Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tramontina Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Tramontina Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

The Tramontina 10-Piece 18 10 cookware set is specially designed to be used on all conventional and induction cook tops. This beautiful yet durable triply-clad cookware set, with its stainless steel and aluminum core, makes cooking a pleasure and is designed to provide even and quick heating. They are recommended by chefs for their maximum cooking efficiency. The Tramontina cookware set contains stainless-steel pots and pans with a wide range of cookware shapes. These stainless steel vessels and lids are durable and come with mirror polished inner and exterior finishes and polished stainless steel handles. All these utensils are also dishwasher safe with a lifetime warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.849 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(291 Reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation100%290 out of 291reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 307 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Excellent Value, However....

06/09/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This all started because I needed a 12" fry pan with flared sides. A quick check of my America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook informed me that the All-Clad Stainless Steel is the brand to beat, and next thing I know, I'm holding the beautiful thing in my hands and about to shell out 120 clams for it! Eeep!
Long story short, I ended up with the 10 piece Tramontina set instead, for a mere $80 more. "Enthusiastically Recommended" by ATK, and backed by dozens of 5 star reviews from happy customers, I just had to try it. I figured it would compliment my favorite cast iron pieces and summarily replace the disk-bottom Belgiques wasting space in my cabinets.
My cookware arrived just a few days ago and overall I'm impressed. It's a beautiful set, a good weight, with comfortable handles. So far I've used the 4 quart sauce pan for making a pasta sauce and the 5 quart dutch oven for boiling pasta and making soup. Both performed nicely and as expected: even, distributed heating with no scorching or sticking....very similar to my porcelain-enameled dutch oven. Both pans cleaned up easily washing by hand. Quite pleased.
However, I do have just a couple complaints/concerns. Initial inspection out of the box revealed small imperfections on each piece. Every pan has at least one small, shallow scratch, either on the outside or on the cooking surface. Having never purchased stainless steel cookware before, I don't know whether or not this is par for the course. I decided however, at less than $200, I wasn't going to worry about what is probably nothing more than a cosmetic issue, especially considering how they will eventually look after years of use.
Secondly, the pans are not perfectly flat on the bottom. Tonight I noticed that the 5 quart dutch oven rocked a bit on the stove stop, so I whipped out a straight edge and checked each piece. Now, I have no idea if this is normal or considered a defect (or if it's even related to the wobble), but the bottom of each pan is arched very slightly, so the middle of the pan is slightly elevated from the edges. I then checked my old disk bottom Belgiques, and found that they are perfectly flat. As I use a gas range, I don't think I'll have an issue with the arch, but I wonder if users of glass top or induction ranges would? I've searched online and can't find anything on this topic, so if anybody out there reading this has a clue, please respond with a review and enlighten me! :)
Anyway, even with the cosmetic issues and the unexpectedly arched bottoms, I'm still very happy with my purchase, and I think I'll love cooking with this set. The craftsmanship may not be up to All-Clad standards, but it's close enough; and for the price, an unbelievable deal. I would, without hesitation, recommend Tramontina Tri-Ply Clad to anyone looking for quality, affordable cookware. Happy cooking :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Too good to be true? <--- NOT!!!

02/24/2011
By ,
Springfield MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched cookware to death. (I even learned a whole bunch of "how to cook" tips along the way!) These pots and pans kept creeping into every single forum, review, chatroom and recommendation I came across.
So I headed down to my local Walmart to check out the 8-pc set they had in the store. Needless to say I couldn't run home fast enough to order the 10 pc. set online. It was a decision made in a nano-second.
Wow. Just WOW! Such amazing quality at an unbelieveable price! We've used this set for a year and now, since we've had such fantastic results and meals with the help of this set, we've remodeled the kitchen, upgraded the gas cooktop to a professional one and we're ready to be challenged on "Chopped". Ha!ha!
The sizes are logical and each one is very useable. They clean up like a dream, sometimes with a little help from Barkeepers Friend.
This is such a pretty set --all shiny and sparkling -- that we hung up a pot rack (actually it's a vintage garden gate) to display them.
I would recommend buying this set and never looking back!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Professional Cookware

