Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Designed for home theater enthusiasts, the VIZIO Sound Bar delivers a complete audio solution. It can be placed anywhere in your home theater's stereo arrangement, and cutting edge VIZIO sound technologies such as SRS TruSurroundHD and SRS TruVolume deliver the high-definition experience you've always desired. Plus, the VIZIO Sound Bar boasts the lasted virtualization and volume leveling technology from SRS Labs, for bringing the ultimate in HD sound right to your home theater.
Average Customer Rating:
4.119 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(681 Reviews) 623
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
371
4 stars
184
3 stars
33
2 stars
22
1 star
71
Customer Recommendation84%572 out of 680reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
371
4 stars
184
3 stars
33
2 stars
22
1 star
71
Customer Reviews
Review 101 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Just Adequate.

01/26/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the Vizio VSB200 at my local Wal-Mart in January 2012 to replace the terrible speakers on a new Hitachi 42" LCD television. The Vizio works, but in my opinion, the sound you end up with is no more and no less than what the factory TV sound should have been in the first place. The sound is clear and loud enough for our open-plan living room. The "surround" feature opens up the sound a little, but is not especially impressive. The bass response is just satisfactory in my book; frankly I was hoping for a bit more, but for the money the quality is acceptable. The box says "audio cable included" but fails to mention that it's a 1/8 inch-to-RCA cable. This Vizio does offer a digital optical cable connection, but my local Wal-Mart does not carry optical audio cables, which was frustrating, so it was off to Best Buy. I do think the sound is a little better using the optical connection. (By the way, if you buy a RocketFish cable, you have to pull the clear plastic bubble protectors off the ends!)
There is no adjustable EQ or sound shaping on the Vizio; it is what it is. The TV's sound controls (bass/treble, etc) do NOT pass through to the Vizio, which is a TV design issue and nothing to do with this product -- but I can't for the life of me understand why TV manufacturers would not put their audio outputs behind their audio control options.
The included remote is small and cheap, with "bubble" type buttons on the face, and I would not trust it for long-term use. Fortunately, I was able to consolidate my Hitachi TV, Cox Cable, Sony DVD and Vizio soundbar controls into a Philips 7-in-1 Universal Remote (SRP5107WM/17) that I also bought from my local Wal-Mart. The Philips was able to talk to my other devices on the basis of the four-digit codes I put in, but in order for it to pick up the Vizio, I had to use the "learn" feature of the Philips to beam the appropriate signals (Vol +, Vol -, Mute, Power) from the Vizio remote into the universal remote. After a couple of tries, this worked. (For the rocker switch on the volume, I had to use the learn feature twice: Once for Volume + and again for Volume -.)
At the end of the day, the Vizio VSB200 is OK if you just want decent sound from your TV without paying too much. If you want even a little bit of sparkle and punch, however, consider investing in a more upscale product, perhaps with a subwoofer. There is a sub out connection on the back of the Vizio, but at this point I'm not going to throw more money at this. I already feel burned that you have to spend extra money in the first place just to correct for the garbage speakers that TV makers are using these days. At least now I have a basic stock-quality sound I can live with.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 02/06/2012
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your Home Theater System. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 102 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200
02/19/2010
By ,
Southeast
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Evan thought the price was OK I expected better operation from the remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 103 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200
03/21/2012
By ,
Spring Hill, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound wasn't any better than my TV. Had to return it :o(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 03/24/2012
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 104 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

A Slow Hook-up

10/28/2010
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took a good while for the connection to take place but once it did it worked fairly decent.
This is my first experience with a sound bar, so am glad I don't have too much invested in it. What shows I can't hear on my Sony Bravia, I just turn on the sound bar. Not a bad choice for price and beginner status.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 105 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Maybe, Maybe Not

01/19/2010
By ,
Haines, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this sound bar as part of a package deal with our TV. The sound bar has good sound. I would not say that it has much surround sound to it, although we have not purchased a subwoofer to go with it. The worst thing about the sound bar is the remote. You have to be within a very small cone of sight before it will work. In other words you almost have to be directly in front of the unit to operate the volume control. I don't know if the sound bar is really any better than the speakers on the TV itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 106 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Vizio Sound Bar

02/21/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had high hopes for this product. I bought a new 46 HD flat screen and discovered the speakers on the TV were pathetic. That is the reason for this purchase. I just wanted to be able to hear the TV louder and clearer, especially during movies.
Be aware that you will need a special SPDIF optical cable that is hard to find (and not included, or sold at WalMart) to hook up your TV. Once you do that, The sound is good, and exactly what I needed.
The bad part is that it does not work with your TV/cable remote. It has its own remote that you have to turn on everytime, re-do the input everytime, and adjust separately from your TV everytime. Unless I missed something in the instructions, its not meant to work with your TV remote.
It gets the job done, its just a little bit of a hassle. Since this is for a TV that I dont use everyday, it will be fine, but would rather have the TV volume work with the Sound Bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nashville,tn
Posted 11/25/2011
programmed my diectv remote fine with this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 107 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Average sound bar

10/17/2010
By ,
hixson tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If your adding this to a Vizio TV, you can skip this purchase. This product sounds the same as the tv. I kept it because it did as promised, control variations in sound volume. Added this to the 37 inch Vizio in the bedroom and when I use it, I never wake with an infomercial screaming at me. It does maintain volume.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 108 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Vizio Sound Bar will NOT WORK on LG TV

