Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoof Hands Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Hoof Hands Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Nail biting? Thumb sucking problem? Get quick and easy results with an effective end to your habit. Also stimulates nail growth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%34 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Excellent way to break the habit!

05/18/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a lifetime nail biter! I've tried to quit many times without success. This was exactly what I needed. It's also clear and not noticeable. I'll attached a photo from day 1!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Cannot believe this product!

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bitten and chewed my nails for over 20 years and this is the first solution that I have found that has actually works 100%. This clear polish works wonders and works perfectly as a a base/top coat alternative to just a regular clear nail polish. How it works: Simply apply as you would regular nail polish. When attempting to chew/bite your nails or even the skin surrounding it, it immediately releases an awful taste. The only way I can think of explaining the taste would be as if you had nail polish remover on your fingers permanently. (The taste is awful). Just re-apply every few days! I have not bitten or chewed my nails since I've purchased this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

As expected.

09/22/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at the store, it was $6. The previous one I bought (Thum from Walgreens) was $6 so I was hesitant about buying another $6 product that didn't really work. This has been amazing. With Thum, you could taste the cayenne but it wasn't strong enough to deter for a long period of time. It would come off. This product tastes horrible! It also leaves a bitter reminder on your tongue My son immediately started crying when he tried to put his thumb in his mouth. He made a yucky face but it kept his thumb from being in his mouth! Even later when I saw him start to put his thumb in his mouth he immediately changed his mind! The product is clear in color and I was careful not to put too much and make sure the product was completely dry. Like I said, this stuff tastes horrible and you don't want it on your kids food. We apply it about once a day, for us, that's strong enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Fabulous for long-term nail biters!

08/06/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails since I was about 4 years old, and I'm now 16. It has always been a terrible habit of mine, and I cannot stand it for obvious reasons (pain, germs, etc.) I remember that I found this at a CVS when I was about 12 and decided that I'd give it a try. I've never had so much success with a product before! Polishes like these never seem to work for me because I've been biting my nails for so long, but this was fabulous. I tried other brands when I used this one up, but they didn't compare. The taste is very very strong and bitter, and will linger in your mouth for a while. The only issue I would have with it is that if you eat finger foods, be very careful: The taste activates when it comes into contact with your saliva (or any wet surface, I assume). Therefore, if you lick your lips and accidentally touch them with your nails, the taste will get in your mouth. But it does it's job, being helpful with keeping your fingers out of your mouth for any reason (nail biting, thumb sucking, etc.) I highly recommend this for problem nail biting. It helped me, a long time addict, stop. I'm almost positive it will do the same for you!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

best ever

03/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails for as long as I can remember. I bought this product on a whim, having tried simlilar products. But this, the taste is awful, which in this case is great, and it lingers. I have benn using this for about 3 weeks now and have not had one set back. I try and put a coat of it on once a day to keep the taste strong.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Awesome and Effective!

12/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 9 year-old was still an ardent thumbsucker, even after several months of wearing braces and headgear. After a chat with her orthodontist she finally agreed she wanted to quit. This product worked wonders!! It made her very aware of when her thumb was absentmindedly heading for her mouth.
She quit sucking completely in one week! We kept using the product for a good 6 weeks beyond that to help prevent relapse and so far so good.
I highly recommend this product for anyone who wants to quit biting their nails or sucking their thumb. However, much research has taught me that it will work best if the "patient" is willing to cooperate with you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Finally, no more finger sucking!!!!!!!

10/19/2014
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Listen to me.... this product works!!! I have a 3 year old that has been sucking her fingers since she was 2 months old. Each time we went to the dentist we received the same old spill about the effects of finger sucking on her teeth. I tried everything on her, Band-Aids, tape, gloves, discipline, lemon juice, hot sauce... nothing helped. I searched all of the internet for solutions and it was a tie between this and Mavala Stop. Since this was the cheapest and I could purchase it instantly at my local Wal-mart, I choose this one. I bought the product on 9/27 and put a small amount on her fingers and it is 10/19 and she has not sucked her finger since!!!!! I put it on twice a day for the first 3 days, then once a day, now every few days. I am amazed, happy, excited and I can't wait for her to go back to the dentist office and rave about this product. I have read reviews that this product does not work on smaller children, maybe due to the fact that their taste buds are not fully developed. It leaves a shine on her nail just like nail polish, but it does rub off if she touches her mouth when eating. It doesn't rub off to the point that you need a fresh application, just beware that they may be able to taste it if eating finger foods. The taste is really awful. You will only need to buy one bottle, it will last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Excellent

08/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a perfect solution to my daughter's thumb-sucking habit. While her dentist recommended some crazy oral apparatus that was going to cost nearly $1000, Stop the Bite performed the same function for $5 and much less drama.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Fabulous

06/13/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works awesome for nail biters like me or when you pick at your lip. The taste is awful and it lingers like crazy. The only downside would be if you touch anything with your nails and put it in your mouth, you taste this stuff too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BEST PRODUCT YET
Posted 08/23/2011
I have been a nail biter for as long as I can remember, and have bought several similar solutions--NONE have worked as well as this product does. Although it can't keep me at bay forever, this stuff is DISGUSTING....can't bite my nails, pick my cuticles, or ever mess with my lipstick. Although it's awful, it is the perfect way to keep my hands away from face in general. At 24 (I know, sad, right?) it is the ONLY thing I have found that works, even better than the twice-the-price product at the local "Beauty Supply" store
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Can stop even the worse habit.