01/31/2011
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get an online version of a gourmet cooking magazine, and they rated this cookware with the best of the best, cookware costing three and four times what this costs. They said the only problem they had was the pans were a little small, so I was expecting to be maybe a bit disappointed about that. I don't know what they are used to cooking with, but these pans are so big, the larger ones are difficult for me to pick up - even the small fry pan is hefty. If you have any worries that not having a non-stick coating will be a problem, you can rest your mind. I made an omelet the first thing, just sprayed a little cooking oil first and let it heat up on low (these pans don't need much heat because they are triple ply) and not a bit of egg stuck. I've read reviews of other big name cookware that comes with non-stick coating, and it seems like it's always a problem maintaining it. So I'm happy I don't have to worry about that. This comes with a lifetime guarantee, and I'll bet my ancestors will be using it.
There is a stock pot, a dutch oven, two sauce pans and two skillets. Very generous.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

I Agree with Cook's

04/23/2011
By ,
Gainesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I were reading an older issue of Cook's Illustrated and happened upon the cookware review everyone references. In the review they mention that the Tramontina (8-pc.) set is on par with the All-Clad in terms of performance, but the sizes are lacking, and not ideal. Well, in the time since the review was published and now, Tramontina must have read the article, and created this 10-pc. set. The sizes and types are EXACTLY what Cook's said would be the ideal. I would recommend reading their review, because I can't top their analysis. Or you could just trust them like we did, because they are kitchen geniuses. Beyond that, my wife has already cooked many masterpieces with our new set, and says they perform amazingly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Take THIS All-Clad

03/01/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tramontina and WalMart have dealt a serious blow to All-Clad with this set. Beautiful cookware, High tech design, and a very generous sizing and selection of cookware pieces. This is one of the best deals I have every received from a retail outlet. Good going WalMart !!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

10-Piece Tramontina Triple-Ply Cookware

03/07/2010
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I should really wait to review this set after I've had it for more than a few days, but I just have to GUSH about this gorgeous cookware! We took it out of the boxes a couple of days ago and just admired it for awhile. Then finally today, I decided to try it out when I made lemon ricotta pancakes for Sunday brunch.
They say that you only need to cook on low to medium at most with the fully-clad pans. So I started out on level 4 of an electric stove (of 10...ours don't go to 11!). And I put a ton of oil and butter in the pan, for fear that the very soft batter would stick. But I ended up pouring off all but just a thin slick of the fat, and turning the pan down to 3! It just cooked so well and so evenly, and the clean up was a cinch.
I am IN LOVE with high-quality cookware, and even more so when it's at a discount price! Why did I wait so long to buy these? All-Clad? Who needs it... at FOUR TIMES the price? Bless the good people of Cooks Illustrated for making us aware of this excellent cookware at an amazing value, and to Wal-Mart for making it available!
--Gina
http://lindseysluscious.blogspot.com
P.S. Although the 8-piece set of the tri-ply Tramontina comes at an amazingly low price, I handled the pieces in my local store, and they are just too small, particularly the 8-inch saute' pan and the 1-quart saucepan. You really need the 12-inch saute pan, and a larger stock pot than 5 quarts. So I think this set is the better value overall when you consider the pieces that you'll use most often. I am considering adding the 4-quart buffet casserole and/or the 12-inch jumbo cooker, and maybe the 8-quart pot with steamer insert. But I am going to cook with this set for awhile and see if I feel that I'm missing anything. Oh, and the site-to-store free shipping ROCKS!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

It may last forever

10/18/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous cookware included stainless steel pots and skillets and non-stick coated aluminum skillets. I finally became fed up with the uneven heating of the skillets and griddle; and having read a very positive review of Wal Mart's 8-piece Tramontina in Cook's Magazine, I decided it was time to replace my old cookware. I purchased the 10-piece set rather than the 8-piece one.
Although I have only been using this set for several weeks, the pieces are so heavy and well-made that I'm sure they are going to outlast me and my wife. The triple ply construction is used for the entire piece--all the way to the top. You must use low to medium heat for cooking. I believe the lower cooking temperature contributes to the ease of cleanup. I use dishwashing detergent and a sponge to clean both inside and outside of the pots and dry them at once.
The set looks gorgeous, and I intend to keep it that way. I think this purchase was one of my better expenditures this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Great set with a very minor flaw

