Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Wahl Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

WAHL Pet-Pro - More power! Easily cuts the thickest hair with 1.5 x more power. MODEL #9281-210
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation82%61 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

GREAT CLIPPERS FOR BEGINNERS

07/03/2013
By ,
ALABAMA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WHEN I BOUGHT THESE CLIPPERS I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS DOING SO I WAS KIND OF SCARED OF MY DOG LOOKING LIKE FRIGHT NIGHT. MY SHIH POO WAS GROWING OUT TOO FAST BETWEEN GROOM VISITS HE HAS REALLY THICK POUFY HAIR. IN THE SUMMER THIS WAS REALLY UNCOMFORTABLE FOR HIM. SO I BOUGHT THIS SET CHEAPER THAN A GROOM VISIT I ONLY LOST 30.00 IF IT LOOKED TOO BAD TO DO AGAIN. THE CLIPPERS WOULD CLOGGED TOO BAD TO USE THE GUIDES SO I USE IT WITHOUT THEM EXTENDED OUT DON'T PUT IT ON SHORTEST SETTING WITHOUT GUIDES GAVE MY LITTLE GUY RAZOR BURN. I BOUGHT THIS WHEN I ONLY HAD TWO TO CUT NOW I HAVE 4 ONE IS MY MOMS TOY POODLE. I'VE HAD THESE CLIPPERS 3YRS IT STARTED CLATTERING AND I THINK THE BLADE HAS DULLED ALSO BECAUSE WHEN I GAVE TWO OF MY DOGS THEIR LAST CUT SOME PLACES WERE REALLY SHORT IN SOME PLACES GAVE IT A BALD LOOK. SO I THINK THIS PAIR JUST COULDN'T CUT WITH THIS MANY HAIR CUTS. I BOUGHT A ANDIS PRO 1 SPEED AT A LOCAL PET STORE I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE FOR LONG THICK HAIR,MULTIPLE DOGS,LONG TERM USE. I DECIDED TO GET A PRO ONE SINCE I WOULD BE USING IT A LOT WITH 4 DOGS I NEEDED SOMETHING REALLY GOOD. IT WOULD PAY FOR ITSELF IN A COUPLE OF MONTHS 4 DOGS 40.00 A GROOM VISIT=160.00 EVERY 3 MOS. THE PRO OF HOME GROOMING YOUR DOGS DON'T FEEL AS SCARED AND BOND MORE WITH YOU AND ALSO COST LESS MONEY IF YOU HAVE TIME. I RECOMMEND THIS SET FOR BEGINNERS AND A CHEAP SET TO DO YOU UNTIL YOU CAN AFFORD A EXPENSIVE SET. I DON'T RECOMMEND IT FOR HEAVY COAT BREEDS POODLES,BICHON FRISE,GERMAN SHEPPARDS YOU NEED A HEAVY DUTY OR PRO ONE YOU MIGHT CAN GET IT TO WORK IF YOU CAN BUY A BETTER BLADE BUT I THINK YOU NEED A CLIPPER WITH A LOT OF POWER TO IT. ONLY USE BLADE WITHOUT GUIDES IF YOU WANT A SUMMER CUT IF YOU WANT LONGER YOU'LL HAVE TO BUY MORE STEEL BLADES OR USE GUIDES. I HAVE 2 SHIH TZU 1 SHIH POO MY MOMS TOY POODLE TO GROOM LASTED 3 MOS WITH ALL THIS THICK HAIR AND THIS MANY DOGS TO CUT.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

1+yrs & still Love these clippers!

02/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these clippers over a year ago & they still work great! My little dog has very full thick hair. With these clippers I keep his rear & around pads on his feet trimmed every few weeks. During the spring & summer months I keep his fur trimmed short. No grooming fees/bills for me! MY DOG & I LOVE THESE CLIPPERS! Tip; after cleaning and oiling make sure the clipper blades are adjusted straight & you'll never have a problem:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Truly lives up to the word "Pro" in the name!

07/01/2014
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this clipper to use on our border collie / sheltie mix. She has extremely thick fur around her back legs, and no previous clippers have been able to do anything. With these, I had no problem whatsoever grooming her. Even the thickest fur came off with ease! The blades did not bind up, get stuck, or pull even once! I was really amazed at how well it worked! I would recommend these for anyone who needs to groom their dog. One tip: It your dog has matted fur, you will need to use a very low attachment (probably a 1) the first time you groom that area. The longer attachments might not be able to get the blades close enough to the fur to actually cut it. Plan on a "buzz cut" the first time, and then you can use whatever you want on subsequent groomings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Excellent clipper with more than adequate power!

