Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Place this Mainstays White Bookcase in virtually any room of the home to provide ample storage of books and other office supplies. You can also use it to display your favorite pictures or knick-knacks. This Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase features two fixed shelves and three adjustable shelves. In addition, this Mainstays Bookcase's white finish can match virtually any home decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
45
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation78%120 out of 154reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
45
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Unstable

12/05/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive bought Mainstay shelving & cabinet systems but they were of the shorter varieties. Because Ive been happy with alithose shelves, I figured Id get the same "quality" with a bookshelf.
I dont trust this shelf so Im going to rig it with several brackets so it doesnt fall apart on me BUT even with that, the particle board is apt to break. I JUST put the shelf together & one of the top screws cracked the whole particle board apart, making it to where I DO have to put a bracket on the top shelf just so it doesnt fall apart. I'd return the shelf but Ive already put it together.
The adjustable shelves slide & out easily & the whole 2-tiered stackable shelf idea they use, just doesnt provide stabilty.
Im sticking with Ikea bookshelves from now on. The sides of the shelves are one board, making the shelving system more stable. Ive had 'good luck' with the smaller cabinets but I wont be buying a 5-shelf Mainstay system again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

More than just a bookcase !

06/01/2010
By ,
Canal Winchester, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, speaking about being creative, this isnt just a bookcase to us at all ! Actually, spending our weekend at the garage with 2 Mainstays bookcases, Mainstays drawer set, Mainstays door kit set, some wall border, This is what we made !
Kids have room for every acessory ! They dnt have such a big room and this piece of slim furniture have really made it ! Certainly unprofessional, chipped some wood, but our 9 and 10 yr olds are amazed and we all grateful to WM! Sturdiness, YES !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Easy to Assemble!

01/22/2010
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bookcase so much that I bought 7 of them! I put 3 in my bedroom, screwed them together and then added crown molding and trim, so it looks really nice. The other ones are down in the basement. They hold my pez collection. I added clear vinyl down the front and screwed the vinyl on, so that my pez don't get dusty. Easy to assmble, after the first one, it only took 40 min. each.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Couldn't be more pleased!

02/03/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this bookcase for our 9-year-old daughter's bedroom...the price is unbeatable, the amount of storage space is excellent, it looks great in her room and gave us exactly what we needed.
Other than having my husband pick it up at the store (site-to-store is a GREAT option!!) and bringing the box into the house (it is heavy!!) I put the whole thing together myself, taking my time and working carefully, it took about 2 hours, including attaching it to the wall with the included strap (a great idea!).
Lay out all the parts in advance, note the letters on the shelves, read through the simple directions (all visual) and TAKE YOUR TIME...this will help the assembly go smoothly and you will be thrilled with the end result. It is plenty sturdy for our needs (our daughter isn't the type to hang or climb on it!!). If you plan on moving it around a lot, be prepared for it to lose some stability.
It builds in 2 sections: the top half is separate from the bottom half, though, at the end, they attach to each other quite solidly; I didn't find it very noticable once completed. The instructions say you need a second person when attaching the bottom half to the top (I guess to have someone hold the top half still); I just pushed the top half against the wall (it is laying on the ground at this point) and it didn't move while I attached the bottom half. Very simple.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

You get what you pay for

09/06/2010
By ,
Prospect Park, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vaule gets a 3 because you get what you pay for. Everything else deserves a negative rating. This shelf is such a waste of money I am happy I only paid $25 plus tax, although I wish I could get a refund. The material is cheap and it will take two people to put is together, IF YOU CAN PUT IT TOGETHER. Don't even waste your time and money. Spend a little more for something more sturdy that will last instead of something that you will worry about falling on someone.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Very Pleased

05/27/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I was happy with the product. The only problem I see with the product is it is so top heavy. It does come with a strap you attach to the wall, but I just put a 3/8" piece of wood under the front of the sides It works out fine for me since I don't have little ones trying to climb on them. Also I put all the heavy things on the bottom. I bought two of them and will be buying a few more.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White
09/22/2010
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing that this only cost $25! It takes some assembly and space to assemble but when you get it together you will LOVE it! I have the 3 shelf and 5 shelf versions and they are both amazing!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Shelf Units Exceed expectations!