10/11/2009
By ,
Atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooking is something I love to do, so I like to try different brands of cookware. Although I did not buy my TriPly Tramontina as a set, I liked it so much that I ended up buying all the individual pieces. The pans and pots all heat very evenly, with no hot spots. The entire side heats up, with much better results than cookware with the aluminum slug clad into the bottom only (as is true of some Tramontina pieces as well). As a result, recipes cook much faster, and at lower heat than I was used to...sort of like having a convection oven in a pot.
They have proven easy to clean and they maintain their appearance well. The only complaint I have is that the handles, while very strong, have a design that is a bit narrow for my hands. The pots and pans are heavy, and when full, the handle does not distribute weight across my palm very well, so I have to be careful when picking them up. That's okay, because nothing else performs like this at 3-4 times the price. Well done, Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

High Quality, Major Bang for the Buck

06/07/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product, and well worth the relatively low price tag.
I debated between registering for the Tramontina Triply, or going with the higher priced gold standard in All-Clad. Ultimately, I decided to trust the experts at Cooks Illustrated (America's Test Kitchen) and give Tramontina a try (CI states the two triply brands are comparable in quality). I love this set!
Clean up has been easy, and it has been great cooking at a lower heat - less fat required.The polished finish fades, but that's to be expected.
My biggest concern upon opening the set was the slimness of the handles on the larger pieces. However, I haven't had any difficulty. Tramontina smartly includes an alternative side handle for moving the bigger saucepan.
I'm thrilled to have gotten the set of Tramontina for the cost of one All-Clad pan.
Also, for city-dwellers with space issues: the set nests perfectly. I keep all of the pieces, except for the two saute pans, nesting at all times. It has dramatically increased my storage space previously occupied by my old pots and pans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Awesome Cookware, Need to Learn to Use it!

12/13/2011
By ,
by Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set after hearing the reviews on Cooks Illustraited, and doing a ton of research.
1. Preheat the pan
2. Then put in and preheat the oil
3. Put in food - that is warmed up!
I can fry an egg no problem, and cooking on med to med-low (4) on the dial on my glass top stove. Cooks white, slides out clean, no sticking. Still figuring out how to flip and not stick, and still working on what the right temperature is for what food I'm cooking, but so far I am thrilled with the set as a whole. Did homemade noodles in the stock part.. again, cooking med (4 1/2) on the dial, little or no sticking, and no burning. A little barkeepers friend and pans are shiny and new again.
Highly recommend you do the research and see if a tri-ply set of stainless is right for you, and if it is, you can't go wrong with this set. You may want the smaller set if cooking for only 1 or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Excellent quality, excellent value.

11/02/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this set for my daughter as a gift, and she hasn't had a chance to use it yet, but loves the appearance. (I bought her the 10-piece set rather than the 8-piece so she would have the the bigger skillet and the stock pot.) I don't own the complete set, but my experience with my open stock 2-quart and 3-quart saucepans has been great. I bought them after seeing them in the store and being impressed with the weight and appearance of the pieces, and reading the Cooks Illustrated review favorably comparing the Tramontina tri-ply to All-Clad. I have never owned an All-Clad piece, but I can't imagine it being any higher quality than the Tramontina. It heats evenly, cleans up easily and still looks like new even after 2-3 years of daily use. I would recommend this cookware to anyone looking for quality tri-ply cookware. Outstanding value! Unfortunately, neither the Tramontina sets nor open stock pieces are still carried in any of our local stores. I wish Walmart would bring this product back into stores!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Excellent alternative to expensive clad cookware

11/30/2009
By ,
Real America
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible value with near All-clad quality at Wal-mart prices.
Pros
• Heavy duty pans and lids
• Big pan sizes for a set
• Excellent quality and value
• Tri-ply construction
• Comfortable handles
Cons (Admittedly nit-picking)
• None of the lids fit the fry pans
• No sauté pan in set (available open-stock)
• Relatively expensive open stock pieces
• Not as well finished as All-clad
Notes:
• The box this comes in is huge. Each piece is individually boxed inside the larger carton.
• Another alternative to consider is the J.A. Henckels International Classic Clad. Its a bit more expensive then the Tramontina but seems to be even better made and well thought out. Quality is similar to, or slightly better than All-clad. Handles are incredibly comfortable and easy to use. All-clad handles are terribly uncomfortable.
Care and Use Notes:
• Learn to use these pans to best effect. They are excellent but do require the right techniques to avoid scorching and to develop a nice fond.
• Do not use high heat until you gain some experience with stainless steel tri-ply cookware.
• Start the cleaning process with a cup or two of warm water on the range while the pan is still hot. Just like deglazing this will help dissolve the sticky bits.
• Never run a hot pan under water or it may warp.
• Use Barkeepers Friend (a powdered cleanser for stainless steel) to clean the pans when necessary.
• If you put them in the dishwasher they will discolor. Hand wash for best results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Excellent value - top notch service

