Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LitterMaid Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

The Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box is perfect for single cat households. With a new, quieter motor and higher walls, this automatic litter box features infrared sensors that send a rake through litter to scoop up waste and drop it into a resealable receptacle just seconds after your pet has finished using the box. The heavy-gauge plastic, 2-piece box helps eliminate most odors. Even better, this self-cleaning litterbox takes one more thing off your list of things to do each day.
Average Customer Rating:
2.425 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation38%18 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Dont waste your money

12/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this litte box a few months back hoping not to clean up my cats waste anymore. First thing is the lid always falls off of the metal flap and so the waste is spilled on top of the lid and then the metal flap squishes it in and that is so gross. The litter box is small so your cat will always have to go on the side too. The problem is that when the waste is on the side, the machine always accidentally drops it off the side onto the floor instead of in the box. It also misses large chunks of stuff all the time but then catches it on the way back and squishes it onto the wall. I have to clean up litter off of my floor every single day since I bought this and it always smells awful and always has litter all around it. I still clean up cat waste but instead of just scooping it, I am having to clean it off of the metal and wipe it with rags and all. It is disgusting and a thousand times harder than a regular litter box. Dont be decieved. This never works the way it is suppose to and you will still be cleaning up cat waste every single day. Just to show an example, I took a picture of what I do every day. I have to move the litter box and sweep up the litter that spills out the side. This is how much will spill on your floor every single day.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 2 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Horrible Product!

07/26/2009
By ,
Columbia, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this littermaid box from Walmart, after having owned several Littermaid boxes over the past 10 years. Normally, they break after 2 years. This particular model stopped working as soon as it was plugged in to the wall receptacle. The prongs broke off after the first cat's use. And, rack became stuck as soon as it came into contact with the urine waste clump. Horrible product. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+33points
Review 3 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Works ok

04/24/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've owned this model for about 6 months now and it just broke a couple days ago. I do agree with other reviews, it does need a stronger motor because it would get stuck in fresh, clean litter at times and I would have to turn it off and back on. It would also get stuck going back and forth for some reason which is really annoying when you're sitting in the next room and it's running and running. My cats like to dig in their litterbox a lot and they throw litter onto the tracks and I think that's what it gets stuck going back and forth at times, and that's part of what killed it this time. It got stuck over the waste container and after taking it apart I realized the little ribbon that powers the rake was unplugged because it didn't have enough slack at the end of the track. I plugged it back in and it still won't work. Unfortunately, I don't have my receipt so I'll be buying a new one but definitely not this model. This time I'll be going for the basic mega, they seem to have stronger motors and last much longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

needs stronger motor

09/05/2009
By ,
Branson West, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even from the first it would get stuck and click click click you have to go stop it and scrape the litter back before it will run a cycle. Ran for about 5 weeks then just quit. It was not overloaded and the litter was at the correct depth and I used the litter recommended. I want
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 5 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Unfortunate Purchase

01/17/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Littermaid product on November 08, 2011, it sat in the box for approximately one month before being used. After it was opened and I began using this item it almost immediately had issues with jamming of the rake mechanism. I contacted Littermaid in January 3, 2012 and after some troubleshooting and about three days of emails Littermaid authorized a warranty replacement. I was required to send in several items to prove the warranty. Days after they received my warranty documentation I was notified it would be 4-6 weeks to replace my litter box because this model was on back order. I explained to them I wanted an upgraded replacement model if one was in stock or a refund as it was unacceptable to wait 4-6 weeks for a litter box. On January 17, 2012, I was notified my refund was processed and would arrive in 7-10 days. All in all the warranty process took longer to process than the life of the Littermaid litter box. Buyer beware their products aren't well made and warranty service it poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

2-Cat household and they love it

01/25/2011
By ,
Nevada, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd Littermaid I've had in about 9 years. I have 2 cats and they love the box. It keeps the litter "dooty" free and odor free. When it gets dirty, just wipe it down with a damp cloth. I reuse the litter bins and spray Lysol in the bin every time I empty. I prefer Fresh Results litter from Walmart because it's pleasantly scented, lightweight, dust-free and hard clumping but Arm & Hammer has a good one also. I do recommend this unit to any cat lover and especially to a multi-cat home.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Happy to be free!

02/22/2010
By ,
Zephyr Cove
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I finally dont have to scoop...I was not sure to make the move to this unit, but i am hapy that I did. I was surprised how quiet it is, because i heard it was noisy.
I have one finiky cat, but she took to the unit well..I am using natural litter which is also working well.
Overall a great item! Makes life easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Best box to date!!

