Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%10 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Sad; but informative

03/15/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a sad and poignant example of the exploitation of not only the Afro American race; but just the general public. I as an individual am very interested in our nation's hx --what the ones before us have suffered on our behalf. It just makes me that much grateful for the ones who came before to make our lives more comfortable. I am still so heartbroken for the way this incident affected several generations of the Lackses and is still a huge black stain on their legacy, lives, and well-being. This book will tug at the VERY conscious of anyone who takes the time to read it. I can not or will not forget Ms. Lacks and her family. I was so moved by it that I am planning to donate to the education fund established in the name of the Lackses younger descendants so that their Mother / Grandmother will not be forgotten and so that they can become all they have dreamed of and so much more. They will forever be in my prayers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
10/27/2010
By ,
Lake Saint Louis,MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fasinating book that I should wait until I have finished to read, but I'll review it for the half that I have read. It is extremely written weaving the information on clinical research with a family story making it a double edge sword and well written on both sides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Extraordinary human story

07/06/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our book club wanted to tackle this book, but we were waiting for the price to come down or for the paperback version. I finally found it at a good price on Walmart.com, so I bought it. I couldn't wait to read the story. The whole idea is extraordinary - that cells could duplicate so rapidly and survive to the extent that we are talking about billions and billions of cells. I just kept thinking what a giant that tiny woman is now. My heart goes out to Henrietta's family. It took a bit to wrap my head around all the science involved, but I don't think it is necessary to understand all of the science to get the importance of Mrs. Lacks. I think Henrietta belongs not only in every science book, but also in every history book.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

informative and entertaining

08/28/2010
By ,
Scottsburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already purchased this book at our local museum and literally could not put it down. It reads like a novel but it also is very informative about what has gone on in the medical research field and is still going on today. It touches on some issues that went on before equal rights too. I find a lot of people do not remember or know about these things but they did happen. I remember some of them. This book does not sugar coat any of these things. I bought my first copy on a Saturday and finished it by Tuesday. I bought two copies from Walmart to give as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Well written

11/17/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am still reading this book but find it easy to read, well written, flows well. Until this book I had never heard of Henrietta Lacks but am so grateful to her for her contribution to the world - great non-fiction book and the price was better at Walmart.com than anywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

immortal life of HELA

06/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome awesome...a must read for all healthcare workers and researchers. skloot did a great job with this one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Absolutely The Best Book of All Time!

10/19/2010
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not done reeading yet but LOVE this book!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Fascinating read

01/04/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5