Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

The Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet lets you store and organize your wardrobe efficiently. This silver/black freestanding closet can be placed inside your current closet or wardrobe to help organize your clothing, or can be placed in any room you choose. With two hanging bars and five wire closet shelves, it's the perfect wardrobe storage solution for your basement, laundry room and more. Featuring a steel and resin frame, the Whitmor storage closet is highly durable. Plus its neat and simple open construction lets you store and retrieve all your clothes in a hassle-free way. The Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet requires no tool assembly and can be easily set up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.287 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(785 Reviews) 686
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
211
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation89%697 out of 785reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 353 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
460
4 stars
211
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Good for the price

12/21/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all consoder the price. You get what you pay for.
It looks and feels a little flimsy when putting it together. Once together though it is solid and holds quite a bit. We wanted to for extra clothers storage in the basement and it works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

AWESOME PRODUCT IS A MUST BUY!

11/25/2013
By ,
Clementon,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item last week and I have to say it exceeded all of my expectations. It is exactly what I needed. I was able to place all of my heavy winter clothes, coat, and jewelry box, and various other items. It was easy to assemble but it is true you will need something with a little weight to it to make sure the pieces are snug, so I used my 3lb hand weight which did the trick. I LOVE IT. I have a few family members that are now going to buy this.
So, if you are looking for an organizer this is a GREAT BUY and QUALITY PRODUCT.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Great product

04/13/2014
By ,
dothan,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at this closet. It is much larger than I expected. It is so easy to put together and the only tool needed is a hammer to nail the pieces together secure. I love it, it fit so well beside my shoe rack. I only needed extra space to go along with my other racks that are on the wall in my closet. I just love the price also , you get your money's worth .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Perfect and great fit!!

03/22/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I love it.I purchased 2 because I have alot of clothes and I was turning a room into a walk in closet. I put them both together myself and it was very easy and kinda fun! I use one with the double racks, for top and bottom usage. I used the other with out the center rack that way I could hang my dresses. I would purchase another one in the future. Check out the pics.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Great for Saving Space!

09/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This wire rack is fantastic! I live in a college dorm and am a design student so I constantly have craft supplies, fabric, fashion clothing and needles and pins everywhere! In previous years I have kept everything under my lofted bed and had to go digging for supplies when I needed them (every day)!
This rack now holds all of my textbooks, fabric, sketchbook, garments and sewing projects in an easy to find space! I also bought the organizing basket and hanging organizer to go with it and all of them total was about $80.
It was really easy to put together as well. I did it by myself in my tiny dorm room and it took about 30-40 minutes. Some of the bars were a little bent though, making it hard to assemble. Also, depending what's in the organizer, it can lean. I sandwiched mine between the wall and mini fridge when I saw this was happening.
The size is huge, it holds a lot, but it still fits in my dorm with a bed, desk, fridge, TV,m dresser and other organizing boxes/shelves.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

OUTSTANDING!

09/30/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stand alone closet is great it took a few moments to put it together and then it was up and running. I use it to the maximum and haven't had any problems I'm loving it! Attach a pic for u to see
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

love it !!

04/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this freestanding closet, its affordable and it holds alot of stuff.The only problem i had with this, was the color it didnt go with my girly themed room, so i had to decorate it a bit wit ribbon and duct tape so it could look a bit girly. but besides that i love it. i also love that it have that extra shelf at the bottom so i could display my shoes. hope this was helpful :).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Great for anyone that needs to organize a closet

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my baby's closet because it didn't have any rods. It's perfect!!! It was extremely easy to assemble and it's very sturdy.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Bins
Posted 03/25/2014
Which size bins did you purchase that fit so well in the organizer? Could you give me measurements of the pink bins you purchased? Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Sturdy and Large

12/08/2010
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several storage areas throughout my home but not much closet space in the bedrooms. This item is perfect for making a storage area into an extra closet for clothes, without requiring any drilling into my walls to put up clothes racks.
The item is very sturdy and nicely placed together, just be very careful when assembling or place a piece on wrong when assembling it – we snapped a plastic piece when trying to pull it back out after realizing we assembled it backwards (nothing a little super glue can’t handle). Overall, very satisfied!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Durable for the price

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase this product for a middle room closet and was surprised at the durability. It was definitely worth the price and am thinking of purchasing another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Overall a decent purchase

