Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Forget filling your cooler with ice and then worrying about getting more when it melts. The Coleman Thermo-Electric Cooler used electricity to keep food and drinks cold on long road trips or camping trips. The Coleman Cooler will keep food cool at up to forty degrees below the surrounding temperature. This 16-Quart Cooler has plenty of space for 19 cans or two 2-liter bottles upright. Easily plug your Coleman Thermo-Electric Cooler into your cars cigarette lighter or use the DC adapter to plug it into an electrical outlet. Your 16-Quart Cooler has a durable handle so you can take it with you on any adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation57%17 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Cools to at most 10-15 degrees below outside temp

03/27/2010
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY disappointing performance.
Yes, it's a little loud (which isn't too bad, with the car stereo on, and possibly the windows down), but would be VERY annoying in a hotel room.
However, for me, it is the cooling performance that forced me to return it.
I just came back from a trip to Phoenix. Driving around all day, with the temperature in the car around 75 most of the day, the temp inside the cooler never dipped below 63-65. Any food that REQUIRES refrigeration, will spoil fairly quickly.
Even when the temp dropped to 48 in the evening, the temp inside the cooler only dropped to around 40 (no danger of freezing, like the other commenter mentioned, lol).
I was using it to keep cooked fresh food from spoiling (it failed) ... but who would want bottled water, soda or beer that was 65 degrees, lol?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Cool Road Warrior

06/24/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this cooler over 3,000 miles of vacation driving this summer. It is the perfect size to fit between our two kids in the back seat and provided a convenient portable fridge for cheese snacks, sodas, milk and lunch meat.
There is no thermostat on this cooler so things can freeze if the surrounding temperature is below about 75 degrees F but the advantage of not having to hunt for ice in the middle of nowhere and not having to deal with soggy contents more than makes up for this.
We used the cooler inside hotel rooms and found the fan noise unnoticeable after about an hour. I actually slept better with the cooler in the room because the white noise from the cooler blocked out other outside noise.
We have been using thermoelctric coolers for 5+ years and will never go back to ice for road trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Could not use this product

06/08/2009
By ,
Birm
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too noisy. Had to return it. We opened two other units, and they were just as noisy.
It's a perfect size, and I think Coleman needs to do some quality control to correct the noise level.
There is no way a person could sleep in a motel room with it. The high level of noise it emits would also be very distracting in a vehicle.
If Coleman ever corrects the noise problem, I would love to own and use one of these units.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+46points
Review 4 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Needs to go back to the drawing board

07/29/2009
By ,
IL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was buying this to replace my old 12v cooler. It is extremely loud and doesn't cool enough. I couldn't even leave it plugged in all day b/c of the noise. I am a construction truck driver that runs is straight 5 days a week. My Black and Decker lasted me over a year and was quiter along with keeping the drinks a lot colder. Their are better options out there than this. Sorry Coleman, but you can do better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 5 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Don't Waste Your Money

08/03/2009
By ,
Rapid Ctiy, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish I would have read the reviews before I bought the cooler. They are so noisy, you can't stand them. Own one of their larger ones, & it is so much quieter. The size of this one is great, but that is about all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 6 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Extremely loud

05/22/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works as described but the motor is very loud, and was ill suited to leave running overnight in small spaces such as hotel rooms
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 7 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Great cooler.

02/04/2013
By ,
Tama, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this cooler to use in my semi. It works great for keeping my drinks and meat snacks cold, while taking up little room. My ice cooled one could only carry about 2/3 as much, while taking up more room. It is a bit noisey, but in my truck, I can hardly hear it, so it doesn't bother me. In the house, while pre-cooling, it is a little loud, but it works better than the other brand, which is only slightly quieter. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

So glad we purchased!

