Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Protege Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Protege Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Ideal for weekend excursions, trips to the Laundromat and everything in between, the versatile Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag in Black features roomy side and front pockets for storing accessories and smaller items. It conveniently unzips from a small bag to a larger 32" bag to accommodate every travel need. Plus, this rolling duffel meets airline check-in restrictions. An adjustable, detachable shoulder strap enables easy transport, and easy-glide wheels lighten the load while you're rushing to your destination. This rolling duffel bag features sturdy 600 denier polyester construction, which durably protects the contents inside. It's also very easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(520 Reviews) 431
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
147
3 stars
36
2 stars
22
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation88%456 out of 519reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 438 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
147
3 stars
36
2 stars
22
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Nice bag but rips open at seam after air travel

04/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bag and just what I thought I needed for last-minute checked baggage on airline. And the contents did survive. But it was close -- the end of the bag was ripped after just 1 one-way trip (2 flights) with just 40 lbs of clothes (nothing sharp or hard) in it.
After I bought it, I noticed we had a smaller version of the same item already in the house ... and it was ripped in exactly the same place.
So it's convenient and a great price, holds a lot and zips up empty to a small size for storage or taking along, but as an airline checked bag I wouldn't trust it again to not have things fall out. The stitching on the end seams is just not reliable. (See photo attached.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

surprisingly sturdy for such a lightweight duffel

02/15/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, we dragged it over curbs through snow and slush to get to a pier in NYC where we then wheeled it through the puddle filled terminal where it was unceremoniously dumped among other luggage while it was transported to the ship. After 8 days of rest, it was overstuffed, crammed with souvenirs, clothes and other assorted stuff, manhandled by curbside porters, crammed into the trunk of a car and then dragged through more NYC snow and slush... and it survived! No broken wheels and the handles didn't break. What's even more incredible to me is that I, yes, me..the lady who has trouble trying to zip her own jacket had no problem smushing it together and zipping the zipper to turn it back into the neat little space saving duffel bag that looked just like it did when I first received it. It's a good buy especially for the price. You can fit sooo much into this duffel bag. Since it's lived up to my expectations I'm going to take it to the Jersey shore this summer. I hope it appreciates it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

A great value for what it is.

07/18/2012
By ,
Tanzania, East Africa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a cheap duffel bag that folds down to almost nothing. This is a great piece of luggage for a one way trip. If you're moving or carrying a lot overseas, it's brilliant!
Pros:
It's lightweight - your precious luggage allowance is not taken up by a frame inside the bag.
It rolls - no matter what you put in it, anyone can move it because of the wheels at the end.
Looks - it's about as nondescript as it can get: black duffel bag
Velcro on the handle - makes it easy to just pick up and go
Shoulder strap
Side pockets - for easy access to necessary items
Storage - when not in use, it folds down into the wheel end and then zips up into a nice compact lump, great for keeping in a closet or carrying with you as an extra bag on a long trip.
Cons:
Looks - best to attach a label or ribbon for easy identification on a luggage carousel.
Durability - it's made of thin nylon, so I wouldn't be too rough with it.
Overall a very useful piece of luggage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great for Football Gear

09/30/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone has talked about using their bag for flights, but I actually purchased the bag to help my middle schooler haul around his football gear: shoulder pads, helmet, cleats, etc. Another kid on the team has a name brand bag and when my son told me he wanted a bag like his to carry around his equipment, my first thought was "yeah right, I'm not spending $60-70 for a brand name bag for him throw it around on the bus and locker room." I looked at the Walmart site and found this one. It is actually larger than the kid's brand name bag and works great! Thankfully my son didn't care about the name brand and he truly wanted to make it easier to take the equipment to school every day. (I didn't ask him before I ordered it but I knew I wasn't going to pay a big price, so for $14 I went for it.) He's had it for over a week, and last night told me how much he likes his bag and that it's so much better hauling the equipment around now. As a mother of 2 teens, I was impressed that my 13 year old boy actually thought to tell me how much he liked it. I highly recommend this bag if your child has lots of bulky items to carry around!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great travelling bag for super reasonable price

02/20/2014
By ,
Massachusettes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the numerous reviews and decided to get this bag to carry 50ibs of clothing & shoes to a trip to Africa. I must say, i was a bit concerned about the bag possibly ripping due the the hustle and handling involved in cross country transit flights, but i was proven wrong. Bag is still in excellent condition. for a $14 duffel bag, you cant beat it. our bags were misplaced for 5 days, and when we received our bags, this bag was in excellent condition, my wife's expensive luggage actually ended up being bubble wrapped cause it was ripped during the hustle. All in all, this is a great buy, and one cool feature about this bag is, it folds into a flat pack for compact storage, taking up as little storage space as possible. Cant wait for my next cross country trip.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great Bag and Great Value- Easy STorage

