Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitney Design Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Whitney Design Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Drying clothes is now made a breeze with the Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer. This piece provides a suitable way to take environmentally conscious line drying to the next level. With a drying space of up to 210', it lets you dry a large amount of clothing at once. Featuring a flat pivoting top design, it makes hanging your laundry very convenient, as every inch of line is evenly within reach. The rust-resistant galvanized two-piece steel center provides added stability and holds up to any weather condition. The high impact plastic post cap and slide resist wear, keeping your line nice and functioning over time. As this steel arms clothes outdoor dryer comes pre-strung, you can easily pop it up, set it up, load it up and hang it out to dry, quickly. It effortlessly folds flat for compact storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%64 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Amazing...with ground sleeve

07/19/2013
By ,
Washington Court House, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not know when I ordered this clothesline that it came with a ground sleeve. This really saves you, because you are able to remove the whole clothesline for winter or rain. Great product, every easy to install. Also comes with directions for the ground sleeve, we used quick create to set the ground sleeve in and you need some small rocks for drainage. Love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Great line dryer

06/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dryer is a snap to install. It can be taken down and stored easily by one person. It holds a LOT of laundry. It spins when the wind catches it, and this gets all of the laundry in the breeze, instead of just one side.
I have two complaints about the dryer though. The first is that there is no mechanism for tightening the cord, which is rubber and stretchers out. You have to do it by hand, which is nearly impossible for one person to do. I am looking at buying one and attaching it myself.
The other is that it doesn't come with a cover. I don't want water getting into the joints where the arms are attached and causing rust, so I take it down and store it in the shed if rain is forecast. I have ordered a cover from Amazon however, and will be using that when it arrives.
A word of caution: If you are taking it down and putting it back up, be sure to tie the lines on each side together after you fold it down, but before you remove the top portion from the bottom. Otherwise, the lines will become tangled and you will have to deal with that before reinstalling it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert06/10/2015
Hi Trudy, Thanks for the great tip about keeping your lines untangled! Tangled lines is a hazard of collapsible umbrella dryers, and tying the lines together is a wonderful suggestion. I am sorry that your disappointed that there is no mechanism for tightening the lines built-in to the dryer. You can tighten them by hand, but as you say, it's a process.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Very Happy :)

07/08/2013
By ,
Elkton, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am very happy with my purchase. This clothesline is so much better than the previous one I had which was the inverted umbrella style (very difficult for me to open/close). This one is extremely easy to open and close for set-up, and I don't need any assistance from my husband, at all. I used it for the first time last week and placed 5 full, heavier loads of laundry on it and still had room for more. I wouldn't say that this is a problem, but my husband suggested that we hang a few loads of laundry on the lines before tightening them later. I chose the store to site shipping and it arrived exactly when they said it would. When I opened the package, I was happy to see that no assembly was required. I did wipe the pole and lines down before hanging my clothes because after I set it up, my hands were filthy (apparently a downfall of new galvanized metal).
Nonetheless, this clothesline is very durable and of excellent quality. Definately worth the money paid. I truly believe it will last much longer than the previous one of 8 years.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

30 line Parallel Dryer - Steel

06/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this revolving clothesline to use in my backyard in Dearborn, MI. I installed it via an alternative method another buyer tried - I pounded a PVC pipe twice the length of the insert piece into the ground, then popped the insert piece into it.. It took a couple of hours but is very secure, although I have a little more wiggle in it than I would have if I'd used a concrete base. However, it is sturdy and has survived a lot of rain and my kids grabbing and playing around it. I did have to tighten the lines about 4 times, but that isn't a big deal. I haven't had to tighten them since, and they are very sturdy. It has been wonderful being able to dry my clothes outside and get that fresh feeling to my sheets and clothing. I was worried about the humidity but it hasn't been an issue. I do tend to keep an eye on the weather forecast and plan my laundry days around the weather. I'm happy that it is removable so that when winter arrives, I can fold it up and store it in the garage while capping off the insert. I would definitely recommend this to my friends, but they're all married to their dryers and don't know what they're missing. ;-)
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert06/16/2015
Hi UmHaider, Thanks for sharing! It’s great to hear from people who are really using their dryers well and through all seasons.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Study line dryer

07/20/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is pretty much the same as the one I previously had, only it has a bit more linear footage. I can only hope it also lasts as long. (Previous dryer lasted me around 20 years, it barely went out of commission more than a month ago.)
My family uses the line dryer a lot- we hardly use the electrical dryer anymore- throughout the year, so I needed to quickly replace my old dryer. So far the dryer has been a good buy. I dry everything on it including bed comforters. It's sturdy and the lines no longer need to be tightened (during the first uses I had to retighten lines because they became a bit loose, not a big deal since it's not hard to do).
As of now, a month into using this line dryer, I am completely satisfied with purchase. I am so glad I checked Walmart.com and that they had this type of dryer, cause all I was finding at our nearby stores were the umbrella-style line dryer, which I do not like.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Excellent Savings Tool

06/30/2011
By ,
Rainbow, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched before I bought(reviews are very helpful too)!!! I have been EXTREMELY pleased with this product! It is durable,rotates,fits into the middle of my patio table, holds up to three loads of laundry, and is saving me money by not using my dryer. It also helps me burn a few calories at the same time! Saving money,energy & burning calories all in one!!! A great reasonable purchase!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Just what I wanted!

