed most of my vegetables in this new freezer. I recommend placing thermostat in front instead of back of freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Missing Just One Thing

10/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like this freezer. It's compact and the pull out shelves are very user friendly, but there is one thing that I can't figure out and the literature is lacking (no diagrams) and doesn’t help me at all. They say there is a control for adjusting the temperature but I don't see that anywhere. I’ve looked inside and out and cannot find it. Usually the temp control knob is inside the unit and very visible, but not on this. Maybe there isn't one and the literature is wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Meets My Needs

03/16/2010
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this product for 9 months. It is the perfect size, and i like the swing out door as opposed to the open from the top, because i'm able to see everything in the freeze without having to pull everything out. Note: the freezer isn't very deep (from the front to the back). it has 4 shelves with wire draws, i removed some of the wire draws so that i could have more overall space in the freezer. I have no regrets with this product. I haven't defrosted it yet or had to, i'm not sure how often you're suppose to do that, so the manual defrost method hasn't bothered me yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Nice addition to family

01/02/2011
By ,
Avon Park, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are just the two of us so when I see food deals that could be frozen I used to get mad that my fridge's freezer wasn't big enough. This little freezer more that fits the bill. It has given us much more flexibility in shopping and I imagine that it will pay for it's self in a few years. Another good thing is the cost per year to run... the Energy sticker showed it is very efficient about $35 per year to run.
It was easy to set up and only took a short while to adjust the setting (located on the back bottom of the unit) to the right level of cold. It cools fast and is very quiet in operation... when it need to run. Most of the time it is dead quiet.
I wanted the door to open the other way and changing it was a simple operation.
Friends of ours have a similar freezer with a different brand name and the only difference (other than price as they paid over $100 more) is that theirs came with plastic freezer bins - like the crispers in a fridge while this one has wire baskets. I can see the advantage of plastic bins but not for $100!!
All in all a good, solid performer and if you are looking for a small freezer that you don't have to "dumpster dive" to get things out of this is a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Everything was great!

01/20/2010
By ,
Lagrange, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It went exactly as it was suppossed to. I had it sent to where I was vacationing. It got there much earlier, I got great service, and it works like a champ. It fit perfectly behind the seat in our small camper, and I high recommend it for travlers or home. We were concerned about it holding frozen fish when not plugged in for a day of travel, but it held perfectly after we got a few pounds frozen in it and exp after we filled it from top to bottom w/ fillets!
Now it fits and works in my utility room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Exceeded Our Expectations

08/23/2010
By ,
Highlands Ranch, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife & I have had this little freezer for a couple of months now and we couldn't be more pleased with it! When we first turned it on we set the temp control to 6 (max cold) and it took it down to -20 degrees! We re-adjusted it to 3 and it keeps everything right at 0 degrees, perfect. The pull-out drawers make everything easy to get to and we don't have to dig down to find something as you do in a chest type freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Very disappointed in the company

02/17/2010
By ,
North Haven, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was not working when I received it. I plugged it in and it never got cold. I have written the company twice asking for someone local I could call to come and look at it and have yet to receive a response. I would not recommend their product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Don't waste your money!

02/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this product in May of 2011 and we've had trouble with it pretty consistently. Of course, the problems occurred AFTER the 90 return window had closed. The freezer consistently freezes over, pushing the door open, resulting in food spoiling time and time again. I would strongly suggest you choose any other brand of freezer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Quit working after 5 months

05/28/2012
By ,
Lake Stevens WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this freezer in July 2011 based on earlier reviews. I loaded it up with grassfed beef, pastured pork and wild caught seafood, never dreaming it would fail after only 5 months of use. I checked often for ice build up because I wasn't sure how long before that was needee. .It was very quiet while turned on and I didn't notice when it stopped running but one day noticed liquid dripping out at the bottom of the door. Of course, the 90 day Walmart warranty was expired so I emailed Sunpentown with my problem and asked the name of a local appliance repair. Got a reply stating, "It appears to be under warranty so just ship it to us at your expense and we'll have a look." Problem with that was, I would have to find packing materials and ship it to them IN CALIFORNIA! I happen to live near Seattle and there is no where closer to get it fixed? I thought maybe the electrical outlet it had been plugged into was faulty or loose so I moved it to another area with a secure, working outlet, plugged it in empty to see what would happen. It cooled down nicely but after a week or so the temp started to rise until it was the same as a refrigerator. I could use it as extra fridge space but don't trust it to continue running. Save yourself the trouble, don't buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Good design. Performs well.

