Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Starter Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Starter Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Dri-Star wicking technology Crew neck Long sleeves
Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%70 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Fit issues

01/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I disregarded most of the other reviews that claimed the Starter Men's Long-Sleeve Compression Tee was sized much too small, thinking they must not have understood they were purchasing a "compression fit" garment. My apologies to them.
I went ahead and ordered a medium -- my usual size and in accord with the Walmart size charts. It really is too tight, and especially uncomfortable in the mid- to lower torso as it tends to constrict breathing. I have a 29-30" waist size, so I don't think that's the problem. It's still a wearable, but a large probably would have felt much more comfortable.
I find that most "medium" sized tops today are cut with enough room in the belly to fit a spare 48" screen television, so this was a bit of a surprise. I was concerned that Walmart only sold big-bellied apparel equipped with giant low-cut armholes.
My advice would be to purchase one size larger than you would ordinarily, but individuals obviously differ in preference with respect to fit,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+48points
Review 2 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Pretty Good.

01/24/2010
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to keep me warm when i run at night. I does, and it works well as a compression shirt too. The only problem is that it is too small. I knew that they were small so that they could be tight, which is what i wanted so i got my size, a medium. It is too small. It stays for a while and after running it does not stay below my waist. That is the only problem though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 3 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

I love the price!!

02/11/2010
By ,
Casa Grande
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this shirt for my son, and so far he loves it. He usually wears Under Armors, but they run $30 or more, so this is a great alternative. He is only 11, and weighs just 74lbs, but the mens size small fits just the way he likes it. So I will have to agree with the other reviews about the sizing being off. It was a good thing for us, however, since they don't carry these in boys sizes. We will be buying more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 4 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Order LARGER than your regular size!!!

12/06/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just start by saying the size recommended on the size chart is totally off! My husband is about 185 lbs and I measured him and ordered the size it said would fit, which was a Medium... He could barely get it on! I now wear it instead, Im 120 lbs and it fits pretty nicely. SO ORDER LARGER THAN YOUR NORMALLY SIZE! lol. But overall I love this shirt. Ill just have to order my husband a much larger size. Its great for working out in and its very comfortable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 5 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

sizing way off

10/25/2011
By ,
montrose, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is great for layering--definitely does what it's supposed to do. However, the sizing is off by 1-2 sizes. I realize it is a compression shirt and they are meant to fit tightly: however, we have been purchasing compression gear for many years and are aware of the fit. This particular shirt is just plain too small for the size it states; i.e. sleeves too short, shoulders not wide enough, etc.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 6 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

PERFECT fit

11/01/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with these compression tees. They fit and feel just like the more expensive brands like Under Armour and have helped keep my core warm during a few outdoor workouts so far this fall. They also really show off my muscles - can't complain about that! Will definitely be buying a few more of these in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 7 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

compression wear top and bottoms

11/09/2010
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a set of compression wear as an alternative to the old fashioned cotton thermal underwear. These, top and bottoms feel great under your regular clothes and do keep you very warm. They are tight at first and you have to wear them and wash them a few times before you get used to them.
I wore these to the gym the other day for the first time and I was amazed! I was able to excersize longer and do more than I normally do. Once you get used to them they are very comfortable. The waiste band is a little tight but it eases up a bit after the dryer hits it a few times.
I would like to see these items in other colors besides the boring black navy and grey and white. Reds, greens, bright blues, purples.
I now have two complete sets and plan on buying more for the winter time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

I would recommend, BE AWARE FITS VERY SMALL!

01/10/2012
By ,
monticello, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The make of this product is very good & I would recommend this product. It works very well. It keeps my husband warm when he is working out in the cold. So the product does very well when it comes to it's purpose. HOWEVER......, IT FITS VERY SMALL. I ORDERED A XLARGE when my husband normally wears a medium or large at most. So this being an XLARGE So I figured I had more than enough room for him to fit in it. I DIDN'T. JUST AN FYI IT WAS VERY TIGHT. SO I WOULD RECOMMEND AN XLARGE OR LARGER NO MATTER WHAT SIZE YOU WOULD NORMALLY BE ORDERING.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Great Shirt at a great price

12/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my husband one of these to use as an extra layer under his work uniform (he's in and out of the elements all day). He loves it, and says it works as well as the UA shirt he has. This was a test to see if it was a good substitute for the UA b/c at a 1/3 of the cost I bought him two more.
I do agree that they run really small (even for a compression shirt). I had read the reviews before buying him the first one and I went ahead and bought a size larger than he normally wears and it fit great. So the sizing is off, but everything else about this shirt is fabulous.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Underarmour vs Walmart = I save about 40 bucks!

