Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Canopy Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Your favorite Canopy Shag is now branded under the nationally known manufacturer, Shaw Living! Plush and thick, the Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug's long-pile shag offers a soft texture that tickles and caresses underfoot. Its dense tufts create rich visual appeal, making any room feel warm and inviting. This living room runner is made up of tufted 100 percent Olefin that is tolerant to accidental spills that may occur in day to day life. This attractive olefin runner rug features a cut pile shag construction that resists shedding and has a non-skid backing for safety. It comes with a secondary rug backing, 'Classic-Bac' to increase strength and durability. This pretty plush runner is easy to clean and is available in different sizes to suit various living room sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation93%214 out of 229reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 125 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this rug, it was just what i neede to brighten up my great room. This rug was way bigger than what i expected, it dosent shed , its easy to vacum, the only down fall was the packaging , it had lint from other rugs on it, oronge and purple shag strings and it wasnt as ivory as i was expecting, but it is still beautiful ivve had it almost 2 months now and i have 4 kids and 2 dogs and it is holding up.I havent had to clean it at all just regular vacuming and it looks brand new!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.M
Posted 04/14/2013
hello there by chance do you know the size of the one you post a pic of ?it loks like the perfect size for myself
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Stop looking elsewhere and BUY this rug

01/28/2011
By ,
Valencia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rug is AWESOME for its price. It brightens up our living space and looks great against our dark leather sofas and wooden floors. I found similar rugs for twice the price at Target and Costco but this brand is just as nice for half the cost. It cleans well (I've had several spills which came right out) and vacuums well, too. You can't see the black lining at all. Many guests have complimented us on the look and feel of this rug. Even with two toddlers in the house, it still looks new and expensive. I originally got the smaller size, but for our living area, this 8x10 is a better fit. Great quality and look for the price. Best purchase I made for my new home.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus, IN
Posted 09/18/2011
This photo sold me on the rug. Where did you get the chair?
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

unexpected surprise

05/19/2010
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to purchase a shag rug at pottery barn. But with 4 dogs, I didn't want to spend $900.00. I found this rug and thought that for the price it was worth ordering. Especially after reading the reviews. I was floored when I received it. I love it so much that I bought another one for my dining room and bought 2 additionals to keep as spares. The color is really creamy and beautiful. It vacuums great. Yes, there is black under the shag (really can't figure that one out) but you don't see it unless you get on your knees and open it up. There wasn't even that nasty smell you get with new rugs. Just order this one. Take the chance. Seriously for your money it is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Owosso, MI
Will the 8x10 the Ivory Rug become available soon?
Posted 08/15/2011
I am wondering if they will become available again. The 8 x 10's are out of stock. After carefully searching and researching this rug and looking at all the great reviews, I decided I wanted two of them, but unfortunately when I went to order, that size was out of stock and doesn't give any indication if they will stock them again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

JUST BUY IT : )

05/12/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this rug! The rug is full and my backing was actually tan, not black like others had mentioned, perhaps they switched. Never the less, you cannot see the backing at all unless you separate the rug down to the backing itself. It’s a perfect Ivory color and its REALLY lightens up our room. I bought the 8X10 to go under our king size bed and it works perfectly! I also chose to go to overstock to get a flet carpet pad with a non slip rubber backing to go under the rug. (We have hard wood floors and I didn’t want them to get scratched!) I could not be happier with this rug! Great Price, Color and Quality!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Love this shag rug!

10/02/2009
By ,
philadelphia, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the rug delivered to the store for pickup and it's light enough that i could easily carry it out. The rug is gorgeous and super soft... it's exactly what i was looking for and a price that can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
i have a rather small living room
Posted 02/17/2012
what is the best size should i be getting maybe i should measure first the capitalize these i's lol love the reviews im sold
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Canopy Shag Rug--Shags to Riches

08/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have worn carpet and am delaying the replacement by buying a large rug for the family room. I wanted an "expensive" look on a Walmart budget. I believe I have done both with the purchase of this rug :)
The quality of the 8 X10 shag rug was much nicer than expected. The pile was dense and the backing can not be seen. Also, the color is exactly what I wanted: ivory, which is darker than "off white"; but, much lighter than beige. If you're wanting/expecting ivory, then you'll love this 8 X 10 rug!
However, the 5 X 7 shag rug sold as the exact same rug, just a smaller version, was not the same quality. The pile was not dense and the backing could be seen!
So, I'm am completely happy and satisfied with the 8 X 10; but the 5 X 7 was returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Perfect!