02/10/2013
By ,
Louisiana, Texas and Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box we received was completely chewed up and re-taped also we had a part package that in no way related to our product so BUYER BEWARE of that! So the reviews about missing parts I'm sure are legitimate. Otherwise easily assembled, pretty sturdy, though time will tell with all my daughters clothes on it. There of course was no place for longer items but I knew this when ordered that feature could be added. It is great to have to top shelf for additional storage but it is true that the shelf is VERY CLOSE to the hanging rod and does cause a little grief. I would recommend this product but with the above disclaimers
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Loving it

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this product delivered today. And I must say it is PERFECT. This product is strong and deserves a round of applause. For a price like this, you can't get a better product than this.
Thanks Walmart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Extra space at a great cost

02/23/2011
By ,
Arvada, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rather easy to put together, looks great, has a descent amount of storage, and is user friendly except that the top bar is a bit too close to the top shelf other than that no complaints! Worth what I paid for it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Great for the price

01/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this 4 stars for value because it costs more than the silver/black version for no apparent reason. Other than that, it met my expectations fully! Obviously this is not the sturdiest/highest quality piece, but it is more than sufficient for the price. I purchased it because I moved into a room with no closet, and this has all the room/strength I need.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Awesome!!!!

09/19/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this Closet. I purchased it because my closet Is a bit small for all my things. This closet very sturdy and has perfect spacing, It isn't too big or too small "Just rite". You have options of how you would like to put it together which is very cool for even more added space It look me about 20 min. to put together. The metal used is really good quality which gives the product a longer life span. I had it shipped to the store and it wasn't heavy at all!!!!! I would def. recommend this item to any and everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Great closet

03/12/2013
By ,
Chicago,Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great closet my son did not have a closet in his room so I bought this item to get his things out of my closet.it works great and looks awesome I highly recommend this product it's worth the fifty dollars.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Just what I needed

03/27/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was worth it. It meets my expectations. I would recommend this product to anyone. I am not done hanging my clothes, but it is working out well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

Pretty good overall

08/03/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product definitely met my expectations. The only criticism I have is that it bends a little where the shelving unit meets the closet rails in the middle, which might be partly my fault during installation. This causes the entire structure to shift a little to the left. It not too noticeable on mine, and like I said, it's probably due to the fact that I didn't make sure all of the pieces were very tightly snug when I put them together. The directions say to get a very tight fit between the plastic connectors and the metal polls- do not take this lightly! It is vital if you want the frame to be sturdy and stand perpendicular to the floor. Other than that, though, it holds all of my summer clothes, along with a few dresses, and the lower rack for pants is perfect for skirts, sweaters, pants, etc. The shelving on the side is very roomy- large boxes or crates could easily fit into the room provided. Overall, an efficient use of space and very helpful if you live in an apartment with no closet!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

This is wonderful!

08/13/2011
By ,
Oshkosh WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this closet because there is only one built-in closet in my whole house and it isn't in my bedroom. I got tired of either having to go through the house to get clothes or having piles of clothing stacked around my bedroom. The Whitmor closet is much bigger than I expected, especially after seeing the little box in which it was shipped. It said "no tool assembly", but having read at least one review that said the connections had to be solid or the closet would fall apart, I used a hammer (gently) to make sure everything fit together and would stay together. It looks nice and definitely does its job. The side shelves are quite large also and hold my shoes and other accessories quite well. The only complaint I have is that the top hanging rod is too close to the top shelf, so one has to hold the hanger horizontally to get it over the rod. What I did was put on all the hangers I wanted to use, then hung the clothing on them - I use the top rod for button-up clothes that don't require taking the hanger down. Other than that one complaint, I am completely satisfied with the Whitmor freestanding closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Double Rod Freestanding Closet, Silver/Black

amazing. SO AMAZING.

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm in love with this thing. My room doesn't have much closet space, plus I have a nasty habit of throwing all my clothes on my bed, then having no room to sleep. This is probably THE best solution out there. I did a lot of research for different clothing racks and freestanding closets and I'm so happy with the choice I made.
PROS: assembly doesn't take long, instructions are very clear, SO sturdy (it's holding a lot of my clothes & a ~50 lb. laserjet printer), 2-tier + shelves, space efficient
CONS: not easy to assemble for a weakling like me (you really have to push the bars into the holes, and push them in good. i have zero upper body strength. i was sweating profusely halfway through.) and it's easy to confuse which black bars go were... you'll see what i mean. just make sure you read the instructions THOROUGHLY. don't be lazy and skim (like me).
IN SUMMARY: buy this. then get your husband/boyfriend/guy you've friendzoned/male neighbor to assemble it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 687 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  35 Next