01/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bag just held up wonderfully for me for an international flight from the US to India. I was concerned about it after reading one of the reviews not recommending it for air travel. I think it depends on what you put in it. I had 40 lbs. of clothes only. It arrived completely intact. I shopped around to Walmart, Ross and Target before buying the bag. I returned a bag that was smaller, flimsier fabric, and $30 at Target. The fabric is durable. I wouldn't expect the quality of Tumi or Samsonite for $14. My favorite feature is that expanded it holds a LOT of clothes, then shrinks down for easier storage into my other suitcases. I wouldn't put anything like toiletries, electronics, etc. in any duffel bag. Who can beat this price?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+211points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
32" Duffle bag information.
Posted 07/10/2011
Is this bag capable to hold other stuff besides clothes?? I am planning to go india next month or after that, but just curious to know more about this bag. I will appretiate your help on this though..
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

NICE PRODUCT

12/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bag for the price. I use this bag to haul my umpire equipment from park to park, tourney to tourney, and holds great!. I would have made it with bigger tires and some sort of corner protections. Bigger wheels because is kind of hard to have clearance from the ground once the bag is full and the angle is pull. Reinforcement of the wheel well and corners for the fabric to last longer and absorbs the impacts of traveling in airlines, if need be. Overall and satisfied with the product, hope to see a revised version in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Piece of junk

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bag is very cheaply made and poorly engineered. First time I tried to close the zipper it separated from the closure flap (whatever that may be called officially) over a distance of over 6 inches. If the fabric had simply been turned back a bit before the seam to the zipper had been sewn that wouldn't have happened. As it was, it only had to pull a few threads loose from the weave to separate. When I returned it, the woman in customer service told me that was the second one to be returned that day. Highly disrecommended...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

plenty of room

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased for a plane trip with my family. We were able to put all of our clothes for a family of 4, plus 4 towels in this bag. It held up well through the airport baggage department. When we returned home I checked the bag for any wear or damage and it was in great shape. I zipped it up in it's small form and stored it away for another trip. This bag is a great bargain and holds a lot of stuff. It is very light weight, and folds/zips up into a compact bag that is so easy to store. I think it is a good value, and will see more use from us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

It's Great!

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several of these in the past 2 years. It is durable. I have put a small generator in it with foam packaging along with other items and took it from CA to Haiti. It arrived in perfect condition. I love that it zips up to the size of a medium purse (13"X12"X1") when not in use. It is great for our college student to take stuff for college in it, and then stow it away until she needs to move out. The roller wheels work great too. It holds the content of a regular 26-27" suitcase. And it is so inexpensive! I could go through 10 of these for the price of one of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great Value

11/27/2011
By ,
Lawrence, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little concerned when I first saw the bag because it seemed a little thin and flimsy but, it held up quite well on my international flight with one connection. I just moved from the US to Switzerland so I wanted a big, cheap, extra bag with wheels to take as much stuff with me as I could. It doesn't get any cheaper than $14. Another reviewer suggested packing only clothing in it for any air travel. I put a couple of books and a tripod in the middle and surrounded them with nothing but clothing. The bag and all of my belongings arrived without a mark on them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

lasted one trip one way

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not durable. had two and both wore thru the material during one trip one way.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great Bag for the price!

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large size bag, when expanded, which allows to fit a lot of stuff.
When not in use it can be folded to a convenient small sleeve - perfect to take with you - in case you need to go for a trip without bags and need to bring things when you come back.
The smart design and the smooth rolling wheels gives it a proportional weight balance making easy to carry it around.
I am completely satisfied!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Holds a Lot

12/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It has a capacity equivalent to a 30" suitcase. I had stuffed it to weigh 50 lbs, maximum allowed by the airline. I travelled a little more than 10,000 miles (one way) with two stopovers. It arrived absolutely fine.
Not bad at all for such a low price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Cancer warning label

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is a warnings label attached to this product to inform the buyer that it contains materials known to cause cancer and birth defects.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Excellent choice

03/26/2011
By ,
Conover WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just what we need for a second bag for those extra purchases on a trip. The fold up bag easily fits in the first bag. It is sturdy and does well even on international flights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Wow! Only $14!

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I receive this item I thought wow a big bag inside of a very small bag. It is a very useful, big, spaceous bag. I would recommend this bag to anyone taking a trip. I used this bag for me and my two boys when we went to Memphis, TN for Thanksgiving .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

as advertised

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
looks promising, but I won't have an evaluation completed until I return from flying to see my mom for Christmas
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great bag for the price!

10/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bag 2 or 3 years ago for $14 and it's wonderful! It's huge so you can fit everything in it, the wheels work great (they work best if your bag is full). I am buying another becuase it finally ripped when we had freshly sharpened hockey skates in it, duh!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Cheap and secure solution for international travel

09/25/2011
By ,
Indianapolia, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this bag for international travel (check-in luggage) and carried 50 pounds weight in it.
You can easily put 50 pounds into this bag --- a bit of playing tetris and you can get even more weight inside the bag. Here is a cheap and secure solution to carrying you valuables:
Step 1. Put your belongings into this bag
Step 2. Go straight to the airport SecureWrap service. For $9 they wrap you luggage in a tamperproof plastic film.
I carried an Xbox, perfumes, clothes, designer kitchen accessories, electronics and kids toys. I would not use this bag without SecureWrap though. With 50 pounds weight, it might rip with the handling at airports.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 432 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next