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I groomed my dog (a Brussels Griffon) who had a full coat of winter fur. The clippers worked beautifully and I was able to groom my dog with ease. This is the best clipper I have used yet! Other clippers of lesser quality were more expensive at the local Pet supplies store. This is a good, economical investment and it works well. I ordered it on line and it was available in less than 2 hours at my local Walmart. Review the instructional DVD that comes in the kit and you will have no problem grooming your dog and using the appropriate clipper combs. The DVD also instructs how to care for the clipper. Easy to understand. I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Better than I expected

05/20/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading reviews for various clippers I was doubtful this would work on my Golden Retriever. I have a de-shedder which works okay, but his hair was still pretty thick. We are in Arizona and he stays inside with the A/C, but still is warm. This clipper comes with guide combs, but only up to 1/2". I had some guides from a previous Wahl that I used on the kids. They fit perfectly so I used mainly the 1", and used the 1/2" on the back end, which gets really thick and easily matted.
He tolerated this for so long then started to move around too much, So I did about 3 trimming sessions over a couple days. When I pull out the clipper now, he comes over and sits down. He seems to like it. I started with the clipper turned off and used it to scratch his back, Then turned it on and did the same thing.
A little more power would be nice as it did bog down a couple times. I just slowed down a bit. But again, his hair is really thick, and I am really surprised it cut that well.
I was going to buy a little more expensive one, but I am glad I didn't spend the money.
His back looks nice and even, so it does a good job. If he'd sit still long enough I could get the rest of him looking pretty good too. My main goal was to get the hair off so he'll be cooler. He seems much more comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

More frustrating than Helpful

11/29/2009
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the first pet clipper set I bought. I have a Maltese and thought that since a Maltese was pictured on the box, "medium duty" would be good for him.
Wrong. This may be good for another type of coat, but for the Maltese's fine, one layer coat, the clipper kept getting stuck and clogged and had to be cleaned after every pass! I tried to adjust the power setting and tried with and without oil. I have used it on 3 clipping attempts, and the last attempt left the worst results. I finally just pulled out some scissors to finish his cutting, because the clippers were just maddening.
I am now looking more carefully at reviews and am in the process of hunting down a less frustrating set of clippers.
If you are on a tight, tight budget and have a different coated dog, this may work. But for me and my Maltese, this was not what I was hoping for at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Excellent product for the $ $

05/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works much better than I was expecting. First time purchasing
Pet Clippers. Would recommend this Product for anyone not sure
of what Mfg. to trust, or where to find the Best Kit for beginner
home use. Comes with a DVD that's very helpful . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Even works on CATS!!

07/25/2013
By ,
Georgetown, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these to use on a cat with matted fur. I had tried brushing and cutting with scissors and nothing worked. No groomers would work with her and my vet wanted to "put her under" just to shave her. I found these and they have been a blessing! It took me a while because I did it all myself so I was holding her with one hand and the clippers with the other. They removed the matted fur with NO PROBLEMS!! It took me almost an hour, but I was alone in the process. They never pulled the fur or cut the skin. It got very close to her skin, just like I wanted. I love the carry case that I can store everything in to keep it together. Instructions inside tell how to trim fur on lots of breeds of dogs and even comes with a DVD. If this one ever breaks, I will buy another one just like it. Very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

These clippers are awesome!

04/14/2014
By ,
Boelus Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these clippers the use on my toy cocker spaniel. I've only used them once, but they worked great! Just make sure that you keep the blades well oiled and they will do a beautiful job to cut your pet! I highly recommend these clippers! I was not sure at first but at the price I felt I couldn't go wrong. I'm so glad I decided to purchase these! Very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Excellent pet trimmer

07/25/2014
By ,
western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several pet trimmers in the past but by far, the quality, performance and ease of use of this product is beyond compare. I have a very hairy Pom/Chow (rescue) mix who gets very matted in the summer and jumps in and out of the water daily. This tool was so quiet he adjusted quickly and let me shave his matted fur efficiently and without fuss. Definitely a quality product and would recommend to anyone needing a quick, convenient tool for their pet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Just as good as expensive clippers!