09/09/2009
By ,
Wooster, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing my due diligence shopping for triply on-line I decided this set would fill the bill at a great price compared to equal quality offerings. I am definitely not disappointed! The earlier review by Cook's Illustrated rated the 8 pc. Tramontina set a best buy ... except they commented on the small sizes in the set. In the same article they mentioned the 7 pcs. they feel every kitchen should have. Tramontina must have read this article and then put together the 10 pc. set. It contains all of the sizes recommended by Cook's Illustrated, however the article included a non-stick pan, an enameled dutch oven and a cast iron skillet which, of course, are not in this set.
I have used every piece in this set daily since I received it a month ago and am elated with the quality and performance. I have made batches of chili and braised chuck roast in the dutch oven, used the 10" and 12" pans for hashed browns, ground beef and searing steaks before putting the pan in the oven. I have cooked down blueberries, scalded milk and made sauces in the saucepans. Everything comes out wonderfully!
As to cleanup, it's a snap. After they have cooled I put them in a sink of hot water with dish washing liquid and sometime later return to wipe them out with a dishcloth. A few times the interior's have discolored/rainbowed slightly however a quick wipe with "Bar Keepers Friend" for "cookware" made them like new again. By the way, Bar Keeper's Friend Stainless Steel Cleaner is avail. in stores, however according to their website, their product made specifically for cookware (and labeled such) is only avail. on-line.
Lastly, regarding Tramontina service. The day I received my set I opened and inspected ea. piece thoroughly. I was immediately impressed with the weight, construction and look of the set however the 12 qt. stockpot had a depression on the lid's edge and a major burr at the top of the pot. I called Tramontina, the representative cheerfully told me they would send a replacement lid and pot along with a return shipping label. All I did when I received the replacement was put the damaged pot in the box the replacement came in, slapped on the return label included and dropped it off at the closest shipping location.
This set is everything I hoped for and would recommend it to anyone wanting superb performance at a value price. I rated 'durability' a 5 because, even though I've only used it for a month, the heft and quality of each piece is superb and it's obvious it will last a lifetime. I've always received excellent value and service from Walmart and the same is now true for Tramontina.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+278points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Florida
Addressing Durability
Posted 09/13/2011
I purchased the 7 piece starter set of Tramontina Tri-Ply Clad cookware back in 2005 and use it daily. It has stood up spectacularly. Since my initial purchase, I've filled in with several additional pieces. Obviously the pieces show the scratches picked up over the years, but the still look beautiful and perform as well as the All-Clad pieces I own. I've purchased this set because we're installing in Induction cooktop and the original set wasn't designed with a magnetic core. Tramontina has indeed packaged all the right pieces in this set. And, when you consider that this set is priced at the cost of a single All-Clad 12" saute pan, how can you say no?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Terrific service, product

11/10/2011
By ,
Peoria, Ill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tramontina cookware is exceptional. The largest piece, described as a stockpot, will probably see the least use; it's extremely large, both to use and to store.
All pieces were perfect.
Cooking at medium heat is plenty for browning chopped fresh onions in olive oil. I have an electric stove and onions used to have to be watched carefully to keep them from burning. In the Tramontina cookware, the onions just cook - they don't burn and barely brown. Cooking is very controlled, although it seems somewhat slower than in my old cookware. Cleanup is a snap with a stiff backed sponge.
The pieces are heavy - probably on a par with cast iron. The bigger pieces have two handles, but even so they can be unwieldy for users who might not be physically strong. I wish the straight sided skillet with the lid were included in the set. I want it to cook pork chops and tomatoes with rice on he stovetop. The five quart covered dutch oven has seen the most use so far.
This cookware cooks EXACTLY like All-Clad pieces my sister uses. I will be sending open stock pieces to her to fill out her set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Very happy with purchase

10/21/2012
By ,
Toronto, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with these pots. I bought them based on the good reviews here and in several other places on the internet. Mine arrived within a week and in perfect condition. I only wish there was a steamer basket and a 3-quart saucepan too! My message to Canadians is that you can get these, as long as you have a week or so to do it. I ordered mine online requesting shipping to my US vacation address and chose to pay with cash, which you have to do in a US store within, I think, 48 hours or so of placing your order. Then I went in to my local Walmart and paid in person but was allowed to do it using my credit card. Once paid for, the order can go through. I paid on a Saturday and the shipment arrived at my address the following Friday. The pots feel sturdy, seem to heat up quickly and cook evenly, and I find the sizes to be well chosen. I am glad I bought them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Not a skeptic anymore!