07/25/2011
By ,
Apex, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had the freezer for about a month now and we love it. It is quiet, cools well and it is compact. After initially setting the freezer to the coldest setting we cranked it down a couple of notches! It appears to be well insulated since being in a sweltering garage doesn't faze it a bit.
We wanted a front-loading one so that we weren't digging through piled up stuff to find what we needed. Having baskets on each shelf was the deal-clincher. It means that not only can I organize the foods in the shelves, I can pull the entire basket out when I need to get something...again, not reaching through other stuff in front. The baskets also allow you to fill each shelf to the fullest without fear of stuff falling out the next time you open the fridge.
The one thing I was concerned about was the coils that wind under each shelf. I was afraid that as frost builds up it might hinder loading and unloading the shelves. However to my relief I haven't seen that happen....yet :-P
I would have loved it if it had wheels so that I can roll it out when I defrost it. However, consider everything else, I am willing to overlook that :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Nice little freezer

01/03/2013
By ,
78382
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart shipped the freezer in a timely manner considering it was the last of Dec. We waited the 4 hours specified in the directions, set it on #6 (max) plugged it in and in 2 hours it was down to -12 degres. It is very quiet. I think it is a little over priced but then you only get what you pay for. It had way better reviews than others. It had a dollar size dent in the left side, that's why I docked it 1 point in "Meets Expectations". That side went against the wall so I wouldn't bother sending it back. We filled it up with pre-frozen meat and it has had no trouble holding the temp at -3 on a #4 setting. We have had it 3 days now, as far as "Durability" how could I know. The thermostat is on the back but once set it shouldn't have to be adjusted.
We changed the handing on the door with no difficulty. We are satisfied.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Good Product

02/14/2011
By ,
Canyon, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in a bind! My 25 year old freezer went out (2 days before I discovered it), I needed something fast and reasonable. Got here in time promised. I took the book out, read and followed instructions to the letter. Works like it said it would. Holds more than I thought it would, it is small but VERY convenient. It won't hold turkeys but handles the rest very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White
12/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The temp control in the back is the only negative. It is exactly the product we expected. A small freezer like this is exactly what is needed for a small family. Perfect for those frozen pizzas that don't fit in your side-by-side fridge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Works Fine

12/03/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine, very quiet.
Been running a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

So far, so good.

02/21/2011
By ,
Rural MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the freezer a few weeks now, but so far, so good!
Pros: Undoubtedly, my favorite feature on this 3 cubic foot mini freezer is the pull out drawer/basket style bins. The drawers make it easy to organize, and thus, quickly identify all of my frozen goods. The unit is also relatively quiet, as well as Energy Star rated.
Cons: A little pricey in comparison to the larger capacity freezers, manual defrost, and temp control in back of freezer (thus the two four star ratings).
I'm anxious to see how well this mini freezer operates over time, as it is located in a non-temperature controled garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown 2.8 cu. Ft. Upright Compact Freezer, White

Good for what I need

12/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this freezer to store meat, and so far have been pleased with it. I like the drawers, because they help keep everything organized (and ensure that nothing falls out when the door is open).
The freezer arrived in excellent condition (no dents, as some reviewers have mentioned).
I would change two things: 1) I would put the temperature control on the front or side of the unit where it would be more easily accessible, 2) I would make the electrical cord much longer (it's only about 3 feet long!).
Overall it is good for what I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next