Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoof Hands Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Hoof Hands Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Nail biting? Thumb sucking problem? Get quick and easy results with an effective end to your habit. Also stimulates nail growth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%28 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great for adults, confusing for children

04/03/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My toddler started biting his nails until his fingers bled so I purchased this to help deter him. I put some on myself to know what he was experiencing and this stuff tastes terrible. I don't like that the taste transfers to everything and the taste lingers in your mouth for a long time. If you're older then this is fine, but for children this can be confusing. They don't know where the bitter taste is coming from because everything tastes bitter. I doubt I'll apply twice a day, everyday. I think that's a little overkill. I gave three stars because I bought this for my child and I think it's creating confusion for him. I would give five if the product was for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Fabulous for long-term nail biters!

08/06/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails since I was about 4 years old, and I'm now 16. It has always been a terrible habit of mine, and I cannot stand it for obvious reasons (pain, germs, etc.) I remember that I found this at a CVS when I was about 12 and decided that I'd give it a try. I've never had so much success with a product before! Polishes like these never seem to work for me because I've been biting my nails for so long, but this was fabulous. I tried other brands when I used this one up, but they didn't compare. The taste is very very strong and bitter, and will linger in your mouth for a while. The only issue I would have with it is that if you eat finger foods, be very careful: The taste activates when it comes into contact with your saliva (or any wet surface, I assume). Therefore, if you lick your lips and accidentally touch them with your nails, the taste will get in your mouth. But it does it's job, being helpful with keeping your fingers out of your mouth for any reason (nail biting, thumb sucking, etc.) I highly recommend this for problem nail biting. It helped me, a long time addict, stop. I'm almost positive it will do the same for you!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Can stop even the worse habit.

12/11/2013
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product after reading the reviews and I am so glad that I did. I have been biting my nails for as long as I can remember and I have tried many times to stop. I bite them when I am nervous such as taking tests. As a college student this occurs a lot. I paint it on less than it says to as the horrible bitter taste that keeps you from biting your nails lingers for a few days. I paint it over nail polish and redo my nails twice a week. I would caution eating finger foods well wearing the polish as it is hard to enjoy the foods with out getting the bitterness of the nails some how in your mouth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

best ever

03/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails for as long as I can remember. I bought this product on a whim, having tried simlilar products. But this, the taste is awful, which in this case is great, and it lingers. I have benn using this for about 3 weeks now and have not had one set back. I try and put a coat of it on once a day to keep the taste strong.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Excellent

08/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a perfect solution to my daughter's thumb-sucking habit. While her dentist recommended some crazy oral apparatus that was going to cost nearly $1000, Stop the Bite performed the same function for $5 and much less drama.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Awesome and Effective!

12/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 9 year-old was still an ardent thumbsucker, even after several months of wearing braces and headgear. After a chat with her orthodontist she finally agreed she wanted to quit. This product worked wonders!! It made her very aware of when her thumb was absentmindedly heading for her mouth.
She quit sucking completely in one week! We kept using the product for a good 6 weeks beyond that to help prevent relapse and so far so good.
I highly recommend this product for anyone who wants to quit biting their nails or sucking their thumb. However, much research has taught me that it will work best if the "patient" is willing to cooperate with you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Fabulous

06/13/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works awesome for nail biters like me or when you pick at your lip. The taste is awful and it lingers like crazy. The only downside would be if you touch anything with your nails and put it in your mouth, you taste this stuff too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BEST PRODUCT YET
Posted 08/23/2011
I have been a nail biter for as long as I can remember, and have bought several similar solutions--NONE have worked as well as this product does. Although it can't keep me at bay forever, this stuff is DISGUSTING....can't bite my nails, pick my cuticles, or ever mess with my lipstick. Although it's awful, it is the perfect way to keep my hands away from face in general. At 24 (I know, sad, right?) it is the ONLY thing I have found that works, even better than the twice-the-price product at the local "Beauty Supply" store
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

The only one that works

05/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails since I was old enough to walk and have tried numerous ways to quit with no success. When I say that this is the ONLY product that has worked when it comes to my nail biting, I am not kidding. And I will admit, I have had one relapse since using this product, but only because I couldn't find it. It's only sold at one Walmart near me and it's like 45 minutes away. I'm proud to say that my mom found me another bottle and I haven't chewed a nail since.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Worked great to stop the thumb sucking

11/26/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 year old loved the fact that he got a chance to paint his nails :). He was supper excited to apply it. It took 1 week for him to give up the habit. We applied it everyday for first week. Now the frequency has changed to 1-2 times a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Whoa.......

