Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

The Magnavox DP170MW8B 1080P Up-Conversion DVD Player makes the perfect addition to your home entertainment system. It features full HD video up-conversion (up to 1080p) with HDMI Connection. Further, this Magnavox progressive scan DVD player delivers Virtual Surround sound for a great audio experience. It delivers excellent picture quality, so you can enjoy a film's subtleties and details. Forward or rewind the video in slow motion at three different speeds This up-converting DVD player comes with an infrared remote control. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy watching movies on this HDMI DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation72%61 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

A great value

06/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm currently on the fence with Blu Ray, but I'm waiting for the prices to drop - just too expensive still for me.
So I decided to get an upconvert player and was looking for something cheap, since I will some day soon want to get blu ray.
I found this player and the price was cheap, but the quality is not. I tested it immediately by putting in a copy of the Matrix, which is over 5 years old and full of scratches - it played it perfectly. And more, the image quality is great. Definitely a noticeable difference than in a regular DVD player.
The controller works great and the menus are very functional and easy to use. It was very easy to set up the video (changed from 4:3 to widescreen) and audio how I wanted.
It looks sleek, the disc tray opens/closes nicely and seems very well-built; doesn't seem like it should break from normal wear and tear.
The only drawback with these players is that the HDMI cables are not included - all brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 2 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Decent product for a good price

11/10/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this back when it was $39 in store and have never had any issues with it. Granted, the avi/divx compatibility is a bit misleading (It will not play bare media files) but, I've never seen it refuse a properly formatted DVD. May just be the placement of my player, but the remote seems a bit dodgy, but this is easily solved with a $4 universal remote. Overall a great value if one is willing to learn and put up with a few kinks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

What a Find

07/07/2009
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I couldn't believe the price: in store the player cost $38 (the HDMI cable that I used to connect from the player to the TV was $32 more), but what a great picture! And installation doesn't get much easier than that. Actually, I did call the Magnavox support line, because the manual was a little confusing to me and we have Directv plus the TV and DVD player - didn't understand which cable goes to what. The lady who took my call could not have been more informed and helpful, and the player was hooked up in no time! I highly recommend this DVD player!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 4 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Plays most burned dvds

05/24/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and tried out a few different "cheap" dvd players, since they seem to work the best at playing back burned dvds. This one is the one I ended up keeping, as it plays almost all of my burned dvd movies. I would say at least 90% play on this dvd player. It's still working great-I've had it for about seven months now no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Great DVD upconverter

08/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was about time that I got rid of my old DVD player. I don't have a LCD, but I bought one for my mother as well, and it is a great product. The picture and sound is great. It even looks good on my analog TV. However, it works well with my mothers Vizio 32 LCD 720 60hz. She had composite cables, so I popped a DVD in it to see how it would compare when I hooked it up the HDMI cable (see review of the inexpensive but great HDMI cable review). I was blown away with the great picture, and the sound was awesome as well. Mind you this is not a Blu-ray player, but it is as close to a High Definition picture with half the price. The only thing that I could comment negatively on is the remote. It is very basic and no bells or whistles attached. But most people will more than likely put it on a universal remote. Overall, a great product, and well worth the money for those who don't want to make the switch to a Blu-ray player at this time.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

you get what you pay for

03/23/2010
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this player about a year ago, because the price of blu-ray at the time was still high, and I wanted to see if this player would give me a better picture quality w/out shelling out alot of cash. I had it hooked up to two different monitors, a standard definition tv (using component video cables) and my lcd computer monitor (using HDMI). I noticed NO DIFFERENCE in picture quality between the two. This, was of course...when the player actually came on...which was random at best. For some reason, after working fine a few times and then being turned off, it would refuse to power up again. I would have to un-hook all of the cables from it, and unplug it from the surge protector, let it sit for a while, then plug everything back up. Sometimes this would fix the problem...other times it would just decide to work again whenever it felt like it. I finally got tired of the aggrevation and got rid of it. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 7 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

looks good, performs good:)

01/13/2011
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im pretty picky when it comes to my electronics, i search,review and select by price and quality..im pleased with this purchase from walmart after careful consideration...shes sleek,easy to read buttons and set up is fast....i can speak for myself but i dont tend to steer anyone wrong either....i think you would be pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 8 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Didn't Last Long

01/27/2011
By ,
Ellicott City, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this DVD player over a year ago, and I must admit I liked it a lot. It is completely simple, even for a low-tech person like me to hook up. and very nuts and bolts. Watched lots and lots of movies on it. However, after just 16 months of use, it suddenly acted up, would not respond to any commands and would not play. A tag label " STOP" appeared in the right hand corner of the screen. I called Magnavox, who suggested buying and playing an optical cleaning disk, which I then tried. However, not even this disk would play. Nothing. They then suggested unplugging and plugging it back in again, but still nothing. The product is out of warranty, ( a 12 month warranty) and of course, at the price, not worth trying to see if it can be repaired. In other words, it lasted just beyond its warranty.
Although this is a good value for 16 months ( works out at about $2.30 per month), I felt burned and you may find yourself having to buy another one at the end of that time. I'm going to buy another DVD player but move up in price to get something I think will last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Disappointed

08/06/2009
By ,
Chattanooga, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for 39.99 and thought what a great deal!..It said it plays all formats of DVD but it s not true. Does not play DVD-R or Divx...Picture is ok..Gave to my newphew, bought a Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 10 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

A wonderful Product

10/01/2009
By ,
Effingham Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my DVD player. WOW the differnce there was in this one from my old one. the upconvert really makes the picture better. I really loved the price that my walmart store had. never again will I go ack to the old DVD players.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B
12/21/2010
By ,
Nampa, ID
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product because I already own the same item. It wouldn't work one day, and I saw this item at the phenomenal price, and thought I could replace it easier than I could get it repaired. However reading some of the other reviews on this products problems, I found out that if I unplugged it for a short time (which I did but to no avail) that it would start working, again. I unplugged it again, and it worked. It has done a couple of times since, but now that I know what to do, I don't mind. This DVD player is one of the better ones that I have had. I have a 42" Plasma TV with an HDMI connection, and I think it looks just as good as Blu Ray
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 12 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Who needs Blu-Ray?