10/29/2009
By ,
Fort Atkinson, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 6 Mainstays 5 shelf bookcases. I sent one back because of minor shipping damage, but even that went so smoothly through site-to-store service. Wal Mart has their act together on this program.
The shelf units exceeded my hopes after reading some previous posts. They compare with the Sauder units in that room. (I now have a combined 10 shelf units & I can't visually tell any difference in the brands. I'm using them in my "library room" as utility bookcases for all my books. If some of the movable shelves start to sag, we will enforce them. Right now however, they look great. I also put lighter books on the movable shelves.
Overall, these shelves are a wonderful value. Where can you buy a 71" shelf unit for under $30.00? They also went together very easily. They arrive in a shorter box, so you can easily transport these in ANY car. The box fits on your back seat. Try one at least. Site-to-Store is awesome.
Picture is only 4 of the units before all were up. I moved doubled shelved books to another unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Decent Shelf for the Price

09/14/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't know what most people expect from a $29 5 rack shelf. It's not the prettiest and it's not going to be an heirloom either, but it does the job. I currently have three that have held together for several years, and they all hold lots of books. Some of the shelves holding my heavy textbooks are swayed, but not near falling apart. Great option if you can't or don't want to pay $250 for a shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

A pretty good bargain

01/15/2010
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one of these about 5 years ago and now that it has about 200-300 books in it it's time to buy another one so my wife can buy more books. It's holding up quite well for the price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

My BIG Secret ... These are GREAT!

08/15/2010
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a closet system for my home and a local dealer quoted me an OUTRAGEOUS amount of $1200 for a 90x12x72 system. I purchased three of these shelves and two closet rods ... Voila! A closet system as nice as what they were offering for under $80 ... add clothes and baskets and you're in business!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

great value

10/11/2009
By ,
mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the product IS PUT TOGETHER PROPERLY and anchored to the wall the shelves last a lifetime. I have 2 -one for childrens toys, books, and craft items, and the other is for clothes. My children 5yrs, 3yrs, and 1yr all climb on it and play on them, they do not break or bend or fall. the key is proper assembly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Well folks, there's a reason it's only $25

07/10/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The title pretty much says it all, but here are more details anyway.
We purchased 3 of these bookshelves to be used in a home office. We were in a bind and needed bookshelves like, NOW, so we went with cheap because we don't need them to last but a few months. We definitely got what we paid for.
First of all, taking them out of the boxes I could already tell that we paid for cheap, we got cheap. They are your typical particle board, laminate covered, bolt together shelves, but considering the damage to them before we even opened them...it wasn't good. While the boxes didn't appear damaged or crushed, many corners of the boards were so I assumed this happened at the factory.
While the bookcases are fairly easy to put together, they are not very sturdy. I DEFINITELY recommend using the included strap for securing the bookcase to the wall and I also DEFINITELY recommend following the manufacturers instructions about putting this together as close as possible to where it will be standing. You will not be able to move these around very much without damage. The very first case broke at the bottom (still usable, but makes it more unstable) just moving it 15 feet.
Overall I DO NOT recommend this product if you are wanting anything of quality, but I DO recommend this product if you are like us and in a bind for shelving at a cheap price. Just don't expect the cases to survive a move. ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

exceeded my expectations

06/14/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect much from a $25 bookcase that's much taller than me. After reading one of the more recent reviews, I realized what the white strap is for that was hanging from the top of the bookcase (safety precaution, so that the bookcase doesn't fall completely over when the strap is attached to the wall). This feature makes me feel more at ease. My room is fully carpeted and the bookcase doesn't feel as sturdy standing probably because of it's hieght (I'm sure it'll feel different if it's on hardwood floors)
I just put this up yesterday, so I dont have all my books on it yet, but I'm sure it'll feel more sturdy when I weigh it down onto my carpet.
The directions were pretty easy to follow, you just need to read them through once and make sure which side is 'finished' and which side is exposed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Great for the price

01/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase came shipped Site To Store. It was wrapped well with extra packing on the corners so not to be damaged. It was easy to put together and looks great. It seems sturdy and holds my Grandaughters toys and books easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

You get what you pay for!