03/27/2012
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found out AFTER I bought this sound bar that it requires something called PCM input. LG TV does not have PCM input, and so it will not work on any LG TV. I confirmed this with LG technical support. I had to return it. It may work great on other TV's but it will not work on an LG.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 03/29/2012
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Customer Avatar
Illinois
HEARSAY
Posted 03/28/2012
Maybe I'm wrong but when you turn off your LG's speakers your TV will automatic go into PCM mode ?
Providing you have that optical cable hooked up and the input on the speaker bar set to the third position it should work.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 109 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200
10/07/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we liked the sound quality for the money and the set up was very easy, however we have fought the remote from day one, it seems to work when it wants to, we tried new batteries, no improovement, it is going back to the store
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 10/12/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 110 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Good for the price I paid.

01/18/2011
By ,
NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Acceptable sound quality for the $98.00 sale price, but not for the $150.00 original price. It is a definite improvement over typical built-in television speakers, but I haven't heard anything that sounds like SurroundSound.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 111 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

sound

06/09/2010
By ,
ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its ok has some volume issues not regulated as advertised
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 112 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Good but not great

12/19/2009
By ,
South Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound that you get from this unit is very good for the price but there are a few things I do not like. The remote is very cheap feeling and has to be at just the right angle to work. There are no lights to indicate that the unit is on or off and not much control on volume. It is loud or soft not much range in between. The unit looks good and does have good tone but may not give you the surround feel all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 113 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Good for what it is

08/12/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For quieting down the loud parts of movies, this is great. The optical input doesn't handle many encodings from our Apple TV, so it's only really useful with the analog inputs connected.
The remote is as dreadful as others have already said; get a learning universal programmed with these codes and you'll be much happier.
Overall, it's worth the money because it lets us watch movies without having to constantly raise and lower the volume. I'm disappointed that the digital input is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 114 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Disappointed

01/07/2010
By ,
Rome, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this to go along with my Vizio TV and Vizio blu ray player. Playing the blu ray player the tv's sound was horrible. You could have the sound all the way to 100 and still could barely hear it. Therefore, I decided to buy this Vizio sound bar to enhance the tv's speakers. However, when I received the sound bar it was DOA. :( I bought it online and returned it to my local Wal-mart store and received a refund with no hassle. I have since purchased a PS3 for my son for Christmas and have it hooked up to the Vizio TV. The PS3 has 100% better sound quality than playing a movie on a regular Vizio blu ray player. I can't really recommend this Vizio sound bar product since mine was DOA.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 115 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Good value for the money

01/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for better sound for my bedroom TV and didn't want the expense or hassle of running wires. This addressed the issue perfectly. For $100 it does exactly what I needed it to do.
Pros- Price, easily synced with my harmony remote, easy setup, worked with an existing sub-woofer.
Cons- Had some crackling when first setting it up (solved by switching through the inputs a couple times)
I wasn't expecting audio file quality sound from a $100 2.1 sound bar but the sound is crisp and clear. If you are looking to set up from the weak speakers that come with your TV this would be a nice step up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 116 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Vizio soundbar

09/08/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought the sound bar, brought it home and hooked it up to my 47" Vizio. The sound was no different than that coming from my set. Perhaps on a smaller TV or one with poor sound qualities it would be better. Had no problem with the remote as others have written. It IS NOT close to a surround sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 117 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

It's the Remote, Stupid.

01/20/2011
By ,
Holgate NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great product and sound for a moderate sized room.
Well made and stylish. One may find it larger and heavier than it looks. However, there is one major issue. The remote is garbage. One must be within 3 feet of bar for it to work. The "chicklet" style buttons do not give you the confidence that they actually work when pushed. Too bad because foir the price the sound is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 118 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

It's ok

08/14/2010
By ,
OKC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The soundbar gets pretty loud and sounds ok, but I didn't like the volume control.. it was hard to go up and down on volume, like it was taking a while to get the signal to change or something. The main reason I returned it though, was because I decided on a home theater anyways, and no reason to have 5 speakers, a subwoofer AND a soundbar, so decided to save some $$ and go with that option instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 119 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Missing Digital

12/22/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It sounds great, and looks good. I cannot say enough about the way it produces sound compared to LCD TV speakers. The problem that I have is that a digital signal is distorted and makes the sound of a doby digtal DVD or Xbox 360 game sound like a flock of birds. I tried turning off all of the add-on sound features, but it just makes the noises soft. I know this sound bar is not 5.1 sound, but I expect it to seperate the 2.0 from the rest of the signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 120 for VIZIO High Definition SoundBar, VSB200

Not compatible with LG LK450 Series

12/20/2011
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had read reviews that this soundbar worked with some LG TVs and not others but hadn't seen our particular model listed. Took a chance and bought but it didn't work with our LG 42LK450. Called LG also and they said that only added sound that will work with the LK 450 series are the Vizio VHT 510 which is a multi-piece home theater set up and the LG LSB316 soundbar with subwoofer. Of course, both of these are much more expensive and more pieces to deal with. We've ordered the LG LSB316 but sure wish this had worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/30/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. If you have any questions please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
101-120 of 624 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8  ...  32 Next