08/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't quite ready to jump into Blu-Ray but wanted to get the most out of my DVD collection on my new 58 inch plasma tv. I thought this player would be a good way to see how well the upconvert players actually work without shelling out too much money (was $39 when I bought it.) At first I wasn't impressed, but then I finally went into the "settings" and got the right aspect ratio setting for the DVD (make sure you do this) and I was AMAZED. Even though I had watched this movie (Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy) a dozen times, it was like I was watching a new version. The picture was sharp and clear and the colors popped right out of the screen. It was the same as I went thru my collection and watched other old favorites.
To test if the player actually upconverted to full 1080P HD, when ABC broadcast "King Kong" I put in my disc and compared by switching back and forth (BTW, terrible movie, don't waste 3 hrs of your life). There was no difference between the HD broadcast picture and the DVD player except the picture on the player was slightly darker, but barely noticeable. One thing to keep in mind-ABC broadcasts in 720P HD, so whether this player actually upconverts to full 1080P is still an open question-but either way, the picture resolution is still terrific.
A couple of minor complaints-3 years before I had bought a Magnavox DVD recorder, and this player uses the same remote frequency. I run my satellite thru the recorder so I keep it on all the time, and if I'm watching a movie on the player a couple of times I've accidentally recorded on the disc in the recorder. Sometimes I'll watch a movie on the player while I record, and I have to be carefull not to hit the pause or stop button. I know it's cheap, but Magnavox could have used another remote frequency.
Occasionally the player will go unresponsive, and I have to unplug and plug back in to get it to work. This has happened a half-dozen times in a year-considering I use it 3-4 times a week it's not more than a minor annoyance (I have an RCA cd player that does the same thing a lot more often.)
If you're on a budget and want a good player, or your not ready to jump to Blu-Ray yet but want HD quality for your discs, I highly recommend this product. I've been very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Terrible DVD Player

01/04/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this DVD player about 6 months ago and it stopped working after about 2-3 months of ownership. It worked great and then one day it stopped reading discs. I tried all kinds of DVDs in it and it won't play any of them not even brand new ones! This is a terrible product and I recommend you find a different brand like Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Don't waste your time.

05/23/2010
By ,
Spring Hill, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this a couple of weeks ago,and wished I would have spent a little more money because this dvd is not worth the little I paid for it. The movies stop and start and when it comes to the ending of a movie it stops and starts over before showing the ending...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Very unhappy

07/11/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this product has a very great price it isn't if you consider the fact that it was not operable when I tried to use it. I just bought this DVD player and drove 25 miles round trip to get it as that is how close the nearest Walmart is. Once hooked up it made a strange noise and the tray would not open. My fiance took the top off and the motor for the tray was just hanging there. Gee...I wonder if that is why it doesn't work. I bought it based on the idea that it came with such a high rating. Now I have to drive another 25 miles round trip. So if you count the gas I guess that's another reason it's not such a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-36points
Review 16 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

yuck

08/15/2010
By ,
phoenix,az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your looking for cheap this is it. If your looking to sit back and enjoy your dvds don't waste your money...because they skip stop in the middle and if you rent its really bad. I have not had 1 dvd play all the way thru new or used
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Pretty good

01/25/2011
By ,
st george, ut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a pretty good DVD player and with the price you can't expect a whole lot... I mean players are pretty pricey. I bought one of these in August and last night it started acting crazy.. it would turn off and tell me the dvd wouldn't play because of the dvd (it played perfectly well the last 10 times I played it on the same player). I bought the warranty from the store so I can take it back and get another one. I would recommend this because of the price and it has worked perfect until last night, so only 5 months. I would definitely recommend to buy the warranty for it so if it breaks you can get another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

up convert broken by up

01/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We just bought this dvd player. It did just that, played one dvd then broke. My boys only watched "UP" one time and the player now clicks and grinds when the drive door is closed, with or without a disk in the drive. Thats why I say up convert broken by UP. I bet I could have paid my neighbor $34 and he would have let my kids watch the movie at least 2 times. Going back to the store ASAP!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 19 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

no good

12/17/2009
By ,
ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
don't waste your time. this doesn't play divx or avi files. back to walmart it goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 20 for Magnavox Up-Conversion 1080p DVD Player, DP170MW8B

Quick delivery, just what I was looking for

02/28/2011
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a horrible site to store experience on a previous purchase Walmart sent us a small e-gift card as an apology. We decided to use it to replace my Dad's broken DVD player and chose this since it was inexpensive and we wouldn't mind replacing it in a year if necessary since it may get some rough handling. It was shipped to his nursing home in just a few days. The staff had no problems setting it up, the quality is decent and works great with his HD TV. The customer service gesture to keep our business was much appreciated as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next