Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Get the frameless look of the future with the HP 17" Pavilion Laptop PC, which features a 17" HP BrightView display and rich digital entertainment capability. You'll enjoy desktop-caliber performance in a stunning mobile design with AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor, 4GB system memory, 500GB Hard Drive, and 512 dedicated graphics memory. What's more, the HP 17" Pavilion Laptop PC qualifies for the Microsoft Windows 7 Tech Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation77%24 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Great desktop replacement

05/30/2009
By ,
Upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the amount of money paid, the performance for a laptop is awesome. I do a bit of Adobe Suite work and a lot of media based things such as music, videos and games. The 4GB and memory and 512MB video memory are good enough for heavy usage but there is some minor lags when trying to play some more graphic intensive games.
The AMD Turion does a good job but it runs HOT! idle temperatures are around 66C so I may recommend using this in a well ventilated and cool area; or buy yourself a cooler. Don't worry, nothing bad has happened though. Battery life is OK but the large screen and other features suck down energy so you cannot watch a full movie unless you plug in to an outlet. My battery life varies from 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours.
Hard Drive is fast but spinning at 5400RPM data could be transferred a little faster.
Various ports and and slots makes life easier.
The media remote that comes with is handy and cool :). plug in external speakers and close the lid and you can listen to your music from a distance without depleting power to use the monitor or simply keeping the screen on.
I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 2 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Great lap top

06/27/2009
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this computer for about 2 months now. I use it every day. I have had no trouble at all with it.
I use it for work and play, music, games, movies, and Trimbal GPS systems. It is wonderful! I strongly recomend this machine to any and all.
I did alot of research befor I made my purchase, and nowhere did I find this much computer for anywhere near this good a price! I LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 3 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Very Pleased

06/21/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this laptop for college to hold many different programs that I would need (including The Sims 3 for my entertainment in between homework assignments). And I must say that the speed, graphics, and overall performance is wonderful. I must also suggest a cooling pad though because the vents get very hot on the bottom but other then that it's very enjoyable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 4 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

AHHHH ITS OK!!!!

07/09/2009
By ,
Sikeston,MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife and I bought this computer Feb of 2009 and it ran great at first, played all our games and the wireless net is is quick. About a month ago we started to see an increase in errors and system failures and having to reboot because the wireless link because if would show connected but not open any pages. I also own the Norton 360 all in one security and about a week ago after running my norton the computer was rebooted and windows failure occurred. I would boot it up and get nothing but a blue screen and a mouse curser. I called HP Tech Support as it is still under warranty and they were very helpful in getting me a box sent to my house to ship product out for service, all paid for by HP. Over all a very nice computer and does lots of extra things, just concerns me of long term life.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Oh-Em-Gee

06/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this computer!! I wanted a computer to do school work, but more importantly to play games (the sims to be specific) and it's wonderful. It has tons of space that holds ALL of my music and still has plenty of room to run the games without lagging. It also has an awesome bronze carbon fiber look to it. I would recommend this laptop to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 6 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

good value but not too functional

09/01/2009
By ,
austin, tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got a really great deal on this laptop so I quite happy about the price. It has a lot of great components.
On the bad side, this baby is hot. It won't burn you but you can feel the heat under your palms and laps.
If you plan to carry this baby around and put on your laps, don't buy it. I don't think that kind of heat is good for the components for long term. The keyboard is hilarious. It is impossible to see the keys under certain angle and light. The reflection on copper keys makes the letters invisible. Luckily, I type by touch so it is not that big a deal. Do not by this computer if you are a search and peck person. You will be in for one big frustration. I would not recommend this for novice user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade
08/04/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am still learning all the cool things this laptop can do, it is great for starting your own business. I wouldn't trade this one for anything! GO! HP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

ONE huge issue

08/19/2009
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Really liked this allot. Was great value. The deal breaker was the color of the keys. Many lighting situations gave such a glare on the keys they could have been blank for all that you could tell. I'm basically a hunt and peck person and it was driving me crazy. Otherwise it was a great machine and you can't beat the price. I had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Horror story

06/15/2009
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great looking laptop good performance for a month
then driver and hardware issues the last 4 months i had it maybe was just mine but hp's website has multiple fixes for the driver issues that do not work to many problems for me to keep it -paper wieght
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 10 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

