Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Koss Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Koss Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Listen to your favorite tunes on the go with the Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-line Volume Control. They come with silicone cushions for a perfect and comfortable fit that creates a pneumatic seal, producing direct acoustic for maximum bassperformance. These lightweight earbuds produce less distortion even when used with low power portable devices and have good noise isolation. Plus, with the in-line volume control, you can adjust the sound pressure level for a convenient listening. The included carrying case makes carrying the earbuds around much easier. The earbuds with carrying case reproduces all the audible octaves and lets you listen high tones with exceptional quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation74%42 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Good value

03/29/2010
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Koss makes the PortaPros which are my all time favorite headphones. I wanted a pair of ear phones to use while I mow the lawn. I got these and was satisfied.
These make a good seal and are relatively comfortable--they can be worn for a few hours without discomfort.
The bass response is strong and dives very deep (almost as low as a human can hear) and stays steady while doing it. The lowmid-mids are fair, maybe could be a bit stronger if anything. The high-mids could be a bit more balanced, but overall still pleasing. The treble is exceptional too, leaning on the crisp side versus smooth side. Channel separation and imaging is average. Clarity is average to slightly above average. These opinions are scaled to compare to all sets regardless of price.
My only true complaint is that the cord is thin. This has never been a problem, but a thicker cord would have a positive effect on product quality/feel.
In comparison to the JVC Marshmallows, these have a similar low end characteristic, but the mid-highs are smoother (the JVCs have a spike at 6k-9k). I recommend both, but these Koss before the JVC.
Overall great value. The vast majority of people would be pleased, if not impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 2 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

work great for the price

10/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought these earphones would be bad because they're only $25 in store, but they work very well! Better than some other noise-cancelling earphones I bought for double the price.
I ride a noisy commuter train, and I can't hear any outside noise, they really do block almost all outside sounds. Plus they come with a lifetime warranty if you register them, so I'll never have to buy another set again if these break.
The only thing I don't like is the design, the cord for the right earphone is MUCH longer than the left one, so they feel a little strange when wearing them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 3 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

best headphones i ever had!

08/25/2009
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this headphones are like wow! no words to explain is just like it says in the cover you can actually feel the sound is so amazing i had some sony headphones which were close to this price but the bass and sound wasnt as good as this headphones is just amazing. i recomend this to anyone who loves to hear good bass and good sound quality while listening to any type of music. you will love this headphones from the first time you put them on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

GREAT sound, GREAT value

07/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A while back I spent $80 the Apple In Ear headphones, and loved em. About 3 weeks later I was at a friends house and he had these. I put em in not expecting much from cheap headphones. I was HUGELY impressed. Enough to go to walmart and get me a pair. I've had them for about 2 months now, and still am amazed by them. HUGE volume, good sound, EXCELLENT bass (i thought the apple ones had good bass...) and an amazing value. MUST BUY if considering headphones. (ps... blow skull candy out of the water. Trust me.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 5 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Better than I expected

07/02/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these on a whim to replace some earbud 'phones I wear at work after I realized the ones I had sounded lousy compared to real headphones. I was VERY pleasantly surprised, they have excellent sound, plenty of bass, but not boomy, clear sound, lightweight, and very comfortable to wear. The inline volume control is nice, but does not completely mute the sound when turned all the way down. The right side cord is longer, but that's a benefit for me, because that's how I tell it apart from the left side, since I can't easily see the tiny "L" and "R" on the buds. I have had many different headphones and earphones over the years (I'm 52,) and the only ones I've had and still have that I like better are my $300 Bose Quiet Comfort 2 headphones. These honestly are fantastic sounding earbuds and I could not imagine any others sounding better. For my age, I have excellent hearing and I am blessed (cursed?) with perfect pitch, so for me to unequivocally recommend these is saying something. Buy them and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Best Headphones I have purchased

03/20/2010
By ,
New York City, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my MP3 player for about a year and a half during which time i have gone through at least 4 or 5 pairs of headphones in various styles. On my MP3 player i usually need my volume somewhere between volumes 15 and 20 out of 31 to be able to hear the music (barely). With the Koss headphones on the max (there is a very useful volume controll built into the wiring) I can hear just as well, if not better on just volume 1. The sound blocking ability is about equal to that of cheap, but effective, ear plugs and is very helpful when listening to my music. You may or may not have heard that they are fragile and break down after a few weeks. I cannot tell you from expirience (I only bought my pair today), but I can tell you that with free registry on the Koss website you get a life time replacement warrenty on the headphones. All in all these are definatly worth the $25 I spent on them and I would reccomend them to anyone who is looking for a quality pair of headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

absolutely love these!

01/18/2010
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had two pairs of these head phones. I had the first pair for well over a year, then I forgot them when I was out of town once. So, I bought another pair. I have had the second pair for well over a year also. The primary use is for running (inside and outside). I never have a problem of them falling out and I don't have to worry about road noise. In fact, if I'm in a busy area I have to leave one ear out to hear what's going on around me. I also love the in-line volume control. You don't have to mess with your actual music device.
In addition to my experience, my husband requires a very small ear piece. He sings in a center that seats about 1200 people and has to have ear pieces to hear all the sound stuff going on. He wanted his own set because the others do not usually fit in his ear. He actually used a pair of these for a long time. The only reason he had to switch is because the venue went to a new system that required specific types of head phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Awesome sound BAD quality

11/15/2009
By ,
Gaithersburg, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the sound from these headphones. I purchased a set about 12 months ago, used them every single day until one day one of the ear pieces no longer worked. The wires broke right at the point where the two wires split. I used the pouch that comes with the headphones and never wrapped the wires around my iPod. First set cost me $30 at Wal-Mart.
I purchased a replacement set or $25 a few months ago and today the exact same thing happened. I have now thrown those out also. I take very good care of the headphones. I never wind them around my iPod or tug at the wires.
I am so disappointed that I have spent nearly $50 this year on headphones and now I have to go purchase another set. I will not be buying the same ones again, its a shame because they sound so good and since my iPod touch has no external volume control these were perfect.
I know they are relatively cheap at $25 but I would expect to get more than a few months out of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Fantastic!!!!

