Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Black & Decker Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Get the dirt on deep cleaning with the Black & Decker Flex Canister Cordless Mini Hand Vac. Featuring a special pet hair cleaning tool and a high performance motor with cyclonic action, the Black & Decker Flex Canister Cordless Mini Hand Vac gets elusive pet hair and ground in dirt. And with a whole range of add-on tools, this Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Hand Vac is compact and lightweight enough to clean up cars, countertops, and pet areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.073 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation79%118 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Did not like it!

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this cordless hand vacuum to clean my van since having kids does make it pretty messy. Anyways, I charge it all night and the suction was pretty okay but in less than 1 minute it slowly started to die out. I thought I didn't charge long enough so I charge it for 24hr and again, same thing happen. I guess I'll just stick to a vacuum. Some review say it's worth it but to me it's not worth it since I do want one to last a bit longer. I would not purchase this again and will be returning this back.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Great Supplement to a Big Cumbersome Vacuume

05/29/2013
By ,
Murrieta, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this yesterday, and while I waited the loong 21 hours for it to charge, I went online and read reviews from several sites. I ALMOST returned it without even giving it a chance. I didn't want to get it dusty and return it a used item. I'm glad my curiosity got the best of me, and what the heck, I gave it a test run. Thinking I only had 5-6 minutes run time, I chose my task carefully. I cleaned the edges, seams and baseboards on the stairway, and it was still going strong. I turned it off, and fired up the stop watch on my iPhone, and decided to document how long this little cutie really ran on its maiden voyage.
It did a great job on the stairs, so I moved to a tiny "watercloset" in the bathroom that is too cramped to bring the full sized vacuum into. It's awkward to clean the floor, baseboards, or door panels behind the door, because you cant close the door with the full sized vacuum in there. The B&D Flex was what I've need all along for this teeny tiny bathroom! So easy to get behind the tank, in the crevices of the window track. It was still going strong, so I cleaned the baseboards and all the tight spots my large vacuum doesn't reach in the bathrooms and bedrooms upstairs. It finally started to lose power, and I clicked off the stopwatch (see photo at right) at 11 minutes, 49 seconds. This did not include the run time spent on the stairs, before I even started timing it!
The other photo you see at the right, is what I found when I opened it up to empty it after this quickie cleaning session. It picked up a lot! Even better, it was simple to clean. I dumped most of it out into the trash can. Some stuff remained, so I turned the center thing counter clockwise and all of the debris came out at once. I tapped that plastic center thing on the trash can edge. Then, best of all, I pulled out the paper filter thing and tapped the dust off into the trash.
The paper filter thing is my biggest pet peeve about small vacuum cleaners. I DESPISE having to pick a bunch of hair, dirt and dust off those paper accordion things. If I was cool with delving that close into the muck, why did I just use a vacuum cleaner to do the job? Yuck! The design on this little B&D Flex really does a fine job of filtering out the big mess before it ever reaches the paper filter. All that made its way to the paper filter was dust, which was easily tapped into the trash. It was nearly white again, with very little efffort.
The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five, is the charge time is really long AND because it has a blue "charging light" that tells you no more than the fact that the unit is plugged in. It does not go off, or change colors to tell you when the unit is fully charged. How dumb is that? You plug it in and it turns blue and stays blue, no matter what the status of the battery is!
I also found the instructions difficult to read. At first glance, it looks like a booklet of nothing but electrical warnings. The most important information is buried in a bunch of verbiage. They really should add a quick start guide, in color, or at least organized with better titles and headings.
Still, I love this little thing! I bought it for my son's tiny apartment, and now I don't want to let it leave my own house! It's a keeper.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Overall its a great little vac

09/24/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made a in depth video review that you can check it out on YouTube.
(click to see the video)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Great, powerful, small cordless vac!

02/01/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was contemplating getting this vac or the Dyson handheld for $160 & I opted to give this a try for $50. I purchased this vac to keep up with the dog fur around our home & all the crumbs & little messes that happen as a result of having 3 kiddos. I am VERY pleased with this purchase! I love this little vac, it works great! I saw the reviews stating that it has a poor battery life, however that has not been my experience. It runs 15-20min on average. It states in the instruction manual that you may need to charge/discharge the vac a minimum of 5 times in order to achieve the best running time & you do need to charge it for at least 21hours before it's first use. I use it daily & it does not disappoint! Works great on pet fur, crumbs & has enough power to suck up change, screws, bolts etc. It has a reuseable/washable filter, attachments and a hose to get behind things easier. My 6 year old loves to use it as well, it's pretty lightweight! Overall I think this is an exceptional little vac!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Amazingly powerful handheld vacuum.