01/17/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These clippers as excellent! I have 2 shih tzus (one with a thick coat and the other thin). These glided right through their hair. I have used them twice on both dogs and they work just as good as when I first bought them. My dogs tend to get mattes, because I do not brush them everyday. The clippers did hesitate a little when getting the mattes out, but I've noticed that all you do is wiggle them a little and it cuts right through.
The reason why I purchased these was because my $100+ clippers broke after 1 year of use. These work just as well... if not better. The only bad (or negative) thing about them is that they tend to get somewhat warm/hot after 30 minutes of use, but not hot enough to burn the dog.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

used for cat trimming

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worked well, but that giant cat of my daughters is so harry it took a while to get down to the skin. I think the only thing that would have been perfect is sheep sheers, but these clippers did a pretty good job without damaging the cat physically, however he was a physiological mess during the process. he has recovered nicely however and is back to his normal routine, minus the giant hair ball dispensing all over the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Not the best...

11/18/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought these clippers a week ago or so... I have a shitzuu/terrier mix breed dog.. I tried to use the plastic attachments for the clippers to trim up my dogs hair, and it just kept getting clogged up. The clippers would freeze. I'd have to keep cleaning out the blade, and it was not fun for me or my dog. I ended up having to just shave her without the plastic attachment combs. So, it worked great as a shaver.. I just wasnt impressed at all.. I might have to take them back and try something different. Not worth the hassle in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Great for 6wk trim-ups

12/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have two cocker-spaniels. I trim up the entire body, paws, ears about every 4-6wks(depending on season). These clippers are not loud and cut evenly. I did find it makes a big difference if the blades are oiled well and if my dogs are clean. Overall I was pretty happy with the clipper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Very well made AND American made too!

07/19/2014
By ,
grayson county, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had enough experience with it yet. Think it's one of those things that requires some practice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit
02/15/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these in need to cut some costs and groom the dog myself. My girlfriend laughed at me when I bought these clippers thinking that I would botch up the dog. After only the first use these clippers ran well and the dog looked good. They were everything that I expected from the clippers. Since I have a Border Collie and my main objective was to trim only her behind, tail, underbelly and even out some spots, the video didn't really help with my dog. The guide combs along with the taper lever were very useful in getting a nice trim on my dog. My girlfriend was actually impressed that someone with no experience could by these clippers and make my dog look as if I took her to a groomer for almost half the price. These clippers pay for themselves the more you use them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Good value, performed as expected

07/27/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MODEL #9281-210. We had previously tried the MODEL #9590-210 Pro Series Cordless, but it does not have the adjustable blades and I needed to be careful not to get it too close of a cut (although it is a little quieter, a little less vibrating, and the cordless was a nice feature). The corded 9281-210 has the adjustable blades and worked very good for me, a first time amateur. The dog was not a bother to me. Our dog is a longhair mini-dachsy, and the AZ summer gets too hot for her, as well as the fur picks up everything in desert when we go out trekking. And at $35 a pop at the groomer, it made sense for us to try this at home. No problems. Worked as expected. Used only once so far. Get a clipper with adjustable blade. I don't use the guides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Wow, these clippers are amazing!!!

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even if I had to buy a new pair of these clippers every year they would still be worth it. I normally use my husbands clippers but the dogs hair was so long this time those clippers wouldn't do anything. I bought these hoping they would work and WOW did they ever! I have a miniature schnauzer and a yorkie and it cut their hair like nothing. You could barely feel the vibration. They felt kind of cheap when I first pulled them out but they are actually very sturdy. Very light. You barely feel the vibration. I do have to say that by the time I finished the schnauzer they clippers were getting pretty hot but that could be normal for clippers. I love these and I'm so glad I got them. THe case is very handy and the scissors were fantastic too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Deep under coat Chow Chows

05/31/2012
By ,
Flagstaff Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 full size Chows and they demand a good shear/grooming every year. They have very thick under coats and were matted pretty bad with fox tails burried deep. These clippers were the best! I got them out of the box added 1 drop of oil and they were silent, ran super smooth, and got my Chow looking great, all the way down to the skin if need be. It took 1 1/2 hrs to do my 1 dog who was the worst of the two and I am very happy with my purchase. After about an hour they got warm but not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wahl Pet-Pro, Complete Pet Clipper Kit

Love It!

11/29/2009
By ,
Lillington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it to trim our kitty and worked perfectly (especially for the cheap price)! We were expecting to have to pay at least around 70 bucks or so, but decided to give this razor a shot. Worked great, but you have to get the angle just right (watch the DVD). Plus, our cat actually enjoyed the vibration and quiet hum.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next