01/20/2011
By ,
Baldwinsville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this in the 60X96 (5"X8") size which was a great value at about $72.00. I wanted a nice comfy shag rug for our baby's nursery and this was perfect! Delivered very fast with no problems. Yes the backing is black but it does not show through at all. Very comfy on bare feet and vacuums very well! Definitely recommend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

DO IT!

01/26/2012
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok. Let me say what a particular consumer I am when it comes to home decor. Love the Pottery Barn / Home Decorators look. I think they are overpriced beyond belief, but I love the classic, traditional clean looks. I have never purchased anything along these lines from Walmart before.
I ordered the 5x8" rug in ivory, so I wouldnt get burned if it turned out tragic. SURPRISE!! It arrived quickly at the store, was well packaged, and well made. After the rug was vacuumed, it looked fabulous! Ordered the 8x10' shortly thereafter. Great too! They are a true ivory, and look great against my dark wood floors. Thanks Walmart! Way better price than anything close to that style & size rug from any store - locally or online! Pleasantly surprised.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

So disappointed!

01/25/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For some incomprehensible reason, the manufacturer put a black backing on this ivory shag rug. The shag is not dense, so when you separate the fibers, you see the black material. Would have been beautiful, otherwise. Hated to have to do it, but did take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Great Value for Money

08/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rug is GREAT value for money. I purchased the 8 X 12 in cream for $144 and the shipping to my door was only $12.00!! My only complaint was that it was not adequately wrapped. It was wrapped in heavy plastic, but not enough to protect it from the rigors of shipping. As a result there was large section of one corner and down the edge on one side that was dirty. I tried to clean it, but nothing worked. I ended up hiding that corner under a piece of furniture, but it means I won't be able to turn the rug in the future to hide wear/stains etc. It didn't seem worth the effort to return such a large rug.
Final note: a lot of customers complained about the black backing on a cream rug, but you don't see the black come through unless you are sitting on it and parting the fibers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Love it, love it, love it!

07/27/2012
By ,
Cabot, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the rug very quickly. Probably only 4 or 5 days. I was a bit concerned with what color "gold" would turn out to be, but after reading reviews, I went ahead and ordered. I would say the color is a very light beige with a bit of gold tone. It is almost a cream, but it has a bit of yellow in it. I am very satisfied with the color. My walls are a medium wheat gold color and the rug is several shades lighter. The shag is about an inch long. If you part the fibers, the dark back ground is apparent, but if a guest wants to get down on her hands and knees to part the carpet fibers........ Anyway, this rug is not a thick shag, but looks thick enough and under my dining room table it looks perfect. I shopped for a while and even bought another rug, which I didn't like, that was more expensive. I then tried Walmart and was very surprised to fine this rug. I am very happy with it. I would recommend it whole heartedly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Bang for your buck

02/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this rug, sight unseen, on walmart.com and got it delivered to the nearest store. I LOVE it. LOVE it. Goes so well with my mid-century living room. Deep pile, hides crumbs/dirt and makes the room warmer. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Canopy Shag Rugs - Fresh Ivory - Excellent Quality

