Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Stack-On Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Stack-On 10 Gun Safe has been tested by a certified California Department of Justice laboratory and is rated as an approved Firearm Safety Container. For added storage, the Stack-On gun cabinet includes a removable shelf which is positioned in the front of the unit so longer guns can be stored along the back wall. There is a gap between the back of the shelf and the back wall of the safe. Includes a 3-number combination lock with a drill-resistant, hardened steel plate behind the lock for greater security. This gun safe is a security-safe; it is not fire rated.
Average Customer Rating:
4.358 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%63 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

What's not to like

02/23/2010
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a safe not a fire-proof vault and once you understand that what's not to like? Set-up was easy and just one little shipping ding was found on the edge of the door (bumped out quickly). I fastened it to the floor and wall in less than 20 minutes (I bought my own concrete lag fasteners as the ones provided aren't the easiest to install).
I bought the 10-gun safe and used 6 rifle slots and made shelves to fit into the remaining four rifle spaces and store 6 handguns and ammo on the shelves with 2 extra spaces for new handguns or other stuff(shelf size each = 6" X 8.25").
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 2 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Great Safe for the price

11/30/2009
By ,
Orange County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't know what to expect, but am totally happy with the product. Once you have your guns and ammo in the safe it becomes very heavy and stable. Highly recommended if you are on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 3 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Stack-On 10-Gun Safe

09/27/2009
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, service and price with a delivery price of $0.0. The price if I had purchase at another site would have ran at $600.00 vice the $300.00 AT WALMART. My only regret is the older style combo lock vice the push button electronic lock. I can't change the combination. Again WALMART... excellent!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 4 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Poor quality hardware

03/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe I received was more or less as I expected it to be. Just about standard with a few blemishes in the finish. But I want I want to warn everyone that the mounting hardware is very poor quality. They utilize plastic anchors and a very low quality steel bolt. For instance the head of the bolt snapped off before I could finish tightening. do yourself a big favor and go spend another 10 dollars on good quality hardware when anchoring to the floor.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 5 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Good Gun safe good value

10/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pay attention to the dimensions! Easily fits sideways on the left or right side wall of a regular size closet and still leaves room for clothing to be hung. It is heavy and cannot easily be man handled any distance or up stairs by one man
It will hold 10 long arms- mix of shotguns and rifles but really intended for 8 especially if rifles are scoped. Rests are a bit tight for doubles. Must be anchored to the wall for safety. Upper shelf will accomodate two large frame pistols and two boxes of ammunition. I am totally satisfied. Definitely a good deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Stack-On 10 Gun Safe

05/14/2010
By ,
Corona, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The safe was very nice except for the chipped paint on the door. The Combo-Lock was nice looking and had a nice feel to the dial. The box was torn but the safe was not damaged during shipment. The paint chips looked like they happened in the factory. The 10 gun safe should be rated for 7 or 8 guns because of the other items normally put in the safe with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 7 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Worth the price

04/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the safe yesterday (two days before expected delivery date) and had some pros and cons:
Pros:
- Price
- Quick service (less than a week from order to delivery).
- Well designed packaging (no shipping damage).
- Well finished.
- Locking system / front door solid and works smoothly
Note: Front door is <heavy> and you must bolt the cabinet to the floor or it will tip forward if not bolted down. (Not bothered about the lack of fireproofing since I live literally 1/4 mile from the fire station.)
Cons:
- If you are planing on storing carbine length rifles (M1 carbine, Mini 14, various "evil black rifles") you will find that the barrel rest are mounted way too high on the back to hold the barrels. Plan on mounting them lower or putting in spacers on the bottom to raise the rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

A bit small, but good overall value.

07/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
People who own gun safes always say: "Buy one bigger than you need because you will always need more room". This 10 gun safe may hold 10 rifles, but it will be snug, and you won't fit much else.
It's a well built, good looking stong box. This safe is much better than just a gun cabinet, yet is not fireproof like the more expensive models. When mounted correctly it should keep most smash and grab criminals out, but with enough time, no safe is perfect.
WalMart's price is one of thel lowest in the industry on this safe. I would recommend this safe to anyone in need of securing their valuables, not just rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 9 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

It's works for me

04/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For under 300 bucks it's not a bad deal. It came undamaged and well packed. Good carrier I guess.
I took all the rifle stand offs, out and set it up for pistols only. I bolted it to the floor with four 1/2" expansion anchors and it dont move. It's 20 3/4" wide, 12 5/8" deep and 55 1/4" tall.
Only thing I didn't like is the numbers on the lock are very hard to see being it's all shiny brass. If the numbers and lines between were black or red it would be a lot better. I'm happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 10 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Great Safe

07/28/2010
By ,
Miller Place, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe came as advertised !! It arrived in undamaged and not a scratch on it. It had more accessories inside then I thought and is a great value for the price. I recommend this product and the $.97 shipping. A previous rating said the dial is hard to read and I agree its touch especially in low light situations, but its a sharp looking safe. Very sound and secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

excellent value

03/16/2010
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Stack-On gun safe and was purchased to handle the overflow from my larger safe. Very well made & does exactly what it's intended to do (since it's not fireproof). Combination lock works very smoothly. Size-wise, you can put it pretty much anywhere. Terrific mix of value and quality for a gun safe. MUCH better than having a locking gun cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