07/21/2013
By ,
Shreveport, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our new electric cooler. We purchased especially for a vacation to travel in the car with us. I recommend plugging the cooler in several hours before you depart for travel use if you want the cooler to be chilled for your use. We plugged ours in the morning of our trip and it was chilled well before we needed to use it. There is a fan noise while it runs, but we did not find it to be too loud as other reviews I have read. It was more like a small travel fan noise when running. We could hear the radio over the fan easily while in the car. The cooler is Also surprisingly light in weight even when fully stocked with items, as it requires no ice. We did add a few freezer packs to keep in the cooler just for our interest. The cooler will also run on a low voltage for a few hours without draining the battery when the car is turned off if you choose to keep it plugged in while the car is turned off. I believe the owners manual states up to 3-4 hours. The AC Adapter does not come with this cooler- must purchase separately if you want to plug it in your house or hotel, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

NOISY

11/28/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was extremely noisy. There is no way you could take a trip with this noisy thing plugged into your vehicle. The loud humming and small size made it a horrible purchase. We returned this and purchased an ice blanket for $13 that worked 100 times better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 10 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler
10/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was received with damage to the top right corner of the cooler, poor shipping, handling, or packaging caused this damage. Overall the product performs well but can drain a car battery if left plugged in. Good for road trips and vacations.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler
01/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job!!! Some say its loud its a fan spinning its a humming sound air passing thru it. Nothing bad. Ive had ice in my bottle water. Well worth it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler
08/13/2013
By ,
colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not keep things cold enough. It is very noisy.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Not What We'd Hoped For

08/31/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The fan on this cooler has a significant whine; it is the same sound as a handheld vacuum, about half as loud - too noisy for use on a long trip in an auto. The larger 40-Quart version is much quieter, and cools the interior significantly faster.
The power cord is too short to plug into a receptacle in the front and place the cooler on the back seat of a small sedan. Using the cooler on the front seat or front passenger side floor is not an option for us.
Overall, surprisingly poor design from a good company, and not something we would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Totally the best thing that you can get for your $

09/16/2013
By ,
Hayward, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have it for about 2 weeks already. I installed it behind the passenger sit in my Nissan NV200 (Compact Cargo Van). Fits perfect! Takes very little space in the car but have enough space incide for my 32 oz' Travel Mug + 2 Red Bulls + 6 Bottles of water & Ican even add a sandwich too. It keeps my stuff cold all day even that my car is not on all day. So it's enough for me and my coworker for all day. No more spending money for drinks at Gas Station.
For $50 it's the best deal. BTW on Target, Amazon, Colman & eBay it's more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler
09/21/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this model due to being smaller, but should have bought the 40qt cooler. I use them weekly being a truck driver. I have had 2 of the coleman 40qt coolers that worked great for about 3 years each. This one is noisier and will not pre-cool with the coleman power adapter due to being a higher amp unit, I have to put ice packs in it to keep temp below 60 and it will kill the batteries if you leave it plugged in over night without idleing the truck. Have tried other brands but they are no better than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Great Electric Cooler

09/10/2013
By ,
Wallingford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performed per description. Light weight. Well made. Will start getting colder within minutes after being plugged into your vehicle's 12 volt power source. For hotel stays, purchase the Coleman 120 volt home power converter, and an electric timer that can turn appliances on and off every 20 minutes. I set the timer to turn cooler on for 20 minutes and off for forty minutes. Keeps food and beverages cold. The cooler does not make ice.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

best cooler ever

06/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it worked no complaients provides products that have to be refridgerated a cool place to cool down so yes i would recmond this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 18 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

great deal

02/03/2013
By ,
greeneville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was a replacement item, and the price was the best i had found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Happy

10/01/2013
By ,
St Petersburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product that performs as stated. My last cooler did not chill it would only keep things chilled. This cooler actually chills things that are not already cold. My previous cooler would require a container of ice to keep things a cold as I like. The cooling unit on the top makes this easy to put just about anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Coleman 16-Quart Thermo-Electric Cooler

Really Noisy Fan!!!!!

09/06/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Might have been made by Toro, it's loud. The fan is noisy it the car, like a hair dryer on low! Didn't buy a quiet car to have construction noise in the car form my cooler. When plugged into converter indoors(purchased separately), had to close bathroom door and could still hear it. Just buy a bag of ice and enjoy the peace.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next