02/12/2011
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to join those who have sung the praises of this product. I am rural resident and my many attempts to find this type of rug have been fruitless, as have my attempts to find a quality product online. This rug is an excellent value in comparison to every other rug I have purchased for this purpose in the past four years.
The rug comes smushed, flat and ugly. Fluff it up, sweep up the loose pieces, lay it down and love it. I got this in fresh ivory, and it coordinates with today's colors beautifully.
Last night I knocked a full Coca Cola off my nightstand right on to the rug. I didn't realize that it was full because I did not see the stain at all. But I could feel the damp, and knew I had to bite the bullet and wash it because we have three dogs and two cats who enjoy lying on these.
So at 2 AM into the washer it went, and this morning, we hung it to dry with a fan blowing on it in the basement. Hard to believe that the fibers fluffed up even more and it looks better today than it did before the run-with the brown sticky liquid, the rottweiler, the corgi and the minpin. ;)
Liked my bedside rugs so well, that I subsequently purchased a runner for my bath. Gorgeous!
This is a great product that tolerates grime and wear, looks great, resists stains and washes and dries like a dream. I would recommend this to absolutely anyone. I'm just sad that I was unable to find it earlier. Guess that's why I appreciate this all the more! :)
By the way, home shipping in this year's weather was very reasonably priced and more than worth it - as our nearest Wal-Mart for site > store option would have cost me that much in time and gasoline IF we could move around in the snow.
Good job Wal-Mart! (And I have not said that in a very long time.) I may become a believer again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Exceeded Expectations

10/17/2009
By ,
Puget Sound, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this carpet and a5X8 in the same color for our Master Bed. We laid medium grade padding down from Home Depot under it. It is luxurious! Soft to walk on, and really quieted a rather large room. Great for a bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

An average rug, fine for the price

07/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an average rug, really, so it's fine for the price. You really do get what you pay for with this--a passable, decent rug at a fairly cheap price. The rug is nice is that the shag is really long and soft, and when I had to cover a 16 x 10 space, I put two of the 8 x 10 rugs together and the shag covered over the seam where they came together and almost made it look like one big rug. Problems: 1) they did put a black backing on the ivory rug, which makes no sense, but you really don't notice it, 2) the yarn count is somewhat thin. More expensive rugs have a higher yarn count per square inch, which make the rug thicker and softer, but also double the price. So, overall, with this rug, it's a fair buy--you aren't getting a steal, but at the price, it's a good enough rug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Very pleased with it.

06/24/2010
By ,
Sugar Grove, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have 2 cats and 2 dogs and have gone thru area rugs very quickly. We have been spending less and less on them because they don't last very long.
I think this is a very attractive rug for the price. I saw similar on Target website and they were twice as much. Its soft and nice looking and if my pets destroy it I won't mind as much because it was so inexpensive. As for the people who talked about it having a black background I find it completely un-noticeable unless you get down on your knees and pull the shag apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Excellent RUG for a great price!

07/17/2012
By ,
Forney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I measured the area I needed for my living room and this 7x10 rug fit it perfectly. The only negative I read from other people is that the backing of the rug is black if you were to get down on your hands and knees and pull the fibers apart you could see it. Well, first off, who's going to do that and secondly, my floors are wood and it wouldn't make a difference. Just for the record though, you can't see the black backing in my rug. It's a perfect color that looks amazing with my living room. Just rake to fluff up or vacuum. My dogs missed having carpet to lay on in the living room when we put in our hardwood floors and now they are happy again, it's super soft.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

color is different than pictured

09/01/2011
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a nice rug, but the actual color is more of a cream (slight yellowi). It is not a true white or even an ivory.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
western ny
Mine was just like pic
Posted 02/14/2012
This rug is really nice, mine is true to color not slight yellow, it is ivory.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

Just Beautiful!!

06/21/2011
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was trying to decide between a plain shag rug and one with a design on it. I am SO happy that I made the decision to stay with the solid color. The shag is so soft. For the price, it was an excellent choice. I bought the 60x90.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shaw Living Shag Runner Rug (Formerly Canopy Shag Runner Rug)

the backing was crumbling

12/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i was so excited when i received the rug and laid it out . it looked great and felt great. then i starting noticing glue crystals everywhere . upon close inspection i realized the pieces were all coming from the backing, it was corroded. i had to sweep and vacuum to get the tiny pieces up, it was gross. i am returning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next