Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hyper Bicycles 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hyper Bicycles 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

The 20" Hyper Spinner Pro BMX Bike features alloy platform BMX pedals for pulling off the most awesome tricks and micro-drive front and rear sprockets for a smooth ride, even off-road. This Micro Drive 20" BMX Bike has a rotor up front for 360-degree handlebar rotation and thereby lets you experiment with various stunts more confidently. Decked out in a mean black paint job, BMX biking has never been as fun or easy as on the 20" Hyper Spinner Pro BMX Bike. The 20" Hyper Spinner Pro BMX Bike sturdy build and design makes it perfect for bikers just learning the ways of dirt biking and more experienced cyclists as well. Its multi-surface tires are highly versatile and thus aid you ride on all terrains with enhanced grip and control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.991 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation79%166 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Dont buy

05/30/2013
By ,
USA, Earth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i had this bike for a month and things are just breaking on it. the rear hub now needs to be replaced and the chain snapped. the original rear nuts were stamped metal and were really crooked, i replaced them. I didn't do anything crazy on it like extreme bmx tricks i just cruise on it and all this happened to it. from a fellow human to another don't buy this very terrible bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 2 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great bike and durable

05/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this bike about a month and a half ago and if you want a nice bike with looks i recommend this product. There were some bad parts about the bike like, the front hub was loose and i had to buy a new one, the seat is uncomfortable, the grips were slippery, and there were to many stickers. Overall its a good bike
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Not worth it

09/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My parents were getting this bike for me for my birthday. When i got it i loved it. That changed after about a month. When i got it everything was loose(sprocket/crank,front brakes, and handle bars).It started to be a problem though. i tightened everything, but the sprocket/crank was still loose. it actually just completely broke and i cant ride anymore. its absolutely NOT WORTH IT!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 4 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Beyond Expectations

05/28/2010
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this bike and took it to the skatepark, after removing the excess stuff to make it lighter it got to about 22lbs. its a very nice bike and the price was unbelievable. everything fit great and it rides as smoothe as butter. 3 of my friends are goin to buy the bike this summer now bc they thought it was awesome. only thing i wish this bike had was 3 piece cranks and it'd be super complete but its an awesome bike for any rider young to old. i absolutely love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+506points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mesa, az
-a quick question
Posted 05/25/2012
Just wondering what you were able to remove off the bike to make it lighter, I am thinking of getting this bike for my 16 year old, thanks
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

good bike for the value

07/20/2010
By ,
Davenport, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great bike for its value sure you guys take off a few little things that are pointless and i had to cut in the bars 1 7/8 inch on each side (most come wider than needed) the only down side ive had was the chain broke (link) but that may be because i tightened the wheel back too far. (my mistake) but other than the little things you dont need (reflectors, sprocket guard, front brakes, kickstand) its a nice solid bike and its a name brand :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 6 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great Bike Great Value

07/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a nice BMX style bike for my son that does not cost over $200. We found this one at Walmart and it really surprised us! My son love it and the fact that Mike Spinner's signature is on the bike. It did not hurt that Mike Spinner won the Dew Tour in Chicago this weekend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great for its price

10/15/2011
By ,
Morganville,Nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had bought this bike its works totally fine the only things were the bike had somethings a real BMX bike does not have. The pegs put to much weight on to the bike so i took them off before i even got home and started to ride it the peds are alloy so the take a lot of weight so i put blacklabel pedals on it i took the front brakes off and also bought new tires because the back tire burned out after 2 weeks and that way i got the weight down to 14 pounds it is great bike. i aslo have a 400 dollar Blacklabel and this bike is as good as that.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Its up to you

02/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i purchase3d this product and had it for about a week and the link broke the handle bars bent the rear ball bearing in the cassette driver burned out and took it back and got another one and moded it out to myself. the chain broke once again and i bought new rims new spokes new valve caps new bars new grips new driver new front hub and new pegs so the only thing that is a hyper is the frame and the cranks and the pedals but i bought new pedals and going to buy a new cranks check it out. I Did all the bike work my self and i am 14 years old.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Massachusetts
Pretty Good Bike
Posted 06/16/2011
I had this really cheap, but great bike for about 2 weeks, when the rear ball bearing broke... and it's probably because Wal-Mart set it up... they just put it together, they don't actually tighten anything... but other than that... great bike!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Spokane
Bike
Posted 06/12/2011
Hey i just bought a Subrosa and the previous owner repainted the frame and i don't like it, i always wanted to paint my bike exactly how you did yours, and i would like to know if you painted the rims yourself or bought them separately? thanks, for a fourteen year old that's impressive, i'm also 14.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Just put together... Assembly was easy...

