Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LitterMaid Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

The Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box is perfect for single cat households. With a new, quieter motor and higher walls, this automatic litter box features infrared sensors that send a rake through litter to scoop up waste and drop it into a resealable receptacle just seconds after your pet has finished using the box. The heavy-gauge plastic, 2-piece box helps eliminate most odors. Even better, this self-cleaning litterbox takes one more thing off your list of things to do each day.
Average Customer Rating:
2.425 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation38%18 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Don't bother

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased one on 12/12/11, it is now 12/26/11 and it's broke. We use to own one of these years ago and it lasted about a year then the motor quit working, so I replaced it with another one and 6 months later that motor quit. I figured I would try it again, I guess I should of, forgive me for saying this, listened to my husband and not bothered. I will return the box and go back to the old manual litter box. The cat urinates in the corner which prevents the rakes from working properly, I have to scoop the stuff from the litter box several times a day so the "automatic" part can do its job. What a waste of money, when the company gets it right then they can call me and I'll try it again, but until then I'm sticking with a manual litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 22 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

BEWARE of this product

03/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose to ignore the poor reviews of this product because I loved the idea that we could have an automatic litter box. I took a chance that they were wrong. I should not have bought it! It is LOUD (even though the package says it is the improved model) and got stuck mid tray every time the cat used it. We were careful to use the correct litter, but that did not help. I could put up with it being loud (though it clicks and makes a lot of noise), if it WORKED, but it does not! I took it back for a refund. Don't waste your money and time on it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 23 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Creates more work.

10/13/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a 8 pound cat and the container lasts about 4 days before it starts to keep the lid lifted up or debris falls out. The containers are an added expense that must be changed every 3 days. I cheat and reuse them about three times. Here are the issues:
1. Added expense of the containers.
2. More litter tracking when exiting the litter box as opposed to conventional boxes requiring more cleaning.
3. Litter gets trapped under the container causing having to move the box to clean it up.
4. Debris gets trapped on the bars of the scraper requiring cleaning - no such cleaning on conventional boxes.
5. Minor difficulty in replacing the container and lid - annoying more than anything.
6. When replacing/cleaning out container, you have to wear gloves as debris is everywhere.
7. Litter gets everywhere - all over the floor and the box which has a lot of nooks and crannies causing more work.
Overall, more work with no benefit other than a cleaner (not clean) spot for the kitty to do her business. I ended up contacting kitty debris more with this device than a conventional litter box, by far. Not worth the extra work and the extra nastiness and certainly not worth the extra money. Good thing I kept the old litter box as this one is going back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 24 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Sounded Too Good To Be True!

01/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking to make life a lot easier on your cat litter clean-ups the Litter Maid is not the answer!!! If you've never seen or used it before, it may seem amazing and a miracle at first, as it was for me but it's going to fail on you in no time. I've only had it for several months and the first month it was a genius idea. Now I'm back where I started! The rake always left behind some pieces and ends up pushing the good clean litter into the waste compartment. Waste of the cat's litter and your money! My Litter Maid decided on its final minutes this morning and the rake is now stuck at the top and won't move even by troubleshooting it. For the past couple of weeks I've been doing its work for it. Not a good idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 25 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Breaks Even With Perfect Use!!

07/28/2009
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After about six months the rake got stuck at the very top and would not budge. Even when it was working 'correctly' it didn't scoop everything. Called the company, as it has a one year warranty, they are replacing it with the LM900. They do not make this model, LM 680, anymore. Don't waste your money. Will review the LM900 and see how it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Broke in 2 days.

03/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on Sunday, Tuesday morning it was broke.
This is a horrible product.
I called Littermaid and they said this product is very weak and the reset does not work.
It got stuck on a item and broke.
It did not last 2 full days.
Avoid this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

LM680

02/08/2010
By ,
Celeste, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were given an LM680 for Christmas. We set iy up Dec 24, and it worked fine until Jan 30, when it just locked up. We called Litter Maid Feb 1, and they trouble shot for awhile and then decided it had died. They asked us to send them some parts, and a $10.00 check, and they would send us a new unit. On Feb 8, a LM9000E showed up and it is working now. Apparently the 680 is a weak system. Litter Maid's customer service was exceptional.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 28 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)
02/27/2012
By ,
USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the motor on this one is not as strong as the original litter maid. the grate does not touch to the bottom of the litter box either, thus resulting in me constantly having to scrape the bottom of the box myself. im waiting to see if this thing will hold up to 3 cats who constantly go. the good thing about the box is that the grate does come off to allow easier cleaning of it, as its constantly getting clogged up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Worked good at first.