10/16/2009
By ,
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw an infommercial of this item a few weeks back and was intrigued. Imagine my delight when I walk into Walmart and see it at the lowest price yet!
It's important to note that you need to charge this item for at least a full 24 hours to get the maximum battery life.
This thing is a joy around the house! It's the best for reaching awkward crevices and angles. I love the 4 foot hose, it makes it 10 times more useful and versatile.
It really shines when you use it in the car, no more huge shop vacuums or weak suction handhelds. It has the power to do the job right the first time.
My few gripes are these:
The motorized brush attachment would've been a nice addition. Instead it's extra.
I also wish you had at least 4-5 minutes more per charge Vs. 7-8 minutes. And make sure you time your cleaning right because when it dies it needs at least 4-6 hours to get a decent charge.
I like it much better than the Dyson handhelds and at $65. its the cheapest on the internet or otherwise.
Thank you for low prices Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Love it

06/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little guy. We have two cats in our 1000 sq foot condo with all hardwood floors it’s perfect for us. They did a great job on the design and they’ve used quality components. Well worth the price at $60. Here are some of my thoughts:
- The hose was a great idea. Very comfortable to use (easier to swing a hose rather than the entire dustvac)
- The hose allows me to point the motor fan away from the dirt I’m trying to vacuum.
- The hose stores conveniently and easily around the vacuum
- The hose end has a convenient flip down brush that I use when cleaning my white baseboards (avoid marks)
- The transparent dirt windows let you see when it needs emptying
- Dirt compartment is easy to empty and the filter is easy to clean.
- It’s relatively quiet (just loud enough to scare the cats, haha)
- It’s powerful enough to pick up dirt and crumbs
- Battery hasn’t died on me while using it (15 minutes at a time)
- It’s compact and sits on the floor in the corner of my home office
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

4 years old and running strong!

02/20/2013
By ,
Palm Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the FHV1200 about 4 years ago. My long term "test" has been great with this little workhorse. I use it almost daily and i have had no issues.
I'm still using the original filter the vacuum came with. I would recommend changing it once a year... but seeing as i have had no issues i haven't bothered.
Things to consider:
1.) Battery time is about 10-12 minutes. Honestly if you need more time then it's usually a job for a larger vacuum. It's a hand vac so you will have more than enough battery time for typical quick cleanups.
2.) You do have to empty it out one or two cleanings. I would also recommend quickly snapping out the filter and tapping in your garbage can. That removes dust from the filter and keeps the vacuum suction at an optimal level.
3.) Completely drain the battery a couple of times a month for optimal battery performance over the long term. My vac is literally 4 years old and i still get that 10-12 minutes.
The quality of the vacuum is great and the attachments are just what is needed for quick jobs.
I can't say enough about this little hand vac.
I hope this helps you in your purchase decision on this vac.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200
10/14/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not own one of these neat little vacuums yet but my daughter does and I have used it many times when visiting with her. She has 2 small children and there is a need to clean up after they have had a meal or a snack and I really like this vacuum. She also has a dog and this vacuum picks up the dog hair like no other. It is so easy to use on stairs and just doing light cleaning in between regular cleaning. Haven't tried using it to clean my car, but I will as soon as I get mine.
I was surprised when I read the reviews of it not holding its charge very long. Maybe they should have returned it and got a replacement. There are always some products that have flaws. B& D will not know of this problem if people do not return the product to let them know there is a problem that needs looked into. No company wants there products not living up to the name that is on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Purchased for vehicle

09/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I initially purchased this vac for my car to avoid car wash vacuum twice weekly. I had a pistachio spill in my bedroom and had the dangest time getting all of the crumbs/shells up *lightbulb* I then remembered my cordless vac and quickly cleaned my situation. On the flip I would have to say the suction life is low. You really have to move quickly before the power drains...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

great , effective cordless vacuum

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum has a lot of power, is light and easy to carry and has wonderful attachments. It is even good at removing cat hair from my clothes, even while I am wearing them!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Excellent product.

