Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bissell Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

BISSELL is the only brand with a patented built-in heater! The heater provides continuous heated cleaning by raising the temperature of hot tap water up to 25 degrees hotter for MAXIMUM cleaning effectiveness. Hot tap water and solution passes thru the heater just before being sprayed onto your carpet, so as long as the heater is turned on, the water and solution stay hot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation73%37 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

So quiet the animals didn't flinch

06/30/2009
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. We bought it to replace an old brushless steam vac that was 10 years old. The only two drawbacks was that it tends to drift to the left when pulling back and it has a small bladder. This cleaner is so quiet that the dog and the cat were sleeping on the couch in the same room we were cleaning. We hadn't cleaned the carpet in about 5 years and had to do a lot of pretreatment but the carpet looks great and even got up a stain of dried in kool-aid. Spot cleaning and pet urine/odor removers never worked on this one spot in the corner of the room where the cat was constantly going. She hasn't gone once in this area since we cleaned it . It only took about 4 hours to dry but we had high humidity that day. The cleaning solution is not overtly strong and dispite the bad review here after running it for about 8 hours for two days never had the belt slip once. Two thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+50points
Review 2 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great Product

09/11/2009
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! I replaced my old Hoover carpet cleaner with this one. Extremely easy to use. I like the fact that you can control how much cleaner to use-can change the concentration without stopping. The pet brush worked really well cleaning those high traffic areas, along with my furniture. It knows when you are out of cleaning solution and/or fresh water in the tank. I would recommend this product to anyone. The one issue I was concerned about when I reviewed this product is the belt. I had no problems at all with it slipping or coming off. Two thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+31points
Review 3 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Worth EVERY penny!

06/15/2009
By ,
Chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I have to say is WOW! I do not have carpets in my house, however, I do have a new couch, 3 dogs, and a cat...and it just so happened that the dogs chewed a VERY VERY messy raw hide on the couch while I was at work! It looked like someone had taken brown gravey and smeared it ALLLLLL over my couch!!
I went onto walmart.com and researched cleaners, and after 2 days, I went into my local store to got the Bissell Pro heat...Which they were out of...BUT, at the other end of the shelf was the pro heat PET. I figured hey, why not.
The machine comes with a little bottle of the pet carpet cleaner solution which has now lasted me 2 couch cleanings (I have a sectional sofa that is pretty large). I didn't see anything on the box that said anything about the little bottle being included, so it was a nice surprise.
It took me about 1/2 hour to 45 mins to clean my entire sofa (which is VERY large!) and it was spotless!! I was amazed!! Not only did it not take much time, it also was very easy to use (no strain on arms of hands) and the couch dried FAST! I cleaned my couch around noon, and by 3ish the couch was dry!
The clean water is in a "bladder" inside of the dirty water tank so it saves room, and the cleaning solution is in a seperate holder that you fill up and can just leave it in there inbetween cleanings.
All I can say is I HIGHLY recommend this cleaner!! If I had to buy one again, this would be it!! I'm also a dog groomer and work in a pet food store, and anyone that asks me for a good cleaning machine, I tell them about this one!
Like I said before, worth EVERY penny!! I am SOOOO glad I invested in this cleaner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+38points
Review 4 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great Carpet Cleaner

03/01/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are very few products I get excited about using. I'm happy with a lot of things I buy, but not many do I say later, "I would have paid twice as much". There are only two products before this that I've felt that way about, a potato peeler and a bed warmer. I've added this carpet cleaner to the list. This machine does a fantastic job. We have a cat and a dog and occasionally accidents happen. The cat has a habit of throwing up and the dog gets a little too excited sometimes and pees on the floor. Both discouraging problems for a person who has light cream colored carpet. With pets, we use a carpet shampoo with enzyme cleaners in it and, with that solution not only does this cleaner get stains out, the dog never goes back to the same place for even a whiff. We rented a machine for $50 to clean the carpets when we bought our house and it left stains that the Bissel got out. Also, this carpet cleaner picks up a TON more pet hair than what our $200 vacuum cleaner does. The upholstery attachments also work wonders on furniture. We've used this machine for a year now for many different chores and it has held up wonderfully and still performs as good as the day we bought it. It can be a little bit challenging to clean because there are so many little crevices and small spot where water and dirt get into, but by the looks of the machine that is how it has to be designed. We generally spend about 15 minutes cleaning the machine after we've used it but considering how well it works, we're not bothered by this at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Review 5 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Good for Pet and kid stains!

