Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

The Panasonic 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System features 1080p up-conversion, which converts standard definition images from DVD sources to beautiful high-definition images. The subwoofer system delivers a deep, powerfully rich bass. Whisper-Mode allows you to enjoy surround sound even at low volume. With the included wireless kit for rear speakers, no cables mean no clutter. A built-in universal dock for iPod gives a great new way to enjoy music and video. And the enhanced VIERA Link displays a menu on the TV screen, making it easier to operate the Panasonic 1000W DVD Home Theater System.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%55 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

A really great product

08/18/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this system, I knew only that Panasonic was a good brand. I had very little problems with putting the speakers and system together, However, since I don't have a Panasonic TV, I ran into some problems attaching the TV to the system so that I can hear the TV through it. It took me about 2 hrs to get my wiring to the TV and the unit to work together. Again, the system was really easy. The sound from this unit is FANTASTIC! I would highly recommend it. The use of the remote will take a little getting used to--I've never owned anything like this, so it took a while You also may want to have your TV's manual there to make sure how it shows things should be connected to it. This really showed me what I needed to wire where. All in all--I give it a 10! The sound and picture quality, both are wonderfully clear, and wireless kit that comes with it is really easy to understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 2 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Great Product

07/19/2009
By ,
Dexter Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second home theater system. I wanted something that would give me great sound and at the same time be able to utilize my hd tv. After trying two other home sytems and experiencing nothing but a head ache I decided on this system. It gives quality play and picture with good quality sound. It is easy to assemble. One of the great features is the two wireless speakers which work excellent. If you are not familar with the wireless sound let me just point out that these two speakers do have wires but are not attached to the main system with long wires running everywhere. I can illustrate it best by explaining how I set mine up. I took the small wireless unit and set it on one end table with one speaker attached and ran the other wire in behind my sofa to the other end table and attached other speaker. The sound is great between these speakers. The setup is simple. One further thing concerns the dvd player. The five dics exchanger works fantastic and the play is awesome. This is a sharp looking system with quality as well. My advice is go for it, you won't regret it. Walmart did a great job on the shipping as well I got my system within four shipping days and I took the standard shipping for $14. I do not have an Ipod but will point out that this system does have a flip down docking for it which is built in to the main unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 3 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

What I was looking for

08/07/2009
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had system for 3 weeks. While not cheap this is by no means a high end surround system. But for the price, 1000w, 5 DVD Player, and Ipod docking station/player you cant go wrong with system. Sound is awesome watching movies in Dolby Digital. The Subwoofer can really thump the floor and rattle the walls even on the lowest setting. The rear wireless speakers are nice but lacking in quality sound. I remedied most of the problem by adjusting the settings in the setup menu. Only flaw I really found were the wires for the rear speakers needed to be a few feet longer for the way I placed my speakers. After some splicing it worked out......Bottom Line very good system with easy hook up, quality sound, and user friendly. Very good system without breaking the bank. Would recommend highly
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

A Good System

11/21/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this system for about 3 weeks. It was very easy to assemble and connect. One drawback is length of the speakerwire on the back speakers. The "wireless" means the back speakers are not connected to the front unit, but they are wired to a back console that must be connected to an electric outlet. The speaker wires themselves are connected to this back console and the wires aren't long enough. That was my only problem. The sound is excellent and the surround sound effect is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Good Deal

08/17/2009
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I compared Wal-Marts price for this product to other companies and this seemed to be the best deal. The system was easy to put together and the sound is good. It comes with a microphone which enables the system to adjust the surround sound speakers and this is definitely a must. Like most surround sound systems, the rear speakers don't have volume I would prefer, but for a realitively inexpensive sound system this works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 6 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Awesome Sound!

01/09/2010
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for my husband for Christmas. He had absolutely no issues setting up the system. Everything worked flawlessly. The rear wireless speakers are very nice and no wires to run was sweet. The sound is amazing. Very crisp and clean. The vocals are very clear and the lows just thunder. It has many options to customize the sound experience to each persons taste. The 5-disc dvd player is also very nice. It upscales to 1080p and not having to change dvd's is very nice when the grandkids are visiting. We had to buy an opitcal cable to hook up the sat. sound but that was very easy and painless. All in all, my husband loves this unit and I am very glad got it as well. Our flat screen's sound left it hard to hear some movies we watched and now that is no longer an issue. The whole room comes alive with a really big acton scene. We are very pleased with this product and hope this review was helpful to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Great Product

02/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the sound outputted by this system. Like the other reviewers have said, its not a completely wireless system, you have to run wires from the rear speakers to the rear receiver. The radio sounds phenomenal from this unit! The subwoofer really booms, I will say the rear speakers are a little weak. I bought a $5 HDMI cord off the internet and it looks just fine playing DVD's and you will need to buy a digital optical cable (about $20) to get audio from your cable box to play through surround sound. Also, I bought a $5 mini DVI to HDMI converter and am now able to see my laptop screen on my T.V. - way cool! Overall great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit
02/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This home theater system is one of the best on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 9 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Wireless?? Hardly!!