I won't buy an HP again

08/27/2009
By ,
Baytown, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this laptop online this past Sunday, got it Tuesday and brought it back on Wednesday. I had to call tech support right away and they had me on the phone for over 2 hours doing a system restore to return it to factory settings...hello? I just took it out of the box...shouldn't it have already been there? Anyway, that didn't fix the problem and upon doing a bit of research found out that there is a conflict with the graphics card and Vista. You would think HP would know this and change the card they use. Nope, no more HP products for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 11 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

disappointed

08/20/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
seems to be a great value and is to a certain degree.
but it's still a lot of money for a computor that does'nt run as fast as my 3yr old desktop HP with a lot less muscle.
not to mention the poor user manuel and minor other problems you have to spend hours w/ support staff to fix or understand.
I just expected more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Copper Top!!

05/14/2011
By ,
Duarte, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had my computer for over a year and a half now and the letters are starting to wear off. Can't see the keyboard at night or on highly lighted areas during the day. And if you're a touch typist, like my daughter, you have to have a lamp or attach a small light to the keyboard. Fortunately, I know how to type without having to look at the keyboard. The shine from the screen onto the keyboard is glaring at night time which makes it difficult to see. Upgrading it to Windows 7 was the best incentive they could have given to sell this computer.
It really is a good computer as far as doing the things it said it did. Since then I've added another hard drive for storage. No problems there. It's really great for watching movies and playing music and using it for what it was intended, an Entertainment Center.
I spoke with an HP representative and I told him about the letters starting to wear off. I asked if there was a way to purchase new or different letters to put on the laptop, he suggested that I try using white out to renew the letters. WHAT? Not a good idea, I think. He wasn't helpful and said I could always buy another computer. One of the latest models. He was only interested in selling me another laptop. I have no use for two 17" laptops.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Beautiful Machine

10/20/2009
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a similar HP laptop for my daughter a couple years ago, so I knew to expect a solid, elegant, and capable laptop. This one exceeded my expectations. It is beautiful with a coppery metallic finish and is loaded with everything my honey & I need to watch movies, take care of online business, and socialize. It is a bit heavier than most, and I am sure that I will probably get a cooling stand for it soon so that it doesn't run so warm, but I am very happy with this purchase. We don't tote it around with us everywhere; on the contrary, it usually stays put in our home office, so we don't mind the extra heft. It is loaded with features, and was actually $50 cheaper online than the in-store model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

A very nice computer.

08/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The computer has a lot of features for the price including the lightscribe blu-ray. Good value for the buck. I've had the computer for about a month now and so far it has been performing well. I haven't totally explored all the features but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Great With Style

09/01/2009
By ,
East Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laptop bought it for when I went to college and i love it. It's really fast computer with 4gigs of ram so its very easy to do many things at once. With a very big hard drive 500gig you have more than enough space to do your thing. The only thing that is bad but very, very minor is the color werid but you will get use to it and it stands out from all the other!!! Plus you do get a free windows 7 upgrade!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Best Bang For The Buck

10/19/2009
By ,
SAN ANTONIO, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate this laptop excellent. I've had a few laptops and this is by far the best I've had. The only problem I have with it is the keys are hard to see (too much glare), Other than that it meets all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Laptop Color

10/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the specifications are awesome for the price. Plus I like that it includes a free upgrade to Windows 7.
However, I do not like the gold color. Why can't HP offer this laptop computer in an all black color?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Review 18 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade
07/20/2009
By ,
Logan, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this laptop 6/15/09 and 18 days later my hard drive fried, and i had to call hp and send me a new harddrive. they said that hard drive isnt as good as the original that it can last 2 weeks or 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

great computer

10/01/2009
By ,
usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this computer its fast reliable and have had no problems with it really if your lookin for a laptop then this is a good pick the only complaint i have is the keys are hard to see in low light
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for HP 17" Pavilion dv7-1261wm Entertainment Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade
08/23/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this on Friday and returned it on Sunday. Very slow to boot up, under certain light you can't see the letters on keypad. First and last hp laptop going back to Dell
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next