Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

This classic alder bookshelf provides ample storage space for your books, collectables and office supplies. With 3 adjustable shelves, you can customize this 5-shelf bookcase to meet your storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(268 Reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation78%209 out of 268reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Great Value

08/28/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I viewed this product online but was a little hesitant because of the reasonable price, so I went to the store to view. I was very intimidated off all the pieces and assembly. Had to re-read directions on just about every step. It ended up being ok and I managed. I am very pleased with this bookcase. It looks nice in my home as well as an extreme value. Well worth the money, functions great and is visually great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 82 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Factory Seconds

09/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It appears that is what I got in this box.
Most of the pieces were scratched, one was cracked. I have worked with particle board before but this was the worst stuff I have have had to deal with. The wood would crack, the parts fit poorly and I worry about the stability.
I would not recommend this to anybody, they had a couple and I was going to buy them, but at this point I am glad I only bought the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 83 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Just what I expected

11/09/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this is a very sturdy, simple bookshelf that looks nice. Assembly was pretty quick and easy, and something both my husband and I could do together.
Bookshelf looks really nice, and the color matches the picture on the website, which is important.
I recommend this bookshelf to anyone who just wants an inexpensive particle-board bookshelf that looks real and nice. It is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 84 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Awesome product

06/21/2010
By ,
Mojave, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my bookshelf. It was extremely easy to put together. I even had my 4 yr old son helping me with some of the screws. The shelf was for his room, so I wanted him to feel like he participated. It looks great. Some of the edges were a little worn, but they are not edges that are seen with the finished product. I plan to purchase 3 more of these soon. This was my second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Bought 6 for my livingroom.

01/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a pretty big library and lots of nic-nacs. The 2 fixed shelves (bottom and 3rd) are prefect for lots of weight, and the others are good to display pictures and other stuff. I remember them being really easy to put together, and really helped me get my things organized. After a while, weight will bow the shelves but I feel they are inexpensive enough to be replaced after 5 or 6 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder
01/04/2010
By ,
Joshua tree Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased 4 of these selves and am going to purchase a 5th. They go together pretty easily. I put all of mine together myself. they are great in the kids rooms for books and all of their other things. The only problem that I ever had was that they do not hold up to repeated moves. The third time we moved we lost one and a couple others probably shouldn't be moved around to much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder
09/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to find such a cheap bookcase and the other reviews were mostly positive. However, it was so unsteady, I could barely keep it from collapsing when I moved it against the wall. The second I put any weight on it, the whole bookcase wobbled back and forth. There is no way each shelf could handle 35lbs. Even though it's cheap, it is not worth it. Don't waste your time on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 88 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Got less than I paid for

06/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know it's not expensive but I at least expected it to stand up and for the parts to meet reasonably well. I may have gotten a bad one but will have to carry this 70 pound package back down three flights of stairs to take it back to exchange it. I bought a similar one over fifteen years ago for $24 and it has held up with a little bracing etc. but this one didn't even do that well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 89 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Hard to put together

04/24/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy putting furniture together, but these were a bit hard for me to do - you assemble them in two pieces and then attach them together - it was odd. Also, one of the bookcases I received appeared to have been opened and partially put together, then shoved back in the box. I kept it because of the hassle of returning such a huge item, but it leans badly to the right. Weird!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Takes Forver to Put Together!

04/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There are no written instructions for this bookcase! There are pictures, but they're difficult to interpret. Unless you are fairly handy and good with figuring out black and white pictures and matching them with your pieces, you will have a difficult time constructing this. I've been working on it for 45 minutes and I am confused beyond belief at where everything goes!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 91 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

WHAT A WASTE!!!!!!!!!!

08/28/2010
By ,
Alexandria,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had written a review but now that I look at this product its horrible!! It fell apart so now its in the trash. WHAT A WASSTTE!! I can't believe how much I paid for this...It didn't stand right it would always move to the side and its not like i over stocked it with stuff. all I can say is if you are thinking of purchashing this...DON'T save yourself those 25 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Use for office

05/02/2010
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four of these for my office. I have one for books and use the others for office supplies, I use the colored bins for storing all my supplies and put them on the shelf. I need more shelves then what came with the bookcases. so my husband has make selves to go with the bookcases. Works well and I have more than enough space for all my office and craft projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Nice

08/09/2009
By ,
Logansport
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has got to be the most wobbly shelf I have ever had but for the money I think it is great. It's very easy to put together. It also comes with a thing that you screw to the wall behind it so it don't wobble! It looks just like one of the shelves that you would buy for $150!! And if you ever want to move it you can easily take it apart so it is two halves.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Great value!

05/04/2010
By ,
Pineville, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it turned out to be too wide for my intended application, I was very impressed by the overall finish of this bookshelf. Assembly was a little on the tedious side as compared to other brands of bookshelves I have built but overall value can't be beat. If you are a little handy with tools and have a large space to build this you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 95 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Great Buy!

08/26/2010
By ,
North Brunswick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two bookcases and I am thrilled with how they look! The price is great and the quality is amazing. Overall great product looks expensive and we've received so many compliments on how nice they look. I didn't want to spend a lot of money, but needed something to hold lots of books and photo albums. This was perfect! Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Great!

03/02/2011
By ,
Tucson, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value! We have had ours for over a year and it is still holding up very well. Ours is full with my husband's books and survived a move. If you put too many heavy books on a shelve it will start to bend. We liked it so much we bought another one exactly the same as the other. Luckily, it had only gone up 84cents in the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 97 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Broken in box

04/09/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought one and had to return because it was broken. Then we purchased 2 and had to wait over a week for them to be delivered "site-to-store", they seemed well packaged and had extra braces and wrap on the boxes but 1 arrived broken in the box. We expected them to be cheap, but would at least like to get them assembled before they break!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 98 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Great Book Shelf

12/01/2009
By ,
gilroy, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, you can't beat it. Very easy to put together(without instructions). Instructions are difficult to understand. Not to steady, but once tethered to the wall it's fine. It looks good and it does it's job. In fact I just ordered another one for the living room for vhs tapes and dvd's. I would recommend this shelf to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 99 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

good for the money

07/24/2010
By ,
New Orleans, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the bookcases. They were easy to put together and delivered to my front door. Even though one box was damaged I contacted the manufacturer, ordered the missing hardware peices and a replacement for the damaged shelf and received everything within 10 days.
Overall this was a good buy and I received very good service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase, Alder

Not impressed

03/22/2010
By ,
Greenfield, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed with this product. It is not one solid bookcase, but two put together, which makes it not stable or sturdy. I'm going to have to put a much more sturdy back on than the cardboard one that comes with it before I'll feel confident in putting books on the shelves. Would not purchase this again and would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
81-100 of 224 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  12 Next