Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

AT&T AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

The AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone is the perfect landline phone to have at your home. The AT&T telephone comes with a large tilt display and large buttons which makes it easier to use the phone. The caller ID phone has an in built speaker with high voice clarity that ensures easy usage and better performance. A ten number speed dial option lets users dial regularly used numbers easily. A caller waiting and caller id feature is also available in the speaker phone allowing you to see who is calling. You can also easily mount the phone on a wall if you wish to. A ringer volume feature allows you to choose the ideal ringing volume you wish for the phone. With so many exciting features, the AT&T telephone will definitely make an ideal addition to your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation84%129 out of 154reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 222 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Initial observations

11/28/2009
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initial observations.....
1. Earphone & speaker deliver clear audio with reasonable amplification if required.
2. LCD display is bright and sharp.
3. Nice range of ringer volume options.
4. The phone that you receive may DIFFER from that in the Walmart pic, which shows a REDIAL/PAUSE button to the left of the * button. My phone has a REDIAL-only button in that position. If you need to program a "pause" into your memory dialling, you CAN do it. Just make use of the CID button, as described on P.4 of the "Quick Start Guide." Don't bother looking in the full-length manual's index for "pause." It's not in there!!!!
5. For the record (and unless I can't count), the two-touch speed dialing is actually three-touch. Minor annoyance.
All in all, this looks like a pretty substantial phone for Walmart's $20 price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hampton Roads, VA
Question:
Posted 10/31/2013
Does the display light up so you can read the caller ID clearly?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Easy to read!

03/23/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a phone with caller ID that I could see without my glasses, This phone is perfect! Has features that I've want in a desk phone for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Purchased for Speakerphone

07/29/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone mainly for the speakerphone capability. It works great! It does have a volume control which is nice. The unit takes four disposable AA batteries which are for back-up services, and the instructions say they are required for the speakerphone and other features to work. The instructions do not mention battery life. I used the speakerphone this evening to listen to a twenty minute conference call and it was loud and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Sensible solution

