Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Stack-On Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Keep your valuables safe in one single, storage space using the Stack on PDS-500 Drawer Safe. Ideal for storing pistols, ammo, and valuables at home or in the office, this Stack-on drawer safe is a secure way to keep things inaccessible to children and safe from theft. Solid steel, pry-resistant doors, steel locking bolts, and concealed hinges ensure greater security. This steel drawer safe has been tested by a certified California Department of Justice laboratory and is rated as an approved firearm safety container. The safe incorporates an electronic lock that is easy to program and has a backup trouble key. The lock times-out in the event of three incorrect combinations. This safe with electronic lock has pre-drilled holes and includes fastening hardware for mounting on the floor or a shelf.
Average Customer Rating:
4.664 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%107 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Gun or Money Safe Stack-On Drawer Safe

08/01/2010
By ,
Davis,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these digital safes, they are great. I have 3 of these. If you have hand guns, this is the answer to your problems. I have a four year old and he knows he shouldn't touch my guns and he knows he shouldn't play with the safe either.
If someone breaks into your place, type in your selected code(u can use from 1 to 6 numbers,u program that code yourself too) turn the knob and take care of bad people quick.
They are very sturdy, u can drill them to the wall or floor.
If you don't have guns and need a safe for money or jewelry. These boxes will do the trick just fine. What a solid product!!!!
By the way if u forgot to change the batteries for a year and it wont open because your batteries died. No proplem, pop in the included key and open it up. (Keep that key somewhere safe too) The cool thing about this cool feature is that my son doesn't even know u can use a key. There is a very cool plastic cover that seems part of the main door. If you need to use your key, pop it with your finger and voala!
I hope this was useful. Thanks and enjoy ur new toy. I did all three of mine. * : )
P.S Batteries are included!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

This is not a secure safe!

01/06/2013
By ,
Norwich, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this safe to store a handgun in. It seemed reasonable secure, is made of thick steel and is certified by the California Department of Justice to store handguns. Before installing it I watched some YouTube videos about how to open inexpensive safes. (Do an Internet search for “how to open a safe with a potato”.) In one they showed that giving the safe a solid hit on the top it causes it to momentarily unlock. (This is due to the solenoid used by the electronics to unlock the door.) So if you time the hit and turning the bolt knob just right you can open without a code or key.
I tried it on my PDS-500 and after a few whacks, sure enough it unlocked without a code or a key. The online videos show several other ways to open these inexpensive safes. Bottom line, and intruder can open one of these very quickly. Hitting it is just one way. These were several others. I would NOT store a handgun in one of these. (I have no idea how this got certified for the storage of deadly weapons.) According to the videos many other inexpensive safes such as Bunker Hill brand, also suffer from the same weakness. Don’t get a false sense of security just because it appears to be sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

very reliable product

05/02/2010
By ,
Sanford N.C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe works perfectly. Fits nicely in a small drawer. Locking mechanism is very secure. Holds two guns and mags with extra room to spare. Two small kids in the house and I am confident the guns are safely out of harms way. I researched numerous safes before making this purchase and found alot to them to be of poor quality. This one, for the money, is an excellent choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Better than expected

05/11/2010
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite please with the drawer safe, which I am using as a pistol safe. The construction is excellent and the steel quite heavy. The electronic lock was easy to program and works well. I would have loved to have had one bolt on each side of the door, but knew beforehand they were both on one side. The only knock I have on the product is that the suppolied mounting screws, machine screws, are too short to actually mount to anything more than 1/4" plywood - had to buy new screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

great little safe for the price

07/07/2013
By ,
columbia, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own two of these safes. The first one I mounted in the wall removed the rubber number pad flipped it. Then installed the safe so the door opens down instead of up making so I can get in the safe with just one hand. I also removed the beeper that makes a sound every time you push a button. I then took some foam and cut out the shape of my handgun so it would hold it securely in the safe. The second safe I have is in a drawer. My only complaint, I wish the latch for opening and closing it was a little smoother with a shorter throw and a clear way to know the safe is locked. I drew lines on mine so I could tell at a glance that I locked it when I was done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

This worked when I needed it to!!