12/07/2012
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we are going to be traveling for Christmas day, we decided to have the Elf on the Shelf put together the bike tonight.
As the Elf had a somewhat handy helper, the bike went together easy without instructions. When the instructions were needed to be frank they were unclear, but I would say that with the Elf and his helper we got it together in no time.
I did tighten all the bolts VERY tight and no signs of weak metal or any other concerns during assembly of the bike.
I will report back if we have any “longer” term issues with quality or workmanship.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

perfect for the price

11/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this a year ago and it is currently ferrari red it was gold but i had a accident from a jump so i painted it red the picture is gold and the other is red
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 11 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Very Cool Bike

10/10/2010
By ,
Longview, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a 20" bmx bike for my 8 year old son about 2 weeks ago from Walmart and noticed that I should update my bike as well and get out and ride with him. I decided to look for a stylish BMX bike as well so we both looked "cool" riding around our local park and lake. As soon as I saw this one I was sold. From the price to the looks to the features this bike was exactly what I was looking for. Probably not your first pick if you are going to hit the local BMX park and start doing triple backflips right away but a SUPER solid platform for any Rider of any skill and age. This bike brought me back to when I was my sons age (Can you say MIDLIFE crisis??) It has all the right looks, apparently the right setup for gearing and for a 35 year old man, a fairly comfortable seat!! This bike allowed me to look the part and enjoy a BMX ride with my son and at $100!! the first 5 minutes on this bike and the grin I had on my face was worth the price of the bike!!
In summary, a REALLY great bike at a rediculously great price!! BUY IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+307points
Review 12 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

AMAZING!!!

06/17/2010
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is perfect!! i got into the sport of BMX a year or two ago and my bike wasnt cutting it. so i went shopping for a new bike. i was about to pay $500 for a really good bike that performs really well. then i found this on the hyper website! from my favorite rider in BMX! AND ONLY $100! THATS AMAZING. the price is incredible. the bike is light(take off front brakes and kickstand and pegs) and performs AMAzINGLY. this bike is actually BETTER than the bike I was going to buy! its an actual bmx bike for tricks and oubviously can be ridden normally.
PROS: 25-9 GEARING! DOUBLE WALL RIMS! CHROMOLY DOWN TUBE ON FRAME! TITANIUM SPOKES! 2 PIECE HANDLEBARS!
CONS: 1 piece cranks.
the only problem is the cranks but are about 30-50 to replace for strong ones for actual bmxers. other wise this bike is PERFECT!
DEFINATELY recomended to any actual bmx riders!(chances are if you actually ride bmx you wont be on walmart.com but whatever)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great all around bike!

09/08/2014
By ,
Deltona, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is great for almost doing anything, the tyres are good in about any type of terrain or weather, haven't tried it in ice or snow yet. I can get a top speed of 22.4 MPH on a flat paved road and i'm 5'6" and weigh 124 LBS, the brakes are excellent even in wet conditions, (I ride it in the rain a lot). The chain is very strong, although is does have a slight popping noise when I go uphill every once in a while. One thing to mention is that the front tyre busted only after a month, and there were no nails inside it. I used Green Slime to fix it. Overall this bike is definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great Bike With Minor Removals

05/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a very good looking bike, unlike anything I've seen at Wal-Mart. But the front brakes are bad, and it is also very heavy. Solutions to both problems, take off the front brakes, (you're bmxing, they weigh you down). Second, just take off the pegs, the kickstand, and, like I said, the brakes (reflectors if your a dare devil). The bike starts at about 37 pounds, and doing what I said takes it down to about 28 pounds, which is really good considering at what it started at, and you don't have to buy anything. Its a great bike with a little bit of removing excess parts. (I suggest a plastic pair of pedals, I already hurt my shin).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thompson
Posted 03/30/2012
I know a lot about bikes and I have been cheaking this bike out for a while now and yes thank you for the tips on what to take off because it is a heavy bike with a lot of exstra parts
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

greeeeeeat

10/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike 3 years ago and it still rides just as great as my $450 bmx bike I have.You cant beat $99 thats very cheap for a quality bmx bike.I have been ridin bikes all mi life and this is the best by far.There isnt a trick or stunt out there you cant do with this bike.ITS FANOMINAL and name brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+896points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Hastings, MI
um... no
Posted 10/26/2013
this is one of the best bikes that you can purchase from walmart, but if you've been riding bikes your entire life and say ur able to do all these tricks you would know that this bike is not comparable to a 450$ as a stunt bike due to the weight, 1-piece crank, and very strange headset/stem setup.
0points
Customer Avatar
plattsburgh
Posted 08/26/2012
it means the rims
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/20/2011
when it says 20" is it talking about the wheels or the frame?
-3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