08/02/2010
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After looking at another large retailer for a bookshelf that matches my night stand and finding it cost $125 through them, finding this was awesome, in that it was $25 and was made of what I assumed to be similar material. Awesome.
So I bought it at the store. They were out of black, so I chose the white one. The first thing I noticed is that this thing is REALLY heavy. My boyfriend and I had to both carry it to put it in the cart.
I brought it home and assembled it. I put it all together according to the directions, but when I went to stand it up, the bottom cracked and split!! There was no way I could fix it, so now I'm just using the sturdier top part as 1/2 a book case. It's not too terrible as I have it now, but I am disappointed that it split like that.
My advice is to try and assemble it so that the top part is on the bottom and vice versa. There is NO WAY the heavy top part should be resting on the flimsy, light bottom part. I'm disappointed, but again, you get what you pay for!
Otherwise, it's great and comes up to about my hip now. I'll just have to store some of my lesser-used books in my closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Quick Fix

01/10/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't afford $500 for a decent bookcase, and I really don't have time to build one since I'm moving soon. It's $30. It's not going to look like it's from an expensive store, it's not going to last you twenty years, and you won't be able to give it to your kids when they get their first place. But it's sturdy, they hold all my books (I got two of them - three would have held them more comfortably), and they were a cinch to put together.
As long as you put your heaviest books on the bottom shelf and secure it to the wall like they instruct you to do, it should last a few years. At $60 for two of them, if they lasted me a year I'd be happy. It's a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

great shelf

04/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went ahead and gave the shelf a 5 star rating. First of all, the price is awesome for the NICE shelf that you get. BUT when I got the package from UPS, it was in mint condition. I opened the box and the two top side panels were completed destroyed. No, it was very apparent that it was NOT damaged during shipping for the box was untouched. It was done at the manufacturer. I phoned them (the number was right on the instruction manual) and was only on the phone 5 minutes. They ensured the two replacement parts within 7-10 business days. THAT'S the part that was incorrect. It took almost 3 weeks to get the product shipped to me. Once I recieved them, all was great! This shelf is very similar to one on walmart.com that costs 150$. This is an awesome...TALL...shelf. You'll love it! I have my towels, wash clothes, and toiletries on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase really stack up!

09/08/2010
By ,
Deltona, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of the bookcases, in white, online and had them shipped direct to my house. I was impressed with the competitive price and great appearance. They arrived on my porch, from Fedex in 3 days in perfect condition due to the high packaging specifications. The 61 pound cardboard cartons had extra support with 90 degree cardboard angles on all 4 corners plus plastic air padding cushioning any impact to carton. All pieces were present and NO DAMAGE. The pieces were well constructed and did assembly easily. The instructions have no text so I took my time and struggled with the instructional diagrams. The are resting three in series in an extra bedroom and full of book. They look great!
I must add that I took the time to read many mixed reviews, from previous buyers ,of this product and although there were more positive comments, on this item, there were also reports of damaged or missing pieces, assembly problems, and one lady was surprised that they were so tall! I really came close to passing up the purchase of the shelf units. The ARE heavy. The weight per carton is offered to prospective buyers correctly at over 60 pounds. Plan appropriately with help or moving equipment. The substrate is constructed from pressed fiber board. Think wood glue instead of large nails or screws. The former will split or break if not handed properly. They are not made of lumber!
I am very pleased with Walmart and all aspects of this value purchase and recommend to you.
Walt47
Deltona, FL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase, White

perfect for a childs room

02/22/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the $. I purchased this shelf for my 4 year old daughter's room. It is perfect for all of her books and some pictures on the higher shelf. It was fairly easy to put together, however the instuctions have no words. It took me just over an hour to assemble the shelf by myself. Would recommend this shelf for a child's room. You can see the cardboard back if you look close enough, but have enough things on there to obscure the back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next