12/11/2013
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product after reading the reviews and I am so glad that I did. I have been biting my nails for as long as I can remember and I have tried many times to stop. I bite them when I am nervous such as taking tests. As a college student this occurs a lot. I paint it on less than it says to as the horrible bitter taste that keeps you from biting your nails lingers for a few days. I paint it over nail polish and redo my nails twice a week. I would caution eating finger foods well wearing the polish as it is hard to enjoy the foods with out getting the bitterness of the nails some how in your mouth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Gods gift

07/26/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kid was thumb sucker since long. It was just two times and two coats of this solution. Its a miracle after that she never ever doing a thumb sucking again. I am really not exaggerating anything. I have recommended this one to all kids parents I see thumb sucking. Seriously it is an awesome product. It is for sure a gods gift to us and my kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

The only one that works

05/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been biting my nails since I was old enough to walk and have tried numerous ways to quit with no success. When I say that this is the ONLY product that has worked when it comes to my nail biting, I am not kidding. And I will admit, I have had one relapse since using this product, but only because I couldn't find it. It's only sold at one Walmart near me and it's like 45 minutes away. I'm proud to say that my mom found me another bottle and I haven't chewed a nail since.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Whoa.......

01/10/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally, my mom found this on clearence at Wal-Mart and bought it for me. I do have did have a nail-biting habit that I hated, but she got it for my to put on the wires in my room so my rat wouldn't bite/chew through them. Funny enough, not only did my rat stop, but by accidently spilling it on my hands, clothing and feet occationally when using it on the wires, I've discontinued biting my nails. I didn't even put it on my nails. Literally, the taste was so terrible and I had it for days until it washed off. The three fingers on my right hand (thumb, index, middle)n got some spilled on them the other day and there has also been an effective nail growth among the other nails...
This is highly recommended and works wonders!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great for adults, confusing for children

04/03/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My toddler started biting his nails until his fingers bled so I purchased this to help deter him. I put some on myself to know what he was experiencing and this stuff tastes terrible. I don't like that the taste transfers to everything and the taste lingers in your mouth for a long time. If you're older then this is fine, but for children this can be confusing. They don't know where the bitter taste is coming from because everything tastes bitter. I doubt I'll apply twice a day, everyday. I think that's a little overkill. I gave three stars because I bought this for my child and I think it's creating confusion for him. I would give five if the product was for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great product

07/14/2014
By ,
Hickory nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a nail biter since I was very young, now at. 38 I have finally kicked the habit with stop the bite. It has a very strange bitter taste that's nasty, as soon as you put your finger to your lips you will definitely pull away. I only put my hands to my mouth twice with this on, that's all it took, now I no longer bite my nails yay I'm so happy. Also if you just don't think about it and put your hand close to your mouth it will get on your lips and stay for days so be careful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Worked great to stop the thumb sucking

11/26/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 year old loved the fact that he got a chance to paint his nails :). He was supper excited to apply it. It took 1 week for him to give up the habit. We applied it everyday for first week. Now the frequency has changed to 1-2 times a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Amazing Product To Strengthen Nails

12/10/2010
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this product is adv to stop nail biting (and it does ... horrible taste that lingers for hours), I was amazed to find that it allowed me to actually grow strong nails for the first time in 20 years. I rennovate houses, use paints and thinners, etc. and landscape without gloves ... gave up on having nails. I still don't wear gloves and yet can work without my nails breaking ... Absolutely amazing product. I wish they would sell it without the bitter taste ...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Great for nail-biters, taste lingers everywhere

08/02/2011
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been biting my nails for who knows how long and I'm always looking for cheap ways to quit. I've tried tape, manicures, lotion, lemon juice, and nothing works. I bought this today and it works. THe taste is awful (which is good in this case) but it lingers and goes everywhere.
For example, after having my nails dry I picked up my water bottle cap,I screwed it on and when I took a drink a few minutes later I spewed it out. The taste had rubbed onto my water bottle.
I also pull at my lips with my fingers and now my lips are tainted with this unplesant taste.
It works wonders for nail-biters but be careful what you touch.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

FINALLY HAVE NAILS AGAIN!

08/14/2012
By ,
Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff is great. I've been using it about two weeks and I finally have usable fingernails again. It has a very strong bitter taste that completely prevents one from putting their fingers in their mouth. The only downside is that you have to be careful about some things you touch. Sometimes I can taste it on the rim of a cup if I have touched there and also some finger foods, and it definitely lingers on your lips if you touch your lips. I reapply about every other day because it peels off pretty easily. Otherwise, this is a fantastic product. My nail biting had become a real problem, and I didn't think I would ever get control of it until I found this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoof Hands Kick the Habit Nail-Biting Deterrent, 0.5 fl oz

Works Great

07/30/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an awesome product and you get so much for such a low price. I bought this for my 5 year old because she had a terrible nail biting habit. She would bite to the point that she would have sores. This polish works GREAT! It has a terrible, awful, disgusting bitter taste. And quickly stopped her from biting her nails. The only problem is that it transfer to foods. I tried eating a snack after her and tasted horrible. I also held her hands to walk around in stores and it transferred to my hands. Not good. But it helped her nails grow really fast. She has nails now!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next