01/10/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally, my mom found this on clearence at Wal-Mart and bought it for me. I do have did have a nail-biting habit that I hated, but she got it for my to put on the wires in my room so my rat wouldn't bite/chew through them. Funny enough, not only did my rat stop, but by accidently spilling it on my hands, clothing and feet occationally when using it on the wires, I've discontinued biting my nails. I didn't even put it on my nails. Literally, the taste was so terrible and I had it for days until it washed off. The three fingers on my right hand (thumb, index, middle)n got some spilled on them the other day and there has also been an effective nail growth among the other nails...
This is highly recommended and works wonders!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Amazing Product To Strengthen Nails

12/10/2010
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this product is adv to stop nail biting (and it does ... horrible taste that lingers for hours), I was amazed to find that it allowed me to actually grow strong nails for the first time in 20 years. I rennovate houses, use paints and thinners, etc. and landscape without gloves ... gave up on having nails. I still don't wear gloves and yet can work without my nails breaking ... Absolutely amazing product. I wish they would sell it without the bitter taste ...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

worked like a charm!

10/15/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 5 year old daughter was a heavy nail biter, and one application of this and she stopped for good! i'm still keeping it close by in case the habit returns.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Effective but not lasting

09/17/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is effective and does taste bad. However, I have used similar products that tasted worse (theoretically should deter you more) and also required less frequent application. This nail polish requires at least one coat a day to maintain the bad taste, which you have to continue if you hope to break the habit. Nonetheless, I would still recommend it. I've been biting my nails for over 15 years. Let's hope this works!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Works Great

07/30/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an awesome product and you get so much for such a low price. I bought this for my 5 year old because she had a terrible nail biting habit. She would bite to the point that she would have sores. This polish works GREAT! It has a terrible, awful, disgusting bitter taste. And quickly stopped her from biting her nails. The only problem is that it transfer to foods. I tried eating a snack after her and tasted horrible. I also held her hands to walk around in stores and it transferred to my hands. Not good. But it helped her nails grow really fast. She has nails now!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great for nail-biters, taste lingers everywhere

08/02/2011
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been biting my nails for who knows how long and I'm always looking for cheap ways to quit. I've tried tape, manicures, lotion, lemon juice, and nothing works. I bought this today and it works. THe taste is awful (which is good in this case) but it lingers and goes everywhere.
For example, after having my nails dry I picked up my water bottle cap,I screwed it on and when I took a drink a few minutes later I spewed it out. The taste had rubbed onto my water bottle.
I also pull at my lips with my fingers and now my lips are tainted with this unplesant taste.
It works wonders for nail-biters but be careful what you touch.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

FINALLY HAVE NAILS AGAIN!

08/14/2012
By ,
Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff is great. I've been using it about two weeks and I finally have usable fingernails again. It has a very strong bitter taste that completely prevents one from putting their fingers in their mouth. The only downside is that you have to be careful about some things you touch. Sometimes I can taste it on the rim of a cup if I have touched there and also some finger foods, and it definitely lingers on your lips if you touch your lips. I reapply about every other day because it peels off pretty easily. Otherwise, this is a fantastic product. My nail biting had become a real problem, and I didn't think I would ever get control of it until I found this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Works Great, Tastes Terrible

10/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works really well for preventing nail biting. It tastes absolutely terrible if your fingers come anywhere near your mouth so it reminds you instantly to stop subconscious nail biting. This product is stronger than others I have tried and doesn't seem to wear off. You do have to be extra careful to keep your hands out of your mouth when eating finger foods etc. because it will ruin the taste of anything else.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great find

07/31/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a nail bitter for at 40+ years. I have tried to stop many times with no lasting success. Bought product 4 dyas ago and so far i have not bitten my nails. Any attemt (accident orotherwise) to bite resulted in a biter taste overcoming the urge to continue bitting. Recommend you buy some disposal surgical glolves to use when flossing. I look forward to getting a manicure nextweek when my nails are longer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

It certainly does what it claims.

09/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bleh, this stuff tastes terrible. It certainly works. I never pay attention and chew the life out of my nails, but I was definitely aware of doing it with this stuff. I've been putting it on over regular polish. It's clear and doesn't have a noticeable odor after it dries. I'm going to continue using it and hope that I'll eventually recognize not to bite my nails even when the bottle runs out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Spreads to whatever you touch

08/03/2012
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Being a cashier who touches at least 500 things in an hour, I need to kick the habit. Two coats twice a day is definitely an overkill. I did two coats in the morning one day and it lasted for about a day and a half. It does its job for sure, however, if you touch your lips, expect the taste to linger for the rest of the day. Don't even think about eating foods that require you to handle it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next