07/05/2010
By ,
Ealge, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really small ears and nothing would fit so I tried Koss because they come with a small ear bud size and they stay in!!! Plus the sound is so amazing and it has really good bass!! I am so incredibly impressed with this product and would recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Great for a cheap price!

11/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently tried out some full sized headphones because I needed something to block out noise in the dorm room while studying. I found that even though they were better than standard iPod headphones, they were lacking. I took them back and bought these instead. They have great bass and a clear treble, and well balanced. The sound quality was so good that I am now hearing inaccuracies in my lower quality mp3s that I've never heard before.
The volume switch is handy, especially if using on a computer with a low hissing sound. Just turn the volume up on your computer and bump the slider on your headphones down a notch. No more hiss!
I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Excellent quality for a low price!

02/21/2010
By ,
Marion, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought some $90 noise canceling Bose headphones off of eBay, and believe it or not, these Koss headphones sound just as good for less than half the price!! Excellent tone quality, which is extremely important to me as a musician. They also block out a significant amount of outside sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Poor Quality

01/18/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The earbuds fit great and had a great sound, for 18 days. The Left earbud quit working, and when I contacted Koss I was told that the company's lifetime warranty policy was for the customer to send the broken product and a check or money order in for a replacement. No thanks. The only thing worse than the durability of the earbuds is Koss's customer service, it is very impersonal. I would definitely not recommend this product, nor any other Koss product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 13 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

very good sound. poor sound isolation

07/28/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using these for the past week basically every day. I usually listen to music while at work as it help me concentrate, so they're seeing about 7 hours of continuous use usually.
Overall these have excellent sound. Very clear with nice solid bass. As a musician, I really value good sound, and these definitely have it.
Ergonomics are not really all that different from most other earbuds. That is all a matter of preference. The volume control is nice though since I can adjust volume on the fly without having to bring up the volume controls on my computer.
On comfort, these are ok. The rubber/silicon part is nice and soft, but does irritate my ears some. This has been a problem for me with these type of earbuds though, so that might just be me.
My biggest complaint is that these do not isolate very well at all. I have owned numerous pairs of in-ear earbuds including Sony, Altec Lansing, Skullcandy, and Sennheiser. These are easily the worst for sound isolation.
Overall, if you want really good sound at a reasonable price and don't have to worry much about external noise, then these will be perfect for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Misleading

03/17/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While choosing headphones I was going for earbuds that blocked out background noise, and that is why I bought these. When I used them I was very disappointed to find out that I had to turn the volume on the headphones all the way up mostly up on my ipod, and could still hear background noises very clearly, whereas with my skullcandy headphones I was very impressed at the fact that I didn't have my ipod playing and I couldn't hear any background noise. If you are tolerant of background noise, then these are good headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 15 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

pros cons

08/24/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this product a few days ago and i found out that it was a bad choice but i must say that there were some good things i found with this product
Pros: volume control on cord, 3 diffrent size earbud tips and a carrying case
Cons: i fond that this earbud falls out of my ears to quickly so i try the next size up and i still doesnt stay, the size of the cord is also strange the left cord is butch shorter than the right by a good foot i dont see the point in this and also who needs a 4 feet long cord
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Good Product. I highly Recommend it.

01/01/2012
By ,
Manassas, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sited to store. Was ready the next day. I love these headphones. Hey are have a LOT of Bass and are reliable and sound good and super clear, even thought the rest of koss aren't that great. The only problem I ever had was blowing them out *My fault-I like to party rock* I would Highly recommend these headphones and Walmart as a distributor. They made it really convenient to purchase these headphones. Thnx :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Must buy

08/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these headphones because i wanted in earphones. ive heard koss made good earphones so i bought them. they will give u the perfect6 amount of bass and will not fall out of your ears is u put on the right tips. i highly recommend these earphones for anybody. these headphones will outpeform the more expensive apple in ear and stock headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Absolutely Amazing.

01/30/2010
By ,
SE Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUY THESE !!!!!!!!
Deep, rich Bass.
Crisp highs.
So much better than a certain cranial confection brand.
Worth more than every penny spent.
1 tip... Don't leave the volume down an then turn it up abruptly with the buds in your ears. I guarantee you will jump out of your skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
yes.
Posted 08/18/2011
I agree. These blow Skull Candy out of the water.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

pros and cons

04/10/2010
By ,
mansfield,ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pros: 3 earbud sizes,, lots of colors, comfortable earbuds, volume adjuster,
cons: 4 ft cord, volume adjuster moves easly, inside of the earbuds can bother ear
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Koss Noise Isolating Earbuds with In-Line Volume Control - Assorted Colors

Great sound for almost any price

01/22/2012
By ,
Asheville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used different earphones for years, and most recently purchased a set of Altec Lansing noise-isolating earbuds which had decent response---I was impressed, but in comparison to these Koss earbuds they sound weak! I paid a little more for them than I did these.
In particular, the bass response on these headphones is phenomenal. I can't get over how they cover the most deep bass with excellent response! If they were loudspeakers they would be shaking the walls. As it is, I just listened to a song on TuneIn Radio that made it clear to me that I needed to write this review (my first ever review of anything) so that others might benefit from my experience.
All I can say is "AWESOME!" and "ORDER NOW BEFORE THEY'RE GONE!"...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next