READ this review best one here

06/25/2010
By ,
hudson fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this bike after reading reviews it seemed good. not going to bust the bike its awesome. i have been doing real bmx for years i have owned alot of bikes. this one is good but its not a $1000 bike but it will ride you to it.
the truths this is just things i have read but have not seen.
bike will not weight 20-22 pounds i now this cuz i cut the seat post to a nub, cut 1" of each side of bars drilled them removed front brakes and gyro (replaces with a long single wire) replaced cranks with profile 3 piece cracks and shadow sprocket, removed pegs, replaced bars and forks from my fit. not double wall rims there single wall.
the good
only $100 bucks
looks good.
rides smooth.
its not 25-9 gearing its 26-10 which makes it easier to pedal with.
walmart offers a 1 year plan if anything breaks on it it will be good if anyone will ride it just as it is but i voided this plan lol
the bad
the weight
not much else have not had a problem with it.
everything works great as it was but check the bike before you buy it when i got mine i saw that the bike builder didnt now what he was doing at all things where paced wrong and just made the bike look bad but i didnt notice till i got home could have got me a discount probly.
overall review
GREAT buy, its a solid nice bike im going to buy another just to have for a spare for if its raining for something kinda as a throw around bike.
Dont buy this expecting a light super sweet bmx bike it wont match up to brands like fit,fly,eastern or subrosa. but it will be a GREAT starter bike for anyone looking to get a bike nd ride hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+337points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
hudson ma
my bike
Posted 05/28/2012
So what i did to my Spinner is took of the breaks, gyro, pegs and got a new chain it rides good and i'm getting a back break sometime, its a pretty good bike for 100!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ok bike
Posted 03/27/2012
Ok so ive had this bike for 4 weeks now and alot of things have happened to it really bad things. the chain keeps coming loose after i took off the back piece. my back tire is deformed and i think my chain skips a tooth on the sprocket i dnt know what it sounds like but my pedals kinda like click every time i pedal
+1point
Customer Avatar
help
Posted 02/15/2012
i bought this bike and i wanted to change the cranks to a 3 piece cranks so do you know where i can see like a tutorial and will i need to buy a new sprocket. thx
-1point
Customer Avatar
this bike!
Posted 09/18/2011
i have had problems with the back sprocket on the bike i bought it and 2 weeks later the back rem went out its going to cost me as much as the bike its self to replace the rim!
0points
Customer Avatar
Dallastown,PA
AWESOME BIKE!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 08/16/2011
This bike is awesome. Ive it for 1 day now was riding and foot slid off pedal and fell on the tire but all and all its an AWESOME BIKE!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
Customer Avatar
Garden Grove
BEST BIKE EVER
Posted 05/30/2011
this bike is the best bike ever! great sprocket,great color,great seat,and great spead! i wouldnt be surpised if its sold in a pro shop.
+8points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 17 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Good Solid Bike

06/12/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one I bought for my son. He is 15. The first one lasted four years and he just plain wore it out. For the price of buying all the replacements parts it was just as good to buy another for the price of a new bike. It's a good bike for the money and he enjoys doing tricks on it. Would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great BMX Bike

07/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is great for the $100 price tag. It looks very cool and it rides very smooth. The breaks work good. The pegs are nice and this bike is not heavy at all. I left all of the pegs and the breaks on and this bike does not feel heavy. I just use this bike to ride around with a do a couple of tricks but not really. Overall, this is a great bike for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 19 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

Great little bike!

11/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12-year-old son picked out this bike and bought it with his birthday money, and I must say he made a FINE choice! It is a great little bike for the money. It looks sharp, rides great, and seems to be very well-made! Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+69points
Review 20 for 20" Hyper Spinner Pro Boys' BMX Bike, Black

HYPER BIKES SPINNER PRO

11/19/2009
By ,
AUSTIN TEXAS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow This Is A Great Bike For The Value.
Pros:
25-9 Gearing!!!
Brand Name Frame!!
Double Wall Rims
Cons:
1 Piece Cranks
Front Brakes
About 30+ Pounds
Use Just The Frame And It Is Still A Steal. Great For The Money I Would Recommend This To A Beginner Bmx'er!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+72points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA, Earth
Posted 05/30/2013
i am a beginner bmx'er and it broke into pieces, the rear hub and the chain that is....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next