09/04/2011
By ,
St Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not buy it at Walmart. I found it on Ebay for $15 cheaper plus free shipping and no tax :) . It was a two day special by B&D, and after these two days, the price went up about $5 higher than Walmart. Many of the users at Amazon.com (also higher than Walmart) were complaining, that the charge of the battery doesn't last longer than 10 minutes at best. Most of the vacuuming I am doing with this unit, are few minutes long, so I never encountered battery rundown while using it.
The unit is very powerful, and has as much suction as my full size upright Dyson. It is a perfect choice for small quick pickups. I mounted the unit on the kitchen wall for convenience, and I used it just about daily. My dog and long hair cat sheds constantly, and this unit handle the cleanup like a champ. :) I did buy an optional motorized cordless brush, that attaches to the end of the hose. Together they make for a very powerful vacuum cleaner. I paid for that attachment $12. on special. It is available at B&D website for $15. I have no idea why Walmart doesn't offer it.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Does everything I need it for.

12/01/2010
By ,
New York State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a portable vacuum and found this one in a Wal-Mart store. The weight and style of it caught my attention. I figured I would give it a try because of the brand name. I charged it for a full day and could not believe the the power of it. I needed it for small jobs and it worked fine. The weight and size of it made it very easy to use. The power has not died down on it yet, and I have already used it for 20 minutes once. All I have to do is plug it in after each use for a few hours, and it is ready for me the next time. You just have to be a little patient with it in the charging procedure. Of course, it is not made for large jobs, but for small jobs that you don't want to pull out the large vacuum with it's cord it is excellent.
Love it so much, I just bought another for my office.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Still Working great!

01/09/2014
By ,
Lincoln, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the Black and Decker Flex Vac at a Walmart store over a year ago. It's mainly used for cleaning up cat hair, tracked litter and dust bunnies, etc. along baseboards.
I've been pleasantly surprised at how well it's held up. Previous experience with rechargeable tools and appliances is that they don't have longevity.
This gets used 4-5 times a week. An overnight charge gives me plenty of time to complete the jobs I use it for. I always empty and recharge it afterward.
I love the pet-hair tool! Its rubber face and teeth do a good job gathering up loose and embedded hair from the cats beds. Works well on upholstered furniture too. I also use the tool for picking up tracked litter from my hardwood floors... because the rubber doesn't scratch them.
Pros: Compact, lightweight, easy to clean, washable filter, good suction, stores well (I like the hose wrap feature and attached tool caddy).
Cons: Hose sometimes has a mind of its own, because it's a little short and stiff (but maybe that's necessary for it to stay in place when wrapped?)
Wish: Wand attachment. It would make it easier when running the vacuum along baseboards - no more having to bend over.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Good, But Plan To Return

02/05/2010
By ,
Coastal, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although this vacuum is quite powerful, I was very disappointed in the limited battery life. From a full charge (24hrs to fully charge), you're dead within 10 minutes. Maybe my expectations are a little too high, but I found to be a major fault. Of course it is very lightweight, and is easily stored. But you would be better off with a similar corded vacuum for a much lesser price. For the occasional quick clean up, it's fine. But just not what I needed it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Its ok if you're only going to use for 5 minutes

05/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Charged the unit all day came home to vacuum my car, used it for 5 minutes and charge ran out. I read the reviews that some people had the same issue but I figured B&D probably updated the units. Wrong! the vacuum only holds charge for 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Thought it was Great! until....

01/07/2011
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Initially I thought it was great. It was so handy for cleaning up messes in my car. Although the battery life was horrible it did such a good job I just lived with it. Well it seemed the battery life kept getting shorter and shorter so I kept charging it more thinking maybe my husband had used it between chargings. Then I finally realize the problem was it will no longer hold a charge. When I turn it on it sounds like it's going to work and then it just gets weaker and weaker. Extremely disappointed! Not worth the money! We only used it occassionally too so there was no reason for the battery to go bad so fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

NICE...

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hand held vacuum is very strong, easy to handle, light... And the attachments easy to attach/detach and store... Don't know about charging time since I have used it about four times and haven't needed to plug it in yet...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200
11/15/2010
By ,
Victoria, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great if you have pets and kids! I use mine for household messes such as spilled dry goods or crackers crushed in the floor and quick detailing of the van.
It has the power of a canister sweeper without the lugging around of the thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

Short life on Battery

04/10/2014
By ,
houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
after you charge it for 21 hours the battery life is only about 15 minutes..
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Canister Hand Vac FHV1200

SUPER VAC!!!

11/09/2010
By ,
Horseheads, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I DON'T NORMALLY WRITE REVIEWS BUT THIS VAC DESERVES PRAISE!!!
I WAS CAUTIOUS ABOUT BUYING A RECHARGABLE VAC. THIS TURNS OUT TO HAVE SUPER POWER, PLENTY OF BATTERY LIFE AND THE PET HAIR ATTACHMENT IS THE BEST ADD ON I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!
WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next