Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

RCA RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Not only does the RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo feature a digital AM/FM tuner and a 5-CD changer, it also boasts an iPod dock. You can easily charge your iPod while listening to your iPod library without the need for additional cables. Plus, the RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo is compatible with multiple CD and DVD formats.
Average Customer Rating:
3.517 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation62%18 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Lousy product

02/09/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This seemed like a good product at first, reasonably priced, good looking, compact. But then after only using it for a few weeks, the CD drawer failed to open and wouldn't play anything. So I contacted the company and was sent instructions on how to possibly reset the system. No dice. Then I was sent instructions on how to return the unit for repair. I placed a note in the box with a copy of all the correspondence from RCA and asked for them to please return my CDs that were locked in the drawer due to the unit failure. It doesn't seem that difficult to me. You fix the unit, get the drawer open and take the CDs out and put them in the shipping box with the unit. But I was wrong. So in the end, it cost another $23 dollars to ship the unit to be repaired and and additional $40 to replace the CDs they couldn't manage to get back in the box. Save yourself hassle and money and buy another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
From RCA Audio Video09/29/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.RCAAV
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

RCA...sorry product!!!

07/31/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i own this one and have nothing but trouble with it..disc changer noisy,cheaply made.Owned an RCA previously and it tore up in 6 mths and have had nothing but trouble in dealing with RCA to honor THEIR warranty.Do not buy anything audio from RCA,as they have been bought and resold, and unless you have a week one day to go on a journey, just to find out who is responsible for what product,It's not worth it.RCA IS NOT RCA anymore.CHEAP audio product line.UNPROFESSIONAL customer and techinical support if you have problems.DON'T BUY THIS ONE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video09/29/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.RCAAV
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

