Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

MicroPac Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Establish easy communication between your external hard drive and computer with the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 Hard Drive Enclosure. It accommodates 3.5 inches Serial ATA (SATA) or IDE hard drives. The black, lightweight, durable aluminum construction securely holds the hard drive in place. It is equipped with a cooling fan which circulates out the heat dissipated and avoids malfunction due to over-heat. The built-in USB 2.0 port and eSATA port makes communication with your computer easy and simple. This 3.5" IDE/SATA hard drive enclosure lets you transfer file at the rate of 480Mbps. The LED indicators featured in this external hard drive enclosure keep you aware of the activity and power status. This aluminum hard drive enclosure case with cooling fan also features hot-swappable which allows you to plug-in or plug-off the hard drive without disturbing the program currently running.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation83%35 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Nice enclosure for permanent drive installations

12/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really nice little enclosure that does what I want it to. It fits IDE and SATA drives and connects plug and play through the USB ports.
The only con is that the connects aren't really designed to have drives swapping out on a regular basis. I busted the power connector for the drives because I was swapping out multiple drives of an evening and the effort needed to disconnect the power plug from the drive caused me to loose one of the wires from its mooring. I say mooring because the wires are not soldered to the plug but are a quick connect type with a sort of cut-connect that strips the plastic from the wire when you attach the wire to the plug. I reconnected the wire and hobbled through the drives I needed to download.
I'm happy. It worked for what I needed it to, but if you're looking for something that is no hassle, use this only for permanently installing the drive in the enclosure. It's not designed with enough sturdiness to truly handle regular drive swapping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Don't buy it

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk
No useful instructions came with it on the proper way to disassemble to put in hard drive
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Excellent

12/27/2009
By ,
Atlanta Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product delivered everything it promised. I'm using it to copy files from old drives to my new 1tb hard drive. It works flawlessly. No setup required. Just plug-and-play. Having the ability to do both ATA and SATA drive is a definete plus.
Eventually I'm going to use this as a back-up drive but right now I haven't even closed the case. I just keep switching between old drives.
Walmart delivered this product on time as promised. It was cheaper than Ebay, Amazon, Newegg, and Tigerdirect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Great Alternative

03/29/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to first of all connect problem hard drives to my computer to try to recover data for friends. The beauty is that you can connect your own spare drive for day to day back up of your own data as well. With connections for both SATA and IDE as well as a cooling fan they pretty much have everything covered. Nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Outstanding Value

12/03/2009
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My computer died and I saved the old hard drives, but they weren't compatible with my new computer. I saw this, wondered if it would work, and bought it.
It does exactly what it says it will do. I have been able to recover all my old files and, after reformatting the old drive, I use this as my backup for all my work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 6 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Hard Drive Enclosure

09/13/2009
By ,
Brentwood, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit can accomodate either IDE or SATA and has a cooling fan. Hard combination to find. This came with a small screwdriver just in case. Recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 7 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Exactly what I needed

03/28/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When our desktop died and we replaced the tower (another excellent WalMart purchase, by the way), we needed a way to get photos, videos, etc. off the old hard drive and onto the new one, but the new tower had no expansion bays. Then I spotted this device on Site-to-Store for under $30. It arrived inside a week, is actually more attractive than the pictures suggest, and is so easy to use. The drives are a bit snug in the case, but are easy to swap out, especially if you remove both sides to better manipulate the drives in and out. It was plug 'n play easy once attaced to the new computer, and it was a breeze go through files of the old hard drive and copy important items to the new computer. And now we can still use the old hard drive as a backup device. This thing was perfect! NOTE: You can only use the eSATA port on this device if the hard drive you place in it is the SATA type, and your computer also has an eSATA port. Otherwise, don't buy an eSATA cable since you won't be able to use it. Which is OK, since the USB works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Very nice

05/17/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the idea of the built in cooling fan. It is not loud. So, if your having issues with noise its probably your hard drive not the fan. The unit itself is kinda big, but no bigger than a standard external HD. Hard drive fits in tight, so be careful not to break anything. I used it temporarily to remove data from two 80GB HD's with no problems. I now have a 500GB Seagate Barracuda permanently installed. Its on most of the day and doesn't seem to get hot. The supplied USB cable is short. I replaced it with a 20' cord so it can be connected to my MacBook Pro even on the other side of the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Great Value for the Price

06/22/2011
By ,
Flora, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB hard drive enclosure first and foremost because it was an inexpensive enclosure with a cooling fan. For the price, you can't bet it. It worked right out of the box with the hard drive I have. I must note, there are no clear cut instructions for installing the hard drive. If this is your first time utilizing a hard drive enclosure you may want to Google the process for more detailed steps. In any case, if you're looking for a dependable enclosure for your IDE or SATA hard drive the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 is a great deal worth looking at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Does the Trick

03/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. Good construction, good cooling!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