It was a good value

07/12/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this safe less than a year ago for $250 dollars free freight to local store. At that price this was a good value after improving upon the anchoring. The current price of $442 plus freight is simply not a good value. Consider the firerated safe for better value.
Apparently this a good example of how far the dollar has fallen or ???
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock
07/07/2010
By ,
Willard ,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Stack-On 10-Gun Safe is a product that I fill is well worth the money. I have already told two family members to get one. It seams to be a tight fit to get ten rifles in safe. Over all I'm well satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

good bang for the buck

08/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with the gun safe, a very good deal for the price, looks good too. It arrived in good condition, a couple of small nicks in the finish as others have noted, definitely happened at the factory. Otherwise I have no complaints. Remember to remove the serial number stickers off of the exterior of the safe to prevent someone from calling in and getting the combination from the manufacturer. The hardware to secure it to the floor/wall is 3/8 x 3 inch hex head screws with plastic inserts. I replaced these with carriage bolts since I installed the safe on the main floor by bolting it through the floor (have access underneath in the basement). For securing into concrete, I would suggest a trip to the hardware store to get a better grade of concrete fastener.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Great Bang For The Buck

04/02/2010
By ,
Parsippany,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product for someone thats on a budget. It met all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

See it Before You Buy It

07/11/2010
By ,
Olathe, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe looks good online and is rated in California as a real Gun Safe. The product was delivered by a driver who removed it carefully from the truck and put it in my garage. When I opened the safe I had difficulty opening and closing the door. The safe was damaged as there was a large dent on the bottom right front near the corner which damaged the door opening. This was a large dent and there was paint chipped off. The safe would not sit level on the floor but was unstable. The tumbler dial was very poor quality but it worked. It appears that the box it came in was not secured to a wooden pallet which could have protected it from damage. Before you buy a safe like this you should really have a close look at it considering how long you're likely to have it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-5points
Review 17 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Gun safe

03/10/2010
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product arrived damaged and was also defective. There was no obvious damage when it arrived by truck to my home. When I opened it, the was a dent on the top, back, left hand corner of the safe. The front of the safe had a wide 2" scratch on it. When I tried to open the product, the door was sitting on the jam. I had to physically pick up the door to open it. I took it back to Walmart for a refund. I have ordered another safe as it seems to be worth what I paid for it had it not been damaged or defective. To be continued...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 18 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Economy Product

01/02/2011
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product arrived within 2 to 2.5 weeks (ordered on 12/1/2010, shipped to NJ) in good order. 3rd Party shipper was flexible with delivery schedule and came exactly on time. Safe comes in factory box surrounded by styrofoam, but you should check condition before shipper leaves - mine was perfect. Safe looks exactly as it does in the picture - hunter green with gold colored hardware/accents. 150 lbs, easy for one person to move with normal hand truck, up stairs, etc. I was expecting safe to be constructed of thicker metal, as it is less than 1/8" thick. This safe MUST be bolted down to the floor or wall studs in order to be secure, as it would be easy to carry off the safe otherwise. The mounting hardware included with the safe is made for wood studs or flooring, so if securing to a concrete floor or masonry wall, you must buy the correct anchors and bolts (3/8"). Four pre-drilled holes are provided in the floor of the safe, and some in the back for the same purpose (4?). There is also a larger (1" or so hole which will accomodate an electrical plug for a dehumidifier or light. All in all, I'm happy with mine but I would not pay more than $300 including shipping. If this is the safe for you, wait until it's on sale and qualifies for $.97 cent shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Great Safe for a Respectable Price

09/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is listed as a 10 gun safe. If you have collapsable stocks or scopes itll be more or less an 8 gun safe. This safe is very sturdy and intimedating. You cannot find a better safe for a lower price. $318 is amazing! The safe has some places to store things on the inside but its relatively cramped so I jsut keep my guns, ammo and most valuable possessions in there (no gun cleaning stuff). This comes with predrilled holes to mount to the wall or the floor. Very simple to do and it is a must. The door is actually so think and heavy that if you open the door (while it isnt mounted) the safe will fall forward. Thats a little awkward but once mounted it is formidable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Stack-On 10-Gun Safe With Combination Lock

Best Bang for ya Buck!

08/25/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe came in a pretty damaged box, however the safe was pristine inside. Only paint that chipping on the whole safe was on the upper flange of the door, had to happen when the safe was open since the door is recessed. Overall a very nice safe especially for the money and basically free shipping. Only thing i would have liked to see are mounting brackets for more shelves, i'll have to figure something out to add more shelves since it will be for handguns and only a couple long guns. The dial was very easy to read, even in my poorly lit garage, the numbers are painted black now i guess. Door opened very smoothly and the dial movement is spot on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next