Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Step2 Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

From hot dogs to green peppers and waffles to pears, the 101-Pieces Step2 Play Food Set helps children enjoy and explore the world of food. This play food toy set offers a wide assortment of meals and ingredient types so that kids can create their own menus while learning about nutrition. Little ones can role-play cooking and serving up delicious meals with the Step2 play food set. With 101 pieces that can be combined or used alone, this inclusive children's play food set complements any toy kitchen set to encourage fun and educational play. Including items like fruits, vegetables, meats, bread, pastries, ice cream, sandwiches and snacks, the Step2 children's play food set is the perfect addition to your playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.401 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(629 Reviews) 548
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
372
4 stars
179
3 stars
47
2 stars
20
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%574 out of 621reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
372
4 stars
179
3 stars
47
2 stars
20
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good Buy

12/18/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought with the Step2 shopping cart for daughters 2nd birthday. I researched many different food set products before deciding on this one. I trust Step2 toys for their quality and I am pleased with this set. I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fruit items are made of a thinner plastic and bend easily if stepped/chewed on. It is a large quantity of food items for the price and has a wide variety of foods which I also like. Many of the other sets I looked at were cheap and easily destroyed and I know this set (at least MOST of it) will last for years to come. Most importantly, my daughter loves it and it has really expanded her pretend play time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Paid $5...wouldn't pay a penny more

01/26/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this set for $5 during a sale... I'm so glad I didn't pay a cent more, it isn't worth it. For $5 my son can have a good time destroying them for all I care. When I saw the regular price was $25 I was shocked and feel badly for anyone who paid anything close to that. These items may be usefull for having extra toys, putting in goody bags, or giving to your dog but when you have a turkey, orange, and chocolate chip cookie all the same size it doesn't make for much of a learning experience (see picture, I included a hershey kiss for size comparison). I am saving up for a good set by Melissa and Doug.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

nice set for the price

01/02/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This play food seems to be pretty durable so far. I think the food may vary in texture because I read in a previous review that the bacon and tortilla were made from a rubbery flexible material, but mine is made from a hard solid plastic and i'm afraid my son might crack them in half if he tries to bend them. He has the American plastics Cookin kitchen and some of the food doesn't fit in the pans that came with it, but those pans are VERY TINY. If you have a step2 kitchen the food should fit fine. Other than those minor problems it is a nice set for the price and my son loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Came Packaged in the Worst Possible Way

12/20/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this from the Wish List registry of a friend's child. When I picked the toy up from the store, both the Walmart associate and I were appalled at the packaging. There was no box, no label, nothing to indicate what the toy was or what company made it.... There were just plastic pieces of food in two unmarked clear plastic bags. This is supposed to be a Christmas gift for a child! It looks as if I bought this on the side of the road. I paid $31 for this, including tax. Very disappointed, to say the least.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

I wish there weren't so many...

03/05/2013
By ,
miami, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are great little accessories, HOWEVER, the amount is just too much. I keep more than half in a box on top of his little kitchen. Otherwise it's a pain to clean up. My 2 yo son has a blast with them though, and it's something my 9 yo step daughter can join in playing with him. He likes pretending to eat the food and cook on his stove. Great purchase overall.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

daughter loves

01/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this set, purchased it with a kitchen. she plays with it for hours. Dont forget to buy a rubbermais container to put all the pieces in when done playing, though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Very cute, could be better.

09/08/2009
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recieved the play food as part of a bundle with the Step2 kitchen. It has several fruits and veggies included, as well as bread, pasta, pizza, pie, cookies, fries, etc. Some of the food is very good quality and looks very well made, but other items look like dollar store quality. For example, the cookies, when turned over, are hollow on the back and have a rough edge around the bottom. The fries come in a huge cluster (like they fit into a fry box for a fast food restaurant) but there is not even a plate Step2 makes that is big enough to hold them. Another thing is inconsistant sizing. You may have an onion the size of an apple, and an eggplant as skinny as a french fry. I wanted to use the play food to teach my daughter about different fruits and veggies, food groups, and grocery shopping, and I wanted something as realistic as possible. This wouldn't make me not buy this play food set, its just something to think about.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Good set, but pricey

08/10/2009
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really nice set...looks real....kids love it. But I thought it was a little expensive. Plus, I wish they had more of a variety instead of 2 or 3 of each item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

great buy

09/18/2009
By ,
augusta,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my daughters 1 yr birthday and she loves it! it has a lot of pieces and nothing is too small for her not to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces
10/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a two year old-- easy to handle and identify types of food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Lots and Lots

11/01/2009
By ,
Manteca, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want food for the kitchen, buy this. Be sure to get a tub or two to put it in. You'll have more than you know what to do with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Perfect for our child's kitchen