RCA 300W - excellent value

08/01/2009
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the rapidly changing world of electronics; and increasing inovation - it is difficult to actually KNOW that something is an 'excellent value'.
So - I do not KNOW that. Having just recently purchased this item - I of course - believe that this was a wise purchase decision. (I'd be taking it back - if I thought otherwise.)
We purchased this item twice. The first one - brand new - did not work straight out of the box. I have over 3 years experience in electronics repair - and this unit had some sort of difficulty in its audio amplification circuitry. No sound output whatsoever.
We promptly took it back to the store - and exchanged/purchased same identical item. This one works flawlessly. The world is not perfect - and even the best manufacturing can experience problems...
This Audio Player has a 5CD changer - which works fine. Multiple shuffle capability;/ tracks, cd's; etc.
Various Equalization circuits, (jazz, pop, classic, user defined, rock, flat, etc.) BASS boost...
Large, clear, easily seen display. Fairly intuitive controls - haven't really read the instructions - but not confused on how to operate the unit.
There can be a high speed whine associated with it - but this is not a defect. It is the cd laser moving out of the way of the CD - when the unit is changing disks, or skipping tracks... If they had the laser move SLOW - then you wouldn't hear anything like this - but since they have the laser move FAST for virtually no delay between disks when shuffling between tracks or changing disks - then a high speed whine is momentarily heard.
If you have the unit just play a cd - with no shuffling between tracks - than no high speed whine is heard - since the laser is not quickly moving to a different position, or moving out of the way of the next cd disk which you programmed the unit to play...
The Unit also plays a wide variety of Ipod devices; the ipod's can be controlled by the Remote Control; and the ipod is charged by the unit.
The Remote control is a very nice size - not HUGE - but not extremely small either. For someone who needs reading glasses - I don't need a magnifying glass to see the buttons... The remote uses two AAA batteries - which are NOT included... However - the majority of all functions are also included on the front of the basic unit. The only functions which require the Remote is: MUTE; SELECT (confirming Ipod menu lists); and INTRO (playing the first 10 seconds of each cd track).
It comes with a full 1 year warranty (including parts and labor). Unlike lots of other electronic items these days and lots of stuff from Sony... ((Like the Sony MHC-EC55) - which effectively only has a 90 day warranty - since after 90 days - you get to pay the LABOR charges to fix any problems...) Said Sony also only has a 3 cd changer - and no ipod capability (except for the aux input.)
I have burned thru two Bosch Powerbox PB10-CD's; playing cd's; and although nicely constructed - they don't hold up - and are extremely expensive. This being cheaper, and having ipod capability - moved me to purchase it. Although it does not run on batteries...
But I am concerned about the warranty, and the unit's longevity. But 1 year is definitely better than 90 days. The various extended warranties seem to be mostly junk - I seriously considered purchasing one - but after looking thru Wallmart's website; and finally finding the legal fine print of the extended warranty - decided that it was a waste. Since the total obligation of any of these warranties - is the purchase price of the product; and or replacement. If they replace the product, or cut you a check for the amount you paid for it - they have no further obligation. So - if you purchase a "3 year service plan" - and then a month after a year - the Sony or this RCA go out - all they have to do is to cut you a check or replace the product - and you have no more 'warranty'. Plus - per the legal fine print - since these two items both cost less than $147 - you can not actually purchase a 'service' plan - you are purchasing a 'replacement' plan (irregardless of plan title) - under which their only obligation is to replace the item, cut you a check, or give you a shopping card... - and this is for ONE time. Then no 'warranty'....
So - even though I am concerned that it might break in 2.5 years or less, etc. - the extended 'warranty' really doesn't seem worth it. Hopefully it will last quite some time. It does come with the full 1 year warranty.
Sound is excellent, 3.5mm input jack; plus rca input jacks; headphone output jack (mutes speakers); easily understood controls... 300 watts - this is a good value.
Online - the warranty title (by Walmart) states this has a 2 year warranty. The online details state 1 year. So does the actual paperwork. This has a 1 year - not 2 year which is a typo mistake by Walmart. And the Walmart description states this plays dvd's & dvd-r's etc. Another mistake. This plays CD's and various burned cd's. And it plays ipods. It does not play dvd's)
I would recommend this player. Hope I would do so 5 years from now... The reason I gave it only 3 stars on 'meets expectations ' is because the first one we purchased - did not work. But this was easily rectified.
Hope this helps. Have a good day, and get blessed - read the wonderful book of Revelation... bye!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
Great Review! Thank you for being a RCA user.RCAAV
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

AWSOME!!!!

01/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a very nice piece of equitment. i love it. fills my whole house with sound! great bass and is veryy loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!RCAAV
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Faulty Unit ?

07/19/2009
By ,
Port St. Lucie, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We really liked this unit, except the CD player makes a very annoying high pitched ringing sound and then a sort of squeaking/chirping sound which gets on your last nerve unless you have the volume up high to drown it out. We use this in our bedroom with the sleep CD's on volume level 8-9 and the ringing and chirping actually kept us awake...sort of like torture at times. Returned and looking for a quieter player without the squeaks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video09/29/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.RCAAV
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Disappointed

12/07/2009
By ,
East Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had 3 RCA stereos in the past 10 years or so. The First one lasted almost 7 years. I Loved that thing. But After daily use for so many years, it died. A couple years ago, I got my second RCA stereo thinking it would be an updated version of the one I loved. I was wrong. It was horrible. So I went and got another one a few weeks ago. More expensive, seemingly better quality. After all, the second one may have been a fluke. Wrong again. It seems RCA quality has taken a nose dive. This one, RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock , had good sound when I first used it to listen just to the radio. But when used for cds, which is what I do most, it makes a horrible chirping whine. And it's got a pretty bad delay between when you push the button to open the tray and when it actually opens. And sometimes it actually just refuses to open and you have to unplug it and wait for it to get "unstuck". I don't have an IPod so I can't say how it works with one of those. I'm really disappointed and I think this is my last RCA cd player. Once upon a time they had great stereos. Seems those days are over.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock
11/30/2009
By ,
norfolk,va
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
have purchase three of these in the last year,all three cd players were nonfunctional.the price was right and i bought one of them from another store, same product but different store.I would not reccommend this product if you enjoy cds.the radio works great,but the cd player does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video09/29/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.RCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Love it!!! Worth the money

