Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Wire Bike Basket

Generic Wire Bike Basket

Carry groceries, books and other small items in style with this Wire Bike Basket. Extremely durable, this device attaches to most bike handlebars. The black wire basket includes hardware, which is fitted at the head set and front hub for secure mounting. These baskets are suitable for use on both men's and women's bicycles of varying styles. This wire bicycle basket can be used with 24", 26" and 28" bikes. It's fine mesh helps to keep even small items secure for the ride home. Made of a durable metal, this basket is a cinch to keep clean and is made of powder-coated wire so that it's resistant to both water and rust. It is a good option for those who use their bikes for everyday errands. The basket features a strong frame and struts along the bottom to provide ample support for heavier items.
Average Customer Rating:
3.741 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation76%65 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wire Bike Basket

In transferring the basket

03/13/2011
By ,
The Wilds Of California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In transferring the basket from my bike to my trike. I leaned a few trick that I would like to pass on to other that want to install a basket. 1. First use some tape to mark the height of the handle bars at the base of the large nut. 2. Next loosen the large nut with a 12 inch adjustable wrench and carefully lift up both the handle bars and the base nut as one. 3. Look inside and you will see ring with a stud in a grove of the fork housing and remove the ring. 4. Next place the basket bracket in where the you remove the groove ring. I found for the Schwinn Bicycle it was bracket facing down for the Schwinn Tricycle it was bracket facing up. 5. Slide the handle bars and large nut back into place and lightly tighten. 6. Install the bottom basket legs to the basket. 7. Take the wheel nut off using a15 MM wrench and place the basket leg on to the studs. 8. This where if there is a second person around it would be helpful.(This I didn‘t do this next time I will .) buy a longer nut and bolt, as this will be your third hand. Once you have tighten the third hand (long bolt) put in the other hole the bolt that came with the basket and using a Philip screwdriver and an 8MM wrench lightly tighten the bolt. Then take out the third hand and do the same with the other side, 9. Replace the front wheel nuts and check to make sure everything look right and then and only then tighten all the nuts and bolts, making sure you don’t over tighten and strip the bolts. Last take for a short test ride to make everything is working
Enjoy
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wire Bike Basket

Okay

04/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This would not fit my bike either. I have a Giant comfort bike. the problem is the mounting hardware is supposed to fit over where the bike stem enters the fork and mine was too large. A good rule of thumb , if your bike has thicker tubing this basket probably won't work for you. So when I returned the basket to the store I went back to the bike aisle and found the "bell quick release handlebar basket" and it was marked $14.96. It looks just like the here http://www.walmart.com/ip/Wire-Bike-Basket-with-Clip-On-Bracket/11065170 except it was white. Handle bars are a little more standard sizes than the stems. I was happy with my second purchase plus you can unclip the basket and take it into a store with you where as this basket is permanent. I believe the size handlebar is 22mm.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
-
Posted 09/12/2014
good info . tip though - if you have fat forks on any bike and want to put a basket that has legs on it like this you just have to file the corner of the fork down a little and hammer the basket legs on. I do it all the time with mine and when i need to take them off to change a tire I just yank them off and its fine. Ive had the other quick release baskets and they dont make them as well as they used to. the supports around the handle bars have been cracking off so quick these days ( ive had 4 of them ) ill only do the ones with " legs " now
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Wire Bike Basket

Potential Buyers Please Read

06/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This basket comes with NO INSTRUCTIONS! None at all. Not in the box it was delivered in, not from Walmart.com nor from the manufacturer itself. The polite gentleman who answered the phone at the manufacturers did try to walk me through it in a two minute DIY conversation and it was there I found out that to attach this basket one must remove the handle bars and the tire. And then there is no guarantee that your tire axle will have enough room to hold the support handles.
It was a great disappointment and a waste of time. I returned it and got a better, removable basket that came with instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wire Bike Basket

it meets my expectations

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have store people installed, it is very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wire Bike Basket

good value

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the basket.It was hard to put on the bike.Came with no directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wire Bike Basket

Good Basket for the price

04/05/2010
By ,
Algonquin, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I received this bike basket I knew what to expect by reading it's reviews. The basket was the right size, and excellent quality for the money. I just want it for a little carrying space to run around with kids to library, bike path's etc.. It does not come with directions, which it should. My husband figured it out and assembled in about 20 minutes. Suggestion print a picture of it online so you can refer to when assembling on to bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wire Bike Basket

Great basket.

02/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint about this product is that it came with NO documentation or instruction. Zero. Nada. But it is a nice deep basket for books, groceries, whatever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wire Bike Basket
12/01/2009
By ,
Manti, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not come with any hardware to mount the basket on bike even though the picture shows the hardware with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wire Bike Basket

Bike Basket no instruction sheet but...

06/09/2014
By ,
Mount Clemens, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good value for the roomy size but no instructions with it so i went to YouTube and found a similar one with video instructions: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKT7i6WJ_go
nice grocery/book tote.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wire Bike Basket

Nice basket, NO INSTRUCTIONS

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The basket itself is very nice. However, there are lots of washers, nuts and bolts and NO INSTRUCTIONS with this basket. Through trial and error I figured it out. Why in the world would the manufacturer not put instructions in the package or on the web site. If you purchase this basket good luck installing. It's a nice product and well build. However, it would be nice if they would make it easier to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wire Bike Basket

Just as advertised

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice, sturdy basket
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wire Bike Basket

Big, sturdy basket at a good price.

12/29/2011
By ,
Volo, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This basket is sturdy, big and was less than $15. I had read a review that it was difficult to put on, so I had the Walmart bike guy put it on the bike we bought through Site to Store pickup (I purchased this basket at the same time as I purchased a bike). I made sure they put it on for me before I picked it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wire Bike Basket

Great Basket

05/03/2010
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have another bike that I bought a basket for, locally in a bike shop. It cost double the amount and got rusty after a while. This basket is mesh and tightly woven so that nothing can fall out of the basket. It is very deep so that I can even take my mini Yorkie for a ride with a soft blanket beneath him. when I place my bag in there and go for a ride, I am not worried that anything will fall out. For the price, size, and quality, I would highly recommend this basket!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wire Bike Basket

Don't expect much

12/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returned the item. Parts were missing and quality was not as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wire Bike Basket
05/23/2012
By ,
Loganville, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice basket for the price. My 10lbs dog likes it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wire Bike Basket

great

12/05/2010
By ,
decatur il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well built easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wire Bike Basket
04/25/2012
By ,
Upland, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made for the price!. No directions included but it is obvious how to hook it up. Sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wire Bike Basket

WON'T FIT MY BIKE

01/05/2011
By ,
HALTOM CITY, TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IT CAME WITHOUT ANY INSTRUCTIONS AND IT DIDN'T WORK WITH MY BIKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wire Bike Basket

nice light basket

03/27/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The basket arrived bent out of shape during shipping.
Due to the thin wire construction I was able to return it to somewhat its original shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wire Bike Basket

very useful product need instructions

04/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need some installation instructions, this is the major negative, otherwise it is a good value. It is very simple and with a brief review of the parts vs your bike you will know if the parts will work or not. Mine bumped my front reflector but it works.
I received bike basket yesterday, and installed this morning in about 15 minutes. Tools needed were two adjustable wrenches for the hex nuts, philips head screwdriver for the small bolts, and a hex allen wrench to loosen the handle bar center spindle. These may vary a bit bike to bike. i have a simple cruiser only one gear ratio/two sprokets. A tape measure to checkout if the parts will work comesin handy also.
well, this will help when we are camping to go up to the store and pick up so things .
thanks
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next