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have an umbrella line and this is so much better, plenty of room without laundry over lapping and it's sturdy...Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert06/22/2015
Hi Shelly, That's great to hear! I'm glad our parallel umbrella dryer is just what you wanted. Thanks for the review!
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

efficient!

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert06/01/2015
Wonderful! Thanks for the review!
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

homemaker

05/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would not work for a large amount of wash.
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert05/29/2015
Hi Sunshine,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It does have 210 feet of clothesline, which holds quite a bit. But it may not be able to hold everything.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

WONDERFUL TOOL TO HELP SAVE MONEY

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this because we were tired of typical drying racks only lasting a year before they just broke. This one is great. It seems like it will last for a long time. I love the way it turns which makes it easier to get items off of it plus when the wind blows it helps to dry the clothes since it moves.
We didn't put it in the ground. That process seemed like BIG HEADACHES....so we decided to put it in our umbrella hole in our round patio table. It stands very well and seems quite stable. The wind has blown and no issues. The only thing I wish this item had was an height adjustment. We had to ask a neighbor to cut the steel pole with his hacksaw. It worked and was not a big deal but it would be nice to have the ability to adjust the height.
We would also love to see an easier way of adjusting the string/wires that you hang the clothes on. Pulling and pushing it through holes is not fun.
But.....it is made VERY well and we hope to get MANY years out of it. PLUS the money we are going to save on not using our dryer as often will be awesome. This will hold approx. 3 loads so that is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Nice product, worth the money. Easy.

10/26/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product. Well made. Just be prepared to dig a hold 12 inches wide and 22 inches deep.
I used 100 pounds of cement (two bags). But, I'm pleased. It's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

sturdy outdoor clothes dryer

07/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product. It is stronger than the aluminium ones. I save $$$ by not using my electric
dryer. My clothes smell fresh. This umbrella dryer holds 4 loads. It is well worth the extra money.
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

This is a sturdy, large clothesline.

04/01/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it very much. would recommend. I can hang a lot of laundry out and have used it for heavy quilts. Seems just perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

compact way to hang clothes

02/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that it can fold up and be removed if you need the yard space for outdoor activities. Just know you will have to tighten the lines before you hang clothes. They are there but strung very loosley
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms
08/04/2013
By ,
Anderson, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what I was looking for. This clothes line can easily hold two to three loads of laundry, so I could have gone with something a little smaller. But hey, jeans take longer to dry anyway so I can leave them up and still have room for another load. We mounted ours in an old truck tire so as not to make it a permanent fixture in our rental... I do NOT recommend this because it's very heavy, but an old car tire would work very well and allow you to move it around the yard (you might have to cut a bit off if you do that). I take my laundry down when it's just a little damp and throw it in the dryer for 10 or so minutes for a "fluff" and to remove lint... no stiff jeans or sandpaper towels!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Excellent way to save money

06/29/2014
By ,
Benson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned clothesline for 3 years and recently replaced it with the exact same one. The first one was damaged in a storm, but held on for 2 more years. We save a lot of money on our electric bill, not using the dryer during summer months. Since we live in the south our A/C runs from May through September. This clothesline holds 3 wash loads with ease! LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

new clothesline

03/29/2014
By ,
Beaufort, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced an aluminum umbrella dryer that I had for 9 yrs. It was okay but uneven lines and not very sturdy. I did get my money's worth. But this is so much better. Don't have to use outside lines for sheets. Only used it once so far. Fit the previous hole (cemented in) perfectly. Really love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Does its job

08/07/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted a clothesline for a while. I decided to get this based upon other reviews and it had steel arms. The instructions indicate you need to dig a hole, fill w/ concrete and insert the plastic pole holder that comes with the unit. Instead I pounded a 14" 2"x2" metal sign post flush into the ground. It works fine. We live on the prairie of ND and it gets WINDY! This unit is up to the task and we are very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Laundry

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value , parallel is the way to go if you hang queen or king sheets.
Recommends this product? Yes
From HE_ProductExpert02/27/2015
Hi LadyBugs1,

Thanks for the review! I'm glad our parallel dryer is working for your sheets.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Household Essentials 30-Line Parallel Dryer, Steel Arms

Average line

05/21/2013
By ,
Blackfoot,Id
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an average line. You get what you pay for. The pole fell while getting it in the ground and it bent. We will see how long this lasts since we had to unbend the metal.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next