Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

The Coleman Max rucksack is the perfect large backpack for your next backpacking adventure. Loaded with features at a tremendous value.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%14 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Great product!

07/23/2009
By ,
Big Stone Gap, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice storage ability. 65L can store a ton of things! Most backpacks cost twice this price, and have far less than 65L of storage. This pack also has plenty of zippered pockets/loops to attach things. Easily stores everything I need it to. The straps are doubled back at the end to prevent them from coming completely out. Very helpful so you don't lose a strap in the woods! The sleeping bag pouch at the bottom fits my sleeping bag snugly. The straps on the top are good for securing a tent to. Adjusts in multiple areas to fit any body size/shape. The side mesh pockets have compression straps to secure water bottles/other objects in. The rain cover is amazing for if a sudden down pour happens, and folds up neatly in the top-most pouch. Lacks a metal frame, but still keeps shape and is very comfortable, even after hiking for miles! Very amazing pack for the price. Highly recommended for any hiker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Awesome Bag!

06/23/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I been researching and looking for an extended backpack for sometime now looking online and outdoor stores. I am picky on the type of bag I want that has many features like extra storage compartments, can pack a lot of items, thick padding for the shoulder, hip and back, good support, rain fly, and lots of compression straps to hold your items down. I also wanted a durable supportive hipbelt, with shoulder straps, load lifters, sternum straps and stabilizer straps. I'll tell you what, This bag had it ALL and I could not ask for more. The bag is well designed, very durable and has lots of features. The bag is a bit heavy but one can sacrifice the weight over all the features it has over the high priced backpack out there in the market. I can talk about this bag forever because it's awesome. This backpack is a Great Value and Well Worth It!
Great Investment and you cannot go wrong.
I Love This Bag! It Rocks!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Review 3 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Best value trail bag around

08/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I want to respond to a previous post that said this pack is not hydration pack compatible. I beg to differ because I just used mine this weekend with TWO 2 liter hydration packs attached to the inner pocket with velcro strap and had no problems at all sucking on some water while hiking through the woods. It may not be purpose built for that, but it sure does work great with plenty of room.
I have used this bag now on multiple hiking trips and over nights, and it has by far exceeded my expectations. having the spot on the bottom for a sleeping bag with separator has been a huge plus, I've kept a mummy bag and tarp in it with no problem.
seems very well built, but I did have one snap come off at the threads that I wasn't really using to begin with, I left it off instead of repairing my self. The rain cover in the bag kept the sack and everything in it nice and dry while sitting in a huge downpoor, so i give an A+ for that feature coming with the sack. Walking while full strapped and carrying roughly 35 pounds, the weight distribution is just right for my small frame and I don't feel fatigued after long hikes.
What really sold me was the price. I looked all over for a rucksack and found every other one I looked at with anywhere close to these same features selling for over $100. This pack off the shelf at walmart was $65. You simply cannot beat that deal on anything comparable, and some things lower end are more expensive. If you don't want to spend a ton of money on a nice rucksack, and don't care that it came from wal-mart, I must say it's a fantastic buy. Best part is that if it does wear out, I can buy another and still have spent less than one at a sporting goods store for $150 to get the same stuff. Good job coleman!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 4 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Excellent Pack! Very Comfortable!

07/29/2009
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pack at Walmart, Owings Mills, MD last weekend. Last night, I used it for the first time on a 4-mile evening hike, and I could not believe how comfortable the pack was to wear! I never thought that hauling gear could be so effortless! I'm so impressed with it that I am going to start using it for day hikes instead of a day pack!
Only three minor critiques: I wish it weren't top loading and that instead it could be opened via a side zipper for ease of accessing gear; I wish it had a way to zip up shoulder straps in event I wanted to take it on a plane; I wish the zip bags on side were a little larger so it could accommodate large water bottles. But it's still an amazingly comfortable pack! Makes hauling virtually effortless! A great pack!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Great Bag. Missing One Key Thing

07/01/2009
By ,
Appalachian Mountains Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got my bag quickly and in new condition from the shipper. The bag is great. Its cheap but sturdy, has good size side pockets and I can fit my 2 lb sleeping bag with spare socks, undies, shorts and shirt in the seperate zipper pocket for the sleeping bag. The only major draw back with this bag is it is NOT hydration compatible. I didn't know this or I may have ordered another pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 6 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Great Backpack

11/03/2009
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I are new to Boy Scouts and we were looking for backpacks for overnighters. We checked them all out and found this Coleman bag a great buy. The straps are adjustable to fit my 5-1, 110 lb boy and me at 6-1, 230. The quality compares to other more expensive but we'll see if they stand the test of time. Our next best choice were Kelty bags at about $125 each. So we took the risk on these. So far two trips and no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Very happy with this purchase!

09/07/2009
By ,
Port Jefferson Station, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for two rucksacks that would be good for camping or the occasional long day trips with our two babies that require taking everything but the crib. These were exactly what we were looking for at a price we could afford! They sent us a red and an orange. I had a friend of mine take a look at them before ripping the tags off to make sure they were good quality and he said they weren't much different from a sack he purchased last year at triple the price! He is looking into getting one himself. Great buy!!! Lots of room!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Max 65 Back Pack

06/30/2009
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this back pack to go along with my pannier on my road bike.I am going on a long road trip later this year.And its going to help let me take a lot more stuff with me and not hurt my back.I am happy with this product.
You can get it in black too.My trip will take about 4 to 6 mouths to get to Bangor Main by way of bicycle.So I needed a lot of gear to take with me.This trip is about 2400 miles form my place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 9 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Just what I wanted!

08/19/2009
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this pack recently while traveling in Costa Rica. It's very roomy and has many compartments! Make sure you don't make it too top-heavy when packing your belongings in it, because it may start to make your back sore after awhile. I made that mistake, but once I repositioned everything, it was fine. It is a great weekend pack!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 10 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

I love this pack

08/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pack for long backpacking trips, but have only used it for an overnighter and it worked great. It fit all my gear, held my hydration bladder, and was extremely comfortable to wear I recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to pay $200+ for a new pack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Best pack for your money

08/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another review here says it is not hydration compatible, but it IS. Its a great pack for the price and has all the features of more expensive packs except maybe fewer outside pockets. It only has two side pockets and a top pocket. Quality construction and rugged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack

Best bag for the buck

11/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised by this bag. It is in nearly every way superior to the others I looked at in the several hundred dollar range. In fact, after I bought one, I had to go buy another for my wife!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Max 65-Liter Rucksack
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5