01/10/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Based on the advertising for this unit, I really believed the surround speakers didn't need any wires....worked off a signal from the base unit. That's SO NOT true. The "wireless kit" is simply a receiver you need to PLUG SPEAKER WIRES into. In my case, since the "wireless unit" must be located by an AC outlet, I needed to buy and install an additional 36 feet of WIRE to run around the baseboards across the room for my WIRELESS surround speakers!! BIG disappointment with that feature!!! However, in all fairness, for the money, the sound is great, it looks good and produces extraordinary bass (with the right placement of the sub-woofer). Also fairly easy to set up and use.....just DON"T believe it's WIRELESS because it's NOT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit
02/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subwoofer delivers a deep, and powerful bass. This enssemble is awsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Excellent product

01/25/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a home theater system for quite some time but didn't want to spend $1000 + for it. I don't need a system that rattles the walls and blows out your eardrums. I just wanted a system that gives good sound when watching movies. I bought the Panasonic SC PT-770 and was blown away by the quality of this relatively inexpensive system. The set-up was easy and I was enjoying superior sound in less than 20 minutes. The wireless module works well with no interference. My movies and CD's sound better than I thought possible. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for an affordable home theater system with great sound..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Great Sound, Poor Instructions

08/30/2009
By ,
Sunny South
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you can ever figure out how to hook it up, it sounds great. Had to call Panasonic tech support 5 times, with varying degrees of helpfulness.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Happy with this SC-PT770 system

11/04/2009
By ,
Reisterstown, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a wireless speaker system because there was no way to hook up rear speakers without running the wires across my living room floor.
This took a while to hook up but I now have a very good system in place and really enjoy my surround sound movies now. Reasonably priced and very good sound. A worthwhile buy without breaking the bank.
Easily 4 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Panasonic SC-PT770

04/27/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this system to replace the Samsung HT 510 that I have had for 18 months. While I liked the home theater portion of the Samsung equipment, there was nothing but problems with the DVD player and after 3 repairs, the 4th failure was it. Samsung is refunding a pro-rated portion of the purchase price, which is what brought me to the Panasonic SC-PT770. I have had it for 2 weeks now and have to say the sound is better than the Samsung. I think there is more sound definition - I hear more effects. The woofer is VERY good, as others have said. The *wireless* rear speakers are like Samsung's in that they are wireless to the main unit, but are connected to the wireless receiver, which needs to be within 10 ft of where the rear speakers are located. This configuration works perfect for me. The two large front speakers come with a stand, but they can also hang on the wall without the additional stand. I use this system with my 52-in Panasonic Plasma. After what I went through with the Samsung equipment, I opted to purchase a 3 yr warranty plan (which should guarantee no issues for three years so that I wasted that money) for the Panasonic SC-PT770. The equipment was easy to setup and I have good sound from all speakers, whether I am watching DVDs or regular TV through my HughesNet satellite receiver.
PS - I now run the other way from anything Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Panasonic Home Theater w\wireless speakers

12/20/2009
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This system is fairly easy to hook up but the directions aren't very clear for hooking up multiple items. I like this system because it is a sleek design and the speakers sound really good, However, I thought it would go louder for 1000 watts. The bass box does rumble rather well but if I want to listen to my IPOD I like it really loud with a lot of base and this doesn't go as loud as I would like it to.. Overall my family has been happy with the sound clarity and base when watching movies. If you want to hook multiple devices I would recommend purchasing a receiver and seperate speakers, This is nice for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Wireless - Ouch

01/15/2010
By ,
Rogers, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this system mostly because of the tower speakers and the wireless rear speakers. The surround sound was actually pretty good...when it worked. The wireless rear speakers would intermittently cut on and off. I found that I could stand between the transmitter (on the DVD player) and the receiver (connected to the rear speakers) and the sound would actually shut off while I was standing in a particular location! I couldn't believe the wireless signal was that weak (it is RF, after all, not IR). Anyway, this system has put me off of wireless audio systems altogether.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Works pretty well

05/05/2010
By ,
Jonesboro, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions were easy to follow as for hooking up the speakers. The color coded tabs helped. I had a problem getting the sound to come through my TV, had to call tech support with Panasonic. They couldn't help me figure it out so had to call tech support through my Cable people. It was a simple setting that needed to be changed on my TV sound menu. Now everything works. The 2 small wireless subwoofers really aren't much. The sound is low and somewhat muffled and can't really be adjusted. But over all for the price, it was easy to set up and works nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Weak System

01/25/2010
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got the wireless rear speaker system and cannot hear much if anything from the rear speakers. The other speakers are fine, but what's the point without the total experience?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

About the same

12/09/2009
By ,
east texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is not any better than a sony or other-
the five tray DVD holder is ok- I paired it with a 47" vizio HD tv... I was hoping the surround sound would help with my hearing, but the sony system I replaced was as good as this one. Husband wanted a new cd player and I wanted the IPOD cradle. So we will see as we use it how it matches up to what we really wanted.
Would I recommend it, probably.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Panasonic SC-PT770 1000W 5.1 Channel Surround Sound DVD Home Theater System w/ Wireless Kit

Great Sound

01/27/2010
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the theater reproduction of this sound system. There are a lot of connections to be made if this system is used along with a VCR. Seperate remote controllers are needed for TV operations if the TV is other than Visio. If you love high quality sound and don't mind spending some time with the setup of this system, then you will treat yourself to a truely rewarding surround sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next