Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Wahl Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

WAHL Basic Pet Clipper Kit, great for short hair, face hair and trimming. MODEL #9160-210
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%66 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Worked GREAT!!

12/24/2012
By ,
Gainesville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY impressed with this product. Read reviews on how it jams and stuff and was a little worried about it, used it and had no problems at all! Love it! Saves me a lot of money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Works GREAT on my maltipoos long/fine hair!!

07/20/2011
By ,
Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought & tried several other clippers on my for my 2 dogs (10 & 18 lbs) One is half Maltese & half toy poodle, the other is 3/4 Maltese & 1/4 poodle... these are the ONLY clippers I have had that actually WORK on their fur.
I must also add- the REASON I TRIED these particular clippers is BECAUSE I read another review where a customer had bought & used them on a Maltipoo. This is why I added the info about my dogs as it really makes a difference if you know the type of hair/fur they HAVE worked well on.
The pics I've added are done with a longer cut- the last time I shaved them for the summer & we could see the pink of their skin for the first week or two :) but they were comfy on the warmer days :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Attention all long-haired cat owners

11/04/2012
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my cats, Harry (see photo) is a Maine Coon. Not only is he one of the largest breeds, but he has a long (long) coat which is impermeable to water, since he's a northern breed. You name it, he's clogged every kind of vent; computer, TV sets, AC's, etc. I have to vacuum every other day to keep the Harry tumbleweeds out of everything. I originally looked into getting him a lion cut, because I live in a hot climate nearly year-round, and I thought this would be good for him. While I looked for groomers, which are hard to find for cats, they set some ridiculous conditions such as I had to bring him in at 7:00 a.m. and/or he would have to be sedated, adding on to the price of grooming him, which ranged from $60 to $85. No thanks! And so my quest for alternate solutions brought me to Walmart, and we are both so happy with the results! He had huge matted lumps on his back. $25 later and some cat nip, I was able to get all his knots out, and he seems really pleased. Now I don't have to worry about him overheating. My baby boy went from Hairy Harry to the lion king in a heartbeat. I highly recommend this product, it shaves hair like butta, but please educate yourself on how to groom the cat, such as going with the grain of the cat's hair, and going slow, as they have delicate skin, etc. Problem solved!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Wish I would have purchased these years ago.

02/10/2014
By ,
South Jordan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Cocker that desperately needed to be groomed. Because our groomer was booked and we were going to go out of town, I had two choices -- do it myself, or take her somewhere new that she was unfamiliar with. I opted to attempt to do it myself. I watched several tutorials and read quite a few reviews on several sites before buying these.
I very hesitantly started on the inside of her ear because if I messed up or it got clogged, no one would see my mistake. Needless to say, I did her entire body in about two hours -- which included a bath and cutting her nails. Doing her legs were challenging but I knew they would be going into it. The motor did get warm, but not hot and my dog never complained. She was just happy to hangout while I went to town trimming her. We filled up half a trash bag of her hair!
I decided not to opened/use any of the attachments so I can't vouch for them, but I was very pleased with the clippers themselves.
Needless to say, our dog won't be going back to the groomers! I'm kicking myself for not doing this years ago. I can do it faster, she's at home where she's comfortable, and I save a ton of money! Plus, I can do touch ups anytime I want!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Great Clippers

07/20/2014
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you watch a few video's on U-tube on how to hold and use them, you're all set.
I bought the clippers for my long haired cat with lots of matts.
Wish I had done this years's ago. No more mats.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

good clippers fof beginers

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These work good on my cocker spaniel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Great Product

