Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Protege Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Protege Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Ideal for weekend excursions, trips to the Laundromat and everything in between, the versatile Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag in Black features roomy side and front pockets for storing accessories and smaller items. It conveniently unzips from a small bag to a larger 32" bag to accommodate every travel need. Plus, this rolling duffel meets airline check-in restrictions. An adjustable, detachable shoulder strap enables easy transport, and easy-glide wheels lighten the load while you're rushing to your destination. This rolling duffel bag features sturdy 600 denier polyester construction, which durably protects the contents inside. It's also very easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(600 Reviews) 511
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
169
3 stars
40
2 stars
24
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation87%522 out of 599reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 452 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
169
3 stars
40
2 stars
24
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Nice bag but rips open at seam after air travel

04/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bag and just what I thought I needed for last-minute checked baggage on airline. And the contents did survive. But it was close -- the end of the bag was ripped after just 1 one-way trip (2 flights) with just 40 lbs of clothes (nothing sharp or hard) in it.
After I bought it, I noticed we had a smaller version of the same item already in the house ... and it was ripped in exactly the same place.
So it's convenient and a great price, holds a lot and zips up empty to a small size for storage or taking along, but as an airline checked bag I wouldn't trust it again to not have things fall out. The stitching on the end seams is just not reliable. (See photo attached.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

surprisingly sturdy for such a lightweight duffel

02/15/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, we dragged it over curbs through snow and slush to get to a pier in NYC where we then wheeled it through the puddle filled terminal where it was unceremoniously dumped among other luggage while it was transported to the ship. After 8 days of rest, it was overstuffed, crammed with souvenirs, clothes and other assorted stuff, manhandled by curbside porters, crammed into the trunk of a car and then dragged through more NYC snow and slush... and it survived! No broken wheels and the handles didn't break. What's even more incredible to me is that I, yes, me..the lady who has trouble trying to zip her own jacket had no problem smushing it together and zipping the zipper to turn it back into the neat little space saving duffel bag that looked just like it did when I first received it. It's a good buy especially for the price. You can fit sooo much into this duffel bag. Since it's lived up to my expectations I'm going to take it to the Jersey shore this summer. I hope it appreciates it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Handy for 9 Years!!!!

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents bought me two of these bags back when I was in college which I have used for everything. I have used them for weekend roadtrips, short flights from San Francisco to Los Angelas, I have filled them to the brim to move across country, many international flights to Asia, Europe, S. America, etc (about 14 total international trips) and they just recently have begun giving out on me. Of course I wouldn't be able to guarantee that they would last that on average for everyone. however I personally wouldn't be more satisfied for the $14 they cost.
On one, the stitching is getting lose, but I do usually fill them to the brim; so I would feel this was bound to eventually happen. The other one as well was getting a little lose at the stitching, however on my last trip to Greece on of the plastic tires broke; therefore I tossed it.
None the less, I would definitely recommend these bags for the quality and price.
I personally and about to purchase another for my trip next week to London.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

A great value for what it is.

07/18/2012
By ,
Tanzania, East Africa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a cheap duffel bag that folds down to almost nothing. This is a great piece of luggage for a one way trip. If you're moving or carrying a lot overseas, it's brilliant!
Pros:
It's lightweight - your precious luggage allowance is not taken up by a frame inside the bag.
It rolls - no matter what you put in it, anyone can move it because of the wheels at the end.
Looks - it's about as nondescript as it can get: black duffel bag
Velcro on the handle - makes it easy to just pick up and go
Shoulder strap
Side pockets - for easy access to necessary items
Storage - when not in use, it folds down into the wheel end and then zips up into a nice compact lump, great for keeping in a closet or carrying with you as an extra bag on a long trip.
Cons:
Looks - best to attach a label or ribbon for easy identification on a luggage carousel.
Durability - it's made of thin nylon, so I wouldn't be too rough with it.
Overall a very useful piece of luggage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great for Football Gear

09/30/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone has talked about using their bag for flights, but I actually purchased the bag to help my middle schooler haul around his football gear: shoulder pads, helmet, cleats, etc. Another kid on the team has a name brand bag and when my son told me he wanted a bag like his to carry around his equipment, my first thought was "yeah right, I'm not spending $60-70 for a brand name bag for him throw it around on the bus and locker room." I looked at the Walmart site and found this one. It is actually larger than the kid's brand name bag and works great! Thankfully my son didn't care about the name brand and he truly wanted to make it easier to take the equipment to school every day. (I didn't ask him before I ordered it but I knew I wasn't going to pay a big price, so for $14 I went for it.) He's had it for over a week, and last night told me how much he likes his bag and that it's so much better hauling the equipment around now. As a mother of 2 teens, I was impressed that my 13 year old boy actually thought to tell me how much he liked it. I highly recommend this bag if your child has lots of bulky items to carry around!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

OMG. Great packable 2nd travel bag.

05/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a bag that I could pack within my main luggage in case we bought lots of stuff on our trip and needed a 2nd luggage to carry everything home :). This did the job (we carried all our purchases in our luggage and our clothes in this duffel). This is the ONLY bag I could find that (1) is TOUGH enough to go through check-in (2) FOLDS down very flat (so fits within our main luggage) and (3) has WHEELS!!! Let me repeat - has wheels! and a grab handle to pull it by. Tough fabric, can easily wheel around 45lb of clothes (which we did). We also use this for car camping - ha, now our old "non-wheelie" duffels aren't getting much use because they're just to heavy to carry. Comes with a shoulder strap, but never use it. Useful end pocket (mesh) and side pocket (both zippable). Love it and plan on buying at least 1 more. Great value - thanks Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great Bag and Great Value- Easy STorage