03/02/2012
By ,
Spokane WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the littermaid after Christmas and had it for about 6 weeks and the motor stopped working. Very disapointed, so I took it back w/o a receipt and they exchanged it with no questions asked, we shall see how long this one lasts, will be changing brands if this one fails! I love that I no longer have to scoop, it is quiet, but the receptical need to be made of a heavier plastic they are pretty flimsey.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

POOR PERFORMANCE

11/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE TRIED LITTERMAID BOXES FOR THE LAST 4 YRS. I HAVE GONE THROUGH 4 OF THEM. THE ELECTRIC CORD TO THE MOTOR WORD BREAK OF THE FIRST 2 (WIRE TO THIN) iT IS LIKE TELEPHONE WIRE. THE NEXT TWO THE PLASTIC ROLLERS THAT GUIDE THE RAKE BROKE OFF RENDERING IT USE LESS. THE FECUS WOULD STICK TO THE RAKE. IT WOULD STICK WHEN TRYING TO CLEAN THE LITTER (BOX WAS NOT OVERLOAED) NOT EASY TO CLEAN (DOEN'S COME APART)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 31 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Wish I could give negative stars!

09/30/2011
By ,
Arlington, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This model of Littermaid litter box is dreadful. It relies on gravity alone to close the lid after the waste is dumped into the receptacle. The lid goes too far backwards for gravity to pull it forward and close it, so it stays open and the whole area begins to smell like cat waste. Contacted Littermaid directly 3 weeks ago and complained. They agreed to send me another model. Haven't seen it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 32 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Not a happy Cat

12/05/2009
By ,
Burkburnett, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item on 31 Aug 09. Worked pretty well as far as I was concerned. Then...on 28 Oct 09..It just stopped working. It is stuck in the "forward" position. I was using the AC adapter. I read the directions and put in new batteries... Still nothing. This was my first Littermaid purchase..and love the idea..just hope I can get a new or better one from the company!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 33 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)
02/21/2012
By ,
kissimmee,fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bin lid hangs up after comb pushes litter into the bin and has to be pushed down by hand. I have only had the box for two weeks and so far it is working good except for the lid problem.
I had a littermaid Lm 900 for several years before it broke,but that model is no longer made. This appears to be a smaller version of the LM900.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)
09/06/2011
By ,
iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
piece of junk way to small for cat almost everytime my cat goes to urniate it misses the box and runs down the front and goes on floor ........worst money ever spent.........and the little bit of urine that does go into the litter just jams up the machine.........never buy any of these worst invention of all time
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 35 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

beyond terrible

12/13/2011
By ,
LA, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this was my second littermaid. first was fab and lasted 3 years. this one only lasted 1 month. I emailed littermaid's customer service and they gave me some big list of things to do like unplug it - nothing works. the rake is stuck and the light just keeps flashing there is an error. waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 36 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)
03/27/2012
By ,
Pahrump, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is good for a few weeks and then it stops working properly. the cat will spread the litter and it gets back behind the rake which hinders it from working properly. this is actually our second one the first one was broked from the beginning.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

GODSEND... not so much

07/28/2009
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So this thing was a godsend, I love my cats but HATE cleaning the litter box! This thing worked great, then 6 months latrer the motor quite! NOT recommended for a mulit-cat household. You will be changing the thing almost daily, so whats the point?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 38 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

poor product

03/22/2012
By ,
Tribune KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product does not work like it is suppose to. Followed instructions and used the cat litter the directions said to work and still would not work right. Motor sounds like it is going to die. I would not recommend this cat box to anyone ever.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Does a poor job of self cleaning

02/05/2012
By ,
Lapeer, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend this to anyone. Does a poor job of cleaning and the scoop that comes with it does a terrible job. Had a better one and the motor finally burnt up. Replaced with this one and wished I would have never bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

New not as good as old

12/11/2009
By ,
Salisbury,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the litter box for 2 weeks and it quit working. I took it back and the replacement stopped working after 7 days. DO NOT buy. I had the older versions and they worked well for a long time. I will not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
21-40 of 45 total reviews