07/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had one of these and had it attached to the inside of my desk drawer at home with a pistol in it. My apartment was burglarized and the thieves took the drawer out of the desk but ended up leaving it on the floor when they realized they couldn't get to the stuff inside. They got away with another pistol I had loose in another drawer, so I got 2 more of these to protect my other guns in the future. Perfect to house one handgun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Highly recommended

02/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice safe for the money. The only downside is that the lid of the safe takes up about an inch of the usable space inside the safe. A full size handgun will still fit easily though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Excellent Product!

01/07/2013
By ,
Gales Ferry, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent safe for storing your items when you need to get them in a hurry! Added bonus that you can turn off the beeping when punching in your access code so nobody will here you getting into your safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

very sturdy

09/01/2010
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this safe for my son to store valuables in his dorm at college. It is heavy and very sturdy. I like that it has a keypad code, and the manual override. It's a little big for what he needs, but that will hopefully deter others from walking off with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Good buy!

10/20/2013
By ,
Northwest Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a sizable safe with touch pad. This unit has a lot of room for a small unit.
Touch pad and instruction very straight forward. Two keys if batteries (4-AA) fail.
I am very satisfied with this purchase and recommend it to any one looking for a small economical safe.
It is also wall mountable. Ship to store with free shipping is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Great to store valuables

10/29/2013
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. I was able to store a gun with a few boxes of bullets. I still have room to store other things as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

great lock box

05/13/2010
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted to keep a handgun near the bed, yet safe from the grandkids. Can be quickly opened if needed but otherwise securely locked. Perfect size for my purposes and a good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

It will serve the purpose

04/26/2013
By ,
Antelope Valley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture is very accurate for the contents of this safe. The safe will make a beep sound when pressing the keys, but that can be turned off. Being able to enter the safe without sound may be useful at some point. There other safes that offer the soundless entry system,but the price is twice as much. Consider the size length 11 3/4" , 8 1/2" deep and the height is 4 1/2". The safe will take up some room in the drawer no doubt, but it is worth the price and will keep unwanted hands out. I can see someone using this safe for a pocket pistol,passports, money, or other small very important keep sakes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

good vakue for the money

11/03/2013
By ,
chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got th is safe to hold my weapon when I come in fron work, durable and convient
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Affordable option for firearm safety

06/14/2012
By ,
Spokane Valley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at a number of lock boxes/safes and several retailers for the best way to store my handgun and this one very nicely satisfied all of my requirements. The deadbolt locks and concealed hinge give it a level of security comparable to several much higher priced safes and would discourage most casual thieves. The pre-drilled holes for mounting it made it very easy to bolt it into my truck. The concealed backup keyhole is not readily apparent which also adds to its overall security level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Gun safe keeping kids away

04/24/2011
By ,
Baltimore,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product came as promised, looks strong enough to keep my 5 year old away from my hand gun, fits in dresser under bed or on shelf. Easy to get in and has silent mode, cheap mat inside, may need to add soft material to keep gun in good shape. You can use a self created code or use key to open safe if you forget code. The hardware to attached to floor or wall is not reliable or strong enough, may need to add washers or wire. Great buy for the money. Had it for 4 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Great for honest people, but easy to bypass

03/18/2013
By ,
Alpine, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe is sturdy and safe, but extremely easy to bypass for anyone who really want to open it. Fine for keeping things safe from your younger children. I have 2 and they are reliable, function as intended, but can easily be bypassed. See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxHi4yt_GOU for demonstration of the bypass issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Great home safe

01/07/2012
By ,
Cheektowaga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am satisfied with this drawer safe. It is a perfect size to store important papers, credit cards, checks and valuables. It fits in several drawers so I have tried different ones to make sure the spot is correct before I bolt it in. It seems safe, sturdy and secure. It arrived quickly and pick-up at the store was convenient.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

Great buy!

04/05/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this safe to store a few personal items, some money, & most importantly, my gun. This safe is easy to use & I love the electronic lock. And just in case you forget your code to open it, it comes with a pair of keys!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On PDS-500 Electronic Locking Drawer Safe

great safe for the price

08/14/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this safe it works great for what i need it for its so easy to set up. so if your looking for a cheap safe for money or id like pass ports or pistols etc. this is what you want
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next