Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Step2 Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

From hot dogs to green peppers and waffles to pears, the 101-Pieces Step2 Play Food Set helps children enjoy and explore the world of food. This play food toy set offers a wide assortment of meals and ingredient types so that kids can create their own menus while learning about nutrition. Little ones can role-play cooking and serving up delicious meals with the Step2 play food set. With 101 pieces that can be combined or used alone, this inclusive children's play food set complements any toy kitchen set to encourage fun and educational play. Including items like fruits, vegetables, meats, bread, pastries, ice cream, sandwiches and snacks, the Step2 children's play food set is the perfect addition to your playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(616 Reviews) 535
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
362
4 stars
176
3 stars
47
2 stars
20
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%562 out of 609reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
362
4 stars
176
3 stars
47
2 stars
20
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good Buy

12/18/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought with the Step2 shopping cart for daughters 2nd birthday. I researched many different food set products before deciding on this one. I trust Step2 toys for their quality and I am pleased with this set. I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fruit items are made of a thinner plastic and bend easily if stepped/chewed on. It is a large quantity of food items for the price and has a wide variety of foods which I also like. Many of the other sets I looked at were cheap and easily destroyed and I know this set (at least MOST of it) will last for years to come. Most importantly, my daughter loves it and it has really expanded her pretend play time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Came Packaged in the Worst Possible Way

12/20/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this from the Wish List registry of a friend's child. When I picked the toy up from the store, both the Walmart associate and I were appalled at the packaging. There was no box, no label, nothing to indicate what the toy was or what company made it.... There were just plastic pieces of food in two unmarked clear plastic bags. This is supposed to be a Christmas gift for a child! It looks as if I bought this on the side of the road. I paid $31 for this, including tax. Very disappointed, to say the least.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

nice set for the price

01/02/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This play food seems to be pretty durable so far. I think the food may vary in texture because I read in a previous review that the bacon and tortilla were made from a rubbery flexible material, but mine is made from a hard solid plastic and i'm afraid my son might crack them in half if he tries to bend them. He has the American plastics Cookin kitchen and some of the food doesn't fit in the pans that came with it, but those pans are VERY TINY. If you have a step2 kitchen the food should fit fine. Other than those minor problems it is a nice set for the price and my son loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Paid $5...wouldn't pay a penny more

01/26/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this set for $5 during a sale... I'm so glad I didn't pay a cent more, it isn't worth it. For $5 my son can have a good time destroying them for all I care. When I saw the regular price was $25 I was shocked and feel badly for anyone who paid anything close to that. These items may be usefull for having extra toys, putting in goody bags, or giving to your dog but when you have a turkey, orange, and chocolate chip cookie all the same size it doesn't make for much of a learning experience (see picture, I included a hershey kiss for size comparison). I am saving up for a good set by Melissa and Doug.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

I wish there weren't so many...

03/05/2013
By ,
miami, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are great little accessories, HOWEVER, the amount is just too much. I keep more than half in a box on top of his little kitchen. Otherwise it's a pain to clean up. My 2 yo son has a blast with them though, and it's something my 9 yo step daughter can join in playing with him. He likes pretending to eat the food and cook on his stove. Great purchase overall.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

daughter loves

01/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this set, purchased it with a kitchen. she plays with it for hours. Dont forget to buy a rubbermais container to put all the pieces in when done playing, though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Very cute, could be better.

09/08/2009
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recieved the play food as part of a bundle with the Step2 kitchen. It has several fruits and veggies included, as well as bread, pasta, pizza, pie, cookies, fries, etc. Some of the food is very good quality and looks very well made, but other items look like dollar store quality. For example, the cookies, when turned over, are hollow on the back and have a rough edge around the bottom. The fries come in a huge cluster (like they fit into a fry box for a fast food restaurant) but there is not even a plate Step2 makes that is big enough to hold them. Another thing is inconsistant sizing. You may have an onion the size of an apple, and an eggplant as skinny as a french fry. I wanted to use the play food to teach my daughter about different fruits and veggies, food groups, and grocery shopping, and I wanted something as realistic as possible. This wouldn't make me not buy this play food set, its just something to think about.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Really good quality

04/10/2014
By ,
Washinton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough this as a bundle with the kitchen set and its such good quality food and a really good variety as well. I am very pleased with it and so are my kids! You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good value

04/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comes with 101 pieces of food for a good price. Goes great with my daughters play kitchen. Has a good variety of foods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Great for the imagination!

04/02/2014
By ,
Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two year old twins love this! As they get older they will expand into grocery shopping and meals for Mom and Dad, as well as playmates.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Fun for small children

03/31/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting the items to be larger but my grandchildren were excited and had a lot of fun playing with the food items.
Arrived sooner than expected
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Great pretend food for play kitchen

03/15/2014
By ,
Burrillville, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a big selection of pretend food for the little ones, more "up to date" food.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

The kids love it!

03/12/2014
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If my preschoolers love it , then i love it. :-) They get a kick out it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good variety

03/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my sons and I also have a home daycare and this set is a huge hit. The pieces are sturdy and there is a good selection of food. The only negative would be the small size of a few of the items.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good set, but pricey

08/10/2009
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really nice set...looks real....kids love it. But I thought it was a little expensive. Plus, I wish they had more of a variety instead of 2 or 3 of each item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Lots of Food for your Money

11/06/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this set for my grand daughters 2nd birthday. I'm glad I opened the box and took a look. There are lots of doubles in this set, even some triples. Great for a classroom, but that's a lot of food for one kid. So we sorted them all out and put some away for later or my daughter has a gift for another child's birthday. There were still over 50 pieces to play with. I like that there are pieces to make a sandwich, sauce to put on the spaghetti. It has hot dogs but it also has veggies. The sizes of some of the food are odd, like you'd think why did they make the carrots one size and the waffles this size. But I don't think that takes away from the set especially for the price. It just comes in a shipping box in a plastic bag so I bought a plastic container to store the food when it's time for clean up. I understand my son-in-law has eaten a lot of plastic ice cream cones and pizza!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

great buy

09/18/2009
By ,
augusta,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my daughters 1 yr birthday and she loves it! it has a lot of pieces and nothing is too small for her not to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Happy customer

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Cute:)

02/03/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this with a play kitchen bundle i ordered. I would not think that this at $30 is a good value.. no. But included with the kitchen set i ordered, i am pleased with this set. Very sturdy, even for my boy. With the kitchen, yes this was great. The kitchen set was $84, without the food the kitchen set was around $70 or so... so it was a no brainer to order the one with the food which I needed to buy anyhow :)
I wouldn't recommend this at $30.. but with the kitchen, yes. Buy that one :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces
10/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a two year old-- easy to handle and identify types of food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 326 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next