01/08/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will say that the toy foods are very cute and perfect for our three year old's toy kitchen.
The reason I marked the value at only 2 stars is because this was purchased as a gift by my 8 year old FOR my 3 year old. Our 8 year old picked this out and paid for it with her own hard earned allowance and it cost $19.99 online a week and a half before Christmas. The package it came in was just a plain cardboard box with all the toys stuffed inside. Which was ok, BUT just a couple of days AFTER Christmas, I saw the exact same food collection in-store for only $5 and the packaging was very nice and looked much more appealing. Perhaps our local walmart had an extreme overstock on this particular item, but I hated to see my daughter spend so much money on something that would be drastically reduced just a matter of days later.
With all of that being said, they are colorful and fun, and perfect for any young one to play pretend cooking with.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Cheap cheap cheap

11/08/2011
By ,
Maryland's Eastern Shore
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is very overpriced, in my opinion. The whole thing probably cost $2 to make. The foods are unrealistic, many of them have so little detail that I'm not sure what they're supposed to be, and they are not sized to scale. I wanted to teach my son about different foods but this play food set is not a good learning tool. Also, I may be one of few parents who care, but there are too many junk foods in this set: potato chips, cookies, ice cream, chocolate bar, and french fries. My son likes his kitchen but he has barely touched the play food. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Cheap and Served the Purpose

02/18/2011
By ,
Fairfax, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought it was a "real bargain" but it turns out to be a "regular" bargain. It's a little too "cheap-looking" than I would like, but it served the purpose of having a LOT of play foods. My daughter is very happy anyway. No regret of the purchase. Just wished they looked a bit better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Lots of Food for your Money

11/06/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this set for my grand daughters 2nd birthday. I'm glad I opened the box and took a look. There are lots of doubles in this set, even some triples. Great for a classroom, but that's a lot of food for one kid. So we sorted them all out and put some away for later or my daughter has a gift for another child's birthday. There were still over 50 pieces to play with. I like that there are pieces to make a sandwich, sauce to put on the spaghetti. It has hot dogs but it also has veggies. The sizes of some of the food are odd, like you'd think why did they make the carrots one size and the waffles this size. But I don't think that takes away from the set especially for the price. It just comes in a shipping box in a plastic bag so I bought a plastic container to store the food when it's time for clean up. I understand my son-in-law has eaten a lot of plastic ice cream cones and pizza!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Not as Good as I Hoped

09/23/2009
By ,
Frisco TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This food toy is admittedly better than many out there, but it is still lacking. Not too sturdy, I don't feel like it will stand the test of time. I am comparing it to Fisher Price Mini Meals, and it just doesn't measure up. I would buy the 3 Mini Meals instead of this. We were disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Not proportional size

12/20/2009
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You do get a lot of food pieces for the price, however the food pieces are not proportional to one another - for example the butter slab is bigger than the toast slice etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Excellent Selection

05/29/2014
By ,
Waldorf, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't have a play kitchen without play food. Great variety!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

Far From Great, But the Best I Could Find

12/10/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After much research, I bought this for my 2-year-old granddaughter, to go with a Step2 Kitchen she's getting for Christmas. I gave it 4 stars (instead of less) only because the durability and variety of foods in this set is superior to other plastic food sets I've found. However, some of the fruit, the raviolis, chickens 'n chicken leg, and the icecream cone tops, etc. are a softer plastic. So those pieces will probably be ruined in no time! The other drawback to this set is that many of the items, including most of the vegetables, the (tiny) bananas, and the french fries are stuck together. That will be fine for the shopping cart and cooking, but impossible for pretend serving and eating. What a shame when preschoolers particularly love bananas and french fries....and need to learn to eat their vegetables! I'm sure she'll have lots of fun with about 1/2 of the items, particularly some of the fruit, the fried eggs, bacon strips, crackers, potato chips, cheese slices, 2 spaghettis with pretend sauces, tacos, burritos, hamburger 'n hot dogs, pizza, cookies and sliced bread. But Step2 could have used way more imagination for most of the rest.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Play Food Set, 101 Pieces

So not worth the price!!

12/09/2011
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't listen to other reviewers that tell you this is well made and of good quality. IT IS NOT!! We have 3 kiddo's under age 5 that love to play with our pretend kitchen. A lot of the food makes it outside to the playhouse so much of it gets lost or broken over time. I had purchased a really nice set from Walmart a few years ago that was made of very hard plastic and was downright impossible to even attempt to break. I was hoping after reading the reviews that this would be a similar product, It doesn't even come close. Much of the food is just cheap plastic and can be easily crushed by a child stepping or sitting on it or in the palm of your hand. Do not waste your money on this set if you are expecting it to last, it won't. Keep looking!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 328 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next