07/26/2010
By ,
New Iberia, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product and totally worth it. I bought a Wahl clipper set 5 years ago and just had to replace it. I never once did maintenance on it...e.g. putting oil before and after like the manual says. The blades never got dull on it. The only reason it stopped working was that the wiring short circuited. Other than that, I think it would have kept on for another couple years. I just bought this item and used it on my dogs yesterday. I have 4 dogs and this product surpasses all others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

good product

09/07/2010
By ,
phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
our use is probably going to be about once or twice a year. We used this on our long haired cat. As he has gotten older he mats more and hates the hair brush. We had no problem getting it through his coat, which is the consistency of a cotton ball. After we got him shaved he seemed to be a lot happier. Beats having to shell out $ for a grooming and dragging him there in the cat carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Cuts great

05/16/2011
By ,
Ravensdale, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had Wahl clippers for our pets for years and they do a great job. this one is no exception. the only thing i'm concerned about is the starter switch makes a loud click before turning on and sometimes doesn't turn on the first time. if it continues i'll probably return it but i'll get another one of the same model. it does a good job with clipping and our shih tzu has a heavy coat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Stopped working halfway through the grooming
Posted 07/12/2011
I bought this clipper kit thinking it would be a good deal but I was wrong. It got stuck every 5 seconds and finally stopped cutting halfway through the grooming. Our dog now looks weird with his hair like that and there's no way I can make it work. The dog's hair was clean and not tangled at all but the clipper wouldn't cut.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

This set was just $23???

07/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Portuguese Water Dog that I groom myself because trips to the groomer are simply not in our budget. I've purchased two *professional* grooming sets in the past that we're well over the $23 price tag of this set, and this set cut right through the hair with no problems at all. Even if I have to buy a new set every six months, I'm still coming out ahead of taking him to the groomer. I was very pleased with this set and am glad I went with the reviews previous to mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

great product!

10/05/2010
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these clippers about a year or two ago. I use them on my mini schnauzer. They work really well & cut right through her wiry hair like its nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

AWESOME!!!

07/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing I have a cocker spaniel and HATE spending as much on her haircut as I do for mine including highlights! I read the reviews and figured for 23 dollars I'd try it! Its AMAZING CHEAP and goes RIGHT trough her hair ive tried a few others that never worked out! Left her with an uneven cut and it didn't slide through the hair! This gives me a more even cut than I think I have eve gotten from the groomers! AMAZING PRODUCT VERY PLEASED!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

It's PERFECT!!

12/11/2010
By ,
Sturbridge, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not believe the quality of this clipper! I could easily see it costing three times as much as it did, and it was about as idiot-proof as a clipper could be. I wanted it to shave my kitty whose fur kept getting mats, and it was so quiet and gentle he actually enjoyed it! It looks like a professional job, and I've never done anything like it before. It arrived right on time, too. This is a winner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Happy-KAT!

07/02/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this clipper twice, and it's worked just FINE! Cheaper than a groomer, cuts right through the matted hair on the elderly kitty. Cat is cooler, prettier, and happy. Great value, even if used infrequently. Thanks Walmart!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Great Buy

10/13/2010
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first pet clipper kit, I got tired of paying $50 every two months, I did my research and bought this one, It is very easy to use, and very sharp, it only took me 30 minutes to trim my maltipoo's hair it didn't get hot it has different attachments and I did all of it without watching the video. I definately recommend it. Best $30 I'ved spent on my puppy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Great for cheap dog grooming

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for in between grooming visits
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

GREAT

03/23/2014
By ,
oviedo, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These clipper are better than the one we bought 2 years ago for $76.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

my o my

03/24/2014
By ,
portage Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Great product - great price

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two dogs, one is a mixed cocker and the other a golden retriever. They hate going to the groomers and it usually costs over $100 each time we go. I purchased this kit yesterday and groomed both dogs as soon as I got home.
The clippers worked on thick hair as well as thin. It doesn't make alot of noise either or pull their hair, like my older clippers did (different brand). I consider this an excellent investment and highly recommend this. But keep in mind, it does take patience and time to groom your pet correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wahl Pet Clipper Kit, Basic Series

Works Great

04/16/2014
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried my small dog would freak out but this clipper was very quiet. I am not a professional in any way but this set made my first experience grooming my dog very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next