Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Stack-On Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

The Stack-On PS-508 Extra Wide Strong Box Safe has a large design to accommodate most laptop computers. This electronic computer safe is an ideal choice for college students, business professionals, and people on the go. It not only stores your laptop, but also offers room to store your MP3 player, camera, calculator, and other valuables. This stack on strong box safe ensures maximum security with its solid steel, pry-resistant doors, steel live-action locking bolts, and concealed hinges. The Stack-On PS-508 Extra Wide Strong Box Safe is rated as an approved Firearm Safety Container by the California Department of Justice laboratory. You can easily program the electronic lock that is featured in this safe. It features a backup trouble key that adds to the security.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%45 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Stack On Lock Box

02/04/2010
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is overall a good product. I only paid $76 and it was delivered to my house. You can fit a laptop inside it and still have plenty of space. I personally purchased this lock box to secure my Smith & Wesson 9mm that i recently purchased. I can fit the case for my pistol and plenty of ammo inside it and still have room for other items. The electronic keypad makes it alot easier to access my items. The box also comes with a set of keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Really good for the money

09/13/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, it's WAY bigger than I thought it would be.., it would hold a very large laptop., plus.., a gun, two or three cameras, some jewelry, some love letters, some baseball cards.., and still have room. I wanted a gun safe and I thought it would be nice if it also could hold a few of my nice pieces of jewelry. In the future I plan to mount it in my RV.
It's a good safe. The door is strong enough that it would be hard to pry open. The best features: It comes with bolts and pre-drilled holes to mount it so a thief can't just walk off with it. The push buttons are good sized; even with my long nails I have no problem pushing them; and, you set your own code. It has a beep function that you can turn off or on (I like being able to turn it off because if I did have to get my gun out due to a robber/bad guy I wouldn't want to alert them), it has a low battery warning light, it seems of good heavy construction and would take some hard work to break into. I really like that it has holes so you could secure it with a cable if you didn't want to mount it. Although a cable is not the ultimate in security, it would stop the quick grab and run thief. I LOVE that the low profile makes it easy to hide/mount and think this is one of it's best security features. Right now I have it in the bottom of my closet under some hanging shirts.., no one would know it was there without searching. I plan to mount it in my RV when we start traveling again.., I have a perfect place to put it.., with some items in front of the safe, (clothes, groceries, ect), it would not be a place a thief would suspect for a safe to be because it is short and a long rectangle, not square and/or tall, (like most safes big enough to fit a laptop would be). It could easily fit under a low bed and be bolted to the floor or to the underside of the bed with a cable.., with a bed skirt no one would know it was there. It has a nice, soft, foam thingy at the bottom to keep stuff from getting scratched, it came with 2 spare keys, batteries, and easy-to-follow instructions.
Cons: The "hidden" place where you can insert a key (if you have dead battery or forget code) is a little obvious to anyone who has had this type of safe.., if someone knew where you keep your keys it wouldn't be real secure. Also, I know it’s not an expensive safe, but I really wish the numbers on the buttons were backlit so you could see them in the dark.
I looked around, a lot.., this was the best deal I found for comparable safes, and the best price I found for this one. I'd very much recommend this safe.
That being said, if you want a safe that is fire and waterproof, cannot be torched open or blown open.., or you’re trying to keep something safe that a pro thief would be interested in.., you’re in the wrong price range/market. This is the best safe I could find for the under $250 range.
Note about gun safes: If you want to have fast access to a gun and still keep it safe from kids, visitors, or a would-be criminal that might get to it faster than you.., nothing is safer than keeping the gun and ammo locked in a safe that you can open quickly with a push-button code. No kids could figure this out unless you were dumb enough to let them know you have it and they know where your keys are. Also, the key entry is hidden behind a panel that pops off., I wish it were hidden better but it is hidden enough that most people (particurally kids) wouldn't know it was there so they wouldn't know to go looking for the key. Happy Shopping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Exactly what I needed

01/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large enough to store my laptop and all my other valuables. Easy to use and built strong. Exactly what I needed. All I wish is that the front face wasn't made of plastic and the key hole was harder to find, or better yet, didn't exist. A combination lock instead of the key lock would be a nice "alternative" entry mechanism. But don't get me wrong, this safe is great quality and at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

good value

02/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got it for storing laptops when we aren't home- plenty of room, sturdy enough, is not fire proof, not for this price- easy access, room for 3 laptops plus other stuff, just bolted it into a closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Huge!

07/28/2011
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty Large and good quality. Beefy Box that works as advertised. I'm sure it can be broken into as ANY of these safes can be no matter the size, fireproofing, type of lock etc Just youtube them and you'll see what I mean. It is a deterrent and that's what we were looking for.
Versatile mounting options. Plan to secure this one (I won't say where!) and fireproof the area, so the savings versus others is a great deal.
Only con i can see is if you mount it vertical, it's hard to open the door with the little turn handle. Not enough grip. If we were to mount it this way I would add a steel pulling handle and be good to go.
As always painless walmart.com shopping, price comparisons, reviews and super fast shipping. A def recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Great security safe

10/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent security safe and a great value at Wal-Mart. Bought it primary for dorm use to lock up laptop and other small valuables. Has mounting holes in back and bottom, can be used with cable system to secure around larger fixture (I.E. Bunk beds cross members that would require removal. Unit is heavy duty and heavy, making is a bit of a chore to transport let alone break into. While not fireproof, this unit is far more secure than the Sentry products made for fire than security. If security is your primary need, get it. If fire (without security) look for something else. If both fire and security is necessary be prepared to pay a lot more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Excellent safe!