02/11/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this litterbox and it is better than any I have had before (owned 2 Classics).
The package said "New durable drive mechanism" and they really meant it! It is stronger but quieter...i think the change has made a big difference, I am very pleased and lovin my LitterMaid!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

The best electric cat box

11/09/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1st "basic" Litter Maid i owned lasted for years. I bought 2 expensive "elite" Litter Maid cat boxes within4 months. The 1st one lasted about 3 months and the next one lasted 2 weeks. My new "basic" cat box has been fantastic! It cleans the box perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Ify about it

09/10/2009
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this product sometime in June. I thought it was going to be great. No more poo scooping less odor though out the house perfect. Well, the litter gets stuck to the comb every other time my kitty goes.. and lately the flap hasn't been closing it gets stuck in mid air.. so the smell fills the bathroom.. not so pleasant. Before all this happened, which was in the past month.. it was fine. Except for the litter sticking part.. so be prepared to go in there and have to knock off huge clumps of kitty leftovers off the comb. It's not really worth what they're asking for it.. they need to lower the price since it doesn't fulfill the duties it's suppose to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Not a bad product

04/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This litter box worked well with our cat. A few issues: The motor is excessivly loud. If the sensors get dirty or you put too much litter in, the rake will continue to cycle over and over again. Our cat got sick with diarrhea, and we were never able to get it all cleaned off. You have to replace the litter containers pretty often, and they're not that cheap. We ended up just dumping out the containers and re-using them to save the money. It only lasted us about 2 years, then started to fall apart. Overall, not bad but it does have some issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

A good product for the price.

07/31/2009
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because a cat we recently rescued would not go in a litter box that had been used by one of the other house cats.
He is an adult neutered male and now he has no problem using the Littermaid Automatic cleaning litter box.
It was easy to assemble and it's very quiet. I am a light sleeper and I never hear this litter box when it cleans up after one of the cats has used it.
The product states it is for single cat household's but it works great for multiple cat household's in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

LOVE IT!!!

12/15/2011
By ,
FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OKAY I HAVE TO SAY AFTER READING MIXED REVIEWS I WAS PLEASANTLY SUPRISED. I HAVE A NEW KITTEN AND HAVE HAD THE LITTER BOX FOR TWO WEEKS AND IT IS WONDERFUL. NO SMELL AND WORKS GREAT. FYI DON'T OVERFILL IF YOU DO THIS WILL CAUSE IT TO BE UNABLE TO GET BACK TO THE REST POSITION AND WILLNOT STOP GOING BACK AND FORTH. THIS BOX TAKES THE GROSSNESS OUT OF HAVING A LITTERBOX. THANKS LITTERMAID FOR SAVING MY BACK AND ALLOWING ME TO NEVR SCOOP OUT LITTER AGAIN!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Great product

03/14/2011
By ,
Brentwood, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Littermaid automated cat box, the first one lasted 7 years! If you hate cleaning out your cat's litterbox( and I can't think of anyone who likes it!!) this is the product for you. It does everything it says and the new model is alot quieter than the previous one. This particular model is good for one cat households. If you have more than one cat, I would suggest you go for the more advanced one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+1point
Review 15 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

HORRIBLE ALWAYS STUCK

05/06/2010
By ,
LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JUST PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT A FEW MONTHS AGO BECAUSE OLD ONE BROKE.. PAID OVER 100 DOLLARS FOR AND IT SEEM LIKE IT IS ALWAYS STUCK OR SHUT DOWN..I AM EXTREMELY NOT HAPPY WITH THIS ONE.. I AM USING THE SAME LITTER BRAND THAT I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IN THE OLD ONE...I WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE. I RATE THIS THING OVERALL IN THE NEGATIVES......BELIEVE ME IT IS A CONSTANT EVERDAY HASSLE....
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

workhorse!!

03/12/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the best experience so I am really confused why anyone would say anything is wrong with this item.
The motor is stronger that the original LitterMaid that I had for 6 years. I dont think anyone can top this product.
thanks, LitterMaid. Looking forward to 6 more years of no scooping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Great concept, terrible product

10/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really needed an automatic litter box and broke down and spent the money on this one. Worked fairly well at first. Stuff did clump to the rake and a few other issues but over-all, it did the job and was very pleased. However, 8 days after I bought it I returned to find the rake device stuck with the litter box 1/2 open. It would not move. I unplugged it, plugged it back in, held the power button, everything. I could not get it to move. I called Littermaid and they are not open on the weekends. Now I'm without a litter box. I'm hoping that the cats will still use it while I wait for LM to open. I'm hoping they won't have me wait weeks for a replacement (if they do, I'll return it for something else).
I _really_ want this thing to work but if it gives up the farm after 8 days...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

Worst litter box ever

10/30/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned the older versions of the littermaid litter box and loved them. They made a mistake in making this one. It is very sluggish and catches at the end of the litter tray if the cat uses that area. This happens if they use either end, the start or the finish. The arm will just stop and you hear a very loud clicking as the gears trying to force the arm on. At first it would back up to the start and stay there but after a while it wouldn't even do that it would stop at the end of the tray and our cat wouldn't use the litter box until it was cleaned and the arm reset. In the end I had to clean this litter box every time our cat used it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)
09/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a littermaid before. This one is great. A big help with cat litter
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Littermaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Classic Litter Box (LM680)

a very great invention

03/21/2010
By ,
Rolla,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work alot and I have a cat and this item helps me so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next