Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mayfair Games The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mayfair Games The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

One of the most successful games of all time, Settlers of Catan is a trading and building game set in the mythical world of Catan. Players roll dice to determine which resources are generated each round and then must strategically trade those resources with other players to get what they need to build their settlements, cities, and roads. With multiple ways to gain victory points and a board that changes in every play, Settlers of Catan is a game that can be played hundreds of different ways.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%35 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Amazing game & great intro to hobby boardgames!

06/13/2011
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Settlers of Catan is an amazing game; I have owned it for years and still play it. It is a great game for families. My 5 year old daughter loves it, and has a review here:
http://growingupgamers.blogspot.com/2010/12/my-first-review-settlers-of-catan.html
This game is a great intro to boardgaming as a hobby. Gaming with your kids is great, developmentally.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 2 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Addicting strategy game

09/28/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and our friends have become addicted to Settlers. You have to play once or twice before the rules become simple, but it's fairly easy if you can learn with someone who has already played before. The game is pricy, but the change to the board layout with each new game and the aspect of chance involved with rolling the dice forces you to change your strategy each time you play; therefore, it's hard to get tired of the game and is worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 3 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

a fun game

08/21/2009
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Settlers is a fun game because it is strategic but doesn't take as long as a monopoly or risk would
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 4 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Fun Family Strategy Game

01/11/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is different from most strategy games I have played in that the board layout and odds change with every game, so a new strategy is required each time. This keeps the game interesting even after repeated play. In spite of this, the game can be played by a wide age range which makes it a good family or group game. This game is for up to 4 players only, but an extension can be purchased for around $16 so that 5 or 6 can play. The only problem encountered with this game was that some of the board pieces can get a little warped and not fit together well to hold the other pieces in place (the pieces fit together like a jigsaw puzzle and sometimes the border doesn't hold the inside pieces in place well). We just gently bent the pieces to a straight position and laid a heavy book on them for a while and they worked much better. A minor problem, really. I highly recommend this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Love It

07/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this game. Great price too. $10.00 less than anywhere else we could find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 6 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Great game

06/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best board game I have played. Loads of replay value - the most difficult part is just playing through the first game with inexperienced players. Once you get how to play, it becomes a blast!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 7 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

So happy to see this here!

08/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so excited to see a traditional distribution channel for this excellent game. The alternative online retailers don't have the same reputation that walmart.com does. I also appreciate that walmart.com is attempting to capture a different audience by offering unique products!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Fun and Addicting product

01/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love Settlers of Catan. It is such a fun and addicting game to play with friends and family. I especially love that the game board changes each time you play so that it never gets old and predictable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

great game

04/06/2010
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent game for 2-4 people at lowest price around. This is the base game which has 3 or 4 more, equally priced, add-on games plus more player expansions that can really run the total price up. Although made of cardboard with wooden pieces, all materials are high quality and sturdy.
Best use is to set up game using an on-line game layout generator for optimum spacing and values of the various resource factors and harbor locations.
Really fun to play with several strategies available. Lots of on-line information and help to play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Such fun!

04/25/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family and friends, though not all, find Settlers to be a great strategy game that gives us an excellent distraction from the television. It usually takes an hour or so to play so I find it long enough to keep the interest without getting bored or distracted. The instructions take a little getting used to, but once understood, coming up with new strategies makes this a very fun and competetive game of settlement building and economic survival.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Get it, you won't be dissapointed

01/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been compared to Risk and Monopoly - but it's SO much better. A combination of strategy and luck (anytime you have dice in a game - there's an element of luck) yet, it's like playing a different game each time depending on how you set up the board. Walmart had a wonderful price on this and the site to store saved me shipping too. We recently played the Barbarian Attack and it was great fun...will get some expansions in the future, I'm sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

A great board game

01/22/2010
By ,
East Greenwich, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this game to play with my 9 year old grandson. It took a little while to understand the setup and rules for play but once we got going it was great fun. Before we knew it a couple of hours had gone by! It's a little tricky keeping the frame pieces tightly locked together so the tiles will stay put but that is the only drawback I see. Have fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Fun for the family

12/28/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Board Game provided hours of entertainment over the Christmas break for my family. The teens stayed at home to play with Mom and Dad! We have now ordered the expansion packs to make play even more fun. Good strategic game and doesn't take as long as monopoly; important for people with shorter attention spans like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Trade a sheep for wheat?!

09/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is a ton of fun. Anyone who enjoys strategy games like Risk or Monopoly will enjoy this game. The first time through takes a little getting used to but soon you'll be trying to make all sorts of resource deals and building the longest road on the way to victory. Great buy and the cheapest price we could find!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Game gone viral

01/10/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We played this game with visiting Dutch friends this summer called Kolonisten (Settlers in english) that they brought with them. Come to find out it was The Settlers of Catan. The game is fun, challenging, not too hard to learn. A great way to spend time with family & friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

fun game

01/24/2010
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price was cheaper on walmart.com than anywhere. No suprise there! :) Fun game. The more people playing the better. Taking the "board" apart and having to put it back together each time was a little bit annoying otherwise pretty interesting and fun. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Suepr fun game

04/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have not gotten addicted to this game, I recommend you give it a try. For those that love building and multiple strategies to win (without killing) this is perfect! The expansion packs only add to the fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Love this game

09/21/2009
By ,
Houlton, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catan is a fun and interesting game. My wife and brother and I play almost every night. It has great moves and keeps your attention. Thanks for free shipping and good price, Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

Great Game!

03/04/2010
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really fun game! My husband hates to play games, but he admits that this is one he doesn't mind playing. The rules are complex, but well worth learning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 20 for The Settlers Of Catan Board Game

fun!

01/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this game for our grown kids for Christmas. They played it for hours. We want to get the expansion sets so more of us can play at one time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next