05/03/2010
By ,
charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This came weeks ahead of the estimated arrival date and in excellent condition. The code is very easy to program and the holes in the back are spaced perfectly apart for most wall studs. If that is your preferred method, be ready with a stud finder and drill and this will be done in no time. Easily can fit a large laptop plus many other items; I put a 9mm Ruger and smaller lockbox in it and ammo boxes. I think most people complaining about the combination not working forget to hit the # after entering the code but mine works great! This might be larger than it appears online but great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Great safe

12/02/2010
By ,
Pawhuska, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this safe several months ago, and am very happy with it. I use it to store jewelry, ammo, and 3 pistols. Plenty of room for a colt 45, ruger 380, pk380, 8boxes of ammo, and more!
The combination is very easy to set.
I fastened mine to the wall on top of a larger gun safe.
I don't think too many thieves will take the time to try to pry it open or pry it off the wall, would take too much time, and they want to get in and out fast.
I would recommend this safe to anyone who wants to keep their valuables safe.
Use the supplied hardware to secure it, and you can rest easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Function,Value and Security

09/21/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Strong Box provides security for almost any household, large or small. Money, Jewelry, Small Arms etc.., can be kept in this unit. Important papers and electronics could be stowed as well.
The size is perfect for a dorm. It can hold 2 large lap tops with ease. It can be mounted on a shelf in a closet or almost any solid flat object and the hardware is included. Great for keeping the weapons secure and away from everyone,when not in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Nice for the price

06/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this safe for the specific purpose of locking up my handgun and keeping it safe from children. For this particular purpose I am thoroughly satisfied. This safe would not keep out a determined thief, however, as it would not offer any resistance to a cutting torch nor an angle grinder with a cutting disc. It does do a fne job of keeping my handgun safe from children or curious visitors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Stack-on safe = perfect gift

03/25/2011
By ,
SE Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a friend who has a bunch of pistols. He absolutely LOVED this gift. He hasn't stopped talking about it. It was a bargain at $80.00, but I got it at a clearance price of $65.00 which was an unbelievable deal. Quick shipping to my home was a plus as well. I highly recommend this product to anyone who owns firearms, laptops, camera's, jewelry or anything you want to protect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Great Safe

07/21/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked all over for a gun safe for our home. We saw this one online and ordered and we love it. We love the size of the safe for the price. We were finding much smaller safes for the same price elsewhere. It holds a lot more than just our guns. We also use it for other valuables. It is large enough to store our valuables but small enough to fit in our closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Perfect for the Price

09/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a laptop safe for college. Just the right size for 17" or slighty larger laptop, with plenty of room to spare for all the other valuables. Requires a 1/4" cable lock to secure unless you drill-out the 5/16" holes larger. I did a lot of web searching, and you'd have to spend twice this amount to get a safe comparable to this one in size and features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

GREAT PRODUCT

07/09/2010
By ,
CHARLESTON, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I spent ages looking for a good safe. Although we never saw this safe in the store, we saw it online and bought it based off of the reviews. Well, let me tell you - it stood up to the reviews. It is much larger than expected. Always you have to a key and/or electronic access. Sturdy. It's a great safe, and we would recommend it for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Good value

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this safe primarily to house my laptop, 2 netbooks, and several external drives when not in use. It serves the purpose. It is not waterproof or fireproof, but for the money it was a good value. Now, I don't have to worry about my PC equipment out in the open if we are not home for an extended period of time (traveling, on vacation, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

Works Perfectly!

12/07/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was larger than I thought it would be. It works very well so far and is easy to operate. I could easily fit 2 possibly 3 laptops, several hand held games, phones, touch pads or phones. There is an egg crate pad on the bottom that helps prevent scraping the items inside. Would recommend and/or purchase again if I needed another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

better than expected

08/23/2011
By ,
tucson, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read the reviews on this and decided that it is what i needed. it turned out to be more than i expected. i do think it would be hard to get into except if someone ran off with it so it would be best to install it to a wall or put it in a secure cabinet and it is exactly what i wanted
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

College Gift

08/12/2010
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect college gift, it's large enough to fit a laptop, several other medium sized items, and plenty of paper work. Also it's small enough to slip under a dorm bed. I disliked how the dorr rattles, but that was easily fixed by putting foam along the edge of the door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

plenty of space

08/10/2010
By ,
Philly, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plenty of space. I have about ten boxes of ammo, 3 full clips, a semi auto, a revolver, and 3 speed loaders. and still have space for other things like a tactical flashlight. it's a great deal. keep the guests and kids away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On Strong Box Computer Safe With Electronic Lock

too good!

01/25/2013
By ,
Orange CA!!!!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got mine today (not the bio-metric one)
at first i thought the order was messed up due to the box size, turns out the safe is just huge!
way more than what i expected. you could probably fit 5 laptops stacked and still have plenty of side and front space.
nobody else has mentioned this, but it comes with a fluffee padding for the inside floor which nicely covers the bottom holes for screwing on to any surface. comes with some of its own nails too do so as well but they're questionable.
the plastic lock degrades it but doesn't make a difference really, i doubt anybody could get their hands in it while bolted down.
all in all definitely feels strong, sturdy and well worth its money... didn't even need to wait a whole week to receive it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next