08/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has saved our carpets! We had one bedroom that we never used...when we went to check on something in there we realized that the dog and cat had been using it as their personal potty room!! YUCK! We were sure the carpet was ruined and would have to be removed. This steamer makes the carpet look almost new again!! Also has worked great on stains from the kids (juice, kool aid, mud, mustard, you name it!) And it's so easy to use, my husband can do it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 6 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Good Price, Great Saver

02/22/2010
By ,
Easton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the comments on here before my wife left to pick up the regular Bissell Carpet Cleaner. I was pleased when I found this one with the built in heater. Thew machine worked wonders and I / we are more than elated with the overall performance. If you are using this for set in stains, I suggest doing your fair share of research on the net to pre treat. This cleaner isn't a "Rug Doctor" so don't expect to get the 1979 dirt out of your carpets. But, it will get the 2007,2008,2009 and present out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 7 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Spends More Time At The Repair Shop Then Cleaning

10/07/2009
By ,
De Soto, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one of the worse products I have ever bought that was over $100. I have owned two of these total. The first one broke so I was able to return it to get a new one. The second one broke in the exact same place. There is a knob on the spin brush that the belt goes around. They both broke after only using them twice. The machine broke down again on me after getting it repaired again after only using it twice. Not sure what's wrong with it again this time, but it won't spray the solution on the carpet. The repair shop I took it to says they see lots of these machines at their shop being repaired.
Bottom line, it looks cool, the water heating is cool, the hand tools to clean with are cool, but it something with belt brakes ALL THE TIME. If I was you, I wouldn't waste the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 8 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great Product with Great Price!!

04/06/2010
By ,
Pittsfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I have a dog (who loves to play in mud and anything dirty) and an apartment full of white rugs. I thought it would be easier to buy instead of renting all of the time. We had recently moved into the apartment and I decided to shampoo the rugs because the previous tenants had cats and the rugs smelled like cats. When I shampooed the rugs, it worked so good it pulled up old cat hair that was deep in the rug that my regular vacuum didn't pick up and wasn't visible to the eye. It also god rid of the cat smell! I would say this is a great product for pet owners and the price is so great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 9 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Horrible product

04/03/2010
By ,
Central Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband I purchased this a year ago, not as an everyday spill cleaner (we have another machine for that). We have used it TWICE. last fall for carpet clening the house, and now we took it out for our Spring clening and for some reason not a drop of water would come out to clean carpet. I am so disappointed in this purchase, I will never buy a Bissell again. My husband tried to see what was wrong with it and it is the belt that is not staying on and stops the water pump from working. WHAT A WASTE OF 180.00. Im surprised as I do not consider this cheap for residential use and to get (actually you can say a one time use, because its not working now),is a disgrace.Not to mention this is the second Bissell this has happened to , we brought back the first one and replaced it with this one.So point blank , there must be some sort of defect with this machine
Product Attributes:
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 10 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

DO NOT get this

10/04/2009
By ,
Monahans/Odessa, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before I write my review, first let me say I love bisell products, for the most part. The Bisell Proheat Pet Vac does not work. It will turn on, but it WILL NOT spray any water/solution. So I had to do the only thing I knew to do, which was spill the solution on the floor and vacuum it up. It will do that much. So if you don't want to do it manually don't get it. I will return this product this week when I am able to, and look at different steam cleaners.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 11 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

LOVE this machine

10/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me say Wal-Mart will hate me because I stood in the floor cleaning aisle and REALLY looked over this Bissell and the comparable Hoover-no comparison (took them off the display and disassembled the attachments etc.) This machine is so EASY, that parts are where they should be and you don't have to mess with plugging in attachments etc., the water container is simple and easy to rinse out. They've thought of everything and not only that it does a fantastic job. I have 3 HUGE dogs and a cat and this machine CLEANED!! Not only my rugs but my very drooled on micro-fiber sofa and loveseat. I also used it on my 8 x 10 wool rug and IT looks like new-and not only that but they were dry and ready to walk on in about an hour, a fantastic machine. I'm very, very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Do not buy this!

03/20/2010
By ,
Panama City, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cleaner 5 hours ago. It took about 10 minutes to put together, and my husband is already taking it apart and taking it right back to the store. I have never been this disappointed in a product. We had a ProHeat 2x Pet that broke (again) 2 weeks after its' 2 year warranty expired, and figured we would give Bissel another shot since we liked the job it did when it worked, but this was a HUGE mistake.
The tool attachment leaks and I completed my daughter's standard closet and ONE 5 foot pass in her room before the tank was full. This is not a product for anyone that actually wishes to clean their carpets with a carpet cleaner.
We are looking at a RugDoctor now, as the Hoover's spin brushes are easily clogged with pet hair (even after vacuuming) and the plastic part on the brush assembly breaks.
I guess you get what you pay for, and in this case, we didn't even get that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Very Satisfied

12/28/2009
By ,
Fleming Island, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having owned two Bissell canister steam vacs over 17 years, I purchased the Proheat Pet due to no canister vacs available. I was very scepticle of the upright working as well as the canisters I had owned. I have a new carpet in which I was starting to see wear traffic and had some serious stains which I had already tried to remove in a bedroom. I was very impressed on the ease in which it removed the stains and light traffic dirt without much effort. My biggest criticism would be the dirty water receptacle fills very quickly and it seems I have to make many more trips to empty. I had no other issues, although swithching from the vac to the floor tool is kind of a hassle to unhook and then replace, although it works well also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 14 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great Steam Cleaner