03/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all of us who are SO TIRED of having to deal with the small wireless phones and the tiny cell phones, this phone provides a measure of relief.
~
It's SO NICE to be able to hold a comfortable handset to your ear -- and to be able to easily adjust the volume with the deskset slider when listening conditions change in the middle of you conversation.
~
And it's SO NICE to be able to have all your features laid out in front of you in a clearly-readable fashion. It's as it this phone was actually designed for use by human beings.
~
MY SUMMARY: For $20 -- $25 in the store -- it's a good solution.
~
~~~~~ And if AT&T is listening, make these improvements:
** Add an LED backlight for the display and let I come on for 10 seconds or so while you're selecting features or dialing.
** Print the lettering for the "slider buttons" in white also (like all the other lettering on the phone) so you can actually read it.
** Make the handset cord twice as long. It tends to pull the lightweight phone off of its perch when you're using the phone. (I changed over to a plain flat cord, which is even better.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Value comes in small packages

08/12/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month. The large displays makes it easy for dialing. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Price was higher at store

09/15/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool phone for the money. Everything works great!
I wish it had ac power out. Price was $5 higher at the store than stated on the website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Very Disappointed

03/22/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited to find a phone with large numbers as well as a speakerphone for such a reasonable price. After spending time setting up all my numbers, however, I received my first call and was very disappointed to find the person calling me could not understand me when I used the speakerphone feature. This phone goes back tomorrow!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Not what I expected

03/07/2010
By ,
Fairview, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love everything about this phone-Big Numbers-Big Display except the display does not light up so you still can't see it at night. I bought this to put by the bed so we could use it at night but since the display does not light up it's not much good. It operates only on batteries there is no AC plug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

good product

08/10/2009
By ,
Tifton, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this phone very much. The price was right and the speaker phone has a very good sound quality. The only other thing I would like to see is a back light for the caller id display.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Great little all-round phone

02/02/2011
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm likin' this phone so far. The Good: Clear connection, clear voices (note that I had to fool with the settings to get the background air noise to go away); reasonable price; easy setup; speaker function; can turn ringer off; nicely weighted and comfortable receiver for holding during long conversations; large easy to read dial numbers; not TOO large for all the functions it has and large dial numbers; larger than usual CID window. The Bad: The CID window and dial numbers aren't lit up (at least I don't see a way to make them light up); I think it's supposed to hang on a wall, but it won't - the receiver won't stay on the phone. I bought two corded phones for use during power outages (altho I was going to keep them plugged in for use, when cordless connection was bad). I got the AT&T Trimline black, and this phone. I liked them both so much, and they were such a good value, that I kept them both!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Not even worth $20

02/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone worked once on speaker and never again. Regular non-speaker portion works, good sized design but bought it for the speaker function on long teleconferences and now it's worthless to me. Will be returning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Almost perfect

05/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, this is an exceptional value with great features. However for the speakerphone etc to work you WILL need batteries. Not sure if that was clear in the product info. online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID
10/04/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this same phone twice. Both times, the Caller ID screen went out after a few months. I have not replaced it this time because the Caller Id shows up on the TV when the phone rings. I am very disappointed that this happened to me twice. The telephone itself is a good phone but I don't see myself purchasing any AT & T phones again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

horrible battery life for LCD display

07/15/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I can't believe I haven't seen any reviews mentioning that the phone takes 4 batteries and I've had to change mine once/month for the caller ID display screen to work.
I know you get what you pay for and otherwise it's a great phone - no complaints. But in the long run, the cost of batteries is going to cost me a lot!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

A Good Economical Telephone

01/07/2010
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though it is a bit unfortunate that this telephone requires four AA batteries to power the LCD display (there is not an AC adapter), it is a good, economical telephone that performs well. The display is not lit, but has very large numbers and the sound quality is acceptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Clear speakerphone but thats about it.

06/07/2011
By ,
Everett
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice footprint size and can be mounted on the wall too.
The handset is so unstable on the cradle that every time I move the phone on my desk the handset falls off!
Also, the display is very hard to read unless I pick up the whole phone (handset falls off).
Without the booklet I can't figure out how to use all the features and I was able to do that with my smartphone! This is just too complicated for a home phone. I got it to have speed dial, last numbers called history, last numbers incoming history but I feel like I am wasting my time now.
The coily cord is too short so I bought an untwister which won't fit into the bent slot for the coily cord plug.
It has a FANTASTIC clear sounding speaker phone. And for this I am not taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

I LOVE this product

05/23/2010
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST AT&T Phone/Speakerphone with a large Caller ID screen I have ever owned. The clarity on the receiver and the speakerphone is SUPER. The large dial buttons are helpful. Plus the optional ringing volumes are just perfect. The "Audio Assist" button is very helpful when someone speaks too soft to hear them. The Caller ID screen is large, easy to read and the fact it can be tilted for viewing is a plus. Everything about it easy to understand. It's a all around PERFECT phone. I cetainly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Its ok!

03/27/2010
By ,
North Ridgeville, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reason I bought this is for the speaker phone. Its ok...its clear but not as clear as it said it would be.
Also, The picture showed a display for the numbers(what I mean...is that it looked lit up). Well, its not.
Its a big display but its not "lit". I was disappointed in this feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Terrible Static

01/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a home phone this morning. The dial tone is clear, but when dialing numbers and talking to others, the static is so bad that I cannot make out what the other person is saying. The static is worse on the handset but still occurs with the speaker engaged. The printed instructions and online support were useless.
There's nothing unusual about my home phone line - I've had another basic phone connected in the same jack up until now and the sound is perfectly clear. Also, all of my connections / wires are plugged in as expected. I will definitely be taking this phone back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AT&T CL2939 Corded Speakerphone with Large Tilt Display & Caller ID

Pleasant Surprise

06/11/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I didn't like that this phone needs batteries and I was nervous the batteries wouldn't last long. I have had this phone for four months so far, and the first batteries I put in are still in use. This phone was a pleasant surprise. I had returned a few phones before finding this one. The sound quality of a landline, corded phone is hard to beat! I like to use this phone for long conversations, especially with my parents, whom with other phones always said, "What?!" I have mine mounted on the wall near my computer and I have DSL. I like how it has manual ringer volume, receiver volume, and speaker volume control buttons on the side of the phone. The LCD screen does not light up, like in the picture on this website.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next