03/23/2012
By ,
St. Charles, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 11+ years with my Calphalon pans from our wedding, it was time to replace a few, making it a perfect time time to get a new set. My mom passed along the reviews from Cooks Illustated for stainless sets and when I saw this one, I was skeptical. A set from Walmart, really?
I spent a few months researching stainless sets but always came back to the reviews for this one. Each time I came back, there were more 5 star reviews then the time before. So, I ordered the 10-piece set on a Saturday and they were at my door on Tuesday evening -- thanks for the speedy .97 shipping!
Needless to say, I am very pleased with my purchase - pans are heavy, well-constructed and awesome to cook with. The handles stay cool when cooking and they are a breeze to clean - keep some Bar Keeper's Friend handy for the shine and tough stains. I know these pots and pans will give me many years of great cooking and looking forward to adding a covered skillet next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Get on this ship before it sails out!!!

12/10/2009
By ,
Bossier City, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pun intended....
Let me first just say that I love this cookware!! I am not sure how they actually are making money off of this... From the looks, this should be closer to the price of the all-clad...That being said, I should go ahead and tell you that at the bottom of this pan it says "Made in China" . But what is not made there these days though... I feel like this could be a new beginning for products made in China. This is very high quality cookware and in no way should its country of origin sway you from purchasing this product.
I purchased this set because it had some of the best reviews, the perfect sized pots, and the best material you could use as cookware. Tri Ply! It looks great and cleans up very nicely...Don't forget your Bar Keeper's Friend which works great and can be found at your local walmart.
This cookware has opened my eyes to all sorts of new ways to cook. I made fried mushrooms for the first time last night, and I used to hate mushrooms. Not anymore! I feel like a mini chef in the kitchen, and every guest I have over compliments my cookware.
I am only 23 years of age, and this is my first real cookware set. I strongly believe that either I or my robotic maid will be using this same set when I retire, probably around the year 2060.
If you are having second thoughts or just can't decide what to do, as nike says...just do it! This will make any kitchen look better, smell better, taste better, feel better...you get the picture?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Buy this set!

04/21/2012
By ,
Central Coast, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are avid cookers in our house and our Circulon non-stick set has worn out. We have one All-Clad stainless steel pan and we love it so we decided to switch to all stainless steel. We are deovotees of Americas Test Kitchen and though All-Clad was their highest rated set, it was simply out of our price range. Their second highest rated set was Tramontina and since it was in our price range, we thought we would give it a try. We couldn't be happier! We are still amazed at such a high quality set being sold for such a reasonable price. We also bought the Tramontina Jumbo Cooker separately from the set and have been just as happy and satisfied with it. We now recommend this set and brand to all our family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Nice Pots and Pans

10/13/2012
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this set. The price is good and I am not willing to pay what All Clad wants for one of their sets. I agree with others that the pots do stain a bit, it just isn't a big deal to me--it's cookware, not furniture. I'll clean them with Barkeeper's Friend every once in a while.
My only complaint has to do with the handles. I find them a bit to round. I wish they were wider. It would make it easier to pour out of them while holding with one hand.
I recently purchased a second set--my original set only lasted 8 months. My son was home this summer, liked them, and asked if he could take them home with him and give me money to purchase a new set (the set is not available in Canada through Wal-Mart). I agreed.
I did look around for a better set at a comparable price but found nothing. They are not perfect, but I think they represent the best deal out there for $220. I may need to hide them if my daughter comes home for a visit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tramontina 10-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel TriPly-Clad Cookware Set

Definitely a "Best Buy"

02/29/2012
By ,
Ocean County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have looked at and priced most TriPly SS sets from All Clad, Calphalon, Costco and the top chef brands. We were not able to see the Tramontina set at our local Walmart store and purchased this set 100% based on other customer reviews and Walmarts easy return policy.
This is a high quality set and in my opinion is superior to most of the others we have looked at and most comparable to the All Clad set.
We ordered the 10 piece set. Delivery was quick and the set was packaged well. Once opened, we were ecstatic with our decision to purchase!
Handles feel great and stay cool. Cleanup is super easy. This set will last a lifetime.
We are so happy with this purchase that we have just placed another order for some additional pieces.
Order with confidence. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 253 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next