02/18/2010
By ,
Clarksville, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an 8 year old Shi Tzu who has, within the last 7 months, decided to start urinating on the carpet again. I have been renting Rug Doctors from Lowes and finally decided to just buy my own steam cleaner in order to save money.
I picked this one because it says it is for pets. It even comes with a little container of the 2x concentrate pet formula treatment. The attachments are also nice for spot treatments. It heats up fast and really well. You can actually see the steam coming up from the carpet. It soaks up most of the water too, actually better than the Rug Doctor ever did.
It has multiple settings for regular, high traffic, and water rinse. I especially like the water rinse setting because you can go back over the area and make sure you get all of the soap up.
The only problem I have is that the water container/bladder is pretty small. I only have a one bedroom apartment and it took multiple containers of water to get the job done. Also, the lid that goes on the tank was a bit tricky to get latched on every time. It is as if you have to hold it JUST RIGHT to get it on which was kind of annoying.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this product as it is quite a value and, in my opinion, gets the job done better than the Rug Doctor rentals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 15 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

looks can be deceiving

11/24/2009
By ,
Lancaster, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product to clean some area rugs in my home with the hopes of eventually using it on my wall-to-wall carpet. I do not recommend this product at all other than it is aesthetically pleasing to the eye. The product sort of worked half the time and than didn't work the other half. The bladder of the unit is so small I had to either empty the dirty water or fill it back up with clean every 2 min (no exaggeration!). I was in total disbelief and very annoyed that I now had to not only finish the job I started under these circumstances and then take the unit apart and return it to the store. Ugh! The sprayer, even when the dirty was empty and the fresh was full, kind of squirted out uneven patterns of water on the rugs - which kind of defeats the purpose of using a machine to get a nice uniform cleaning. I was originally going to buy the Hoover but Walmart was out of them and this one was only slightly higher in price and actually looked nicer than the Hoover. Well, I will be returning this one and waiting until they get more Hoovers back in stock. I'm not trying to knock Bissell - I own a vacuum and it is great - but this machine totally missed the mark.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 16 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Love It!

04/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this machine. It got up all our pet accident stains and even other stains not pet related. I would reccomend it to anyone even if you don't have pets. It comes with enough shampoo to fill one time, so be sure you purchase more when you purchase the machine. It is not as quiet as one person has stated, I would say it is a little louder than a sweeper. However it is still a great machine. I don't know about durability since I have only had it for 2 months. Ive not had any trouble with the belt. I don't find it hard to clean either like some have mentioned. It is a great machine and well worth the extra money to get something that is actually going to lift up stains.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Second Bissell Machine - Same Problems

03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My first Bissell steam cleaner was a big disappointment. Worked well the first three or so times, then would only power on; no spray was being disbursed and no suction. Followed all the troubleshooting tips and had it professionally looked at. For what I paid for it, it wasn't worth repairing so I tossed it out. That was a few years ago. Now I see the "new and improved" model for sale at my local store so I figured I'd give Bissell another try since its such a reputable name. Within minutes I was disappointed. The heater did not heat the water; the spray from the hand-held upolstery attachment just dribbled out; and spray on the vacuum section only sprayed sporadically and the brushes had to keep being re-adjusted to work properly. Looking back at the cons listed here on this review site, all of these seem to be common problems with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

GREAT STEAMER

02/26/2010
By ,
GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVE ONLY USED IT ONCE SO FAR , BUT i KNEW RIGHT AWAY IT WAS THE BEST I EVER USED. WE'VE HAD TWO HOOVERS AND ONE CHEAPIE BISSEL. BUT THIS ONE IS REALLY GOOD.
A SNAP TO PUT TOGETHER WITH ONLY A SCREW DRIVER. IT HAS STRONG SUCTION AND YOU CAN REALLY SEE THAT THE BELT DRIVEN SCRUBBER IS SO MUCH MORE EFFECTIVE THAN THE VAC. DRIVEN BRUSHES ON THE HOOVER.
EASY TO FILL, EASY TO EMPTY, AND THERE IS A FILTER WICH SEEMS TO KEEP THE DIRT AND DOG-HAIR OUT OF THE IMPELLER. WE DESTROYED TWO HOOVERS WHEN THE DOG-HAIR GOT TO THE IMPELLER AND PUT IT OUT OF BALANCE AND CAUSED IT TO SELF-DESTRUCT. SO FAR REAL GOOD.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 19 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great for Pet Lovers

12/28/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two older greyhounds. One of them has the onset of cushings, which means he drinks a lot and pees a lot. He has an accident in the house at least once a week. The machine gets used a lot and has worked well, cleaning much better than our old Hoover steam vac, which finally broke-down under the workload. Not only does the Bissel get up the stains and urine smell better, but it also sucks up more water, allowing the carpet to dry faster. The product is also more ergonomic than our old Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Bissell ProHeat Pet Vacuum

Great product for your money!

12/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two dogs that live in our house which means constantly fighting dog hair. In addition, we had two stubborn accidents from our dog when she was a puppy. I used carpet sprays and nothing worked. I figured instead of renting a machine ($50) I could buy my own and clean whenever I want to. Great idea! The machine worked great. It picked up dust and hair that I couldn't get with a vacuum. And those spots? Gone! I would recommend this product to anyone-with dogs or not. I am truly impressed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next