DOA Enclosure

06/07/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing did not work right out of the box. I have over 10 years of experience in the computer industry, this certainly wasn't do to improper configuration or installation of the drive. Everything fit perfectly well and seemed well enough, but when I hit the power.. nothing.. I had to jiggle the plug and tweak it around until it finally clicked on. Once it came on, i couldn't get the USB or eSATA to recognize on my Windows 7 laptop, Windows Vista laptop, or on my Macbook Pro on OSX. I saw several other reviews of this thing acting the same way so I'm not surprised.
This was quickly returned to my local store for credit.. DO NOT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Did not work

11/19/2011
By ,
san antonio, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Sabrent EC-UEIS7 hard drive enclosure didn't work at all. Very poor directions, but easily figured out. Drive was very cramped inside the case. I tried 2 hard drives that I knew were good. (I tried the enclosure with an XP SP3 PC and a Windows 7 laptop.) Unit powered up and drives spun up. PC/laptop didn't recognize that a new USB device was connected. I tried 2 USB cables that were known to be good. Tried the master, slave, and single jumper connections, but nothing worked. Neither the PC/laptop's Device Manager nor Disk Manager could see the drives. Unit was returned to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 13 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

The Perfect Solution

05/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my old desktop overheated and fried the motherboard. It would have cost almost as much to have someone fix that as to buy one of the new Emachines desktops from Wal-Mart (mine was $398) which has Windows 7, tons of RAM and lot's of room on hard drive. Anyway, my old hard drive was still working fine (computer would not boot though) and had lot's pictures and other files on it. A techy type friend recommended getting an enclosure device and just using it as an external hard drive rather than trying to transfer all of my old pictures and files to the new computer. This thing was super easy to do even for me. I uncrewed the old hard drive, snapped it into the enclosure, screwed the case together and the it was plug and play as they say. Great value and super easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Works as advertised; more than reasonable price.

04/05/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought unit to salvage & make use of HD from desk top computer that died, along with attempt to make use of other individual components that were still functional.
As commented by others, buyers should open unit (with supplied screw driver!) to perhaps secure fan assmbly., (mine was loose) or to assure airflow is in proper direction. Easily done as fan can be easily flipped over and is held in position by "detents".
Positives: Will handle both SATA & PATA HD
Supplied power cord w/on-off switch.
Pictorial instructions for those that can't read.
Sturdy aluminum case - additional heat dissipation.
Stand for vertical mounting included.
Unit can be used to retrieve existing data from HD; or, used to run secondary external HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

great case for the money

02/07/2012
By ,
Monroe, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this case. I am using this case as a swappable removable media case for my Windows Small Business Server Essentials backup swap-out. It supports Sata and ATA drives internally and supports E-SATA and USB externally. It has a cooling fan which is a must for drive reliability. It also has status LED lights letting you know when there is drive activity. The case is well built and provides exceptional reliability due to the cooling fan and the low price is an added boost. Why would you pay $10-$15 or even more for a case with the same capabilities just for some brand name. I totally recommend this case for its intended uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Internal Fan is DOA

02/12/2013
By ,
Stony Brook, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because the internal connector supports IDE and SATA drives which is different than most external enclosures. I opened the case and the I noticed the fan didn't spin up which it why I gave it 2 stars.
Pros: Has IDE and SATA internal connectors. eSATA and USB outside which makes this compatible with many different systems.
Cons: I just installed a full-height 3.5" SATA drive and it seems not to fit. There's only enough room for a slimline drive.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Super Simple Install

08/05/2011
By ,
Sparta NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are worthless, and are really unnecessary. Super Simple Install of your pre-formatted hard drive (ten screws, two cables, one usb cable and power supply later) takes less then 5 minutes and your up and running. Everything needed is in box, including the screw driver (an unexpected, but very nice touch). Please note: Make your life easy and pre-format your NEW hard drive first. If your using an older/used drive you can format them from within windows if you wish, but you do not have too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

better than most

10/14/2009
By ,
Mililani, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though I've only given it limited use I'm pleased with being able to use old and new type drives. Pleasantly surprised that you don't have to put screws in the drive. Just close the cover and its held firmly (at least the ones I tried). Being in a tropical climate I feel that the fan is a must. Many drives crash due to heat.
And Walmart online Rocks! - Good products, fast service and reasonable shipping to an island state that many companies treat like a foreign country.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Used merchandise

01/07/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item expecting a factory fresh, sealed unit. What I received was a previously opened and hastily repacked, used item. The inner bags were open, the accessory wires and connectors were loose in the box, and the screw heads were damaged by someone with Popeye-like screwdriver skills. The product seems to work, so I will decide later whether to return it. (Hopefully, it would not be re-sold to another naive customer. I am somewhat disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB 2.0/eSATA to 3.5" IDE or SATA/SATA II Aluminum Hard Drive Enclosure Case w/ COOLING FAN

Great Periphial

07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use an old hard drive from a dead desktop, so that I could use it for an external hard drive. It came in at the appointed time, took me about 5 minutes to set up and it has worked great. I can actually leave it plugged in and running continuously with out the hdd overheating. Admittedly it is a snug fit, but it has to be to keep your hard drive from banging around and becoming damaged. Kudos WalMart for stocking this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next