Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Wire Bike Basket

Generic Wire Bike Basket

The Wire Bike Basket is ideal to carry grocery, books, and other small utility items in style. Extremely durable, this wire bicycle basket attaches to most bike handlebars. The basket features a mounting hardware, which is fitted at the head set and front hub. All front-mounted black colored baskets can be fixed to both men and women bicycles. These durable black bicycle baskets are ideal for 24", 26", and 28" bikes. The wire basket is very easy to clean and a dry cloth can be used to keep it dust free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.724 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation76%58 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wire Bike Basket

In transferring the basket

03/13/2011
By ,
The Wilds Of California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In transferring the basket from my bike to my trike. I leaned a few trick that I would like to pass on to other that want to install a basket. 1. First use some tape to mark the height of the handle bars at the base of the large nut. 2. Next loosen the large nut with a 12 inch adjustable wrench and carefully lift up both the handle bars and the base nut as one. 3. Look inside and you will see ring with a stud in a grove of the fork housing and remove the ring. 4. Next place the basket bracket in where the you remove the groove ring. I found for the Schwinn Bicycle it was bracket facing down for the Schwinn Tricycle it was bracket facing up. 5. Slide the handle bars and large nut back into place and lightly tighten. 6. Install the bottom basket legs to the basket. 7. Take the wheel nut off using a15 MM wrench and place the basket leg on to the studs. 8. This where if there is a second person around it would be helpful.(This I didn‘t do this next time I will .) buy a longer nut and bolt, as this will be your third hand. Once you have tighten the third hand (long bolt) put in the other hole the bolt that came with the basket and using a Philip screwdriver and an 8MM wrench lightly tighten the bolt. Then take out the third hand and do the same with the other side, 9. Replace the front wheel nuts and check to make sure everything look right and then and only then tighten all the nuts and bolts, making sure you don’t over tighten and strip the bolts. Last take for a short test ride to make everything is working
Enjoy
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wire Bike Basket

Okay

04/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This would not fit my bike either. I have a Giant comfort bike. the problem is the mounting hardware is supposed to fit over where the bike stem enters the fork and mine was too large. A good rule of thumb , if your bike has thicker tubing this basket probably won't work for you. So when I returned the basket to the store I went back to the bike aisle and found the "bell quick release handlebar basket" and it was marked $14.96. It looks just like the here http://www.walmart.com/ip/Wire-Bike-Basket-with-Clip-On-Bracket/11065170 except it was white. Handle bars are a little more standard sizes than the stems. I was happy with my second purchase plus you can unclip the basket and take it into a store with you where as this basket is permanent. I believe the size handlebar is 22mm.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wire Bike Basket

Good Basket for the price

04/05/2010
By ,
Algonquin, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I received this bike basket I knew what to expect by reading it's reviews. The basket was the right size, and excellent quality for the money. I just want it for a little carrying space to run around with kids to library, bike path's etc.. It does not come with directions, which it should. My husband figured it out and assembled in about 20 minutes. Suggestion print a picture of it online so you can refer to when assembling on to bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wire Bike Basket

Great Product

03/31/2014
By ,
Emmett, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and he loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wire Bike Basket

nice light basket

03/27/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The basket arrived bent out of shape during shipping.
Due to the thin wire construction I was able to return it to somewhat its original shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wire Bike Basket

Great basket.

02/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint about this product is that it came with NO documentation or instruction. Zero. Nada. But it is a nice deep basket for books, groceries, whatever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wire Bike Basket
12/01/2009
By ,
Manti, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not come with any hardware to mount the basket on bike even though the picture shows the hardware with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wire Bike Basket

Big, sturdy basket at a good price.

12/29/2011
By ,
Volo, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This basket is sturdy, big and was less than $15. I had read a review that it was difficult to put on, so I had the Walmart bike guy put it on the bike we bought through Site to Store pickup (I purchased this basket at the same time as I purchased a bike). I made sure they put it on for me before I picked it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wire Bike Basket

Great Basket

05/03/2010
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have another bike that I bought a basket for, locally in a bike shop. It cost double the amount and got rusty after a while. This basket is mesh and tightly woven so that nothing can fall out of the basket. It is very deep so that I can even take my mini Yorkie for a ride with a soft blanket beneath him. when I place my bag in there and go for a ride, I am not worried that anything will fall out. For the price, size, and quality, I would highly recommend this basket!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wire Bike Basket

Don't expect much

12/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returned the item. Parts were missing and quality was not as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wire Bike Basket

great

12/05/2010
By ,
decatur il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well built easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wire Bike Basket

I LOVE THIS BASKET!!!

01/06/2014
By ,
CARLSBAD, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good design. Holds a lot of stuff & looks nice. It was very easy to install. I would purchase this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wire Bike Basket
04/25/2012
By ,
Upland, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made for the price!. No directions included but it is obvious how to hook it up. Sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wire Bike Basket
05/23/2012
By ,
Loganville, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice basket for the price. My 10lbs dog likes it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wire Bike Basket

WON'T FIT MY BIKE

01/05/2011
By ,
HALTOM CITY, TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IT CAME WITHOUT ANY INSTRUCTIONS AND IT DIDN'T WORK WITH MY BIKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wire Bike Basket

It is good product especially for the $'s

12/30/2013
By ,
Tampa Bay Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is good product especially for the $'s
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wire Bike Basket

Nice bicycle basket, for carrying items.

12/22/2013
By ,
wyoming
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When we order an item from Walmart, we have always had real good response times on the items getting to our local store. The items are always represented as what they were advertised as. This being no exception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wire Bike Basket

very useful product need instructions

04/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need some installation instructions, this is the major negative, otherwise it is a good value. It is very simple and with a brief review of the parts vs your bike you will know if the parts will work or not. Mine bumped my front reflector but it works.
I received bike basket yesterday, and installed this morning in about 15 minutes. Tools needed were two adjustable wrenches for the hex nuts, philips head screwdriver for the small bolts, and a hex allen wrench to loosen the handle bar center spindle. These may vary a bit bike to bike. i have a simple cruiser only one gear ratio/two sprokets. A tape measure to checkout if the parts will work comesin handy also.
well, this will help when we are camping to go up to the store and pick up so things .
thanks
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wire Bike Basket

I'm pleased with it

04/19/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a cruiser and I was affraid this basket won't fit, but it did. It's sturdy, deep, I use it for groceries and it works just great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wire Bike Basket

No instructions

10/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This looks like a good idea... but with no instructions and it didn't really fit on my beach cruiser... really annoying actually.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next