01/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bag just held up wonderfully for me for an international flight from the US to India. I was concerned about it after reading one of the reviews not recommending it for air travel. I think it depends on what you put in it. I had 40 lbs. of clothes only. It arrived completely intact. I shopped around to Walmart, Ross and Target before buying the bag. I returned a bag that was smaller, flimsier fabric, and $30 at Target. The fabric is durable. I wouldn't expect the quality of Tumi or Samsonite for $14. My favorite feature is that expanded it holds a LOT of clothes, then shrinks down for easier storage into my other suitcases. I wouldn't put anything like toiletries, electronics, etc. in any duffel bag. Who can beat this price?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+235points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
32" Duffle bag information.
Posted 07/10/2011
Is this bag capable to hold other stuff besides clothes?? I am planning to go india next month or after that, but just curious to know more about this bag. I will appretiate your help on this though..
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Good Bag, Bad Shoulder Strap

06/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bag worked very well for me during my vacation. It survived the trip down and almost made it back home before the cheap plastic clasps on the shoulder strap broke. I have a spare shoulder strap that I will use with this bag, so it's not all bad news. It did manage to last through four days of camping and much abuse with out any other problems so while they may want to rethink their shoulder strap clasps they did good with the rest of the design.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Protege 32". Expandable Rolling Duffle BG

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The people who received these duffle bags really liked them. They are roomy and sturdy. The atyvare a great value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great Value

11/27/2011
By ,
Lawrence, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little concerned when I first saw the bag because it seemed a little thin and flimsy but, it held up quite well on my international flight with one connection. I just moved from the US to Switzerland so I wanted a big, cheap, extra bag with wheels to take as much stuff with me as I could. It doesn't get any cheaper than $14. Another reviewer suggested packing only clothing in it for any air travel. I put a couple of books and a tripod in the middle and surrounded them with nothing but clothing. The bag and all of my belongings arrived without a mark on them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great travelling bag for super reasonable price

02/20/2014
By ,
Massachusettes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the numerous reviews and decided to get this bag to carry 50ibs of clothing & shoes to a trip to Africa. I must say, i was a bit concerned about the bag possibly ripping due the the hustle and handling involved in cross country transit flights, but i was proven wrong. Bag is still in excellent condition. for a $14 duffel bag, you cant beat it. our bags were misplaced for 5 days, and when we received our bags, this bag was in excellent condition, my wife's expensive luggage actually ended up being bubble wrapped cause it was ripped during the hustle. All in all, this is a great buy, and one cool feature about this bag is, it folds into a flat pack for compact storage, taking up as little storage space as possible. Cant wait for my next cross country trip.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Value for money

06/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big enough to hold 50 lbs
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

perfect!

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter used this for camp and it is absolutely perfect! Fits a weeks worth of clothes, plus towels and personal items. Going to buy another one for my other daughter!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Cheap and secure solution for international travel

09/25/2011
By ,
Indianapolia, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this bag for international travel (check-in luggage) and carried 50 pounds weight in it.
You can easily put 50 pounds into this bag --- a bit of playing tetris and you can get even more weight inside the bag. Here is a cheap and secure solution to carrying you valuables:
Step 1. Put your belongings into this bag
Step 2. Go straight to the airport SecureWrap service. For $9 they wrap you luggage in a tamperproof plastic film.
I carried an Xbox, perfumes, clothes, designer kitchen accessories, electronics and kids toys. I would not use this bag without SecureWrap though. With 50 pounds weight, it might rip with the handling at airports.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

for the price it exceeds my expectations

02/25/2012
By ,
San Diego Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The material of this bag is exceptional and to my surprise extremely strong it is very strong for the price paid for it although if you intend to over stuff it with heavy item's then you are asking for it, because the zippers are not as strong as the material. This bag is meant for normal use like laundry, gym and light travel.
Other reviews mentioned how some people where traveling on airlines when their bags did not survive the punishment of the bag handlers even though they admitted that their bags where over stuffed with extremely heavy souvenirs made of either wood or metal and golf clubs and their bags where ripped or broke where the zippers were and they are not meant for that kind of heavy use's, I use it for laundry. PS this bag can last you a very long time if you treat it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Convent and spacious.

06/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had an overnight wedding to go to and it was perfect to put all necessaries, except dress clothing into. Still had more room if needed. I was easy to roll through the hotel. Just love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Affordable & space saving!

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 'grows' huge! It's a great design .. we're a little worried about how it will hold up during airplane travel. The seams don't seem super secure, and the canvas is light weight. With the price, it's worth buying a few extras to bring along just in case!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

So so bag

06/11/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bag isn't bad but it needs the handle attachment to make it better. The pull on attachment isn't enough this bag needs support when you drag it. It's a good duffle bag but could be an even better roll on if it had the handle that goes up and down to carry items more efficiently. When full the bag would tip over and had to be manipulated in the upright position. I like how compact the bag was and how it could fold down flat and zipped up. Lastly the fabric could be made thicker to avoid tearing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Great bag for the price!

10/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bag 2 or 3 years ago for $14 and it's wonderful! It's huge so you can fit everything in it, the wheels work great (they work best if your bag is full). I am buying another becuase it finally ripped when we had freshly sharpened hockey skates in it, duh!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Protege 32" Expandable Rolling Duffel Bag, Black

Don't believe all the hype

06/03/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For $14 I'm sure its still an awesome deal for this bag, but don't necessarily believe all these raving reviews. Unfortunately I did and took a risk that I regretted. I packed it about 2/3 full of clothes only (nothing sharp or super heavy). It ripped before I arrived at the airport. I sewed it and put it in checked luggage. When I landed it had several new rips already. It just didn't seem well sewed.
Also its hard to roll because it doesn't have anything stiff to hold it vertical so you're basically just dragging a sack on wheels.
Still, if you need it for something less intensive than traveling its probably a good deal.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 512 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next