02/03/2010
By ,
Farmingdale, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hard to find a stereo system this small that holds more than 3 discs. Love how compact this stereo is and the fact that I can hook my I Pod up to it and play my music. Worth the money. You won't be disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Disappointed the first time around

12/19/2009
By ,
Allentown, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased the Site to Store item noted because it was $35 less expensive than the shelf price at the store. After only one test use, the stereo seemed to short itself out. We could no longer turn it on, change stations, open the cd changer, there was no LCD display, it would not play music from my iPhone, nothing...the unit ceased to work. All we got was a buzzing sound when we touched the power button. We had to return it to the store and exchange it for a new one. We've tested this one but have not had the chance to use it for any length of time yet, so we'll see how it goes. If this one has any problems, I'll be returning it for a full refund and will purchase a stereo at a different store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Very Poor Quality

12/31/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item has nice features. However our experience with it is very poor. When docking an iPod the unit would freeze up requiring it to be unplugged and 'rebooted'. After using it for 5 days the CD player wouldn't read CDs. The same CDs that worked previously wouldn't work at all (they weren't dirty or scratched). I just boxed it up and will be returning it for a refund or a different brand.
We didn't have good luck with the last RCA device of this type (durability) and this one will certainly be the last one we buy. Additionally, with this device their on-line help was slow and unhelpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Excellent Stereo

08/14/2009
By ,
Wester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, looks good, great sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Sounds Great

12/15/2009
By ,
Salina, Ks.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stereo rocks! It takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'. I have used it at the job site (construction) and it sounds fantastic. It gets abused and always works and sounds great. Nice bass response too. Cold weather, hot and humid weather, it doesn't matter. Inside or outside this stereo performs flawlessly. We used the iPod dock on it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Good deal

01/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product exactly as advertised.
Delivery to store was very fast, 3 days.
Setup was very, very easy, just connect 4 color coded speaker wires and plug in.
Sound quality surprisingly good for fairly inexpensive system. It plays my CDs at very good level (300 watts) and the remote is simple to use.
Thanks Walmart..!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

DISAPPOINTED!!

12/18/2009
By ,
STOCKTON CALIFORNIA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This stereo had very high quality sound. Looked as great as it sounded. Only thing was that after 5 or 10 minutes the cd player would stop or begin to skip. the cd sounded like it was dragging.To be fair though I must say that I did return it and did not try the same brand. Could have just been a reject.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Great Stereo

09/21/2009
By ,
Bloomfield, MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found this stereo to be a great buy for the money. I have used it daily since receiving it and have not had the issues a few others have had. It is not noisy when it changes discs, no squawking, squeaking, etc. Smooth transition from one disc to another. GREAT sound! Highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Okay to a point

03/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was easy to hook up... but if you "burn" your own CD's, this may not be the stereo for you. Playing CD's I burned, it stopped, skipped and completely stalled... semi-randomly.
When I shop for a replacement, I will carry one of my "burned" CD's with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

RCA 300 watt stereo

10/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this system for use with my ipod and the sound quality is amazing!! Never had any problems with it yet. If ur looking for a cheaper system with great sound than this is tha one for you.
I highly reconmemd this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Great Product!

12/06/2009
By ,
Healdsburg, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this unit after returning an iSymphony. I would highly recommend this unit. Great sound, easy to set up, easy to use. The remote control unit is easy to understand. Overall a fabulous unit for the low price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

Not good!

12/26/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointment on this stereo because I took it out of the box new and it did not even turned on! I will never buy an RCA product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 300-Watt Compact Stereo with iPod Dock

good value for price

01/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a good value for the price. sounds good.only downside that i had is not being able to connect extra speakers to it. but overall a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next