02/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off the actual underarmour is a really expensive, but needed product. My son is very involved in sports...track indoor and out, football and weight training. So needless to say he is sweaty indoors and in the elements. My husband wanted to buy the more expensive brand from a large sports store...I decided to try Walmart first and we were all shocked and amazed. My only con with the Walmart brand is that they run large so buy a size smaller to get the accurate fit. These items should fit very snug to absorb the moisture. My son stays warm (he wears this under another tshirt outside) and cooler when he has to work in the gym. The one I bought online was a size too big, so I went to the store and got a smaller size..ended up getting more. For the price of one in the larger store, I got 2 of the shirts, sweats and the shorts. Go figure...mom was right again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 11 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Starter - Long-Sleeve Compression-T

01/27/2012
By ,
Western US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good shirt for the money. I run about 3 times a week, 15 to 20 miles and wear this shirt on colder days. I am one of those finicky runners that when something bugs me it about ruins my run, things like tags on the back of my neck or sleeves that have ruff cuffs. This shirt does not bother me at all and I find it easy to wear. I am pretty thin and usually wear a large, but I have long arms so if I can't find a Large Tall, I usually go with an XL and that is what I did in this case. However, I find that the XL is just barely big enough. I know it is a compression shirt but it should not be restrictive especially if you are breathing heavily during workouts. I do not think an XL person would be comfortable in an XL size. The arm length in the XL is the minimum length I would accept in a shirt. My advice: buy 2 sizes larger than your regular size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee
06/23/2012
By ,
centerburg, ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very strange. I wore it yesterday under another shirt and noticed nothing different in regards to heat, however it feels very weird, clammy, and of course very tight, even more so than equivalent underarmor. I took off the shirt and the compression tee was wet, wore it uncovered for a while, riding a bike. it seemed cool to the touch on the exterior but not my body. decide to pull it off and just wear the shirt to compare and found it near impossible to pull off while slightly damp. actually thought it would simply tear as it was at the limit of what I could pull. took about two minutes to get it over my head and the only way to get it off of my arms was to let it roll over itself and turn inside out. It is size XL, my chest is 47+, that should be the high end of XL, arms are pretty well muscled, but not body builder level. I will never try it again. I do have another long sleeve turtle neck by a different mfg. it is about 12% spandex XL and fits snug. it is one of my favorites to wear, but is heavy for cool weather. I did talk to several people that have these and they like them, so I have no explanation for my issues, perhaps I should have gotten 2XL. Do not think that is available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Great shirt for the price!

11/22/2010
By ,
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a ton of Under Armour gear and thought I would try to compare. For the price, compared to UA, I'm not in the least disapointed. It certainly isnt UA quality, but you're not paying $50 for a heat gear shirt. If UA is too expensive for you, give this a try! You won't be disapointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Starter Performance TEE

04/20/2012
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this tee stands up with the big boys, like under armour, nike, adidias..
The price blows them out of the water.
BUT..I'm 6'3" 180 lbs. and ordered an XL..The sizing was way off..An XL MIGHT fit a 12 yr. old..
Had to order a 3XL to make it work..
So, order big!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Starter Tee's Review

12/27/2010
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 4 of LS Tee's for Christmas presents. They were shipped in two orders (by size) each shipment came well within the shipping time given. I couldn't be happier with the merchandise or the process.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Great Value

04/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids are involved in sports and you never know how the weather will be so we always have our compression tees. These are just as good as Underarmour and 1/3 of the price. Highly recommend
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

runs tight

07/02/2010
By ,
Hawaii
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The shirt was too tight for me, even after stretching it out for a few days already. I was definitely disappointed with this buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 18 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee
11/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
runs small as some other buyers have commented. Bought 1 size up and fit me perfectly. Good buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee
10/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
product runs very small a man's large fit my 9yr old nephew...I returned product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 20 for Starter - Men's Long-Sleeve Performance Compression Tee

Great buy on Great shirt

04/19/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run.. and found these compression shirts are ideal during cool weather runs.. Since most races start early in the morning, before the day warms, these are excellent in that they keep you warm, and paradoxically keep you cool when you start to perspire... I bought a couple of these last year.. and saw these were discounted from the price at the stores... I generally wear a small size tee, but with these compression shirts I found the small to small and went with the Large size (2 sizes more than what I normally wear) . I like them so much I also own the short sleeve and sleeve-less
versions... As a shorts and tee shirt kinda guy... I wear them all the time... Highly recommend them... much better value than the similar ones than ones you see at sports stores...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next